• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

KDFL April 06 -Sept 06

Re: Kyabram District FL

showy#1 said:
heard on the grape vine that peter thorpe has left avenel with two rounds

to go can any one clarify this?

Confused big time I am . . . . Thorpey took training last night and nothing was said. Huge disrespect to the real Showy I have had much delight in watching over the years.

On blackbeards topic, best of luck to Bodzy for his 100th - maybe Gigarre can use the mercy rule at half time if ya's are pumping em and you can call in at Stanhope for a beer and watch the last term:thumbsu:

Doona2 said:
Confused big time I am . . . . Thorpey took training last night and nothing was said. Huge disrespect to the real Showy I have had much delight in watching over the years.

On blackbeards topic, best of luck to Bodzy for his 100th - maybe Gigarre can use the mercy rule at half time if ya's are pumping em and you can call in at Stanhope for a beer and watch the last term:thumbsu:

Doubtful on the mercy rule doona.... but maybe i mite push for a gig up forward in the 2nd half and try and put one through the big sticks meself for once rather than kicking away from them..... cheers :thumbsu:

BODZY#32 said:
Doubtful on the mercy rule doona.... but maybe i mite push for a gig up forward in the 2nd half and try and put one through the big sticks meself for once rather than kicking away from them..... cheers :thumbsu:

According to the Shepp News you're roving so if ya dont jag one the fans will be $hitty . . . . or do your selectors do the old name em anywhere thing also?

Have a good 100th wherever it is you play

skippy__67 said:
if voilet town makes the finals will young james saker be playing, has he qualified or not, he has been in bushrangers all year. will he have an impacted on the outcome???

No finals for us this year skip... i know jimmys played two games ardmona and avenal cant remember when elso he played possibly rushworth, each game he was pivotal around the field, has improved out of sight since playing a couple of years ago under bernie... each game he played he provided outstanding drive for us and he would definetly have helped our cause if in finals... Hopefully we can get his full services next year rather than going to the saints up the road

Doona2 said:
According to the Shepp News you're roving so if ya dont jag one the fans will be $hitty . . . . or do your selectors do the old name em anywhere thing also?

Have a good 100th wherever it is you play

dont think they've named a correct position for any player any game this year... better noot be onball anyway not enough air in the lungs for that... nah il be full back all game :(

scooby doo's

it looks as if the KD league senior premiership is up for grabs for all 5 top teams, after lancasters draw against vtown, but stanhope should sill get over the line.
i beleive the real competition will come in the two's, the top 5 teams tally, ardy, stanhope, avenal and undera all have a chance, of taking out the flag. tally seem to have struggled over the line the last couple of weeks the same goes for stanhope who suffered a sock loss to undera several weeks ago:eek: . ardmona seem to be the form team at the moment and the most likely to be assured of a gf appearance. i beleive there is 2 teams able to knock them off, tally and the swans. yes the avenal swans, although there senior side seems to be in disaray, the twos have been plugging away putting wins on board. they had a hiccup 3 weeks ago against yea, but other than that the swannies have be very impressive, with young joe pollock up foward kicking goals with ease, and their back line being able to shut down key fowards when needed,the swannines are my pick to make the gf, and even win it. if joe, nige, the human arse (mappo), and the wezzel (sheilds) are on fire.

Re: scooby doo's

fullbak said:
ardmona seem to be the form team at the moment and the most likely to be assured of a gf appearance. i beleive there is 2 teams able to knock them off, tally and the swans. yes the avenal swans, although there senior side seems to be in disaray, the twos have been plugging away putting wins on board. they had a hiccup 3 weeks ago against yea, but other than that the swannies have be very impressive, with young joe pollock up foward kicking goals with ease, and their back line being able to shut down key fowards when needed,the swannines are my pick to make the gf, and even win it.

