KDFL - 2010

Bourkey think i'll try fruit salad this Friday and see if it makes a difference...

Great round of results...

VT vs Stanhope was a great game to be apart of other than the disapointment for us when the final siren went. They come out of the blocks firing and managed to get ahead by a goal or 2 at quarter time. From then on we'd always manage to get it back even and then they'd answer back swiftly usually just before the end of a quarter. 3 quarter time we were down by 15 or 16pts and we went on a 4 or 5 goal spree for the first 10mins of the last and took the lead for the first time in the match by about 10pts, but then to Stanhope's credit they never panicked and managed to grind away and kick the final 3 goals of the game to win by 11pts. Shattering for us! That's now 3 times in a row against stanhope that they've beaten us by under 2 goals.
Harro was BOG and Sloan and Sanders got a heap of centre clearances. All 3 of them always used the footy wisely and set up a lot of good passages of play. Gibbs took a lot of telling marks across the half back line and R. Patten was good at finding space in Stanhope's forward 50m.

Was a good game Bodzy, standard of footy and intensity was right up there. Did feel we had the answers for most of the day, but must admit when you guys kicked the 4 or 5 goals in a row, after we had a couple of shots on goal early that missed, to put you 2 goals up, we were in a fair bit of trouble. You were all up and about and the crowd was right behind you. Was great from our guys to overcome all that to claw our way back but we should have iced the game in the first 5 minutes of the last quarter.

Both sides had a couple out, when will Jack Smyth, Gerard Ryan & Robbie Montgomery return for you guys?
Expect you to be a real show to be able to knock off Nagambie this weekend, especially with 3 of there guys being reported. Will be interesting to see if Paddy or Clydey come back in.

Lancaster would now be favs to finish on top with the easiest run home, they shouldn't drop a game from now on, which might not be the best thing for them as they have the bye last round, giving them 2 weeks off leading into the 2nd Semi.
So down to Undera, Nagambie and Stanhope for the other 2 double chance spots, Undera are a game clear at the moment but play both Stanhope & Nagambie, they win one of those games and 2nd Spot would be their's you would think.
Nagambie have 2 tough ones in VT this weekend and Undera last game, and Stanhope have Undera to come.

Well top spot is ours to lose but no doubt be super tough with 2 quality sides to face up to in the last few games.

Great effort by our boys on Saturday, things were made tough for us by Tally who have improved dramatically since we first played them. They have the best ruckman in the league and a super midfield, probably only a few backman away from challenging the top 3 on a consistent basis.

Looking forward to getting everyone on the paddock and barring injury we will 6 or so of our best 18 back for the Stanny game.

Nagambie are just going about there business ATM I feel, over the next few weeks they will get some of there best back and come finals will be a force.

Was a good game Bodzy, standard of footy and intensity was right up there. Did feel we had the answers for most of the day, but must admit when you guys kicked the 4 or 5 goals in a row, after we had a couple of shots on goal early that missed, to put you 2 goals up, we were in a fair bit of trouble. You were all up and about and the crowd was right behind you. Was great from our guys to overcome all that to claw our way back but we should have iced the game in the first 5 minutes of the last quarter.

Both sides had a couple out, when will Jack Smyth, Gerard Ryan & Robbie Montgomery return for you guys?
Expect you to be a real show to be able to knock off Nagambie this weekend, especially with 3 of there guys being reported. Will be interesting to see if Paddy or Clydey come back in.

Lancaster would now be favs to finish on top with the easiest run home, they shouldn't drop a game from now on, which might not be the best thing for them as they have the bye last round, giving them 2 weeks off leading into the 2nd Semi.
So down to Undera, Nagambie and Stanhope for the other 2 double chance spots, Undera are a game clear at the moment but play both Stanhope & Nagambie, they win one of those games and 2nd Spot would be their's you would think.
Nagambie have 2 tough ones in VT this weekend and Undera last game, and Stanhope have Undera to come.
Jack hurt his calf on Thursday night at training after finally getting his quad right, was shattering to see and Robbie M was a late withdrawl also with a calf that has been troubling him for a little while now. Gezza Ryan did his knee against Merrigum and I don't think he'll be back until next year. I'd say both Robbie and Jack would be a slight chance of getting back for this week but more than likely not. Also Boppa Keen will be out this week as i'm sure you're well aware of...;). As for Nagambie i'm pretty sure Rattray will still be out with his groin but have no idea about Clydesdale.

