Coach Justin Longmuir

I could live with spending another couple of seasons in the bottom 6 if we retained all our players and actually used those picks to fill the glaring list holes.

Losing more B22 and drafting half back flankers would make it hard for me to bare.

If a draft was held for all coaches where do you think JL would go? I reckon 17th.

It's very difficult to see him ever taking us to the promised land, unfortunately.

On SM-G998B using BigFooty.com mobile app
He's in the middle 14 or so coaches that have acheived nothing and don't get rated until they win or get sacked. See Hardwick in 2016 for why judging them before that is pointless.

That and I wouldn't want Clarkson, Ross back or Fagan for various reasons. Not fond of Hardwick either even though the record is great.

Chris Scott is the only "proven" coach I'd take come to think of it.

Genuine AFL names, the club is a minnow in the eyes of the football world.
Lions were a joke until Matthew’s hard nosed approach.
Malthouse at the eagles.
Blight at the crows, all at their second club.
We have no one with that experience. Even a mentor role would be welcome
I disagree About Brisbane.

Robert Walls was needed when he was appointed as Brisbanes coach in 1991. He got a flag at Carlton in 1987. Robert walls got them to finals in 1995. But he had time to develop Voss, Akermanis, Lappin etc.

Wow! It's like you have mis-read or mis-represented everything I said in those couple of posts.

Surely that can't all be by accident ... I smell some bad faith.

I'll finish with this for you... just thinking that our team is young but on the right track and everything will simply get better with a few more preasons and a bit more experience ...

Well that is Gold Coast Sun's thinking.
Again... thats my biggest fear...

Sure its fine having some good talented kids.

But in a way, if free agency goes down to 6 years. We get a batch of 18-21 year olds and they are 24-27 year olds 6 years later. We dont make finals for 6 or 7 years in a row, those blokes run out of paitence and all of a sudden those players prime years are not at the dockers, but at other clubs.

We either make a big play for Hardwick and sack JL now, or we wait until mid-2024 when we are 4-7 or 5-6, or worse, and waste a whole season. Now ... do we have club leadership capable of such a call?
Hardwick isn't coming. Soft cap means we can't offer what it would take to get him without crippling the rest of the footy department.

On SM-G955F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Now ... do we have club leadership capable of such a call?

Nope.

Everyone at the club is probably looking through their phone contacts and wondering which friend they can flog a job to. The board probably still has a hard on for getting Pavlich and Mundy involved. Probably get Mayne and Sheridan in somehow. Promote Hayden and Mzungu. Check up on Medhurst and see if he needs any money. We're all friends and Fremantle supporters love these guys so what could go wrong.

This shit has seeped into AFLW and that side is beyond ****ed with Webb and Antonio there.

Hindsight is dumb sight. There's no right and wrong and it's pathetic if anyone thinks they were 'right' if they predicted we'd finish low and we did. It's probability, sometimes things go right and sometimes they go wrong. There is no value in someone saying they were right about their prediction. What we need to do is understand what happened and why. Are there genuine and identifiable reasons that the result didn't meet expectations? Yes.

1. We underestimated the impact of the departures. We also didn't take notice that our list got younger till it was evident on game day.
2. We assumed we'd get decent seasons from Fyfe and Taberner.
3. We assumed progress was linear and we'd at least match last season.
4. Our fixture was much kinder to us last year, we got teams on their bad weeks. This season it's like we've run into every team at their best.
5. We underestimated the loss of Josh Carr (maybe).
6. Pearce wasn't the right call on captain.
7. Players unexpectedly lost form, Brodie, O'Driscoll for example, and we lost Chapman for basically the whole year.

I would be all on the dump JLO bandwagon if we had a premiership list profile, but we do not. We have tonnes of talent, but not a premiership list. Yet.

Impatient people make mistakes. Trying to force things to happen often has the opposite effect to what was intended.

JLO gets another year and the calls to dump him now is nothing more than venting, in my opinion.

That is partially correct but in the way it is wrong is so incredibly wrong.

If I (and I did) predicted we would drop down the ladder due to the loss of two best 22 players and a fringe B22 player, then there is something to be said about understanding the thought process and why it was a correct prediction. Otherwise you fail to learn from situations. I agree that being a hindsight hero is foolish and it is just as foolish to not learn from mistakes/circumstances. There is a tension that needs to be managed that you are missing in you desire to defend you position.

1. If the coach and management didn't notice we got younger, they should all be fired for gross incompetence. If you are suggesting fans didn't notice you would also be incorrect as there was talk of it on these boards.

2. Who assumed we would get decent seasons from tabs and fyfe? There was some remote hope for tabs but most had fyfe as a longer shot than that. You are rewriting history to serve your argument.

3. The club - again they would be stupid to do so. Fans - possibly, again not me and others I saw post here. So you can accurately say 'you' assumed it would be linear, but not all.

6. Pearce was not the right call. So who is going to be accountable for that? And what does that look like? I am not saying Justin should lose his job over it but it is and was a big mistake that he was a major decision maker on.

7. Players losing form happens to every team, in every season.

I agree he will get another year. I will reiterate my original point which was that your claim that this thread was all about dumping on Longmuir was very incorrect as there has been a lot of praise for him and in the last few pages people calling for him to get better assistants and then measure performance after next season. Hardly all about dumping on the guy.

