Jeremy Cameron

Rumour is that Cameron is looking at 3 clubs Collingwood, Saints, and the Hawks.
St. Kilda seems like an odd choice. the other two? Only thing worse would be if it also had Carlton in there :(

Yeah Saints are the odd one out, but just passing on what I heard, could be bullshit or could be true, Carlton should really be going hard at him.

Assuming no other club has a better offer than that, which is a pretty good offer btw, GWS will pull the trigger regardless of 'list needs. It's just a hypothetical mate and I was only isolating Carlton.
It's cool, I understand buddy. I reckon though that the kid is a gun and offloading rubbish isn't going to get it done. I'd be looking at the Judd trade as a yardstick, but the player couldn't be as speculative as Kennedy was back then.

To put my money where my mouth is, take Fremantle - i'd suggest the starting point would be Fyfe and they'd probably want more, which personally i'd struggle with but it's hard to be dispassionate about it.

Would love the Tiges to have a crack but I doubt we would be able to offer the best deal to GWS to get it done.

I think our tall stocks are fairly strong (relatively speaking compared to the rest of the list) so would personally rather chase another gun mid if it came down to it. Certainly though if we had something GWS wanted and Cameron wanted to come to Tigerland I'd love to see a deal happen.
im the opposite, i think our tall stocks very shallow and in dire need of building up.

You'd have to give up too much to get the deal done. Not sure you do go that hard for someone with one good season.

Having said that.
Would be great at the dogs. Dalhaus plus their first pick would be fair.

Then what's your answer for the return clash when Carlisle got 4.5 kicked on him? And against the pies when he kicked 7 on Brown? He's an absolute superstar, FF who got into the AA side at 20. Who was the last Key Forward to do that?

Teams are paying more attention to Cameron in 2014, and his form is suffering. Once a player has a good year, the opposition goes to work on that player - It has always happened in footy. IMO Cameron got selected in the AA team because of media hype - IMO you need more than one good year to be AA.

Anyway lets allow posters to 'wet their pants' about Cameron. I would rather EFC target Tomlinson.

Seen him play much? he is a freak, he is also allot younger than Judd was then, not injured like Judd was either.

And I said a "similar" amount..

I repeat that when Judd left the WC he was probably the number one player in the AFL. You are comparing apples with ornages.

Ignore him, trust me, you'll be beter off in the long run.

Better ignore me if you think a Cameron and Judd comparison is valid. Hype,hype and more hype. I watch with interest whether Cameron plays back or forward next week.

Sorry to know that you are clueless, your flippancy is clouding your already inept judgement. The GWS induction has been botched from the beginning, they missed out on a superstar unlike Gold Coast who got their man, Franklin is with the Swans. Yes, the colours would've meant a lot more to the people in Sydney's heartland. Unless there is a radical change the already complacent Australian Football League will lose this battle before it begins. The AFL don't have time on their hands anymore, the last 24 months have been a shocker for them. Attendances in Melbourne are way down, we have fan discontent, the Essendon saga has caused more damage than anyone is prepared to admit and the GWS situation can't afford the long haul you suggest because the Australian Football League have other codes baring down on them fast. Laugh all you want, if the likes of Cameron jump ship and the GWS cannot attract a major superstar to their club then what do you suggest? Dominate in 3 years time? There is more chance of The Smiths reforming than GWS dominating in 3 years time!

I've lived in Sydney's heartland for 30 years. The colours mean bugger all. What colours are you referring to exactly? Please enlighten me.

What do I suggest?

I suggest you don't hit the panic button. Cameron won't leave. GWS kept most of their draft picks (other than picks outside top 20) to load up on talent rather than trade in ready made players. The ready made players they took, they got for free. In 3 years most of their talented kids will all be around 22-25, that's the majority of the team. Drafting Buddy would have got them publicity and marketing, not a premiership.

If you expected GWS to come to Sydney and be an instant hit in a tough market, then you're delusional. This will take decades.

