Jeremy Cameron

bombersno1 You talk as if Cameron doesn't want to go to Saints or Dogs or clubs like these because they aren't in premiership contention or on a rung below? Cameron will put the dogs into the top 8 by himself..

If he wants to win premierships he won't go. Just an opinion but he will be going to a side that has a history of WINNING premierships. Otherwise it makes zero sense in leaving. The Giants despite how rubbish hey are now are more likely to win a premiership before St Kilda or the Dogs are. Pies and Geelong are frontrunners, with Hawthorn as roughies as they have cap space.

Sounds like a bit of a sook to me. Played with a heart the size of a peanut on the weekend.

Wouldn't you? Put yourself in his shoes...here is an All Australian full forward.....playing Full Back! Say what!

Does anyone actually think Jeremy Cameron will want to go to a minnow club in Victoria? Just can't see him pulling on a Doggies jumper or a NM jumper, perhaps Melbourne are a chance should they continue to improve but you'd think he would want to play in a side capable of competing at the top.

For some reason, I can easily picture him in a North jumper, with no. 18 on the back. It's a seamless image actually. And there only three legitimate Vic clubs competing for a flag this year. Whoever wants him more will get him.

To me cameron seems like a really big risk for a club to take. He will demand a very high salary to leave, much more than what is proportionate to his output to date. He has had 1 good season so far but he is still all potential, and he needs to put in a few more similar seasons to demand that sort of money. Sydney are currently overpaying sam reid (700k+ from memory) for exactly the same reason, in that they chucked a big contract infront of him based on 1 fairly good year and his potential. If cameron leaves for that sort of money he will be on more money than guys like pav, reiwoldt (x2), roughhead, kennedy etc who have many more years of consistent performances.

In an ideal world you are right, but considering the lack of superstar quality key forwards you would be crazy to not look at him. Id send him a 8 year contract on 800K plus, takes him to the age of 30 ish.

He has already been AA in one of the most difficult positions on the ground, barring injury he will be a super star. (Reid is a fantastic player who has been injured hence his output, also he would be much more valuable to that team if they didnt have Tippett and Franklin)

Citation needed.

No it wouldn't.
Assuming no other club has a better offer than that, which is a pretty good offer btw, GWS will pull the trigger regardless of 'list needs. It's just a hypothetical mate and I was only isolating Carlton.
Are GWS really looking at topping up their midfield though?

They're quality players yes, but GWS have massive defence leaks that need plugging and Cameron could be the ticket out.

Id out Gibbs on the table but I think Yarren might not be tradable, but it's close.
You raise valid points and I do agree, but I was referring more to the quality needed (from Carlton) to get Cameron out of GWS, not the positions they're looking to fill. If they were looking to boost their KPD stocks, Frawley + whatever Melbourne has to offer would probably the way to go.

I think any club seriously has to considering going for it. Having him alongside Hawkins would be out of this world. I think it would take someone like Duncan, pick 15 and maybe an up and comer to get the deal done. It's in GWS' best interest to deal otherwise he walks for naught.
Duncan and 15.... Where do we sign?

no club will part what is required for him.

I imagine even if he wanted to come to the dogs we would have to give up Libba, our first pick (4-6) and another top 5 pick acquired through trades somehow. That doesnt exactly improve us.

no club will part what is required for him.

I imagine even if he wanted to come to the dogs we would have to give up Libba, our first pick (4-6) and another top 5 pick acquired through trades somehow. That doesnt exactly improve us.
If he wants to leave they have to take the best offer available.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...turn-to-victoria/story-fni5f7qp-1226932258711

Chances are there is nothing in this article, as it seems convenient after 2 100 point losses by the Giants

But it does pose the question, if Cameron was to announce at the end of his contract he wanted to return to Melbourne

1) What kind of money would/should he get
2) What kind of deal would have to get the job done (remembering free agency doesnt apply yet for him)
3) Which clubs would be leading the chase

If this were to occur, i'd expect Carlton to be chasing pretty hard

I would hope that the Blues would be going hard for him !!! :)

Does anyone seriously believe the AFL will let him move anywhere? He will be made king of a small nation somewhere as a sweetener before the AFL let him walk.

And I cannot begin to imagine what sort of trade it would need to be to get through the AFL "fairness" assessment :rolleyes:
Agree
The AFL will build a personal training camp at Dartmoor and chopper him in for games if needed.
Unless he wanted to go to Sydney the AFL sponsored traditional home of all key forwards

In an ideal world you are right, but considering the lack of superstar quality key forwards you would be crazy to not look at him. Id send him a 8 year contract on 800K plus, takes him to the age of 30 ish.

He has already been AA in one of the most difficult positions on the ground, barring injury he will be a super star. (Reid is a fantastic player who has been injured hence his output, also he would be much more valuable to that team if they didnt have Tippett and Franklin)

Hell no. I would not give an 8 year contract to anyone. There is just too high a risk that the player loses form or may get injured and never be the same player again and you're stuck with him. Only if say the last 3 years have clauses that the player must play a certain amount of games or something like that.

Cameron was getting the #1 defender all last season, what is disrepectful about that? How many players have you seen in you life who have been able to be a serious contender for the Coleman medal at the end of the season? I can think of only a couple and these blokes were out and out quality key forwards.

In 2014 the problem hasn't been with Jeremy Cameron but his name sake Leon Cameron, the bloke is screwing him over and that I reckon is the real reason he wants out, because the coach wants to turn him into a defender and he'd rather be at FF. You can earn a lot more money as a key forward compared to key defender. I've also always said that one of the 3 key forwards would want out of GWS sooner rather than later.

It is also interesting that the Herald-Sun has automatically said he wants to come back to Victoria, this may not actually be the case, it is just an assumption they have made. Dartmoor is a 5 hour drive from Melbourne (also about the same from Adelaide), so its not exactly like he is going to be near family and friends.

Essendon played Tayte Pears on Cameron. Good players in POOR teams are given more licence by the opposition. The licence has been reduced in 2014 and life is tougher. And shouldn't have been AA in 2013.

Judd went for #3, #20 and Kennedy.

I think Cameron would be worth a similar amount. Richmond, Carlton and Essendon fans might not lament there poor season trade time!

Are you serious - Even taking into account future potential - Judd was about the best player in the competiton and Cameron is not in the top 50 - The Cameron hype machine is unlimited.

Jeremy Cameron