KDFL April 06 -Sept 06

Re: Kyabram District FL

Albo's opinion said:
Or perhaps we could rope off an area for the thugs. Maybe a boxing ring as a sideshow. or do they only hit from behind? or people 8 weight divisions below them?

What's the big deal?

The kid was roughed up and it sounds like he stood up for himself. Good for him. I'm sure most players have been physically intimidated when they were young and learnt from it. If he doesn't like it, then take up golf.

Albo's opinion said:
Also, Avenel V Tally in the 2's will be interesting with the swans needing to knock off top side to play finals. Lancy and undera 2's will be all ears come 2 o'clock i reckon;)
Tipping avenel to get up in that one and undera to miss out.

Wouldn't count on it. Avenel's two's are pathetic.

Albo's opinion said:
Rushworth v Stanhope (30 points) Pearce to return and make them even better
Yea v Merrigum (50 points) will steady the sinking ship
Nagambie v Lancaster (200 points) confidence booster on the eve of the finals
Undera v Girgarre (60 points) agree. play well against bottom teams
Murchison v Ardmona (10 points) Ardmona very cocky could stumble
Avenelv Tallygaroopna (15 points) thorpey's send off almost happens

Also, Avenel V Tally in the 2's will be interesting with the swans needing to knock off top side to play finals. Lancy and undera 2's will be all ears come 2 o'clock i reckon;)
Tipping avenel to get up in that one and undera to miss out.

P-Train wont paly 1s this week unfortunately we will most likely see him running around in the magoos.

Whose that old fat bastard from Merrigum they call Roger.

Talk about a mouth. How many games did he play?

bradrowe#32 said:
What's the big deal?

The kid was roughed up and it sounds like he stood up for himself. Good for him. I'm sure most players have been physically intimidated when they were young and learnt from it. If he doesn't like it, then take up golf.
Fair point. I just get frustrated when the young blokes get whacked. But if your gonna play with the big boys i suppose you have to cop it.
About the 2's, they had a shocker against ardy last week but i'm confident they will bounce back and if they can scrape in to the finals all the army fellas that were missing from the ardy match will be back (out bush or something?) It will make them a much more competitive outfit.

mainland said:
P-Train wont paly 1s this week unfortunately we will most likely see him running around in the magoos.
they will still win. pearcy in the 2's:eek: he'll kick 15 minimum. and thats if he is restricted by his hammy

It's now the big end of the season lads, would be interested on everybodys comments on the top five sides and how they reckon they'll go.
Saw that pearcy played in the magoos saturday, was named BOG on KDFL website but only kicked 1 goal, has the big fella added a new string to his bow? Pretty handy inclusion i'd say.
I reckon Stanhope are the side to beat, pretty obvious! Closely followed by Ardmona, then Lancaster,Yea and Rushy, but if the heavens open and the grounds get heavy i'd put Yea as my favourite( highly unlikely though).
Discuss!

spotted dog said:
It's now the big end of the season lads, would be interested on everybodys comments on the top five sides and how they reckon they'll go.
Saw that pearcy played in the magoos saturday, was named BOG on KDFL website but only kicked 1 goal, has the big fella added a new string to his bow? Pretty handy inclusion i'd say.
I reckon Stanhope are the side to beat, pretty obvious! Closely followed by Ardmona, then Lancaster,Yea and Rushy, but if the heavens open and the grounds get heavy i'd put Yea as my favourite( highly unlikely though).
Discuss!
if the big red gets through the finals series they will be the side to beat i know they lacked a key forward on sat and still one by 60 points so that says something i think their a pretty classy outfit

showy#1 said:
if the big red gets through the finals series they will be the side to beat i know they lacked a key forward on sat and still one by 60 points so that says something i think their a pretty classy outfit

I think they are beatable. I reckon the way ardy play could hurt them a bit. Stanhope don't like it tough at all but you do need to move the ball on as quickly as you can. There best asset is that they have so many players that are super quick. They do tend to turn the ball over a bit to easy though when under constant pressure. I still think that what happened to them in last years granny would be in the back of there minds. They will go straight through to the granny but who ever will play them will have a big chance come grand final day.
I think the one main area stanhope lack in is they don't have a good ruckman. If you can win the ball out of the centre and move it forward fast they will struggle a bit.
Yestersday rushy kicked 5 or 6 goals in the 3rd quarter to get the margin back to 36 points at 3 quarter time through winning it of the centre. We were also playing with only 16 men.

roaring tiger said:
I think they are beatable. I reckon the way ardy play could hurt them a bit. Stanhope don't like it tough at all but you do need to move the ball on as quickly as you can. There best asset is that they have so many players that are super quick. They do tend to turn the ball over a bit to easy though when under constant pressure. I still think that what happened to them in last years granny would be in the back of there minds. They will go straight through to the granny but who ever will play them will have a big chance come grand final day.
I think the one main area stanhope lack in is they don't have a good ruckman. If you can win the ball out of the centre and move it forward fast they will struggle a bit.
Yestersday rushy kicked 5 or 6 goals in the 3rd quarter to get the margin back to 36 points at 3 quarter time through winning it of the centre. We were also playing with only 16 men.

