Coach Justin Longmuir

Yeah that's true about calming the doomsayers. I wasn't one of those as I always believed our talent would get us past enough sides that bottom 4 wasn't likely. My concern was, and still is, that 10-12 range is actually worse and that remains my concern and why a win won't assuage those concerns that much. I think it's worse because if JL2 isn't the guy that's maybe not bad enough to make a move and may extend any damage whereas bottom 4 might force a move.

It'll take a longer run of good form to ease my concerns in that area. But yes, the mediots and those panicking about bottom 4 would quieten down a bit.

I was talking about the high pick for Melbourne on the weekend with a mate and made the point that our pick is gone so there's no real point worrying about it. Jackson's showing he's worth it in my view - maybe still more on potential than output but either way if its a top 4 pick for them then so be it, we would still get draught benefit. If it is top 4 then we need to remember that all our other picks in other rounds will be too so we haven't given it all away and have that value along with maybe a new coach as well if it gets that bad.

The first pick is gone so no point worrying about it in my opinion but I get the notion that Melbourne get a high one and they're already good wouldn't be great.
I think treating it as a sunk costs is fine if the whole world is logical. In reality, we'll have to hear about it from every ******* in the country if the pick is really high. The closer that pick is to out of the top 10, the better

Finish in the 8 and it is a pick past 10. Jackson has 5 goals from his last 3 games. Keep on going like that for another 15 games at he will end up with 30 goals for the year.

Then the trade starts to look pretty decent on paper.

The poor starts is an obvious cause for concern. It feels like we're perpetually playing catchup which is a poor mindset to always have to be in. How can you claim to have confidence in any sort of game plan (conservative or aggressive), if you're never getting off to a good start in the first place.

Clearly it's more than just saying "go our harder from the start boys", but geez I'd be having a good hard look at what the messages are pre game and the intensity of any warmup as well.

I agree with Snuffaluphagus the only two things I think we can reasonably expect to get out of this year are:
  • Minimise the pick to the Dees so I can sleep at night (secretly hoping for 5 top 5 academy/FS bids this year). ~8-10 would be tolerable.
  • Use the fact we ain't winning **** to develop some players we wouldn't otherwise (Johnson, Ras, Kuek?, etc) or at least not to the same extent.

We will come home with a wet sail.
Wet? We're ****ed then.

Not even sure I’f we win this week..

Reckon as we adjust and tweak our game style a bit, we see the benefits late in the year.

To make finals we need to try grind these games out and beat Bullies, Hawks and Tigers at home coming up:
Honestly I see this season as being a typical Freo one, in the hunt until three rounds to go, then losing the last three games without giving much of a fight.

I agree with Snuffaluphagus the only two things I think we can reasonably expect to get out of this year are:
  • Minimise the pick to the Dees so I can sleep at night (secretly hoping for 5 top 5 academy/FS bids this year). ~8-10 would be tolerable.
  • Use the fact we ain't winning **** to develop some players we wouldn't otherwise (Johnson, Ras, Kuek?, etc) or at least not to the same extent.

Wet? We're ****ed then.
What do you classify as "not winning shit" though? IMO we should 100% still be aiming to make and win a final.

What do you classify as "not winning s**t" though? IMO we should 100% still be aiming to make and win a final.
Sure, but by the bye that will be pipe-dream stuff unless we improve dramatically.

Dogs
Lions
Hawks
Swans
Cats
Dees

We're favourites against the Hawks (but Mitchell worries me) and maybe 50-50 with the Dogs.

4-7 (or worse) at the bye and its time to think beyond 2023.

Sure, but by the bye that will be pipe-dream stuff unless we improve dramatically.

Dogs
Lions
Hawks
Swans
Cats
Dees

We're favourites against the Hawks (but Mitchell worries me) and maybe 50-50 with the Dogs.

I reckon 4-7 feels about where we are, maybe 9-10 win season finishing about where we are now

Dogs
Lions
Hawks
Swans
Cats
Dees

From those listed I'd say only Dees and Swans have definately been better than us. Lions have had some very average performances but will be tough at home.

Looking at the ladder last year after Round 5 Collingwood, Tigers and Bulldogs were in the same position that we are now. All 3 recovered to make finals and we should be aiming to do the same.

