Coach Justin Longmuir

It's a fair point and it's almost guaranteed that the names on those lists would be long shots.

But, this is where our CEO and Board earn their keep. We would have said the same thing about getting Lyon back in the day.

If we perennially think like a small club, we'll always be a small club.

Agree with this and I would add Bell to that group.

The board doesn't seem the greatest, but it would be nice to see how influential they can be and if they can solve some problems that can bring the very best people here.

I would also like to know what Bob Murphy's role is aside from nice guy. Is his position included in the football ops budget? We are not paying Lyon this season, finance shouldn't have been a reason to not replace Carr.

Lot's of questions... I guess we will only get answers in the off season if we see results.

People think we are just in the valley of despair and things will somehow improve because "we are so young and inexperienced" and "the umpires aren't fair" and "the players aren't executing, the plan is fine".

There is no further slope of enlightenment coming.

The second half of last season was peak mount stupid, the lack of basic coaching competence means we aren't getting any better...

View attachment 1734499
This is an incorrect interpretation of this graph. Dunning Krueger indeed.

This graph represents an individual's confidence in their own understanding/competence in a particular subject.

This graph does not represent actual progression of competence from beginner to expert, which doesn't have a 'mount stupid' at all.

This is an incorrect interpretation of this graph. Dunning Krueger indeed.

This graph represents an individual's confidence in their own understanding/competence in a particular subject.

This graph does not represent actual progression of competence from beginner to expert, which doesn't have a 'mount stupid' at all.
The graph is perfectly appropriate for both Longmuir and Bell.

There will be no actual progression because there is no actual competence.

The club needs to make a decision, either Longmire is our guy or he isn't.

If he isn't the solution is simple, sack him and get the next best available coach.

If he IS the guy they need to double down and back him in. Throw everything we have on beefing up our footy department. All this hoo ha over the soft cap, it's exactly that. A soft cap. Just pay the tax and spend what we have to to get the support in place so that there are no excuses.

The list is good enough to be top 8, we saw that last year so something isn't right. We aren't too small in the midfield and all this harping on about Brayshaw being a B+ player is short sighted. He is elite, just because he hasn't hit the heights of last year doesn't mean he has peaked. He's 23 years old.

The forward line is not the core of our problem at the moment but once the midfield is back to firing and winning clearances it will be. They need to focus heavily on goal scoring players. Look at Amiss, it does not matter if it is a set shot or a ground ball get he knows where the goals are. That's the quality we need to target.

Maybe I'm just so exhausted from 25+ years of barracking but it just isn't worth getting worked up about any more.

It was a mistake a few years ago trying to build through trading in players. It doesn't allow the list to build their own culture, players like Lobb, Hogan, Hamling, Kersten, Matera, Acres, Wilson etc didn't come across and join an established team. They were supposed to be the cornerstone.

A lot of focus was placed on drafting WA players that seems short sighted in hindsight. Pick the best players and develop them so we'll that every club in the league wants to poach them, but develop a culture that they want to stay.

My point is the club needs to make a decision and throw everything they have to make it happen. We have the facilities, the resources and a well stocked list.

Hopefully the club has the will to get it done. We have been very successful commercially for years considering the absolute mediocrity we have put out on the field.

If we can win a flag any tax we pay in the lead up will be paid back 10 fold.

All's I'm saying is:

Freo with Josh Carr - 5th
Freo without Josh Carr - 14th

Port with Josh Carr - 2nd
Port without Josh Carr - 11th

I'll say it.

I don't think our list is anywhere near it.

Too thin in the middle, no elite talent in front of the ball bar Amiss, Walters is a capable finisher, but doesn't really defend.

Defence is ok, Pearce is one dimensional, and in that one dimension, seems to get beaten more often than not.

We need another raft of 2-3 A graders, I feel we have 3 at a stretch - Serong, Darcy & Jackson.

Brayshaw is B+ but he is too lateral and doesn't hurt the opposition as an inside mid.
100% on the money, the class is just not there, take nothing away from Serong, heart and soul.
Liken it to racing, top horses make their own luck, they don't need a soft cushy run to win.
And our bottom four are barely AFL standard.
Recruiting and list management has stuffed us since day one. Neale brownlow, Cerra BOG Sunday, Langdon premiership medal etc etc

There's a lot in the group, but I thought Walker was also a non factor today, what's happened to his attacking game? It's non existent at, seems to be jogging around at times. Reckon he should be dropped.
Yes but Walker jogging around is poor coaching. Walker has only two good traits, his speed and his willingness to seemingly keep on attacking regardless of how many times he got holding the ball. Nows hes gone purely defensive he has no traits at all. Thats bad coaching.

Fear? Why fear? You reckon McRae works on fear?
Not just fear..respect too.