If you asked the other 17 Clubs (recruiters and coaches) will GWS be any good in 3 years? What do you expect the answer to be? - Yes x 17.

Of course you would know much better, I mean being a colour expert and all.;)

It's cool, I understand buddy. I reckon though that the kid is a gun and offloading rubbish isn't going to get it done. I'd be looking at the Judd trade as a yardstick, but the player couldn't be as speculative as Kennedy was back then.

To put my money where my mouth is, take Fremantle - i'd suggest the starting point would be Fyfe and they'd probably want more, which personally i'd struggle with but it's hard to be dispassionate about it.

Was Kennedy 'speculative' back then? I honestly can't remember but I have heard a few ppl say it...but what I do know is he was pick #4 in the 2005 draft so I don't really know how he could be seen as 'speculative' more 'big potential but hasn't done much up till then' and West Coast wouldn't do a deal without him included

Teams are paying more attention to Cameron in 2014, and his form is suffering. Once a player has a good year, the opposition goes to work on that player - It has always happened in footy. IMO Cameron got selected in the AA team because of media hype - IMO you need more than one good year to be AA.

Anyway lets allow posters to 'wet their pants' about Cameron. I would rather EFC target Tomlinson.

AA selection is based on performance in that particular year.

im the opposite, i think our tall stocks very shallow and in dire need of building up.

Really? Would be genuinely interested in knowing which guys you rate and don't rate - personally think there is a bit of cause for optimism with Griffiths, Vickery (still have faith) and McBean as forwards to help out Jack while Astbury (before his injury) was close to our best player and Rance looking good since coming back from injury. Elton apparently was playing well too in the 2nds before getting injured while Darrou seems to be making steady progress.

Hell no. I would not give an 8 year contract to anyone. There is just too high a risk that the player loses form or may get injured and never be the same player again and you're stuck with him. Only if say the last 3 years have clauses that the player must play a certain amount of games or something like that.

If money wasnt an issue, Gazza. Back when he signed with Gold Coast.

I've lived in Sydney's heartland for 30 years. The colours mean bugger all. What colours are you referring to exactly? Please enlighten me.

What do I suggest?

I suggest you don't hit the panic button. Cameron won't leave. GWS kept most of their draft picks (other than picks outside top 20) to load up on talent rather than trade in ready made players. The ready made players they took, they got for free. In 3 years most of their talented kids will all be around 22-25, that's the majority of the team. Drafting Buddy would have got them publicity and marketing, not a premiership.

If you expected GWS to come to Sydney and be an instant hit in a tough market, then you're delusional. This will take decades.

If you asked the other 17 Clubs (recruiters and coaches) will GWS be any good in 3 years? What do you expect the answer to be? - Yes x 17.

Of course you would know much better, I mean being a colour expert and all.;)

S K Y B L U E

The colours mean a lot more than your tiny mind can comprehend and the Australian Football League also made the same mistake. The colours would've resonated more with the region than Orange, Charcoal and White! No one is being delusional here, the fact is just exactly WHO will take GWS to the next level? Gold Coast secured the best player in the competition, if you asked the other 17 Clubs (recruiters and coaches) if Gary Ablett jr is the best player in the league what do you expect the answer to be? - Yes x 17. Ablett jr may very well be the best player of all time, his leadership and experience has already benefited the Suns. It's the number one reason they are paying him the huge money. GWS missed the Franklin boat, they missed the Tippett boat, in fact their boat has a huge hole in it!
The point is GWS have failed to secure a similar superstar and this topic is about one of their young guns contemplating jumping ship. If that happens then you might see an avalanche of defections like the Brisbane Lions. No one expects an instant hit, but the football climate has changed since the GWS inception, within the past two years the Australian Football League have copped a battering with the Essendon drugs scandal, fan discontent with ticketing, attendances are now well down (being propped up by Adelaide figures) If the Australian Football league do not act and alter the GWS course then that iceberg they are heading for will be a direct hit. Complacency has set in at League headquarters and this game might pay the ultimate penalty unless they act immediately. Demetriou is gone next week, time for instant action and a complete reassessment of the GWS situation. First step: change the colour scheme, next up poach a superstar and keep Cameron at all costs. Fail with all three and this club won't be starting the 2017 season.