Also Boppa Keen will be out this week as i'm sure you're well aware of...;). QUOTE]

Haha, yeah very surprised when they said he took the week, happy I don't have to front up and get the old "we can rub you out for not telling the truth" crap from the tribunal. Was nothing in it, and to be honest actually thought he was reporting me when the ump ran in:D.

Tige19, yes very true, its all in your control and no reason why u can't stay there, just fingers crossed you might lose the 2nd last game and give us that double chance. Also think it will be a big advantage for whoever wins the qualifying to front up against a fresh, but not battle hardened Lancaster in the 2nd Semi.:thumbsu:

some interesting result this weekend boys (if there is any female bloggers ) and girls .
Tally taking it right up to Undera . The Violet Towners just missing out against us and Rushy doing a number on Murch and of course Ardy getting over the Longwood redlegs , Carrot if your still kick'n would like to , and I know I'm going to regret this . But it would be good to hear your thoughts . You have been mising in action for a while and I'm a little concerned that someone saw you in that cowboy hat and shot you , all the while mistaking you for JR Ewing off the much loved 80's drama Dallas .;)
G’day Acker ..
Firstly, to quote Mark Twain .. “the rumours of my death have been greatly exaggerated”! First one to tell me Mark Twain’s real name wins a Longwood FNC pass for two to the Re-Union of 1985 and 2000 at Redlegs Stadium on 7 August, 2010.
Secondly, commiserations on what happened at the Doggies mate! Maybe if you dyed your hair Blue and the beard dyed Red. It may have been the way to go. Combined with the tanned Qld skin which has turned White in Melbourne. Red White and Blue?

Wha’ .. wrong Acky? Apologies again, but all of you buggras have the Vegie Man wrong in wearing a cowboy hat!! Ever seen a Carrot with a raincoat on top?? Ah .. well .. we’ll leave that line alone!!

I was told in the last century (.. the 20th you silly young buggras!) that in the cold, heat leaves your body through your scalp. If you are follicly challenged (bald) the heat leaves quicker!! So I wear a cap or beanie at the footy. Maybe that’s why red Indians in America hated the soldiers .. took their scalps to make them freeze to death!! But at Longwood we still have the fire drum.

Here’s what the Euroa Gazette has printed which is a fair assessment of Ardmona’s big win over the Leggers. Maybe Bourkie might want to expand but the proof remains in the pudding after 28 at training the Thursd’y after getting flogged by Tally before last week. Got the numbers on the field but not the team work.
Cheers
John Carrot:thumbsu:
p.s. Vegie tip: Move your potted Parsley under cover until the spring .. or buy that shredded green plastic crap from the supermarket to put in your mashed spuds!! These frosty sunny days kills ‘em.
LONGWOOD TARDY AGAINST ARDY
Longwood missed the boat in the first half against Ardmona, yet were more competitive after the break .. but catch up footy never wins as the Redlegs went down to the Cats by 39 points.

Longwood Coach, Adam Bourke, was furious as he “sprayed” the team after the game ..” When are some of you going to learn that to retaliate means a free kick turned around .. that the umpire is not going to change his mind when you gob off and late tackles will result in a down field free kick!!”
Five out of Seven goals to Ardmona before half-time were a direct result of those un-disciplined actions with the last just before half-time due to a double 50 metre penalty as the yappers wouldn’t shutup.
“Not good enough!, or words to that effect, the Coach concluded.
Down 28 points at the long break, the Leggers became more competitive to score 5.4/34 to Ardmona 7.3/45 for the rest of the game.

G’day Acker ..
Firstly, to quote Mark Twain .. “the rumours of my death have been greatly exaggerated”! First one to tell me Mark Twain’s real name wins a Longwood FNC pass for two to the Re-Union of 1985 and 2000 at Redlegs Stadium on 7 August, 2010.
Secondly, commiserations on what happened at the Doggies mate! Maybe if you dyed your hair Blue and the beard dyed Red. It may have been the way to go. Combined with the tanned Qld skin which has turned White in Melbourne. Red White and Blue?

Sam Clemens . just chuck my name on the gate bud !

Bodzy, bad luck on the weekend mate.