Good call on Hardwick actually. Best example of a coach that was severley under the pump and redeemed himself completley.

^
A few posters have called on us to pounce on Hardwick. Why? He has acheived what he wants with his career and I can't think of anything worse than him coming in swinging his dick around and treating Freo as his pet project.

Hinkley is by far the biggest underacheiver. He's older than I am but by the time I die of old age he'll somehow still be coaching that club and having a laugh.

Great example too. Can't believe the Dees have stuck with Goodwin after going through such unbelievable lows together. They'll be good for a while yet but I can't see them winning another flag with him.

Luke Beveridge comes to mind as well - up and about after a second relative trough.
That's actually quite a lot of coaches then.

Personally I think if you have identified that the coach is decent then the club needs to work it's way through the hard times and focus on the other issues that impact performance. S&C, List Management, support staff etc.

The only way I think Longmuir should be under threat this year is if we have a replacement ready to go.

Mark Harvey did 2 things that the Fremantle Football Club and its supporters should be grateful for and won’t get any credit. He gave the opportunity for Mundy and Fyfe to be midfielders.

Actually.... I will say this.

That 2007-11 Mark Harvey era had a few Positives.

He came in at the right time. Made mistakes with the 2007 draft with Using only 3 or 4 picks in the National draft. Got guys like Rhys Palmer, Chris Mayne, Clayton Hinkley. Josh Head was given a 2nd chance and was taken as a 24 year old in 2007. he was on freos list in 2002-3.

Had to Cull the list in 2008. Had only 6 or 7 players in that whole 43 man squad aged 23 or younger. Thanks partially in trading 1st and 2nd rounders every 2nd year trade the likes of Josh Carr, Des Headland and Peter bell.

Shaun McManus, Peter Bell, Josh Carr, Matt Carr, Jeff Farmer etc were gone.

Stephen Hill, Nick Suban, Hayden Ballantyne, Zac Clarke, Walters were taken in the National Draft.

De Boer, Clancee Pearce and Greg Broughton were rookie picks.

Yes, its scary all that info is in my mind. I have said the 2008 draft is a legendary Draft.

I will Say this.... I did Predict originally that Justin Longmuir was gonna last around 7 or 8 seasons and gave us a 3 or 4 year finals run. That wont happen now.

If he is gone by this season or next season, So be it. I could look back 5-10 years from now and find some positives.

Can't tell if you're joking or not.

This guy hasn't won a flag, he has zero credits.
Justin Longmuir only has a few credits because of that Elim final win last season....

Saying that, I have not been enjoying the footy for some reason. I havent been too positive or Upbeat either.

Yet.... When it came to those 2017-19 years under Ross Lyon, I always remained positive and upbeat unlike most dockers fans on here, mainly knew the long road ahead. I think those finals wins from 2012-5 was still fresh and There was always hope that guys like Mundy, fyfe, Walters, Neale etc could stick it out and tolerate 4 or 5 years of no finals and then get us our next finals win. Neale didnt hang around long enough to see our 2022 finals win, the other 3 blokes did, despite fyfe being out injured.

I was very positive from rounds 3-11 in that 2017 season as we were 6-4 from 10 games, a massive improvement from 0-10 in 2016.

Again, I didnt expect Justin Longmuir to get us a Flag, But after suffering a long hard rebuild from 2016-21, the dockers fans on here deserve a 3 or 4 years in a row of finals.

There was a stat shown that Brayshaw was the 3rd or 4th worst midfielder in terms of score involvements from transition. It may well be inside mid or nothing for Andy.

Both Serong and Brayshaw unfortunately. I think they were 2nd and 3rd placed amongst the lowest midfielders for score involvement on transition.

what was it last year?

and of that’s the case the muppet of a coach needs to change things.
move some players around to improve things.

the fact that Andy barely wins a clearance should be his first clue

That's an insane take. I'd hand in my membership now if that's all I expected.

Well are you gonna hand in your membership with how Justin Longmuir is coaching the dockers?

I got laughed at when posting this....

I would love Justin Longmuir to have a finals run Similiar to Port Adelaide under Ken Hinkley from 2013-21.

no grand finals but 5 finals wins in 9 seasons.

The teams that make finals regularly are less affected by injury.
Dees only played 34 players this year.
They had quality and depth, something JLo hasn’t had the luxury of at Freo.
Their spine, talls as a combined unit is probably the best in the AFL ATM.
Which allowed Fritsch and Pickett to shine.
I think Chapman if the stories are true that he is now 196cm has to be developed as a key defender. The close to 200cm forwards are the ones we struggle against.
We fix the depth, quality, get a good run with injury and I don’t see why JLo won’t get us into finals?

guess what? Dockers had bugger all injuries this season. and we are bottom 6.

Nice novel bro. I mean I want us to go for a flag or bust. Not be forever Geelong making up the numbers come September. If that is horrible for you, I couldn’t give less of a s**t.
Again, I admire your false Bravado.

Reminds me Of Tough Man Tony Abbott....

So, this 2023 dockers side looking to win a flag this season or another bust year?