John Anthony: The Answer

I never thought much of this bloke as a defender, but since being moved up forward, and since returning to the squad, this guy's been a really handy pickup! He's on 2 goals at the moment with the game still going, and he just looks... Confident, after only 3 games! Correct me if I'm wrong, but if the game ends with him on 2 goal, he has 5 for his career, and 5 from two games in the forward?

I'll tell you what, this guy could be something.

Thoughts?

Yeah he's showing a lot considering he has only played less than a handful of games. He is best suited by forward IMO. His two goals today were timely, and he pulled in a couple of good marks.

Considering Reid, Rus and Rocca are all out for some time, I think he'll be used predominantly as a third tall forward for the rest of the year.

i agree mate he may be the answer for now since rocca reid rusling all out for pretty much the season...

but you have your info all wrong

how can you not have rated him as a defender, he's never played afl as a defender. only in VFL - and he has been great there

he's played 3 games for 4 goals, 1, 1, 2

No, he kicked 2 goals in his first game..... 2 goals with his first 2 kick of footy. 2 + 1 + 2 = 5
Fairly sure....

Always liked him.

Having ability is one thing, but KNOWING you have the ability and having confidence in it compliments it. Anthony has both, I've been saying all year long that he should be in the side.

He applies a lot more defensive pressure than I thought he would, and he's a lovely kick for goal. Good pair of hands, quick and appears to be a smart player.

Not entirely sold yet but have been impressed at times.

Has a lot to work with.

how can you not have rated him as a defender, he's never played afl as a defender. only in VFL - and he has been great there
I just couldn't see him going anywhere, I don't think he had the pase to go with the stars of the AFL and sometimes the stars of the VFL. He just looks much more comfortable playing a forward role, and I think (for the next few weeks at least) teams will have a problem learning how to deal with this new, big guy after being used to a generally small forward line.

Excuse my poor information. :thumbsu:

i agree mate he may be the answer for now since rocca reid rusling all out for pretty much the season...

but you have your info all wrong

he's played 3 games for 4 goals, 1, 1, 2

3 games for 5 Goals Richmond 2, Sydney 1, Adelaide 2. average 1.7 which puts him only behind Rocca 2 and Medders 2.8 on the list.

I just couldn't see him going anywhere, I don't think he had the pase to go with the stars of the AFL and sometimes the stars of the VFL. He just looks much more comfortable playing a forward role, and I think (for the next few weeks at least) teams will have a problem learning how to deal with this new, big guy after being used to a generally small forward line.

Excuse my poor information. :thumbsu:

We shouldnt have to excuse you for anything else... For crying out loud you're a Carlton supporter!:eek:

Mr-Wolf.jpg

"Lets not start sucking each other's dicks yet gentlemen"

We shouldnt have to excuse you for anything else... For crying out loud you're a Carlton supporter!:eek:
I am? I hardly realised! :p

Are you really a Carlton supporter?
You seem to post heaps about us, not that i am complaining, just curious.
Haha, I sure am a Carlton supporter, but most of all I am an AFL follower, I love the game as a whole and Collingwood fit in as part of the game. Granted, I do post a lot here, but honestly (and I'm going to be murdered on the Carlton board for this!), there's a lot I like about the players. :eek:

hmm i dunno i remember one.

anyways doesn't matter he's looked the goods

You might be remembering Nathan Brown's goal when he first went forward against Melbourne.

I am? I hardly realised! :p

Haha, I sure am a Carlton supporter, but most of all I am an AFL follower, I love the game as a whole and Collingwood fit in as part of the game. Granted, I do post a lot here, but honestly (and I'm going to be murdered on the Carlton board for this!), there's a lot I like about the players. :eek:

Good to see there are intelligent supporters around on both sides of the divide.

As far as Anthony goes, he had a severe neck injury last year and subsequently missed the entire season. Played a great game v Box Hill a few weeks back and bingo, two good weeks in the AFL. I had not seen him play well in the VFL until the Box Hill game (missed his good games of which there were many) and wondered why posters on here rated him so highly. After the Box Hill game though, I was sold.

It is rare to see a player play with such composure on initiation to AFL unless your name is Judd. To me he is far superior to Rusling in every facet of the game. I don't know if the hierarchy realised that he would make an impact as a forward rather than down back. Maybe it has just been good fortune. I just hope we stick with him as the inevitable poor games will come at some stage. But yeah Eddie, I think we have found a beauty!!!

And keep posting Eddie, you are most welcome here. Just ignore the few ferals who object to you having an opinion.

I was watching the Sydney game last week and he did make a few blues early on but then recovered and was pretty decent. He leads hard and has a fair bit of strength.

Could turn our to be a very fine player. Definitely think his suited more up forward than down back though.

Average game today, didn't do anything that will either enhance or harm his chances.
Didak gave him the biggest spray early in the game for something.

I thought he was good, he isn't there to dominate. More likely he is there to give us some structure with another tall in the forward line.

Two goals from him is an excellent return.

JA was pretty good, much of the time he was a "decoy" forward, as he had Rutten on him and frankly, he wasn't going to be the preferred option.

We all know he's capable of more, which is why he's marked fairly harshly, but he's doing well with the opportunities he's been given and it's great to get some games under his belt.

Good game like him up forward. Much better player than Reid and Dawes.
Hope he stays in the team!!!!!!

It is a very long stretch to rate Dawes yet given he has yet to debut for the Pies, but I do think Anthony has shown quite a bit in his three games.
I wish I could have seen the game as many of you have.....it is not quite the same getting a few minutes here and there between the static although after the first quarter every time the reception came good we had scored a goal :D

John Anthony: The Answer