Carrott, simply put Ardmona were the better side on the day. To be quite honest I was very dissapointed with our game. Not going into detail on this forum. I hope that each player hurts as much as those that put in the effort, and with 4 games remaining I hope we can at least be competitive over four quarters and try and salvage something for the club as a whole before they move into the post season.

See you in the rooms after Merrigum, hopefuly with us singing the song.

Nothing for two days on the KDFL thread!, are things getting a bit tight at the top of the ladder and no one wants to say anything?
When do the Nagambie guys go up, is it still on a bloody Friday night the tribunal?
Reckon Violet Town will roll Nagambie this weekend and give us every chance of grabbing 3rd. The rest of the games shouldn't have any bearing on the final 5,

Undera to smash Ardmona
Avenel to get over Rushy by a point
Merrigum to defeat Longwood
Stanhope to take care of Girgarre.

P.S. Every Chance that Undera, Nagambie & Lancy will all be playing home finals, this will happen if Nagambie finishes 4th and Lancy end up on top.

Bodzy, bad luck on the weekend mate.

Carrott, simply put Ardmona were the better side on the day. To be quite honest I was very dissapointed with our game. Not going into detail on this forum. I hope that each player hurts as much as those that put in the effort, and with 4 games remaining I hope we can at least be competitive over four quarters and try and salvage something for the club as a whole before they move into the post season.

See you in the rooms after Merrigum, hopefuly with us singing the song.

G’day number # one.
I’m now demoted from 007 to .05 since training tonight .. coupla reds with dinner. But that’s until lunch .. in the cricket on Austar (Poms 2/93 as we speak). Another “good” roll up at Redlegs Stadium tonight given we are officially the cellar dwellers, so that you had some cattle to work with towards Merrigum on Satd’y. And yes the better side did win on the day last week. Well done to Ardmona.

Acker .. it was actually Samuel Clemens so all bets are off!! Jokin’ mate .. well Googled! You are the winner and here is the prize.
~ Must pay at the gate for the KDFNL to get in to the footy during the day.
~ If contact not made .. for instance, I can’t tell the door people that night on Aug.07 that I’m paying for two people under the name of “DropyourDacky’s”.
~ For $10 each for each of you two .. for that matter all of us .. have a choice of three roast dinner, served to your table by the brilliant Longwood Community Centre committee and a live band after the reminiscing of 25 and 10 year old premierships. Late sweet supper also I think?
~ If you are fair dinkum, I’ll also throw in your admittance ticket on the back of a $10 Euroa Taxi ticket (..kerching!) sponsor to help for the trip home!
Send me a private message on Big Footy messages if you like .. I promise you a great night at the Redlegs Stadium .. it’s also called the Longwood Community Centre in the off-football season!
Cheers Cob
John Carrot:thumbsu:;)
Ps Pom’s now 2/103 .. Pieterson off the mark .. I type slowly. But it is lunch in the cricket now so I might have that beer I mentioned earlier!:rolleyes:

some interesting result this weekend boys (if there is any female bloggers ) and girls .
Tally taking it right up to Undera . The Violet Towners just missing out against us and Rushy doing a number on Murch and of course Ardy getting over the Longwood redlegs , Carrot if your still kick'n would like to , and I know I'm going to regret this . But it would be good to hear your thoughts . You have been mising in action for a while and I'm a little concerned that someone saw you in that cowboy hat and shot you , all the while mistaking you for JR Ewing off the much loved 80's drama Dallas .
Late mail Acker 'ol son.
Poms 4/204 in the last session before i go to bed in my retirement home.
But Larry Hagman wore the cowboy hat in Dynasty yet I love his replays as major Tony Nelson in I Dream of Jeannie .. I only watch it because of the late great Barbara Eden! The one who blinked .. didn't twitch the nose.
Might be a tactic of future female umpires eh? 'Specially in a turkish uniform .. (go to bed you old perv!) .. erh .. yeh sorry .. goodnight.
John Carrot;)

G’day number # one.
I’m now demoted from 007 to .05 since training tonight .. coupla reds with dinner. But that’s until lunch .. in the cricket on Austar (Poms 2/93 as we speak). Another “good” roll up at Redlegs Stadium tonight given we are officially the cellar dwellers, so that you had some cattle to work with towards Merrigum on Satd’y. And yes the better side did win on the day last week. Well done to Ardmona.

