News Jnr Rioli - He’s back.

BT had something profound about it all .......why didn't ASADA just make Willie take another sample ( which they did ) and penalise Willie on that result rather then the greater and worse situation with the tampering . ASADA go the extreme situation I reckon the AFL should go the other way and might .

The character assassination and the laying of the blame for a loss at the feet of one player when we still don't even know all of the facts is a bit shit.

You're all happy to pile on and question his integrity yet you do so without knowing the full story. What does that say about your own integrity?

Can we at least wait until we know all of the facts before throwing the guy under a bus? Surely that's reasonable.

BT had something profound about it all .......why didn't ASADA just make Willie take another sample ( which they did ) and penalise Willie on that result rather then the greater and worse situation with the tampering . ASADA go the extreme situation I reckon the AFL should go the other way and might .

Execute 1 to educate a 1000...sadly.

Agree with 99% of your post, just not the us knocked out bit.
Went to the pub to watch last nights game and just had no expectations after the previous 24 hours or so as in general still felt so flat, and it appeared the boys and Simmo were the same although was very proud of them for their comeback, but unfortunately could not be sustained. So at the end of the day although disappointed at the loss was not surprised so did not have a sleepless night like I did after the match against Hawthorn in round 23.

Just hope this Rioli mess gets sorted ASAP and whatever the result that the Club moves on for next year. I still find the whole thing baffling as to how Rioli even had the opportunity to do any tampering for whatever reason. How the f**k was he even able to have a can of anything with him when being tested is mind boggling. Asada has a bit to answer for IMO so the blame shouldn't all be put at the feet of Rioli.

Meh Rioli is finished with us. Basically a delisting.
Show some respect for one of ours mate. Willy made a mistake, yes. The fact it was released 2 days before our semi final is not on him. We were in the position we were in last night because we played inconcistently in the season and deserved to finish 5th.

If he gets suspended for 2-4 years I think he's right, we won't keep him on the list.

I am still pi**ed because he must have knew this was coming, elected to tell the club nothing, and had it blow up on us on the eve of our biggest game of the season.

If he had of fronted up, this could have been managed 1000 times better
Although an extremely good player who I love to watch, not sure Willy is the brightest tool in the shed and in his naivety probably thought Asada would dismiss the first specimen considering it wasn't even urine! Who the hell really knows as to why he kept it quiet.

People out here really stating media comments as fact, even after they misreported the whole situation twice before the press conference?

The only thing we know for sure is that the sample was found to have something other than urine in it.

Every other bit of information from the media is a rumour until it’s come from one of the parties involved.

We 👏🏼 Don’t 👏🏼 Know 👏🏼 What’s 👏🏼 Actually 👏🏼 Happened 👏🏼

Ahhhhhh look what the cat dragged in...or the Willie dragged in
Hahahah

Sure we do...he's been provisionally banned for giving a false sample.

Which means he's trying to mask one of the drugs/peds/diueretic that he's on.

Either way I don't want him anywhere near the club.

Plenty of opinions on here and I don't care for a one of them. Just want to say that Willie Rioli is the best Rioli. He footballs better than any other player in the game footballs. And watching him was, in recent years, one of the few enjoyable privileges that remained in following the steaming s**t heap of a competition that the AFL has devolved into.

What I assumed happened is the kid was enjoying a few cheeky bongs on his day off away from the club on a weekday in the am, as is his right under the recreational drug provisions put in place by the players association, when and a representative from one of planet earths most despicable and corrupt corporate autocracies, made up of entirely of a cast of human kinds lowest and most irredeemable representatives, has thrown fairness and procedure out the window and allowed him to make the biggest mistake of his life at 23 years of age. What a glorious day it must have been for ASADA the 20th of August. And how pleased must the AFL have been to be handed the opportunity to derail the train of its greatest foe. Gil can GAGF. The VFL can GAGF.

What we saw in the last 24 hours, and what we saw tonight, was disgusting. Simmo in tears 30 minutes into the game ffs. Putting that on Willi Rioli, asking him to carry the disappointment of the club, the supporters, his mates who he plays footy with, its too much to ask of anyone. This league and the people who run it are a failure, a colossal failure in virtually every way. The comp is a joke. The umpiring is a farse. The commentary 1984 levels sycophantic. And how all of us are not attending weekly gamblaholics anonymous clinics for all the messaging from the games premier sponsors is... beyond me. Wishing all the Auskickers the best in the future on that one.