Yeh i actually thought watching the avenal reserves that they would beat there senior team, if not it wouldn't be more than five goals anyway i reckon.... So i'd give them a fair chance at gettin into the granny.
For me the pick of the two's would be Ardy to win it, coz the only loss they've had believe it or not was round 2 against a much lower opponent in violet town, and since then they have cruised along with ease. Tally reserves looked pretty good right accross the field and id imagine would be hard to topple... Go the underdog though.... Go Avenal!!

BODZY#32 said:
Yeh i actually thought watching the avenal reserves that they would beat there senior team, if not it wouldn't be more than five goals anyway i reckon.... So i'd give them a fair chance at gettin into the granny.
For me the pick of the two's would be Ardy to win it, coz the only loss they've had believe it or not was round 2 against a much lower opponent in violet town, and since then they have cruised along with ease. Tally reserves looked pretty good right accross the field and id imagine would be hard to topple... Go the underdog though.... Go Avenal!!

AVENEL

big tony said:
what happened today Doona?
i see that stanhope won by 87...that right?

No respect apparently towards Stanhope. Neilsen pretty sure he has played 10 plus twos at BROADFORD and was pretty sharp on the tongue towards Mason. Dave Wirra on loan from WCE chopped 1 the Broadford 2nds better triers in recent years to ribbons!!:p

The Flying Dutchman said:
No respect apparently towards Stanhope. Neilsen pretty sure he has played 10 plus twos at BROADFORD and was pretty sharp on the tongue towards Mason. Dave Wirra on loan from WCE chopped 1 the Broadford 2nds better triers in recent years to ribbons!!:p

No respect? Stanhope the better team on the day (obviously), they're a well drilled, disciplined unit who play for each other, patto's doing a great job. Very impressive.

big tony said:
what happened today Doona?
i see that stanhope won by 87...that right?

Very much true . . . most amazing display of running football Ive seen this year, especially from a team that to me appears to have an average age in the early to mid 20's???

Stanhope flew outa the blocks, Yea pulled em back to within I think 10 pts at half time . . . . 16 goals to 4 after that and it was a super impressive win.

Hooda Gray was superb with 39 touches, Brent Sloan cruised around the middle with 26, Tood Harrison collected 24 (11 marks) after quarter time. It wasn't just the high possession count on key Lion's, but the way they worked for each other, created space, took risks and finished off . . . all the things that make a quality side. Combined clearance/stoppage count of 47/26 Stanhope's way highlighted their dominance.

Think it was 59 Stanhope marks to 20 after half time, 90-95% of those were uncontested as Stanhope's fitness went to another level, Yea simply couldn't go with them.

I could say "bad day - now it's one all" but that would show a lack of respect to Patto and his troops who IMO are a long way ahead of the pack. I can guarantee there is a huge respect there, thought if Yea held em up, caused stoppages and got some of their bigger bodies onto Stanhope they'd be in the game - but what do ya do when ya cant get close enough (such was their run) to play that style.

I had a big night, but I think Dutchy mighta topped me as Im a little confused with ya post mate.

Yeh, Stanhope made a massive statement yesterday, obviously now they are clear favourites to take it out, and good on them. Obviously Rushy are huge rivals with Stanhope, but credit where credits due, they have done an excellent job of keeping their good juniors coming through (which, without having a pot at a side like broadford, has meant junior success has equated to senior success for the club), a majority of their side has played together for a long period of time, they always seem to be able to recruit the right type of players to fill a particluar weakness, and for some reason most of their players are blessed with natural pace and endurance (gray, handsford, sheers, emmett, coote, Harrison(s), auld...).

After saturday's performance from Ardmona, I don't think they're a threat to Stanhope, as they tired badly in the second half and simply won't have the fitness, I can't see how Yea can reverse a 15 goal loss in about a month, Lancy, although still dangerous, seemed to have peaked too early, and I think with our list of players we've done an excellent job just to make finals this year (provided we win on Saturday). Realistically, even if we challenge Stanhope in the last round, at home, which I hope we do, IF we see them come finals time, they will face us on a bigger ground, which so far this year we haven't performed our best on. What's in our favour is that we had 14 blokes under 21 and only 3 above 28 play on the weekend, so if we can keep developing our younger players we can have a real crack at it in the next 2-5 years...

T.Perry said:
Yeh, Stanhope made a massive statement yesterday, obviously now they are clear favourites to take it out, and good on them. Obviously Rushy are huge rivals with Stanhope, but credit where credits due, they have done an excellent job of keeping their good juniors coming through (which, without having a pot at a side like broadford, has meant junior success has equated to senior success for the club), a majority of their side has played together for a long period of time, they always seem to be able to recruit the right type of players to fill a particluar weakness, and for some reason most of their players are blessed with natural pace and endurance (gray, handsford, sheers, emmett, coote, Harrison(s), auld...).

After saturday's performance from Ardmona, I don't think they're a threat to Stanhope, as they tired badly in the second half and simply won't have the fitness, I can't see how Yea can reverse a 15 goal loss in about a month, Lancy, although still dangerous, seemed to have peaked too early, and I think with our list of players we've done an excellent job just to make finals this year (provided we win on Saturday). Realistically, even if we challenge Stanhope in the last round, at home, which I hope we do, IF we see them come finals time, they will face us on a bigger ground, which so far this year we haven't performed our best on. What's in our favour is that we had 14 blokes under 21 and only 3 above 28 play on the weekend, so if we can keep developing our younger players we can have a real crack at it in the next 2-5 years...

Agree Tav, but only have to look to last year to see what happened to us to realise there is a long way to go yet. Beat Tally by 14 goals during the year and 9 goals in the 2nd Semi!!. Must admit can't see Stanhope allowing that to happen again.

Were Yea and Stanhope at full strength?
I didn't see Pearce in the goalkickers for Stahope or Matt Wihsart.
What about Yea?
Did they have many out, that could have counted towards the loss

Baba Ganoush said:
Were Yea and Stanhope at full strength?
I didn't see Pearce in the goalkickers for Stahope or Matt Wihsart.
What about Yea?
Did they have many out, that could have counted towards the loss

Unsure on Yea, Doona would have to fill you in there, but Stanhope have Wishart and Pearce to come back in.

mainland said:
From my understanding Violet Town cant make finals not this year anyway, unless everything goes their way which is very unlikely.

As stated by Gisa
for VT to make the finals:
VT defeat- Girgarre, Undera (likley enough + bye last round.)
Rushy lose to- Ardmona, Stanhope (very possible) Merrigum (unfortunately the bulldogs will be cleaned up...)
but you never know with the new look towners of '06.

no worries there, how did james saker play yesterday, could outsiders tell that he has played footy at a higher level.

yeah on that story albos opinion i hear that patty rattray is playing at tongala for a new car and free beer at the pub every sat night they must have some money he is no good

showy#1 said:
yeah on that story albos opinion i hear that patty rattray is playing at tongala for a new car and free beer at the pub every sat night they must have some money he is no good

Thats a good story showy, he might be able to organise the free beer himself as his sister part owns the pub, Haven't heard anything about a new car, I'll see what I can do about that!!

showy#1 said:
yeah hank you must be from tongala you will have to talk to harro see what he says

hahaha, yeah I'll see what I can do mate. Talking to yourself is the first sign that your going insane though isnt it!!

h
eard
a
l
ittl

e s
to
r
herd a little story today that matt byers is signing on for nagambie next year massive pick up if they get him any one herd the rumour

herd on the grape vine that matt byers is signing on at nagambie next year any one herd that rumour

showy#1 said:
herd a little story today that matt byers is signing on for nagambie next year massive pick up if they get him any one herd the rumour

No haven't heard that one mate, and going on the info in the last story you gave us it probably doesnt hold too much credence. Be very surprised if the reigning Morrison Medallist would look at playing KDL, but atleast you have got some info right in that Tongala have/will talk to Patty about next year but no cars involved unless I can get my hands on a nice Kombi for him.