Acker .. it was actually Samuel Clemens so all bets are off!! Jokin’ mate .. well Googled! You are the winner and here is the prize.
~ Must pay at the gate for the KDFNL to get in to the footy during the day.
~ If contact not made .. for instance, I can’t tell the door people that night on Aug.07 that I’m paying for two people under the name of “DropyourDacky’s”.
~ For $10 each for each of you two .. for that matter all of us .. have a choice of three roast dinner, served to your table by the brilliant Longwood Community Centre committee and a live band after the reminiscing of 25 and 10 year old premierships. Late sweet supper also I think?
~ If you are fair dinkum, I’ll also throw in your admittance ticket on the back of a $10 Euroa Taxi ticket (..kerching!) sponsor to help for the trip home!
Send me a private message on Big Footy messages if you like .. I promise you a great night at the Redlegs Stadium .. it’s also called the Longwood Community Centre in the off-football season!
Cheers Cob
Ps Pom’s now 2/103 .. Pieterson off the mark .. I type slowly. But it is lunch in the cricket now so I might have that beer I mentioned earlier!:rolleyes:

Well done Jason Dropthesirenackey(manis), all them afternoons watching Dallas re-runs has finally payed off cocko:D Shotgun being that extra ticket suplied by the great Johnathon Carrot:thumbsu: Might need to put a couple of extra kg's of roast beef on Johnny, the Mainlander's have organized a bus for the big trek down to Redlegs stadium:eek:

Late mail Acker 'ol son.
Poms 4/204 in the last session before i go to bed in my retirement home.
But Larry Hagman wore the cowboy hat in Dynasty yet I love his replays as major Tony Nelson in I Dream of Jeannie .. I only watch it because of the late great Barbara Eden! The one who blinked .. didn't twitch the nose.
Might be a tactic of future female umpires eh? 'Specially in a turkish uniform .. (go to bed you old perv!) .. erh .. yeh sorry .. goodnight.
John Carrot;)

That's the bloke , Larry Hagman . For some reason I let the Bx Bandit convince me that the show was called Dallas .Enough talk of 80's soap's . do you think the redlegs will get over the might of merrigum this weekend ? I think we should beat Gig but it will be no picnic as they are hitting their straps .

G’day Acker
Since we were gazumped by Tally; with an emotional plea for players to get to training after that game, the response has been muckin’ re****able. No matter how far they had to travel.. we had 28 before Ardy (and lost!), then 18 last night. Chewsd’ys are always a struggle tho’. Yet there has been an identifiable lift in commitment.

So players, staff and supporters will get to the Gum with renewed enthusiasm to be competitive for four quarters.

Also without frustration kicking in .. we had one out for one (took the week), and one off at the judiciary on Wedsd’y night. (Well done Shorty!)

Looking forward to seeing the Merrigum town for the first time tomorra .. big game!!
Cheers

p.s. The free 2x$10 ticket prize is fair dinkum. If you are coming on the Stanhope Bus you have to give me more info than “DroptheDaks”!:eek:
p.p.s. Larry Hagman was with Jeannie in the 60’s then made it big in the cowboy hat in Dynasty in the 80’s .. and that’s it for bloody ten gallon cowboy hats .. said Hoss Cartwright .. but that’s another Bonanza story!!;)

Just a lazy 51 scoring shots for you guys on the weekend tiger. Looks like another demolition job coming up next weekend as well.

What's doin geek?? Hoppers no good on the weekend huh!

Yeah we have 1 more coming up before the real stuff begins, our finals starts in 2 weeks against a strong unit in Stanhope. You will have to get up for the finals, hopefully we go deep and play in the last game of the year in mid September. I'm led to believe all the boys will get the hoppers bus from the footy club should we make it, be good to see you at a game.

Murph said he had 30 and kicked 2 yet wasn't in the best??

I seen an article in Saturdays Herald Sun about the Wunghnu Football Club, who currently compete in the Picola & District Football Legaue North West Division, are going to negotiate with the VCFL to transfer into the KDFL.

Yes, that rumour has been going around for a week now, as to the pros & cons of having another club in our league, especially a struggling one such as the Maggies, well I would list a few main points for the Affirmative & Negative.

PRO:
Wunghnu is only 7kms from Tallygaroopna so there won't be much further to travel for the likes of Avenel etc.

Wunghnu's players mainly come from Shepparton & Numurkah, and playing in the KDFL is better travel wise than going to Deniliquin & Jerilderie to play in the PDFL/NW, which would help them with recruiting.

