Review JLT vs West Coast - 2018

WE should have practiced trying to hang for a win for the last 3 minutes of the game. The fact we played some dumb basic, non existent actually, lock down footy shows we still have players who dont know how to handle tight situations. That's what's disappointing. We either didnt try to win or weren't smart enough to practice how to win a close one.

The four minute to go call was provided by Chad Cornes whilst sitting on the bench to the bench but not to the players on the field.

For some reason the runners communication was a simple yell from the side lines, rather than going out, for the whole match.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/jl...s/news-story/25b5f5427a8eea7fa6c0ddb40d881dae

PORT Adelaide coach Ken Hinkley admits his high-profile recruits need more time to gel after they failed to fire in Sunday’s two-point pre-season loss to West Coast in Perth.
Jack Watts (nine disposals, one goal), Lindsay Thomas (four disposals), Jack Trengove (11 disposals) and Steven Motlop (eight disposals) had quiet outings in the two-point loss.

Former Brisbane captain Tom Rockliff didn’t play because of knee soreness.

Port’s season opener against Fremantle on March 24 is less than a month away and Hinkley knows he is running out of time to get all the new recruits acclimatised to their new teammates and game plan.

But Hinkley said he saw enough glimpses against the Eagles to suggest his recruits are on the right track.

“They all did little bits at times,” Hinkley said.

The four minute to go call was provided by Chad Cornes whilst sitting on the bench to the bench but not to the players on the field.

For some reason the runners communication was a simple yell from the side lines, rather than going out, for the whole match.

runners only allowed on after a goal in preseason games.

Bonner is still a defensive liability.

Motlop looked like a guy who had his first match sim for the year. Saw some nice things, but he’s rusty as ****.

Watts needs to lead up to the ball more.

Neade had an almost game where nothing he attempted came off.

Gray looked like Motlop - first hit out = garbage.

Wines and Powell-Pepper looked like they were expecting Ebert to carry the load in terms of time on ground. Sorry Ollie, but you want the big bucks, start playing like a big name player. It was humid though so it’s understandable.

Thomas looked every bit like a 30+ rookie listed player.

We missed Wingard, Polec, Rockliff and Sam Gray a lot. It was basically an underdone 2017 EF Port, with Watts in Marshall’s role and Motlop in Polec’s role.

Who really impressed me was West Coast. Simpson knows what’s what in terms of his game style - both teams played very similar. The conditions weren’t good for playing a high intensity defensive game though - humid, big ground, missing key rotations.

We got smashed in uncontested and contested ball and we still had a chance to win the game. That’s a credit to our team defence. But really, for a supposed forward half team we didn’t hold it in our forward half much at all. West Coast scored 42 of their 56 points from forward half chains - 75%. We scored 27 of our 54 points from defensive half chains - 50%.

I think we were working on movement from defensive 50 and so weren’t too worried about actually locking the ball in. That’s why we only had 3 tackles inside 50 compared to West Coast’s 14. But we need Wingard and Sam Gray for that forward half pressure.

At least it was better than last years Richmond/St Kilda performances :p

On the game, didnt see anything really to get my hopes up.
Main change was the short leadup play, but we were constantly hitting targets and gaining about 5 metres, not the 20m we need to be able to do to move or drag out the defense.

Robbie should get off. There was nothing there and McGovern certainly added a splash of Tabasco to it with his pirouette.
Yes, Robbie had to protect himself otherwise there would have been a head collision. By all accounts, Simpson has said that McGovern was giving instructions to the rest of the players, from the bench, and seemed pretty sharp.

Not big stats but I liked Dougal's game. A real strength is his spoiling. Opposition teams will be taking fewer forward 50 pack marks when he's around. Too many were taken last season when he wasn't playing.

Barry's deserved the praise given in this thread. I just like his mindset. Take possession of ball, carry forward with speed and kick forward to a target, not chip to the side. Some of his riskier kicks didn't come off but many did setting up our forward thrusts. A pity more of our players didn't follow his example.
Barry's game shows the importance of Polec back and Motlop getting match fit. When it's down to Barry and a still learning Amon to provide line breaking our transition from defense to attack unsurprisingly sucked dogs balls.

It was far from convincing but I can't help but feel it was great timing.

If there was any risk of the pain of last year wearing off and the players not going 110% to fix the issues then this jist reopened the wound.

Even though it was only JLT1 the manner of the loss would have hurt.

Lots of work still to do boys and the newcomers won't be the sole answer. Are they up for it? We'll see.

P.s. if we are serious about no gold passes Barry is in front of Motlop right now and I hope he is told that on no uncertain terms.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Amon ran hard in the first half (Then disappeared).
Boak was clearly our most influential player when on the ground.
Atley has quick hands and feet, just got to get a touch cleaner - but it's coming.
Harts, Pittard and DBJ were good to decent. Reckon Houston will struggle to hold his spot if he keeps that up.
Handball chains under pressure in the first half.

