Player Watch Jeremy Finlayson

And you and others are trying to conflate a mere word to a grown adult masuline athlete man as a tiny insult on a football field to roaming the streets hunting down homosexuals and beating/killing them? ...

No, we aren't. People are only doing that when the broader topic is broached.

What we are doing is conflating the use of a homophobic slur contributing to gay men or gay teens growing up, feeling that they aren't welcome in the AFL, and aussie rules culture as a whole isn't for them.

No gay man has ever played AFL and very very very few have played aussie rules at any level. Isn't that a little unusual?

Also stuff Ken and his family and his poor performance at his job has negatively impacted MY wellbeing and MY family by extension, and my misguided support of him hurt MY finances for too long, as I am sure it did many others. At least he's getting away with millions of dollars.

What we are doing is conflating the use of a homophobic slur contributing to gay men or gay teens growing up, feeling that they aren't welcome in the AFL, and aussie rules culture as a whole isn't for them.

No gay man has ever played AFL and very very very few have played aussie rules at any level. Isn't that a little unusual?
Not a Gay Industry.

Think you missed a key word "openly"

Would be plenty of gay men playing.

Let's not forget that a couple of players recently shared a twitter or something about how all gays are gonna go to hell, along with the murderers and rapists and thieves and that they should repent and just... not be gay.

One of those players being a goat contender.

Was that baby jebus Ablett? What is wrong with that family

And you and others are trying to conflate a mere word to a grown adult masuline athlete man as a tiny insult on a football field to roaming the streets hunting down homosexuals and beating/killing them? The hyperbole is palpable. Haven't you held up signs in the crowd at Adelaide Oval calling for the coaches head? Do you think this would be hurtful to Ken and his family? Trying to openly call for the destruction of his livelihood? Which one is worse? Hypocrisy Much?

I would’ve thought judging someone on their performance is much fairer than judging their race or sexual orientation.

This absolutely isn't what happened. You compared what Finlayson said to mere banter, someone else said a racial slur is a more accurate comparison, and then you got angry about it, saying "Do not ever compare a racial slur to a homophobic slur ever again. Absolutely ridiculous take.", then bringing up how your ancestors got murdered under the Ottoman empire.

When it was pointed out to you that people have been murdered en masse for being gay just as they have for being a certain race, you're now all "hey that's just my opinion, don't come after me about it".

If you're going to elevate an atrocity that has happened to your ancestors and diminish atrocities that have happened to other people, expect some pushback.
My issue isn't with the direct pushback, edgie and a few others called me out and had counter arguments which was fine. The issue was with people taking the piss out of the Ottoman Empire call yet I'm meant to feel sympathy over an insult? This is why I was pointing out hypocrisy. Anyway, we'll agree to disagree.

Brilliant - what was that on?

9 have a late night Sunday Footy Show called Footy Furnace with Jimmy Bartel, Tom Morris and Leigh Matthews.

Just saying to the knowledge of most people there has never been one and any suggestion there has is just (reasonable) speculation.

Point being that, why hasn't there been one that's not actively hiding part of themselves? And isn't that the problem?
It 100% is a problem, but it's not because of on field off the cuff comments being made (That certainly doesn't help though)

The problem is far more in-grained than that - it's about the culture of footy clubs from youth level all the way through. To a big degree, it's about the culture in this country. It is changing, but it's very very slow.

It 100% is a problem, but it's not because of on field off the cuff comments being made (That certainly doesn't help though)

The problem is far more in-grained than that - it's about the culture of footy clubs from youth level all the way through. To a big degree, it's about the culture in this country. It is changing, but it's very very slow.
Agree with most of that, but I think the culture of boys and footy clubs, specifically footy players (there are a fair few gay blokes always welcome at my footy club, but they didn't play, that's for sure) is still out of step with more general culture...

I know this will be ignored because everyone has other things to discuss but I was going to mention his game on the weekend.

He did kick three goals so you can't deny that but I had the feeling that if he had a decent back man on him, three of those goals would have been stopped easily. IIRC he also muffed two set shots. There was also a give off to the captain that Rozee more than likely would have sliced through the sticks.

Finlayson almost plays like a small forward. He prefers the ball on the deck and kicking goals on the run and by snapping.

Basically I'm saying he left a few goals on the table and has some room for improvement to his game.

Agree with most of that, but I think the culture of boys and footy clubs, specifically footy players (there are a fair few gay blokes always welcome at my footy club, but they didn't play, that's for sure) is still out of step with more general culture...
Step into a FIFO camp, or go for lunch with a group of tradies etc. The cultures there and at footy clubs are very much in-sync.

People don't like to hear it, but we do a really poor job in this country of instilling good values into our kids, particularly males. It's all faux male bravado. Many grow out of it as they get older, but bad habits die hard. I strongly believe it's why youth male suicide rates are so high in this country. (I've gone completely off topic)

I know this will be ignored because everyone has other things to discuss but I was going to mention his game on the weekend.

He did kick three goals so you can't deny that but I had the feeling that if he had a decent back man on him, three of those goals would have been stopped easily. IIRC he also muffed two set shots. There was also a give off to the captain that Rozee more than likely would have sliced through the sticks.

Finlayson almost plays like a small forward. He prefers the ball on the deck and kicking goals on the run and by snapping.

Basically I'm saying he left a few goals on the table and has some room for improvement to his game.
Agreed, he certainly prefers the ball on the deck, and has a few tricks for a big man.

But he can also take a strong contested mark, so he's a difficult match up for teams. He's also 3rd fiddle, so we're able to stretch opposition defences.

I still think his best is when he's used as a link up player up the ground though.

Step into a FIFO camp, or go for lunch with a group of tradies etc. The cultures there and at footy clubs are very much in-sync.

People don't like to hear it, but we do a really poor job in this country of instilling good values into our kids, particularly males. It's all faux male bravado. Many grow out of it as they get older, but bad habits die hard. I strongly believe it's why youth male suicide rates are so high in this country. (I've gone completely off topic)
FIFO camps are literally a bastion of isolated men, who earn AFL draftee money straight out of school, many are 'unskilled', but with less workload and no social behavior obligations. Not a great example of greater society IMO. Similar for tradies... and trades make up most club footy playing lists.

As for the rest, I'd like to think we are changing that with new generations coming through. I'll certainly try and raise my son well and hope he doesn't develop homophobic tendencies. It's probably not needed in this thread but it's a topic worth talking about. I reckon homophobia is still a fair way behind the progress made in other areas of inclusiveness and diversity, but there could also be reasons for that.

Name one?
Even if I was 100% on a player being gay, if they are in the closet I would never ever reveal that. It's their choice who they let know and nobody elses.

(fwiw I learned this the hard way a long time ago, when I accidentally outed a mate that I thought was already openly gay. He was pretty angry about it and rightly so)

Can they hand down the penalty already? I swear they let this sort of s**t grow more legs than it needs by trying to measure the public outrage meter before they act on it.

Not until the integrity unit completes a full investigation into the thing that Jeremy already admitted doing.

its been a good distraction for the 30 percent of footy players that like the illicit substances, the irony is Jeremy will be given a week off to go and relax

Player Watch Jeremy Finlayson