You can’t tell me the lions and hawks successful clubs weren’t afraid of their respectful coaches.

You want players walking on egg shells. Brings the best out on game day. Anyone that’s played sports will tell you that.

JL is a low energy person. That is reflected in every piece of footage we have seen of how he communicates with the players. Tries to be their mate.

We need a leader of men that inspires our players to go to war every week and would run through brick walls for him or her. JL and Alex Pearce are not those people. Bob Murphy is not that person.

Enough touchy-feely bullshit.

Not just fear..respect too.

You can’t tell me the lions and hawks successful clubs weren’t afraid of their respectful coaches.

You want players walking on egg shells. Brings the best out on game day. Anyone that’s played sports will tell you that.
Doesn't work anymore. Coaches have got to be smarter than that. Hardwick (from the start of 2017) promoted positive engagement. McRae does the same. Quite possibly all those old fire and brimstone coaches may have just been poor at emotional regulation.

The club needs to make a decision, either Longmire is our guy or he isn't.

If he isn't the solution is simple, sack him and get the next best available coach.

If he IS the guy they need to double down and back him in. Throw everything we have on beefing up our footy department. All this hoo ha over the soft cap, it's exactly that. A soft cap. Just pay the tax and spend what we have to to get the support in place so that there are no excuses.

The list is good enough to be top 8, we saw that last year so something isn't right. We aren't too small in the midfield and all this harping on about Brayshaw being a B+ player is short sighted. He is elite, just because he hasn't hit the heights of last year doesn't mean he has peaked. He's 23 years old.

The forward line is not the core of our problem at the moment but once the midfield is back to firing and winning clearances it will be. They need to focus heavily on goal scoring players. Look at Amiss, it does not matter if it is a set shot or a ground ball get he knows where the goals are. That's the quality we need to target.

Maybe I'm just so exhausted from 25+ years of barracking but it just isn't worth getting worked up about any more.

It was a mistake a few years ago trying to build through trading in players. It doesn't allow the list to build their own culture, players like Lobb, Hogan, Hamling, Kersten, Matera, Acres, Wilson etc didn't come across and join an established team. They were supposed to be the cornerstone.

A lot of focus was placed on drafting WA players that seems short sighted in hindsight. Pick the best players and develop them so we'll that every club in the league wants to poach them, but develop a culture that they want to stay.

My point is the club needs to make a decision and throw everything they have to make it happen. We have the facilities, the resources and a well stocked list.

Hopefully the club has the will to get it done. We have been very successful commercially for years considering the absolute mediocrity we have put out on the field.

If we can win a flag any tax we pay in the lead up will be paid back 10 fold.
Honestly why would we give a shit about soft cap tax. Were a rich club and the club profits are frankly pretty meaningless. It's not like members can get a dividend. Dividends come in the form of wins and premierships and frankly the ROI is embarassing.

The footy department looks thin as.

JL is a low energy person. That is reflected in every piece of footage we have seen of how he communicates with the players. Tries to be their mate.

We need a leader of men that inspires our players to go to war every week and would run through brick walls for him or her. JL and Alex Pearce are not those people. Bob Murphy is not that person.

I agree.

Let’s show up the incompetent GC and Eagles, swoop in and get the very best available.

Yes but Walker jogging around is poor coaching. Walker has only two good traits, his speed and his willingness to seemingly keep on attacking regardless of how many times he got holding the ball. Nows hes gone purely defensive he has no traits at all. Thats bad coaching.
1000% this.

Walker, NOD, Freddie, Switta, SChultz and Clark were all ferociously free and attacking in the first part and middle of last year.

Dogmatic, stubborn, insistent obsession with a one dimensional game plan, coupled with repeat selection of plodding no talents like JOM, Hughes and Banfield, just kills that energy, vibe and sheer joy which was so much of the good parts of last year.

Doesn't work anymore. Coaches have got to be smarter than that. Hardwick (from the start of 2017) promoted positive engagement. McRae does the same. Quite possibly all those old fire and brimstone coaches may have just been poor at emotional regulation.

The Saints are 6th

How the hell would anyone know what Murphs can do with this young team? Bell has chained him to the desk, he needs triplicate signatures before he dares to get a coffee (let alone a beer or an off Cockburn site meeting) with an actual reserves player, let alone an AFL listed player. If Murphs was allowed to be Murphs, and just given free range without white anting, obsessive Bellian oversight and micro control, we'd have a chance of getting out of this even with JL as head coach. Bell stifles every independent thought that he can't take personal credit for - witness him no longer delivering injury reports on camera, but insisting on drafting and scripting every update question, answer and follow up.

Has been said around here before but that Buckley comment about how quiet and introverted the group was before the dees game was telling.