Wunghnu did field an Under 17's side this year (although no Under 14's), and look more likely to field one in the future compared to Merrigum & Longwood.

Wunghnu's an old club that needs a fresh start, and although that seems a bit sentimental & sappy, but a chance to help them out seems appealing to soft headed fools like me.

Having another club should force the KDFL's hand in bringing a white shorts rule for away teams, which would be beneficial to everyone.

CON:

Wunghnu didn't have any Netball sides this season, and in order for them to get into the league, they need to reform the Netball Club ASAP, for the benefit of not only themselves but for every club that plays against them & hosts them (for the extra $ that they bring).

Wunghnu joining the KDFL makes the league 14 team competition, and having so many teams could make the league hard to run and more uneven (a problem that the PDFL had until they split), and could see more blow outs in scores, and an even bigger gap between the haves (Lancaster, Stanhope) and the have nots (Merrigum, Ardmona, Longwood).

Having another side in the league would inevitably bring a Final 6, which is an inferior finals system compared to the Final 5.

Also, a change in leagues doesn't solve the club's main problem in that they don't have enough people to run the club.

And there you have it, these are some of the arguments both for against, although I think that we should allow Wunghnu to join the KDFL (It would help the PDFL out, and make us look noble & compassionate), under some conditions (all of which I've put in earlier), I would like to hear what you think.

Should Wunghnu join the KDFL in 2011 ?.

Since that Lancaster showed their experience and skill in just getting over the line against a gallant Murchison last Saturday (They just know how to win under any circumstances, and kept their heads when it mattered and that made all the difference), it makes the Top 5 virtually settled, now the shuffling of the deck chairs to see who finishes where.

Lancaster seem to have a good run home (Avenel, Rushworth & the BYE) after a big scare against Murch, should go ahead of Undera who have Merrigum, Stanhope & Nagambie to come.

Nagambie seem to have it slightly easier compared to Stanhope (Nagambie vs. Girgarre, Longwood & Undera compared to Stanhope's Longwood, Undera & Tallygaroopna), but considering that only 6% seperates them now, I think that Nagambie should score more goals and get the last double chance spot ahead of Stanhope.

Violet Town should have it pretty easy now, and they really need to win only one game out of three to get the last spot, and although Murchison, Avenel & Rushworth won't be easy, they should win at least one of those games, but I can't see them beating Stanhope in the Elimination Final.

In the 2nds Undera, Stanhope & Nagambie are locked solid in 1st, 2nd & 3rd, but the only thing will be if Lancaster goes ahead of Murchison, and Tally seemed to have left their run too late to knock either Murch or Lanky out of the 5.

The 3rds, Murchison should finish on top, Tally & Stanhope should keep 2nd & 3rd spot, Lancaster seem to be safe in 4th, but only Nagambie seem to be the only side that can knock off Avenel out of 5th.

I known fcuk all, but another team that's going to add to the number blow outs can't be beneficial for the league.

Don't know how anyone else feels but 14 teams in the 1 division is getting quite high in numbers.

Yes, that rumour has been going around for a week now, as to the pros & cons of having another club in our league, especially a struggling one such as the Maggies, well I would list a few main points for the Affirmative & Negative.

PRO:
Wunghnu is only 7kms from Tallygaroopna so there won't be much further to travel for the likes of Avenel etc.

Wunghnu's players mainly come from Shepparton & Numurkah, and playing in the KDFL is better travel wise than going to Deniliquin & Jerilderie to play in the PDFL/NW, which would help them with recruiting.

Wunghnu did field an Under 17's side this year (although no Under 14's), and look more likely to field one in the future compared to Merrigum & Longwood.

Wunghnu's an old club that needs a fresh start, and although that seems a bit sentimental & sappy, but a chance to help them out seems appealing to soft headed fools like me.

Having another club should force the KDFL's hand in bringing a white shorts rule for away teams, which would be beneficial to everyone.

CON:

Wunghnu didn't have any Netball sides this season, and in order for them to get into the league, they need to reform the Netball Club ASAP, for the benefit of not only themselves but for every club that plays against them & hosts them (for the extra $ that they bring).

