Coach Justin Longmuir

Again... thats my biggest fear...

Sure its fine having some good talented kids.

But in a way, if free agency goes down to 6 years. We get a batch of 18-21 year olds and they are 24-27 year olds 6 years later. We dont make finals for 6 or 7 years in a row, those blokes run out of paitence and all of a sudden those players prime years are not at the dockers, but at other clubs.
You live in fear maniac!
Swing like a toilet door in a hurricane .
Anchors playing well your a necro digging up post from oppo fans.
A few hard times and you crawl back in your shell justifying yourself yelling at the clouds!
If you can’t handle the losses don’t play the game.
We are going to do this with this group and when we do you.
You won’t feel joy you will feel ashamed of all the negative shit you bring to the table!
Stay strong Anchors
We got this!

You live in fear maniac!
Swing like a toilet door in a hurricane .
Anchors playing well your a necro digging up post from oppo fans.
A few hard times and you crawl back in your shell justifying yourself yelling at the clouds!
If you can’t handle the losses don’t play the game.
We are going to do this with this group and when we do you.
You won’t feel joy you will feel ashamed of all the negative s**t you bring to the table!
Stay strong Anchors
We got this!
lmao what the hell

How can you not love BigFooty?

I hate quoting that Oaf Sumich, but JL needs to tweak his gameplan, and quickly.
The whole pass the parcel obsession from centre bounces is so far away from being a flag winning sustainable style it’s hard to even describe it in words.
For the last 2 years now our approach has been to try get first hands in the tap from dominant rucks, then proceed to execute multiple handballs though heavy traffic and opposition bodies looking for the perfect kick i50.
I hate using this analogy but lots like trying to pull off a long odds gambling multi.
Each extra handball around the centre square after the tap is like an extra leg on the multi. You only need one to fail for the whole thing to fall apart.
On the odd occasion a multi will come up and every leg is a winner. The gambler feels great and thinks “how good does this feel, this is addictive”

Likewise when we pull off a move out of the centre bounce after several tight handballs you sit back and go “wow, that was class”. The problem is it’s not possibly to do it consistently. You cannot rely on players not making tiny errors and that’s all it takes..
You could execute 7 perfect handballs with centimetre level precision though an opposition midfield group and the 8th and final handball might be a half meter too high or low, then BANG - turnover and your team is suddenly running backwards while the opposition takes advantage of the out of position defence. 🤷‍♂️

The amount of times this year we have turned over possession though overuse of the handball at the centre bounces is enough to make any freo fan microwave their membership 100 times over.
Why on earth do we keep persisting with this ****ing ridiculous tactic?

All the opposition has to do is ratchet up the pressure and get a nudge or a finger in to Brayshaw or Serong or Aish while they are fringing handballs around and it’s a turnover. Then the opposition usually proceed to dump it on the boot I50 while we are all out of position then.
This tactic has nothing to do with the players and everything To do with the coach.

NO OTHER TEAM DOES THIS!!!!

Are the coaches arrogant enough to think that we are going to be able to execute 300 handballs a game under high intensity opposition pressure without any errors? Our players are human beings not robots. It’s not possible to avoid errors or fatigue.
It feels to me JL is doubling down on this tactic instead of tweaking it though.
It has nothing to do with list management and everything to do with the coach.

There is also a false narrative going around that we had a really tough fixture this year due to our good finals performance last season.
I want to nip it in the bud now because it’s bullshit.
These are the 6 teams we had a double fixture against in 2023:

Brisbane
West coast
Bulldogs

We got double games against 2 of the worst 3 sides in the league this year that are actively trying not to win games. That’s 5 of our 23 games and more than most other teams.
Geelong and bulldogs have spent most of the season sitting in the mid part of the ladder, and will likely be in that 6th to 10th bracket, an area we should at worst have been.
Brisbane is the only top 4 side we play twice.

It’s not a rough fixture by any means and it may surprise some to learn that we could very easily get the exact same 6 teams as a double up next year if we finish bottom 6.

Well, we haven't played the reverse fixtures against Hawthorn or West Coast yet. Geelong are still 6-1 at home and given their record at GMHBA I don't think it can be classed as anything other than a hard match.

You can still criticise Longmuir while acknowledging the draw's been fairly rough. Tougher opposition doesn't account for the stretches of terrible, weak football.

Well, we haven't played the reverse fixtures against Hawthorn or West Coast yet. Geelong are still 6-1 at home and given their record at GMHBA I don't think it can be classed as anything other than a hard match.

