NO TROLLS Jordan De Goey arrested for assault in New York

Note: Keep the discussion clean and on topic. Trolls, jokes about sexual assault and victim blaming will not be tolerated.
Please don’t quote or reply to trolling and obvious inappropriate comments, it makes cleaning up so much more difficult and time consuming, use the report button.
Thanks.

Does anyone know what sort of punishments De-Goey could get for his crimes?

I mean on its own even assault can see a person avoid prison time, but you would think the sexual assault would lead to prison time.
Getting placed onto a sex offender's register would be the worst of it.

There wouldn't be many countries in the world that would allow you in if your name shows up on something like that. Makes travelling O/S again pretty hard.

De Goey: “I want to go over to New York and live like an NFL player in the off season”

Collingwood: “So you want to go over and train like an NFL player?”

De Goey: “Um…sure.”

Collingwood: “Love the enthusiasm Jordan! Have a great time!”

He probably had intentions to actually put the work in but he obviously has serious problems. He is accountable for his actions but I don't know how Collingwood didn't manage this better. Least credibility of any player in the league and high risk from a reputation and commercial perspective for the club. If they can punt him it may be a blessing in disguise for Collingwood in the medium/long term.

Who is running the show at Collingwood that they'd let him of all people go over there in the first place. Boggles the mind.
I didn’t think clubs were allowed to have a say in what players did in the off-season. Isn’t that why clubs do the exit interviews so soon after their season ends, because of the hands off rules during off-season in the CBA?

We can make it about Sydney if you want. Here, try this...

This is partly on the AFL, they sent a terrible message by letting Sydney and Michael O'Loughlin pay off a sexual assault victim in 2003.

Nearly two decades on... Is Gill's AFL ever going to take sexual assault of women seriously?
You are much better going down this path to make the point then that other ridiculous crap

I didn’t think clubs were allowed to have a say in what players did in the off-season. Isn’t that why clubs do the exit interviews so soon after their season ends, because of the hands off rules during off-season in the CBA?

Whether or not you can force him is irrelevant. You have the conversation with him and manage him. He has no runs on the board and isn't in a position to be negotiating. Collingwood holds the cards and could have effectively managed him however they saw fit. There would be no one I would rank higher in the AFL from a risk perspective than JDG.

Mate seriously. Thats not what happened. Your boys were not 'saving' anyone. Please stop pushing this PR spin. Its embarrassing.
Bolton was the aggressor. Bolton instigated the violence. Bolton got booted out. It was all on CCTV.
The victim was allowed to stay in the club and wasnt charged. So please stop feeding this BS. Its just not funny anymore.
As far as I know, nobody disputes that a female was subjected to sexual and aggressive behaviour.

Obviously it was a tricky one for the AFL, can't condone violence, but if you choose to make stopping sexual assault a bigger crime than sexual assault itself...that sends a message to impressionable young men, imo.

That was just one terrible call, read some of Caro's articles on the general issue of respect for women in the AFL. She makes good argument that there is a massive problem, sheeting home directly to AFL House in some instances.

With that track record, then alleged behaviour like this from a player...it's time for change.

He probably had intentions to actually put the work in but he obviously has serious problems. He is accountable for his actions but I don't know how Collingwood didn't manage this better. Least credibility of any player in the league and high risk from a reputation and commercial perspective for the club. If they can punt him it may be a blessing in disguise for Collingwood in the medium/long term.
The sad thing is I thought the penny had finally dropped for him. Unfortunately it seems he won’t learn. I’m not sure what the future holds for him now at Collingwood but at the very least you’d expect the priority to shift to resigning Moore and Maynard.

He has all the talent and potential in the world but it’s hard to see him living up to it if he stays on the path he’s currently on.

Yep. The behaviour of the person is the issue, but people all want to blame the booze or the bags or both because they’re asshats

Literally zero people have credited bags as the reason he assaulted someone.

But it does stand to reason if you’re someone who has a past history of being involved in these kind of incidents (especially after the club has continued to back you and your entire reason for being overseas is to complete a high performance training block) your best bet is to stay off the gear.

The vast majority of footballers can enjoy themselves in the off season, including indulging in some well-earnt nosebeers without causing issues. Seems the same liberties can’t or shouldn’t be extended to DeGoey.

So committed to appear on December 8; I assume they'll require him in person? I thought pre-seasons generally kicked off around that time, if he by some miracle isn't sacked by then I'm sure he'll endear himself to all and sundry at the Pies by missing the first few days to make a U.S. court appearance.

Also, one or more U.S. civil damages suits arising from the alleged groping / punch on (assuming they can be enforced somehow here) should probably relieve him of the potential to make expensive mistakes in the future.

Not sure how you construed my post as ‘blaming the drug’ but congrats on your self-control and consistently good behaviour on cocaine over the past decade.

Some, like JDG, have much poorer behavioural tendencies and that gets amplified under the influence of coke.
The behaviour is always there. That is where the problem is. Amped has nothing to do with it.

Yep.

Unfortunately for JDG Collingwood are going through a rebuild and also going through a cultural re-alignment at the moment and giving him the flick is going to be a pretty standard decision.

There is going to be some serious heat on the club for anything less than a 6 month suspension if the allegations are correct.

Whether or not you can force him is irrelevant. You have the conversation with him and manage him. He has no runs on the board and isn't in a position to be negotiating. Collingwood holds the cards and could have effectively managed him however they saw fit. There would be no one I would rank higher in the AFL from a risk perspective than JDG.
How does Collingwood hold the cards? We aren’t allowed to have contact with him in the off-season, we can suggest what he does through said off-season but we can’t force him, and while he is in contract we can’t move him on unless he agrees to it and then he gets to choose where he goes. And just about every other option hurts the club as much as him if not more.

For the record I agree with you about the risk of JDG, but I’m trying to figure out how Collingwood. Is to blame for him being an idiot (again) in New York.

Getting placed onto a sex offender's register would be the worst of it.

There wouldn't be many countries in the world that would allow you in if your name shows up on something like that. Makes travelling O/S again pretty hard.

In Australia you need to be convicted of a related crime to be placed on a sex offenders register, but in most states in the US, you only need to charged and/or re-charged with a related offence.

In terms of travel restrictions, although we would like to think there is/should be some in place for these deviants, that is rarely the case...

The behaviour is always there. That is where the problem is. Amped has nothing to do with it.

You reckon he engages in the same behaviour if he’s sober?

Genuine question.

Drug taking and harm minimisation always needs to be looked at on a case-by-case basis.

If you’re someone with a JDG’s history you’re better off not partaking at all while you’re out.

As far as I know, nobody disputes that a female was subjected to sexual and aggressive behaviour.

Obviously it was a tricky one for the AFL, can't condone violence, but if you choose to make stopping sexual assault a bigger crime than sexual assault itself...that sends a message to impressionable young men, imo.

That was just one terrible call, read some of Caro's articles on the general issue of respect for women in the AFL. She makes good argument that there is a massive problem, sheeting home directly to AFL House in some instances.

With that track record, then alleged behaviour like this from a player...it's time for change.
It's very much under dispute.
Bolton used this as a cover story and it turns out it was a lie .
Hence he got a massive fine.
There is absolutely zero evidence of anything happening to any female at all.
The only one who said that was Bolton which was a BS cover story

Being off his face boozed or on drugs and dancing is no big deal in the offseason, there'd be heaps of players at all clubs doing the same, it's the other stuff that is the problem.

The problem is putting yourself in a position to knowingly, willingingly and encouragingly be filmed doing it.

Granted not been filmed doing drugs but when you're overseas for "rehabilitation", at a time when your character is in question, after a season your team finished 17th, and has been embroiled in a host of cultural issues, allowing someone to film you shirtless overseas clearly drunk puts his character seriously in question. That's aside from the fact he's been charged with assault of a woman, after having previously been accused of similar crimes.

The guy isn't a professional. If the club had a spine he should never play for Collingwood again.

How does Collingwood hold the cards? We aren’t allowed to have contact with him in the off-season, we can suggest what he does through said off-season but we can’t force him, and while he is in contract we can’t move him on unless he agrees to it and then he gets to choose where he goes. And just about every other option hurts the club as much as him if not more.

For the record I agree with you about the risk of JDG, but I’m trying to figure out how Collingwood. Is to blame for him being an idiot (again) in New York.

Not blaming Collingwood for what happened. Just saying Collingwood could have mitigated the risk much better because something like this happening is pretty foreseeable. You have a player who has been trouble his entire career including very serious allegations which were only recently resolved. You're paying him a lot of money. Over the past six or so months there has been a concerted PR campaign to demonstrate that he has risen from the ashes and is developing into the player everyone thought he would be. Collingwood is the biggest club in the land and has significant commercial and reputational interests to protect.

You tell him he isn't leaving Aus over the offseason. Easy. And he wouldn't go.

Anyway, I feel sorry for CFC and its supporters. Bloke has been paid handsomely and shown nothing but disrespect to the club and supporters the entire tenure.

The problem for Jordy now is what does he do when he goes to court? He surely has used up his chances with Collingwood, so, does he plead guilty/no contest in which case this would give Collingwood the option to terminate his contract immediately without any type of payout or does he fight it which would probably result in him staying in the States until the court process plays out and therefore tossing his 2022 season in the bin.

The problem is putting yourself in a position to knowingly, willingingly and encouragingly be filmed doing it.

Granted not been filmed doing drugs but when you're overseas for "rehabilitation", at a time when your character is in question, after a season your team finished 17th, and has been embroiled in a host of cultural issues, allowing someone to film you shirtless overseas clearly drunk puts his character seriously in question. That's aside from the fact he's been charged with assault of a woman, after having previously been accused of similar crimes.

The guy isn't a professional.
AFL website puts out what players did on Halloween and there’s pics of JDG having a time along with other players etc.
But now cos his behaviour is shit it won’t be there. Till the instant his inherent character kicked in he would have been on the happy snaps list.

Not blaming Collingwood for what happened. Just saying Collingwood could have mitigated the risk much better because something like this happening is pretty foreseeable. You have a player who has been trouble his entire career including very serious allegations which were only recently resolved. You're paying him a lot of money. Over the past six or so months there has been a concerted PR campaign to demonstrate that he has risen from the ashes and is developing into the player everyone thought he would be. Collingwood is the biggest club in the land and has significant commercial and reputational interests to protect.

You tell him he isn't leaving Aus over the offseason. Easy. And he wouldn't go.

Anyway, I feel sorry for CFC and its supporters. Bloke has been paid handsomely and shown nothing but disrespect to the club and supporters the entire tenure.
De Goey has his own commercial arrangements that were either valid or an excuse to get overseas to promote. Ironically he also does look pretty fit, so maybe the training was legit too!

Plus what right does the club really have to dictate what players do on their holidays?

Especially if you're saying 'stay in Victoria' then you're also condemning someone to either more lockdown or 2 weeks quarantine to get interstate. Neither are ideal for a players fitness or mental preparation.

The reality is if he stayed in Melbourne he might've been caught breaking lockdown and/or drink driving again. These charges are more serious than that but the point is I guy who stuffs up a lot is going to stuff up if he wants to, whether that's at home or away.

NO TROLLS Jordan De Goey arrested for assault in New York