In a way, glad we've been knocked out. Glad Willie has moved back to Darwin with his family. Honestly don't think I can stand to watch another minute of season 2019. Absolute trash and you all know it.

Interpretation:

ASADA should have thrown out the rules surrounding sample collection just because Willie is a great player and shouldn't be subject to the same rules as everyone else.

🙄

So many assumptions in this thread. How about we just wait for the whole story to come out?

Sure, it seems that he has made a titanic mistake... but it is disappointing the speed at which some posters are willing to crucify one of our own without all the facts.

C’mon peeps, is it too much to ask that we can be better than that?

I'll take the reports yesterday before the game at face value that Rioli's second sample came back negative for PEDs. So that's something at least.

We should be arguing for a lighter penalty because he was able to supply a test that proves he wasn't on anything that he would've been punished for. Of course tampering in itself is a violation but it is only a violation because it shows an intent to dupe the test and avoid punishment. This case is one of a kind because it is apparently provable that he had nothing to worry about.

I would be surprised if he gets more than a year.

I'll take the reports yesterday before the game at face value that Rioli's second sample came back negative for PEDs. So that's something at least.

We should be arguing for a lighter penalty because he was able to supply a test that proves he wasn't on anything that he would've been punished for. Of course tampering in itself is a violation but it is only a violation because it shows an intent to dupe the test and avoid punishment. This case is one of a kind because it is apparently provable that he had nothing to worry about.

I would be surprised if he gets more than a year.

One of the SEN journalists mentioned that, if the B sample came up clear, there would be a case for mitigating the penalty down to a lighter sentence.

Hope you are right

Peter Sumich on 6pr saying he believes there would have to be other players in the club taking drugs. Doesn’t believe it would be isolated to Rioli. Followed by a caller that wheeled out the hyperbole by saying the drug issues at West Coast happen over and over again (? really), that we are the worst in the comp by far and that the three strike rule should apply to us a club.

Sumich also getting stuck into Simmo’s coaching.

One of the SEN journalists mentioned that, if the B sample came up clear, there would be a case for mitigating the penalty down to a lighter sentence.
Another aspect of the defence I think should be that the punishment for tampering the way Rioli supposedly did does not need to be heavy to act as a deterrent to other people. The way it is being reported, he had absolutely no chance ever of the officials not seeing it. If it is impossible to get away with (i.e. Rioli was mind-bendingly stupid to even try it in the first place) there is nothing really to deter others from as they would all be similarly caught.

In other words, the protocols make it pretty much impossible to get away with tampering in full view of the officials anyway - why would doing something that you could not possibly have got away with, to cover up an offence you didn't commit come with the maximum punishment under the code?

Ahhhhhh look what the cat dragged in...or the Willie dragged in
Hahahah

Sure we do...he's been provisionally banned for giving a false sample.

Which means he's trying to mask one of the drugs/peds/diueretic that he's on.

Either way I don't want him anywhere near the club.
Actually, no we don't. It has been alleged that there was something in the sample he provided other than urine. That is about all we know. We don't know how it got there, what it was or why it was in there. He hasn't been convicted of anything and that is why it is PROVISIONAL.

All of that said, I don't hold out much hope that this will all disappear and that he did nothing wrong but we know very little. Also, as disappointed as I am in this situation and the impact it probably had last night and will have on the club, he is a human being. The one thing I have learnt as I have gotten older is that we all make mistakes. Some selfish. Some really selfish and stupid. It is times like those you need your friends and family standing behind you. What purpose does it serve to hound someone on social media with all the potential consequences? We can be disappointed in a situation and someones potential actions without baying for blood. We can talk about it respectfully, even if condemning the actions but supporting the person if and when the facts are known. You may come to the conclusion when the facts are known that he shouldn't be at the club. Fair enough. But the facts aren't known yet. I personally, generally believe in giving people second chances, although that option may not be practical if a long suspension is handed down.

News Jnr Rioli - He’s back.