You can still criticise Longmuir while acknowledging the draw's been fairly rough. Tougher opposition doesn't account for the stretches of terrible, weak football.
I think it’s been a reasonable draw. I just dont accept it as an excuse. Collingwood and port are the two best sides by far and we avoided a double up there.

We got the saints with about 16 players on their injury list and couldn’t beat them.
Were fortunate to meet Melbourne without Clayton Oliver.
Got the suns at Norwood instead of Metricon.

Yeah there has been some tough aspects too like brisbane twice (again) but I don’t believe it’s any harder or earlier than any other team apart from
maybe Essendon and the saints.

There is also a false narrative going around that we had a really tough fixture this year due to our good finals performance last season.
I want to nip it in the bud now because it’s bullshit.
These are the 6 teams we had a double fixture against in 2023:

Brisbane
West coast
Bulldogs

We got double games against 2 of the worst 3 sides in the league this year that are actively trying not to win games. That’s 5 of our 23 games and more than most other teams.
Geelong and bulldogs have spent most of the season sitting in the mid part of the ladder, and will likely be in that 6th to 10th bracket, an area we should at worst have been.
Brisbane is the only top 4 side we play twice.

It’s not a rough fixture by any means and it may surprise some to learn that we could very easily get the exact same 6 teams as a double up next year if we finish bottom 6.
You don’t think Collingwood after a 6 day break and travel with them off 8 days isn’t a tough draw.

You got to look at other factors rather than just teams. Look at when they are played, where the opposition played and when the week before, who came off a bye etc etc

So what is the count for clubs looking for a new coach? I’ve got GC, Tigers and
WC.
I think Simmo doesn’t realise he is done, something has to give.
You would be hoping we are pro active for next year with adding a few
names to the roster.
Changing coaches mid season next year and it’s the Drum years over again.
We need someone already here.

You don’t think Collingwood after a 6 day break and travel with them off 8 days isn’t a tough draw.

You got to look at other factors rather than just teams. Look at when they are played, where the opposition played and when the week before, who came off a bye etc etc
I get what you are saying, but we get rooted every year with 6 day turnarounds, trips to Tassie, Brisbane and GC, and rubbish game timeslots.

This year we actually got far less of that than in many years, for example playing GC in SA as part of the gather round saved us a much longer trip to Gold Coast. We had an 8 day break before a home game against Carltank who were coming off a six and a half day break with multiple key players out, yet we laid a Boston Pancake on that one. Similarly we had a full 7 day break before the game against GWS in Sydney - GWS had only 5 and a half days and had multiple players out yet we delivered one of the worst performances of any Dockers team in the last 20 years.

Our draw this year was as reasonable as you could hope for given we won a final last year - yet we have consistently been poorly prepared for matches and unable to start games with any structure, discipline or system.

I hate quoting that Oaf Sumich, but JL needs to tweak his gameplan, and quickly.
The whole pass the parcel obsession from centre bounces is so far away from being a flag winning sustainable style it’s hard to even describe it in words.
For the last 2 years now our approach has been to try get first hands in the tap from dominant rucks, then proceed to execute multiple handballs though heavy traffic and opposition bodies looking for the perfect kick i50.
I hate using this analogy but lots like trying to pull off a long odds gambling multi.
Each extra handball around the centre square after the tap is like an extra leg on the multi. You only need one to fail for the whole thing to fall apart.
On the odd occasion a multi will come up and every leg is a winner. The gambler feels great and thinks “how good does this feel, this is addictive”

Likewise when we pull off a move out of the centre bounce after several tight handballs you sit back and go “wow, that was class”. The problem is it’s not possibly to do it consistently. You cannot rely on players not making tiny errors and that’s all it takes..
You could execute 7 perfect handballs with centimetre level precision though an opposition midfield group and the 8th and final handball might be a half meter too high or low, then BANG - turnover and your team is suddenly running backwards while the opposition takes advantage of the out of position defence. 🤷‍♂️

The amount of times this year we have turned over possession though overuse of the handball at the centre bounces is enough to make any freo fan microwave their membership 100 times over.
Why on earth do we keep persisting with this ******* ridiculous tactic?

All the opposition has to do is ratchet up the pressure and get a nudge or a finger in to Brayshaw or Serong or Aish while they are fringing handballs around and it’s a turnover. Then the opposition usually proceed to dump it on the boot I50 while we are all out of position then.
This tactic has nothing to do with the players and everything To do with the coach.