I heard a rumor that Cameron wants to stay and hates Victoria. See I can do unquoted rumors as well!
There's a big difference between simply making something up (which I dare say you just did) and passing on an "unquoted rumour", which could be and most likely is true.

Do you really think that after the season Jeremy had last year and how he looks like someone you'd want to tie up for 5 years, at least, that GWS wouldn't be desperate to extend his contract immediately, as they tend to do with any of the young ones that really show something (or like Gold Coast did with Jack Martin, for instance, who they extended for 5 years before he even played a game!)? Instead, Gubby said they "look forward to sitting down at the end of the year to look at it"! o_O

In other words, you can pretty much be assured that Cameron's camp have put off talks for the immediate future, as Robbo suggested in the article. Otherwise, it would probably have been done already, or at the very, very least, talks would be well under way to keep him at the club well beyond his current contract.

You might not like reading what he wrote, but that doesn't mean he just made it up.

I would assume he hasn't displayed the form so far this year to get the best deal for himself.

Makes perfect sense to see how things pan out for him and to see what his market worth is. This will all play into the sort of deal he will receive.

Giants colours are Western Sydney. I see them all the time on my way home from work. A beautiful bright orange sunset over the charcoal shadowed landscape. And when I get back to Penrith it is the escarpment at the beginning of the mountains that is in shadowed charcoal under a burnt orange end of the day.

Tuesday night was particularly spectacular. It was a Giant Sky.

S K Y B L U E

The colours mean a lot more than your tiny mind can comprehend and the Australian Football League also made the same mistake. The colours would've resonated more with the region than Orange, Charcoal and White! No one is being delusional here, the fact is just exactly WHO will take GWS to the next level? Gold Coast secured the best player in the competition, if you asked the other 17 Clubs (recruiters and coaches) if Gary Ablett jr is the best player in the league what do you expect the answer to be? - Yes x 17. Ablett jr may very well be the best player of all time, his leadership and experience has already benefited the Suns. It's the number one reason they are paying him the huge money. GWS missed the Franklin boat, they missed the Tippett boat, in fact their boat has a huge hole in it!
The point is GWS have failed to secure a similar superstar and this topic is about one of their young guns contemplating jumping ship. If that happens then you might see an avalanche of defections like the Brisbane Lions. No one expects an instant hit, but the football climate has changed since the GWS inception, within the past two years the Australian Football League have copped a battering with the Essendon drugs scandal, fan discontent with ticketing, attendances are now well down (being propped up by Adelaide figures) If the Australian Football league do not act and alter the GWS course then that iceberg they are heading for will be a direct hit. Complacency has set in at League headquarters and this game might pay the ultimate penalty unless they act immediately. Demetriou is gone next week, time for instant action and a complete reassessment of the GWS situation. First step: change the colour scheme, next up poach a superstar and keep Cameron at all costs. Fail with all three and this club won't be starting the 2017 season.

Sky blue? WTF. After reading your other comments I'm starting to realise you're a stubbie short of a six-pack.

Let's see... SKY BLUE - NSW Origin team (all of NSW)
SKY BLUE - Cronulla - the other side of Sydney
SKY BLUE - Sydney FC - definitely not GWS

Thanks for the laugh though... would have resonated with the region... Change the colour scheme.... too funny.:D

Better ignore me if you think a Cameron and Judd comparison is valid. Hype,hype and more hype. I watch with interest whether Cameron plays back or forward next week.

One of the things that makes Cameron so valuable is he is prepared to do whatever it takes for the team.

Jeremy Cameron