Coach Justin Longmuir

As the coaches box said once upon a time "Two swallows don't make a summer...". Having joined the "Sack him" squad a few weeks ago, well, credit where it's due, the last 2 games the team won and scored a tonne.

Particularly pleasing is that the (extremely young and inexperienced) KPF's have suddenly started to function, the whole team is hampered without the roles working properly. Also good to see the defence starting to get it's mojo back.

Keep it up JL and you'll win me back :thumbsu:

Where are the flogs frothing for JL’s head now?

Watching Tv Kerry GIF by Gogglebox Australia

I love how we break these long standing away win droughts.
It would be nice to not have a decade long drought in the first place.

Port Adelaide in Adelaide 2012 is now our longest drought.

GWS in Sydney - Never won there only played twice admittedly.

Hawks at MCG - Never beaten them in our history won't get a better opportunity in round 24. Only played them 3 times at the ground.

I imagine hawthorn actually requested to play us there as a 10 year reunion which is why we avoided Launceston this year.

It's been 10 years since the grand final? Wtf, where has the time gone wow

Hawks at MCG - Never beaten them in our history won't get a better opportunity in round 24. Only played them 3 times at the ground.

We had them in Harvey’s last year and he ****ed it.
Absolute incompetence. His bullshit attitude with Rhys Palmer was a disgrace.
Watching that last qtr unfold was bizarre. Fair dinkum Stevie Wonder could see what was happening and Harvey looked like a mongoose in a King Cobra cage.

I was there for that game. Weren't we 40 points up? Just a nightmare game.

You're correct about Banfield being at his ceiling and Sturt isn't. That's one of the reasons why Sturt gets dropped sooner, he's being developed. He played poorly against Bris was dropped and played his best game in a long, long time as a result. It shows that he's being managed well and he's responding to the management. It's all going well. If he keeps improving he'll be back in the side and will stay there and be in his prime for when we really need him, in 2025. The coaches know better than Bigfooty opinions.
Why would Sturt still be at Freo in 2025. Unless he plays the majority of the rest of the season he isn’t going to resign for us as he is OOC EOY.

We already beat them in Tassie.

Haven't beaten the hawks in docklands since 2001.

Glad Freo beat them in Waverley park in 1996

Why would Sturt still be at Freo in 2025. Unless he plays the majority of the rest of the season he isn’t going to resign for us as he is OOC EOY.

Why wouldn't he? He's developing well and if that continues then the club will offer him a contract. At this point of time I doubt we delist him and I also doubt that other clubs would be willing to trade for him. If he wants a decent AFL career then he'll re- sign imo but there's plenty of water to go under the bridge.

Where do we all sit with Longmuir now? Are we still calling for his head? Are we going to let it play out?
He was a couple of games too slow in making changes to the game plan but since the Brissie game we’ve been moving the ball faster and getting better at it. He copped a lot of criticism early in the year, including from me, but it’s clear now there were mitigating factors like Andy playing injured, the backs out of form, and JOM and Jacko needing time to find their feet. Also we didn’t have the right forward combination, but with Amiss, Jacko and Treacy now established and finding chemistry, the improved midfield, the faster ball movement, the backs working together better, we’re competing better.

Why wouldn't he? He's developing well and if that continues then the club will offer him a contract. At this point of time I doubt we delist him and I also doubt that other clubs would be willing to trade for him. If he wants a decent AFL career then he'll re- sign imo but there's plenty of water to go under the bridge.
At the end of the day he’s got to put himself first like the rest of us would.
If a club like Hawthorn or the saints or Essendon approached him and said, come on over Sam, we’ll back you in and give you 20 AFL games next year to show what you can do, as opposed to staying here at peel, or in and out of the AFL side fir a game or two, which do you think he’s going to take?
It’s not a hard choice is it.

Fremantle will take the chance that if they let him go, he’s not going to make it and they will be proven right.

There’s dozens of examples of this type of scenario all over the league TBH. Liam Stocker a good one this year.
Sam Collins is one closer to home for us. Menegola too.

Beating Sydney, last year’s grand finalists in Sydney for the first time since 2011? Nice one fella. Kudos for that.

Quite impressive turn around from the first few rounds, looks like we got the hawks at the right time.

Not ready to say he’s going to take us all the way given those first few rounds and quarters but going in the right direction now.
but you were ready to call for him to be sacked after a few rounds? :think:

what was his attitude with palmer?

If a club like Hawthorn or the saints or Essendon approached him and said, come on over Sam, we’ll back you in and give you 20 AFL games next year to show what you can do, as opposed to staying here at peel, or in and out of the AFL side fir a game or two, which do you think he’s going to take?

Fremantle will take the chance that if they let him go, he’s not going to make it and they will be proven right.

There’s dozens of examples of this type of scenario all over the league TBH. Liam Stocker a good one this year.
do you see many teams offering him a contract? i dont see it tbh

I’m absolutely certain he would. Goalkickers with speed are hard to find. Several clubs would offer him a one year contract with incentives. You telling me that the likes of Hawthorn or North wouldn’t give him a crack? He’s not 28 years old. He’s a classic young moneyball type that is low risk and high reward.

No shame in admitting when you get it wrong. I'm sure we'd all respect you for putting your hand up and owning it this time.
I made this point in the predictions thread but happy to say again here that Bailey had a pretty solid game, I'm not calling for his head this week.

I don't know that it's the sort of game that requires us to eat crow though - he didn't set the world on fire. This whole conversation isn't something that gets solved by one good or bad game anyway. We'll only know which camp should be putting their hand up at the end of the season.

Ultimately I still think our team will be better in both the short and long term if BB is playing at Peel and Sturt playing in the 1s but happy for Bailey to run out against Geelong

Interesting article about coaches discontent in the AFL

Makes it hard for Freo to attract assistant coaching talent if coaching is seen as poorly paid and not worth the time and effort. Would anyone pick up and move to WA when they could just as easily move to country NSW/Vic and have a better lifestyle and income?

Also makes me wonder if this is why we had a lot of old coaches return to coaching this year and last. Obviously a lot of value in Clarkson and Lyon, but four previous coaches in the past two years looks like a dearth of new talent coming through.

Firstly, Menegola and Collins were delisted and spent a year in the lower league before being picked up so a totally different scenario to what you're suggesting i.e., that a club comes hard at him in trade period to prise him off us. Plus, both openly admitted that the delisting and the year in the lower league helped them realise the work that needed doing. Sturt is getting that lesson now with us.

Secondly, if a club did come for him of course it would be an easy choice for him, especially as he'd be going home. And if that happened I wouldn't blame him but I also wouldn't blame the club and he wouldn't either. The club has done the best by him, I suspect he knows that.
I personally don't think a club will go too hard at trying to trade him.

There may be a dozen or so examples of what you're suggested may happen but there's a shit load more examples of players being overrated by their fans only to be proven wrong in the end.