I'm 50-50 this week only because the Dogs are flakier than us (but better when good this year) and its at home.

+/- 20 points either way wouldn't surprise me.
I don't know. Call me eternally optimistic but that second half reminded me of the footy we played last year. With Cox's confidence back in the second and playing like an AA again, Darcy actually tapping to our advantage, and Jye, Walters, Schultz, and Jackson all kicking goals as we would hope for from those 4, I feel like things might be starting to turn.

We will, but only if we listen to them. Having not picked up a West, nor consume any of the Fox or other WA media stuff on pods etc I miss most of that stuff so that might be another reason why it wouldn't bother me that much.

The Jackson trade was a good one despite all the Gameday thread over reactions to his current output I've seen on here. Fair price for the talent displayed and for the future potential so it doesn't phase me where the pick ends up.

If we continue to play the same way and tail off, i wonder if the club should be looking to someone more inspiring and dogged, like Josh Carr as the next senior coach. Can't say i'm a huge Carr fan, but i love his tenacious nature. He seems a lot more inspiring.

He's definitely showing more in the last few rounds than earlier. He's the sort of bloke you go to the footy to watch.
How's his skills below the knees for a huge unit!

Its incredible really how good he is on the ground level balls isn't it, so clean. Much like the legend in your Avatatar who used to give me nightmares as an Old Easts supporter.

I also remember Mal Brown saying TI was average or below in terms of contested marking early on in his career. He certainly wasn't later on, in fact it was a big strength for him and he remained elite at ground level. I'd expect Jackson to start sticking more and more marks as he develops as well. Core strength and experience will allow him to get strong hands in a marking contest as well and he won't lost that groundball skill. It'll be fun to watch.

There is some similarity for sure. Jackson's legs are tree trunks in comparison.
If Jackson is 3/4 of TI, then he's a future hall of famer

Agreed, and even if only he ends up 50% of TI he's worth more than what we traded away for him.

We may have had his type on the list once already (Clem Michael) but he got smashed with the knee injury which was incredibly badly managed by Boyle and Willens. Clem was shorter but had similar athletic ability.

From those listed I'd say only Dees and Swans have definately been better than us. Lions have had some very average performances but will be tough at home.

Looking at the ladder last year after Round 5 Collingwood, Tigers and Bulldogs were in the same position that we are now. All 3 recovered to make finals and we should be aiming to do the same.
You're in absolute denial if you think we're coming to QLD and beating Brisbane. It's not impossible but its also not happening.

Geelong at home depends on who turns up: Q3/4 Cats against WC vs Q3/4 Freo against Suns and we win easily. Q2 version of each is a 10 goal loss.
I don't know. Call me eternally optimistic but that second half reminded me of the footy we played last year. With Cox's confidence back in the second and playing like an AA again, Darcy actually tapping to our advantage, and Jye, Walters, Schultz, and Jackson all kicking goals as we would hope for from those 4, I feel like things might be starting to turn.
Fingers crossed.

I was talking about the high pick for Melbourne on the weekend with a mate and made the point that our pick is gone so there's no real point worrying about it. Jackson's showing he's worth it in my view - maybe still more on potential than output but either way if its a top 4 pick for them then so be it, we would still get draught benefit. If it is top 4 then we need to remember that all our other picks in other rounds will be too so we haven't given it all away and have that value along with maybe a new coach as well if it gets that bad.

The first pick is gone so no point worrying about it in my opinion but I get the notion that Melbourne get a high one and they're already good wouldn't be great.

Draught benefit you say??

As loyal club supporters, how does one avail oneself of said draught benefits?
Asking for a thirsty friend (though not interested if it is Emu Bitter or Carlton Draught on tap - Little Creatures or Redback on tap would be good draught benefits though).

The poor starts is an obvious cause for concern. It feels like we're perpetually playing catchup which is a poor mindset to always have to be in. How can you claim to have confidence in any sort of game plan (conservative or aggressive), if you're never getting off to a good start in the first place.

Clearly it's more than just saying "go our harder from the start boys", but geez I'd be having a good hard look at what the messages are pre game and the intensity of any warmup as well.
Starting fast was the plan JL said our whole preseason was built on as it was an issue last season, he has NFI how to fix it