NO OTHER TEAM DOES THIS!!!!

Are the coaches arrogant enough to think that we are going to be able to execute 300 handballs a game under high intensity opposition pressure without any errors? Our players are human beings not robots. It’s not possible to avoid errors or fatigue.
It feels to me JL is doubling down on this tactic instead of tweaking it though.
It has nothing to do with list management and everything to do with the coach.
Great summation, we need mids with some pace who can kick with depth ie Bonty or Daicos etc

AS much as i like Caleb and Andy kicking to a target is not a strength (same for Brodie)

Need to priortise this type of player over next few drafts

WC.
names to the roster.
Simmo's not going anywhere, he just bought another Hungry Jacks so needs to pay it off.

Great summation, we need mids with some pace who can kick with depth ie Bonty or Daicos etc

AS much as i like Caleb and Andy kicking to a target is not a strength (same for Brodie)

Need to priortise this type of player over next few drafts
Or we could just adapt the Magpies game plan which is kick long and move the ball at speed and just win the majority of contested ball all over the ground.

Just wanted to ask, in the games against the Blues and Swans their coaches tend to play the spare in the backline such as Saad. Did we also play a loose in the backline or did we have one more at the contest/midfield because if we did why don't we just man them up in our forward line, i.e. 7 on 7 if they want to play 7 back there (after the 6:6:6). They showed interesting footage of Port on the Couch tonight where they did not want to kick to Moore so they seemed to kick it in front of the leading players so it would go to ground many times. Contrast that with how we played kick to kick with Saad and Weitering.

WC.
names to the roster.

Dockers have only sacked a coach mid season twice...

1st time was 2001 when Drum had freo 0-9 or 0-10. Dockers 1st ever captain Ben Allen took over and got us 2 wins. Chris Connolly became our coach in 2002.

2nd time freo sacked a coach mid season was mid 2007 when chris connolly was sacked. Mark Havey took over the last 7 games. won 4 and lost 3 I think. Mark Harvey lasted until the end of 2011.

I always said that the average period or span of a Dockers coach was 5 years. I reckon it will remarkably stay that way if Justin Longmuir stays until the end of next season.

Thats because our last 4 coaches was Drum at 2 and a half seasons. Then connolly for 5 and a 1/2 seasons then Mark Harvey for 4 and a 1/2 seasons. Then Ross Lyon lasted 8 seasons.

So Since Sacking drum in the middle of 2001, we have given coaches time here.

Tough draw? we started the season 1-3 with games against 6th (StK), 17th (NM), 13th (ADL) and 18th (WCE). Hardly a tough draw.

JLo has really farked us in that between him and Simpson the two head coaches have combined to make Optus everyone's fave ground to play at away from home.

That's going to sting for another decade. Miss the days of Subi being a fortress.. though not the crappy stadium..

Just wanted to ask, in the games against the Blues and Swans their coaches tend to play the spare in the backline such as Saad. Did we also play a loose in the backline or did we have one more at the contest/midfield because if we did why don't we just man them up in our forward line, i.e. 7 on 7 if they want to play 7 back there (after the 6:6:6). They showed interesting footage of Port on the Couch tonight where they did not want to kick to Moore so they seemed to kick it in front of the leading players so it would go to ground many times. Contrast that with how we played kick to kick with Saad and Weitering.
I might be wrong as I haven’t watched too much footy of late but more than likely we sent one to the stoppage creating a +1 there & giving them a +1 in our forward half. Looking at the stats we had more inside 50’s v Swans so it seems likely.

Its done against strong stoppage teams to reduce score from stoppages/contest but unfortunately it increases the opportunity for scores from turnover, which was pretty high v Sydney I think.

Or we could just adapt the Magpies game plan which is kick long and move the ball at speed and just win the majority of contested ball all over the ground.
91.3 fm radio I heard host saying most of the clubs at the top already embraced this type of footy. Those who didnt is at the bottom. He said there is Collingwood influence in wafl as well , as many clubs started playing this footy. Very soon grass root amateurs will start playing this style, but we will still be playing slow moving possession footy. I mentioned earlier .. if east perth win flag, any chance of getting Ross McQueen as an assistant?

On SM-A205YN using BigFooty.com mobile app

I don't disagree, but it did get fixed for a while. Fyfe got fit, we had a genuine big-body in there and we started winning clearance and contest. Darcy went down, Fyfe down, Brodie unavailable and we get beat up massively in the middle.