Wunghnu joining the KDFL makes the league 14 team competition, and having so many teams could make the league hard to run and more uneven (a problem that the PDFL had until they split), and could see more blow outs in scores, and an even bigger gap between the haves (Lancaster, Stanhope) and the have nots (Merrigum, Ardmona, Longwood).

Having another side in the league would inevitably bring a Final 6, which is an inferior finals system compared to the Final 5.

Also, a change in leagues doesn't solve the club's main problem in that they don't have enough people to run the club.

And there you have it, these are some of the arguments both for against, although I think that we should allow Wunghnu to join the KDFL (It would help the PDFL out, and make us look noble & compassionate), under some conditions (all of which I've put in earlier), I would like to hear what you think.

Should Wunghnu join the KDFL in 2011 ?.

G’day Cletus Delroy
Hope I spelled that correctly .. wouldn’t want to “Wade” into deep water by getting my “I’s” and “E’s” mixed up.

I loving talking footy late on a Satd’y night at the White Hart and say something in response to a shite stirrer, like , “I’m just dotting my tees and crossing my eyes” .. it’s all quiet for a moment until someone says .. “Smartarsh!!”

Longwood started 2009 with trepidation as the VCFL had blocked our entry to the KDFL. So, with the Leggers anchored in the other League (because of the VCFL) .. with players deserting the sinking ship, we had a March 09 practice match against the “Single sheep”! Our player list had been stripped yet for 3 of the 5 quarters we didn’t do too bad .. until reality kicked in. The “One Ewe” had goal kicking practice to beat the Redlegs of ’09 by 20 goals. If faded memory serves me right I think we “out-socialised” them afterwards, if you get the drift! Longwood are now AGC of Ardy for the wooden spoon, with 3 games to go. But if Wunghu are counting on the VCFL for support .. tell ‘em they’re dreamin’!!!
Good points about KDFL overload in finals, but positively more netball, dilution of financial contribution, etc.etc. etcetra.
But the suits in the city don’t give a rodents rhodendrum about small town footy clubs in the country. Nor any state government about the economic qualities that district footy of towns of about 250 population bring.
And don’t get me started on mercenary crankers who are big fish in the small pond of District Footy DEMANDING $$$ which will eventually lead to the VCFL achieving their agenda of major league footy, TAC elite, the “Liam Pickthering managers” medal .. and the rest can go suit themselves.
The AFL are now even proposing a 3.10pm Satd’y start at the MCG which would mean the North East Railway would have to get people home to Wangaratta by 11.00 pm.
Due to those cost cutting suits the entertainment of Satd’y footy in the bush is disappearing up the planet Pluto .. ah .. no .. Pluto has now been relegated to an asteroid .. Doesn’t that come from sitting on wet aluminium seats in a Melbourne grandstand. I dunno last time I went to AwFuL footy was in a corporate box in the 90’s. Don’t get me started!!
I think I should have said the planet Uranus .. That’s where I think that the VCFL advice is coming from!

Well drafted Cletus Delroy..

My vote is with you CD. Bring the black and white army of the Single Sheep into the KDFL. Wunghu is a good Club which will be a perfect fit to strengthen the KDFL and eliminate the bye.
Cheers

I known fcuk all, but another team that's going to add to the number blow outs can't be beneficial for the league.

Don't know how anyone else feels but 14 teams in the 1 division is getting quite high in numbers.

G’day Tige
As the country Clubs crumble check out the ulterior motive .. as I have said elsewhere.
Meantime. You are worried about 14 as an overload. 150 odd years ago, which lasted until the late 1970’s, there was a competition called the Victorian Football League. For its last roughly 40 years it had 12 clubs which made history. 12 in the VFL ..
Now a proposed 14 in the KDFL .. for the survival of country footy. In two years we are going to have 18 in something called the AwFuL! By then .. with no district team to follow you can sit down at 12.00 midday and watch TV footy until midnight .. bloody bewdy!!
Cheers Cob

Acker .. This is what the Euroa Gazette .. the local rag .. reported today.
LEGGERS JUST DO!
Recall the borrowed quote of Longwood coach Adam Bourke after the Redlegs were thumped at Tallygaroopna .. which followed the impassioned plea by Ricki Shiner in the shed for the side to lift commitment. It was from the late USA President John F Kennedy in that ..”ask not what your Club can do for you – ask what you can do for your Club”.

