Moved Thread Kayo Sports

Those plain screen ad breaks give me the shits, surely when we pay for a subscription we can at least be shown something other than a blank screen during breaks in play.
I don't know what your experience is like, but for me they normally fill the ad breaks to the brim, at worst you get 15 seconds of hold music right at the end before they return to the program. I've only seen completely ad-free ad breaks a small number of times.

Those plain screen ad breaks give me the shits, surely when we pay for a subscription we can at least be shown something other than a blank screen during breaks in play.
Anyone else notice that since Kayo now cut to their own ad breaks, that their streaming now freezes frequently?

Never use to happen before.

Anyone else notice that since Kayo now cut to their own ad breaks, that their streaming now freezes frequently?

Never use to happen before.
It is terrible, had to delete the app on the TV and reinstall it.

Still happens too often

Since I've posted the original graphic back in Feb, it turns out Adelaide, Brisbane, Hawthorn, North Melbourne, and St Kilda have added Kayo Membership options. Meaning every Victorian team plus 3 of the 8 interstate teams offer such packages.
Bit late in the year now but perhaps something to think about for next year.
Will be interesting if the five non-participating teams continue to hold out in the near future.
View attachment 1702856
Update of AFL x Kayo Membership options for the 2024 season as of Dec 2023.
Was reminded by the Cats to cough up for next year and noticed a price rise so thought I'd update the table from last year.
And unless there is a hidden option I can't see, it appears the Swans are now the only team not offering any sort of Kayo deal.
FWIW, GWS Giants have the best deal if you don't mind adding yourself to their membership tally @ $231.
AFL-x-KAYO-Memberships-2024.png

Update of AFL x Kayo Membership options for the 2024 season as of Dec 2023.
Was reminded by the Cats to cough up for next year and noticed a price rise so thought I'd update the table from last year.
And unless there is a hidden option I can't see, it appears the Swans are now the only team not offering any sort of Kayo deal.
FWIW, GWS Giants have the best deal if you don't mind adding yourself to their membership tally @ $231.
View attachment 1864233

Do the clubs openly detail this Kayo add on?

I just browsed the pies membership options and cannot see any mention of it

So if you already have Kayo do you need to cancel and then purchase this? Or does it get added to your kayo account somehow?
You don't need to cancel, as long as you have Kayo Basic already you can enter the code as a voucher and start the 12 months from the start of the 'next billing period' e.g. whatever day of the month your Kayo sub rolls over.

interesting that kayo is spruiking that they're adding 4k coverage to games in 2024...with an accompanying price rise

last i was aware, they didn't use 4k cameras to shoot the game, so it'll be 4k upscaled not true 4k

BUT

a drop from 3 down to 2 concurrent streams will be most significant change for many

it will go unnoticed by most until round 1 when they all tune in at once and it won't work.

the ballyhooing of 4k is just a smoke screen to distract from a sizable 50% price hike from $11.66 to $17.50 per user

interesting that kayo is spruiking that they're adding 4k coverage to games in 2024...with an accompanying price rise

last i was aware, they didn't use 4k cameras to shoot the game, so it'll be 4k upscaled not true 4k

BUT

a drop from 3 down to 2 concurrent streams will be most significant change for many

it will go unnoticed by most until round 1 when they all tune in at once and it won't work.

the ballyhooing of 4k is just a smoke screen to distract from a sizable 50% price hike from $11.66 to $17.50 per user
If nothing else, 4K will mean less compression even if it's just upscaled 1080p, which is what they're doing on Foxtel anyway if that's the case.
Btw, thanks for letting me (and others) know about this; hadn't seen any ads about it myself.
Bit rich of them to remove the basic tier, change up the Premium tier (one less screen for 4K), keep that at the same price, but call that 'Basic' now.
Thank goodness I've got my Kayo sub via the Cats; seems even more of a bargain now :p

If nothing else, 4K will mean less compression even if it's just upscaled 1080p, which is what they're doing on Foxtel anyway if that's the case.
Btw, thanks for letting me (and others) know about this; hadn't seen any ads about it myself.
Bit rich of them to remove the basic tier, change up the Premium tier (one less screen for 4K), keep that at the same price, but call that 'Basic' now.

yep, it's a significant price hike for arguably less value

BUT

AFL and Cricket is filmed in 4K native for Fox 501/504 games produced by Foxtel (Test/ODI for Cricket, Fox exclusive AFL games). Ch7 feed for Foxtel is upscaled (BBL and Ch7 AFL games).

You don't need to cancel, as long as you have Kayo Basic already you can enter the code as a voucher and start the 12 months from the start of the 'next billing period' e.g. whatever day of the month your Kayo sub rolls over.
hi mate

what so what if someone is already a member of a footy club, what happens when you add a digital membership? Two memberships?

AFL and Cricket is filmed in 4K native for Fox 501/504 games produced by Foxtel (Test/ODI for Cricket, Fox exclusive AFL games). Ch7 feed for Foxtel is upscaled (BBL and Ch7 AFL games).

Are you sure? Both productions are NEP

They might use different cameras for different broadcasters but they used not to do so

I wouldn’t be that confident in 4k being stable during high demand anyway.
Unless they, god forbid, add more servers or change their video tech to a more efficient codec.
Say, wasn't there another change happening on 14 Feb?
"From 14 February 2024, Hubbl will replace Streamotion as the new company of Kayo Sports, BINGE and Flash."
Oh Yeah GIF by Jesse Ling

Moved Thread Kayo Sports