We actually started a few games (today included) well on top, but couldn't convert, or get good service in, due to mids not absorbing pressure.

The midfield dictates all of this; with cover our defense looks good, without they're out of position and get ****ed. Johnno and Ras need to develop and it'll be painful while they do. Brodie hopefully finds a way back in.

The game plan isn't bad, but the execution has been terrible and we need to be bigger in the middle. Don't get me wrong, JL hasn't been great, but he's also not the liability people are making out. I know it feels s**t, but give it another year to come together.

On SM-G955F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Yeh I agree
I’m backing him in too

There is a 50% probability that when we win a flag in 2025 I can bump this thread and say I told ya 😉

The absolute constant BS handballing around in a tight a circle and/or backwards definitely doesn't hold up under pressure.

"But that's the players not the coach!" some will say.

I say: the players have been doing it year and nothing has changed. Either the coaches condone it, or they don't have the fortitude/competency to change player behaviour.

Either way the coaches must take responsibility for the way we play.
I think it’s more to do with skill levels than anything else

Until all those kids play 2-3 seasons together under all sorts of pressure we can’t expect to see the same consistency as a Collingwood , Richmond or Geelong who just play instinctively knowing their team mates strengths and weaknesses

Lack of leadership in the midfield is killing us as well .

Watch the replay of Saturdays game
Just before the first bounce there is a shot of our midfield group together talking shop
They are absolutely just Kids .
Omeara was there and said a bit but otherwise it was just a group of 21, 22 year olds taking the weight of a whole club on their shoulders
Damn I miss Fyfe
If we ever needed him it’s right bloody now ( and to have kicked a bit straighter in 2013 😁)

Dockers have only sacked a coach mid season twice...

1st time was 2001 when Drum had freo 0-9 or 0-10. Dockers 1st ever captain Ben Allen took over and got us 2 wins. Chris Connolly became our coach in 2002.

2nd time freo sacked a coach mid season was mid 2007 when chris connolly was sacked. Mark Havey took over the last 7 games. won 4 and lost 3 I think. Mark Harvey lasted until the end of 2011.

I always said that the average period or span of a Dockers coach was 5 years. I reckon it will remarkably stay that way if Justin Longmuir stays until the end of next season.

Thats because our last 4 coaches was Drum at 2 and a half seasons. Then connolly for 5 and a 1/2 seasons then Mark Harvey for 4 and a 1/2 seasons. Then Ross Lyon lasted 8 seasons.

So Since Sacking drum in the middle of 2001, we have given coaches time here.
Only reason I’m bringing this up is if we do get off to a similar start to this year.
The knives will be out for JLo, and we would have no one wanting the job.
At least if we had an assistant with experience, or desire too, rather than on the
run.
I’m sure being Freo it’s all good and nothing to worry about, as you know our
history is fluid transitions.
It’s funny looking back on those times how WC and Freo were connected.
Judge lasted 2 years for a 14th, 15th season and we were into Worsfold.
Which resulted in Woosha poached from our delay, I think Neil Craig was
their man?
Nothing has changed and Simmo is gone. Let’s hope we don’t get leftovers.

On a side note to game day coaching - my biggest hate for JL is him ruining kids debut games by making them the sub. It's just disgusting. We should use their adrenalin as a tool and throw them straight into battle. sub them out later if they're not performing. leaving a poor kid sitting on the bench for 3 quarters of his debut game is pathetic in my opinion. Culture breaking stuff.

JLo has really farked us in that between him and Simpson the two head coaches have combined to make Optus everyone's fave ground to play at away from home.

That's going to sting for another decade. Miss the days of Subi being a fortress.. though not the crappy stadium..

That can change in an instant.
2001 we didn't win a game until round 18 and only two for the season.

2002 we won our first 6 home games and went 9-3 at home for the season while going winless on the road.

On a side note to game day coaching - my biggest hate for JL is him ruining kids debut games by making them the sub. It's just disgusting. We should use their adrenalin as a tool and throw them straight into battle. sub them out later if they're not performing. leaving a poor kid sitting on the bench for 3 quarters of his debut game is pathetic in my opinion. Culture breaking stuff.
This is a dubious narrative. Graduated introductions for newbies is a perfectly sound strategy logically. It's not anything particularly isolated to modern times either. I've heard plenty of old-timee footballers (pre-interchanges) describe their debut game as spending most, if not all, of the time on the bench.

By what mechanism is it "culture breaking"?

Being an AFL-level footy player it helps if you to adapt to the conditions as they are.