At three quarter time last Satd’y against Merrigum, Bourkey made an impassioned plea. “this is a last hurrah .. this is a game which will be won inch by inch”.
BeJeepers ..talk about using more footy clichés!!
But Bourkey should have used the classic from John Kennedy, coach of Hawthorn in a 70’s Grand Final half-time address when he simply said .. “Don’t think .. JUST DO!!!”

A learned man is Adam Bourke and as a coach he knows what to say at the right time .. but importantly he knows when to JUST DO!
But more on that later.

This match started as a normal Satd’y arvo game however three minutes before half-time; when the score was slightly in the Gums favour, Anthony Mann of Merrigum flew high in the pack on the wing and crashed flat back to the ground.
Nearly an hour later, Anthony was lifted into the ambulance and taken to hospital. Later announcement at the after-gathering at Merrigum’s social rooms was that Mann was relaxed and comfortable in hospital and x-rays were to be conducted .. Let’s hope Anthony recovers quickly.

It was advised that the second quarter would continue for those three remaining minutes. At its end the sides, (and the goal umpires..) would change ends. There would be two second half terms of 12 minutes; plus time on, to conclude the game at a reasonable time. The tail end of the second quarter went for those three minutes with Longwood still having a breeze advantage. Ironically Merrigum kicked a point in that time to lead 5.11/41 to the Redlegs and Blue 4.1/25.
The siren started the third quarter and it was game on. Out of nowhere the Leggers had two goals; each from Tom Stevens and a goal square snap by Andrew Shaw after Simon Norton’s kick to that square. The siren sounded and it was game off! Amazing how 12 minutes passes? Merrigum 5.12/42 to Longwood 6.1/37
So then that third quarter huddle .. when Bourkey started firing those clichés. The one he missed saying was JUST DO .. but do you know what Bourkey did? Well .. erh.. he JUST DID!!
Great work from the midfield of Ricki Shiner and Peter Pup Clarke had Bourke twice kicking long for two in a row.
The Gum came back but the Longwood Naughton family “Mafia” down back played an offer that could not be refused! Tim (Casper), Matt (Bushie) and Marcus (Terrets .. don’t ask!) were rock solid across half back. Brendan Hamill kicked the sealer and the double flip with a twist would have had his SAFrican workmate, Jonty going berserk with his vuvuzela .. weren’t we lucky to have Jonty back in SAFrica!!
Some guys stepped up after the twos .. some guys keep the faith and .. just quietly 4 blokes from Kapooka enjoyed their footy in Longwood’s win.
The better players are listed but Tommy Gun Stevens did hard yards at goal for BoG after the coach. The Cook .. “Army Baker” from Kapooka is now a MasterChef with Pat Eldridg, Pup Clarke and Marcus Naughton excelling in a great team effort.

G'day JC, well done to the Leggers on sat, should only put you 8 games out of playing finals:D. Mate you've to stop taking those Viagra, they're obviously keeping you up all night, for the wrong reasons...

I see abit of banter about wunghu coming in and making it a 14 team comp. As you know the O&K has gone to 14 clubs this year with the addition of the 4 BDFL sides and there have been some pretty ugly scorelines of late. Hopefully natural attrition will bring it back to 12 teams in the near future. To those who are pooh-poohing the addition of another club I say, that there are 40-50 footballers (including kids) that have the right to a game of footy each week and if Wunghu were to fold then I'm sure not all of them would seek a game else where thus the cancer continues to spread and more footballers drop off the radar. Look at the bigger picture...please:thumbsu:

G'day JC, well done to the Leggers on sat, should only put you 8 games out of playing finals:D. Mate you've to stop taking those Viagra, they're obviously keeping you up all night, for the wrong reasons...

I see abit of banter about wunghu coming in and making it a 14 team comp. As you know the O&K has gone to 14 clubs this year with the addition of the 4 BDFL sides and there have been some pretty ugly scorelines of late. Hopefully natural attrition will bring it back to 12 teams in the near future. To those who are pooh-poohing the addition of another club I say, that there are 40-50 footballers (including kids) that have the right to a game of footy each week and if Wunghu were to fold then I'm sure not all of them would seek a game else where thus the cancer continues to spread and more footballers drop off the radar. Look at the bigger picture...please:thumbsu:

Well you've confused the hell out of me there slim18, you want 2 clubs to fold in the O&K, but you also think people should look at the bigger picture and allow Wunghnu join the KDL as to keep people in the game:confused::confused: