Coach Justin Longmuir

It took Hardwick seven years to become a respected coach.
Yep, beginning of 2017 Hardwick was rated the most likely coach to be sacked. Early 2018 Simpson had an approval rating (from memory) of less than 40% amongst Eagles supporters. Both those coaches were able to turn things around, but both have reflected that the reason their teams became successful was because they had been able to keep a core group of players together for a number of years. I felt early this year that we were showing some signs of that starting to happen, but we were never really able to keep a consistent team on the park after the bye due to injuries.

In terms of Longmuir taking over, I am sure there will be a period of him learning the players' strengths and weaknesses and vice versa, but if we can keep something like our best 22 on the park I don't see any reason we should slide backwards. Mid point of this season (prior to injuries) we were 7-5 and tipped to play finals, some optimists even had us in the top 4. We may lose a couple of players in Hill and Langdon, but hopefully this is offest by having less best 22 player sin the sheds injured.

I am quietly optimistic we can have a better season next year than this, proviso being injuries.

Wouldn't say a lot. Less than half his time as an assistant coach. Also didn't you see what came out early? Wa media was wanting us to appoint a WA/ex Freo person
From the moment we sacked Lyon Peter Bell stated we were looking for a coaching team with a “Fremantle flavour”. Sweet FA to do with the media. Tell us oh recruiting mastermind!, who would you have chosen ? Who was “available”? I would have loved Clarkson, but none the less excited about a young coach who understands what it means to bleed purple and has served a decent apprenticeship learning under some huge names in our sport.

Have to agree to a point on JLo, but should be judged on the collective, and that is where he will be better than Lyon.
We needed to bring more minds into the equation and Im sure JLo will.
Looking forward to a new direction at both Freo and Peel, and players being utilised better with their skill sets.
Totally agree.

Ross tend to be the lone wolf.

Hopefully, JLo can bring a Wolfpack.

Yep, beginning of 2017 Hardwick was rated the most likely coach to be sacked. Early 2018 Simpson had an approval rating (from memory) of less than 40% amongst Eagles supporters. Both those coaches were able to turn things around, but both have reflected that the reason their teams became successful was because they had been able to keep a core group of players together for a number of years. I felt early this year that we were showing some signs of that starting to happen, but we were never really able to keep a consistent team on the park after the bye due to injuries.

In terms of Longmuir taking over, I am sure there will be a period of him learning the players' strengths and weaknesses and vice versa, but if we can keep something like our best 22 on the park I don't see any reason we should slide backwards. Mid point of this season (prior to injuries) we were 7-5 and tipped to play finals, some optimists even had us in the top 4. We may lose a couple of players in Hill and Langdon, but hopefully this is offest by having less best 22 player sin the sheds injured.

I am quietly optimistic we can have a better season next year than this, proviso being injuries.

Agree in footy there aren't any quick fixes and the classic sack the coach strategy isn't going to make us immediately better. If West Coast and Richmond fans had their way then Hardwick and Simpson would be gone by now.

In regards to how we perform next year I think the playing group will be divided and we do have to relearn new systems. Lyon had a bumpy 2012 for the same reason. I don't think we will do as well next year if we still had Lyon, but in subsequent years hopefully Longmuir can show why he was highly rated.

This is a strange phenomenon finding people that didn’t want Ross gone the only place I can find it is on BF, everyone I’ve come across and there’s been plenty wanted him gone.
[/QUOTE
When Ross first came here we were a mature physically ready squad, and he lifted the professionalism. Rebuilding a
young list takes time, and his was running out. I still would of liked to see what his recruiting could achieve for one more year, but with better off field support.
Without so many injuries, change may have been moot, but Ross has only himself to blame with so little support and
reviews that were taking the pi**

From the moment we sacked Lyon Peter Bell stated we were looking for a coaching team with a “Fremantle flavour”. Sweet FA to do with the media. Tell us oh recruiting mastermind!, who would you have chosen ? Who was “available”? I would have loved Clarkson, but none the less excited about a young coach who understands what it means to bleed purple and has served a decent apprenticeship learning under some huge names in our sport.

I don’t remember the quote about “Fremantle flavour”. Can you provide one?

Mate...I would love to but I’m technically out of the country for the next week with little access to my home emails...thought it was an email just after the sacking. I’ll have a look see...

Edit...yeah nup....can’t get access...I’ll look when I return to Perth

Not sure why people are complaining about this appointment. JLo is a good choice for the modern game.

Fact is, we were going nowhere under Lyon and he showed conclusively that he could not adapt to the way the game is run these days. There was absolutely no point in continuing with a bloke who was never going to improve.

I'm looking forward to the much needed changes that are coming
Longmuir keeps talking about culture

Culture is so so important in the modern game and I am positive Freo don't have it. All the rumours about rifts and Lachie neal and Weller and all these things. Where there is smoke there is some sort of fire.

The difference in culture can be seen between GC and GWS. For a few years there, every top player wanted out of the giants. This year thomolinson (who I personally don't class as best 22) and patton (who is held together by sticky tape) are the only real outs. Backing it up and having another crack after a GF.

And some players want in

Gold coast however, are hanging by a thread and I really sadly feel that they will become the new tassy team in a few years. I just can't see how they can turn it around. Yes they get extra picks, but then those picks will want a trade anyway.

The different is culture imo

Freo have the players to get it done, get them staying on the park, and wanting to be there, and there is no ceiling

In J-LO we trust.

On SM-N960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Well, I'm happy. Desperately want that Freo passion back.

That’s a big part of it for me. I don’t want to trash Ross in this thread but there’s no doubt that a lot of energy and excitement was sucked from the team by the end of his tenure and I hope we get that back next year.

What did the Hack say? Was he still spruking Suma?

Nah just a couple weeks ago I think he pushed the rumour that Sumich was favoured and and Longmuir was out or something to that affect. It pushed Longmuir's odds out to $7 and I know a few jumped on, just wondering who and how much people made.

Mate of made put $20 on at $7

It takes more than a year to develop a culture and systems (implicitly internalised, not just explained on a white board) that can win premierships, let alone fixing the holes in our list. You are essentially setting up Longmuir to fail. Before we fix our issues we may end up losing more games than winning next year, and possibly even badly. Doesn't mean Longmuir isn't up to it.

I might not have worded right but I agree with what your saying :thumbsu:

Nah just a couple weeks ago I think he pushed the rumour that Sumich was favoured and and Longmuir was out or something to that affect. It pushed Longmuir's odds out to $7 and I know a few jumped on, just wondering who and how much people made.

You're kidding! That Muppet has the influence to affect betting odds? That's sad.

Just had the misfortune of listening to that red headed maggot on 6PR today

Said he is getting messages from Freo supporters disappointed with the appointment
every time he said something that could have possibly been positive he had to follow up with "but"

Even took time out to have another dig at Lyon

unfortunately i can not see JLo get5ing much of a honeymoon on 6pr

FLOGS

I like Longmuir but it's hard to tell if he's going to be any good at the moment. All the modern day coaches talk the same crap about family, culture and teaching and honestly it's getting a little too cliche and tiresome. Hopefully Longmuir has more in the bag than his "I love Freo supporter/getting the best out each player" speech because It seems like regurgitated nonsense that Richmond were preaching 5 years ago. Also, I'll give him a break because he's young but I would have loved a bit more confidence and conviction in his words, that said, Dale Alcock seemed to have his balls clamped during the whole presser.

I was the biggest RTB fan so this is all hard for me. I'm looking forward to seeing what Longmuir can do but I'm not expecting miracles with the list we have. Hopefully the WA media and the Freo supporting hyenas give him a fair go because frankly we are a long way off if BHill and Langdon go.

I had $50 at $7.00 for a $350 return

Mate...I would love to but I’m technically out of the country for the next week with little access to my home emails...thought it was an email just after the sacking. I’ll have a look see...

Edit...yeah nup....can’t get access...I’ll look when I return to Perth
If he did (which I also don't recall) and was referring to the appointment of senior coach, I am not happy about it. Would be crazy for us to limit the possibilities in any way. Of the rookies Longmuir looks the strongest regardless of Fremantle connections, which I do like.

He’s only four years older than Mundy. Played a couple of years with him too. Wonder if they kept in touch over the years?

I like Longmuir but it's hard to tell if he's going to be any good at the moment. All the modern day coaches talk the same crap about family, culture and teaching and honestly it's getting a little too cliche and tiresome. Hopefully Longmuir has more in the bag than his "I love Freo supporter/getting the best out each player" speech because It seems like regurgitated nonsense that Richmond were preaching 5 years ago. Also, I'll give him a break because he's young but I would have loved a bit more confidence and conviction in his words, that said, Dale Alcock seemed to have his balls clamped during the whole presser.

I was the biggest RTB fan so this is all hard for me. I'm looking forward to seeing what Longmuir can do but I'm not expecting miracles with the list we have. Hopefully the WA media and the Freo supporting hyenas give him a fair go because frankly we are a long way off if BHill and Langdon go.
Good forwards, play can make you look better regardless. Just getting more output from Hogan, Lobb, Tabs, etc, can
cover the loss of our wingers.
We will find, create adequate wingmen, but without a spine we are stuffed.
Imagine if Pies had Lynch instead of the Tigers?