Dislikes:
Umpires. There was a 6 or 7 minute stretch in the second quarter where every contest was decided by a free kick. It was just rubbish to watch.
Newbies. Other than Barry - a non event.
Weather. It was hot and sweaty - and I was sitting in the stands.
Kicking for the most part was under par.

Hey guys, thought I would share with you what happened since I was sitting in the box next to these asshats.
I'm well aware the majority of you are normal, non-feral, passionate footy supporters.
But the main reason I want to share is because there was someone official there from Port Adelaide who knows who these guys are and knows them by name. He had a black Port polo on and wore an official Port Adelaide badge - I've no idea what his role or position may be, maybe in charge of fans or something?
The Dheads were in their 20s and you could tell they were there just for the trouble.
He was trying to calm them down the entire game - he was a few metres away. He kept calling them by name and saying "too far" or "cut it out".
They had already had run ins with several west coast supporters during and I won't lie, they were apologetic whenever confronted.
However in the second half they took it to a new level when they yelled N***** at a bunch of Sudanese West Coast supporters.
This sparked a greater verbal confrontation not only with the Sudanese guys but also with other west coast supporters coming to the Sudanese guys aid.
It was at this point he official port guy decided to turn a blind eye - he knew a line had been crossed and wanted to pretend he knew nothing about it even though a full on confrontation was going on about 3 metres away from him, after spending the entire game trying to control these guys he didn't even dare look in that direction while the confrontation over the racism was going on.
I will say that one of the Port group was dark skinned themselves and I am actually not sure whether he was the one who yelled it.

After the match ended the Sudanese guys came straight over and a bit of argy bargy carried on.
Even more disgusting to me was that other Port supporters who knew what the guys had said (and had watched them pick fights the entire game) were willing to back these douchelords up.
The official guy was involved and trying to control things at this point.

Anyway - I am letting you know there is some official Port guy who knows who these guys are and their names and could easily ban them.
I recognise they are a minority of your fan base (a good mate of mine supports Port, he is a middle easterner like me) and I can tell that you guys are disgusted by their behaviour and don't want them representing you.
I felt sad for the Sudanese guys - there was only 4 of them and they looked like they were only teenagers, how sad for them to experience that when it is so great they have adopted AFL as migrants.

The security are the most to blame in this incident as they should have thrown them out earlier or at least stationed a guard nearby when it was obvious they were out for trouble.

Racism in any form is disgraceful, and the perpetrators of it yesterday need to have the book thrown at them regardless of which team they support, but W.A. crowds do have some history of not being particularly squeaky clean, and it's not that long ago that a section of the crowd at a test match were calling the South African cricketers Kaffirs and Kaffir lovers.

This game was a true mixed bag... We should've won but 2 ridiculous frees to WC in the last 2 minutes gifted them the ball. Couldn't believe we didn't sit on the lead for the last 2 minutes prior to that either. Instead we turned to he manic move the ball forward at every cost approach that lost us the elimination final. Hope the boys get pulled up for that.

It seemed like WC had their 1st choice ball winners around the ball for most of the day, whilst we gave the kids plenty more chance n the middle.

Disappointed with Wines' disposal. Neade just not up to it. And taking Thomas over Sinor was a mistake. Has lost his dash and can't keep his feet.

Barry looked good. Should be good to go n Polec's wing in R1.

Gray would be unlucky to get rubbed out. Both boys running full tilt at a bouncing ball. If it bounces to Gray we are having the opposite conversation. That being said - if he does get rubbed out it might be a good thing. Looks a bit underdone.

Howard looked good. Excited to see what he can do at CHB this year.

If we go anywhere this year it will because of the usual suspects stepping up.

Not big stats but I liked Dougal's game. A real strength is his spoiling. Opposition teams will be taking fewer forward 50 pack marks when he's around. Too many were taken last season when he wasn't playing.

Barry's deserved the praise given in this thread. I just like his mindset. Take possession of ball, carry forward with speed and kick forward to a target, not chip to the side. Some of his riskier kicks didn't come off but many did setting up our forward thrusts. A pity more of our players didn't follow his example.

Agreed re Doogs, he didn't start, and the defence looked to be a tad undersized without him in it.
Tom Clurey appeared to me to be floundering early, particularly with the timing of his spoils, but he improved when Howard came onto the field.

It's gonna be a grim, grim day at Alberton in a couple of weeks if we throw up that level of performance again.

Crowd will be packed, everyone will probably be hot and cranky, and what opposition supporters do attend will be verge toward the more obnoxious ones. I foresee incidents.

Hey guys, thought I would share with you what happened since I was sitting in the box next to these asshats.
I'm well aware the majority of you are normal, non-feral, passionate footy supporters.
But the main reason I want to share is because there was someone official there from Port Adelaide who knows who these guys are and knows them by name. He had a black Port polo on and wore an official Port Adelaide badge - I've no idea what his role or position may be, maybe in charge of fans or something?
The Dheads were in their 20s and you could tell they were there just for the trouble.
He was trying to calm them down the entire game - he was a few metres away. He kept calling them by name and saying "too far" or "cut it out".
They had already had run ins with several west coast supporters during and I won't lie, they were apologetic whenever confronted.
However in the second half they took it to a new level when they yelled N***** at a bunch of Sudanese West Coast supporters.
This sparked a greater verbal confrontation not only with the Sudanese guys but also with other west coast supporters coming to the Sudanese guys aid.
It was at this point he official port guy decided to turn a blind eye - he knew a line had been crossed and wanted to pretend he knew nothing about it even though a full on confrontation was going on about 3 metres away from him, after spending the entire game trying to control these guys he didn't even dare look in that direction while the confrontation over the racism was going on.
I will say that one of the Port group was dark skinned themselves and I am actually not sure whether he was the one who yelled it.

After the match ended the Sudanese guys came straight over and a bit of argy bargy carried on.
Even more disgusting to me was that other Port supporters who knew what the guys had said (and had watched them pick fights the entire game) were willing to back these douchelords up.
The official guy was involved and trying to control things at this point.

Anyway - I am letting you know there is some official Port guy who knows who these guys are and their names and could easily ban them.
I recognise they are a minority of your fan base (a good mate of mine supports Port, he is a middle easterner like me) and I can tell that you guys are disgusted by their behaviour and don't want them representing you.
I felt sad for the Sudanese guys - there was only 4 of them and they looked like they were only teenagers, how sad for them to experience that when it is so great they have adopted AFL as migrants.

The security are the most to blame in this incident as they should have thrown them out earlier or at least stationed a guard nearby when it was obvious they were out for trouble.
Thanks for the info and agree entirely they should have been thrown out early with photos taken etc to identify them so they can be permanently banned

It's gonna be a grim, grim day at Alberton in a couple of weeks if we throw up that level of performance again.

Crowd will be packed, everyone will probably be hot and cranky, and what opposition supporters do attend will be verge toward the more obnoxious ones. I foresee incidents.

We led for most of the gane and lost by a kick. It wasnt a bad performance

What on earth is an official port badge? Are we sure this wasnt some cheersquad bloke who knew these people?

Read the thread dedicated to this issue. Seems the perpetrator may have a link to a squad member.

We led for most of the gane and lost by a kick. It wasnt a bad performance
I get your point but it was bad in that we led for most of the game and lost by a kick. Our finishes are one of the things the club has supposedly been working on. I realise there some frustrating contentious frees at the end ONCE AGAIN but have we learned nothing?

Racism in any form is disgraceful, and the perpetrators of it yesterday need to have the book thrown at them regardless of which team they support, but W.A. crowds do have some history of not being particularly squeaky clean, and it's not that long ago that a section of the crowd at a test match were calling the South African cricketers Kaffirs and Kaffir lovers.

This is about us not them.

Before Lewis Jetta's winning goal Port were 5 points up when Luke Shuey shuffled the ball goalwards from a pack and the ball was marked by Liam Ryan 20m and as close to dead in front as dammit. Before he kicked the commentator said that West Coast were back in the lead but said nothing when the ball slammed into the woodwork.

Its a practice game so you practice things in it. There is no point worrying about what we should have done in the prior 77 minutes, or what happened in other games. With 3 minutes to go we were a few pts up and we should have practiced what to do in this situation. practicing a 3 minute grind to hang on means if we are successful we should know what to do when we have 2 minutes to go or 1 minute to go and need to hang on. Hanging on doesnt mean you dont try and score, it means you eliminate dumb basic skill and decision making errors.
Why do we need to keeps things so close. Why not beat them by 5 goals and take out umpiring decisions etc. Every year we have added a significant player to our team, lost little, but our results our still relatively poor for a squad who should be performing far better imo. We continue to fail to capitalise on dominant periods of the game. I'm sick of the excuses and I'm not a believer that this will all change from round 1. Watching PA has become a chore which is hard to take when you are passionate about the club. A few players provide entertainment because of their quality but the team as a whole is generally horrible to watch imo and have been since 2015. We have lost our mental edge and will not beat any of the top 5 teams consistently until we find it.

And for the supporters who will accuse me of bed wetting in the pre-season I have been consistent in my view for several years. We are a more talented team than our results show and that is not good enough.

Review JLT vs West Coast - 2018