Ahh right so if Stanhope aren't that good and they have given Rushy two good lickings the Tigers are just a good side out of luck are they??
The Lions have a couple of handy players to step back into that side.

Avenel vote count last night and a good night was had by all.
Big Paul "Subba" Arandt took the big one out followed by brett carroll, adam harrap and jed smith.
Unfortunately the seniors couldn't pull off a win for Thorpey's send off but we were right in the game until the last 5 or 6 minutes. Also the 2's were very dissapointing and in the end probably not quite good enough this year.
Interestingly the half back line for the swans on saturday read O'Connor O'Connor O'Connor! :eek:
2 17 year old's and an 18 year old brothers, and they were our best three on the ground. Fantastic effort from Mr. and Mrs O'Connor and heres to hoping their little brother turns out just as good. :p
b&f winners
1's Paul Arandt
2's Mathew Ryan
3's Scott Kanters
A Donna McDonald
B Anita Lynch
C Bree Spencer
D Chelsea Austin (i think)
any other vote counts been held other than VT?

Albo's opinion said:

Yea held their vote count yesterday

Seniors
1. Tom Butterworth
2. Adrian Wilson
3. Ashley Walsh
4. Billy Neilson
5. Mark Nicholls

Reserves
1. James Wolstencroft
2. John Baynes
3. Rohan Young

Thirds
1. Daniel Belsten
2. Sandy Carpenter

roaring tiger said:

You say Stanhope dont like it tough hey, that is the biggest load of crap I have heard. Stanhope would have to be the only side that doesnt get intimidated by a side like Ardmona (who have intimidated the majority of sides this year) we mite have a few young blokes running around but they are more than capable of stranding up to the physical pressure. Of sides like Yea rushy and Ardy.
Even without P-Train we have at least 5 or 6 blokes who can kick a handfull of goals like Saturday Maggot Emmett Kicked 7 and he was playing on ball until the last 1/4.

Albo's opinion said:
Fair point. I just get frustrated when the young blokes get whacked. But if your gonna play with the big boys i suppose you have to cop it.
About the 2's, they had a shocker against ardy last week but i'm confident they will bounce back and if they can scrape in to the finals all the army fellas that were missing from the ardy match will be back (out bush or something?) It will make them a much more competitive outfit.

Fair enough.

I actually heard over the weekend that Avenel had 6 players called up for army duties. I thought they were disappointing considering their ladder position, but if you took 6 players (good or otherwise) out of any team they would struggle.

bradrowe#32 said:
Fair enough.

I actually heard over the weekend that Avenel had 6 players called up for army duties. I thought they were disappointing considering their ladder position, but if you took 6 players (good or otherwise) out of any team they would struggle.
yeah but 5 were back for the game against tally and we still couldn't get up. Don't think they would have got us up against ardy but would have been competitive at least:eek:
looking forward to watching the ugly ducklings (3rd's) go round in september, big chance at back to back. Does anyone know if jason sheils and jacko hutton from nagambie are eligible to play 3rd's finals? i see nagambie beat lancy on the w/e with those two in's could be a rematch of last year's GF:eek:

Albo's opinion said:
yeah but 5 were back for the game against tally and we still couldn't get up. Don't think they would have got us up against ardy but would have been competitive at least:eek:
looking forward to watching the ugly ducklings (3rd's) go round in september, big chance at back to back. Does anyone know if jason sheils and jacko hutton from nagambie are eligible to play 3rd's finals? i see nagambie beat lancy on the w/e with those two in's could be a rematch of last year's GF:eek:

Jason Shiels is to old for 3rd's mate, think he's 19.. Jackson Hutton will be dropping back to the 3rd's though to give them a chop out for finals..

The Scribe said:
Jason Shiels is to old for 3rd's mate, think he's 19.. Jackson Hutton will be dropping back to the 3rd's though to give them a chop out for finals..
cheers. With young hutto in they are definately some sort of chance. I hope the rematch happens. good entertainment regardless of scoreline when these two meet. I hear there was a bit said between the two teams after avenel crashed the lakers party last year.

Anyone give Yea 3rds any hope of reaching the grand final? With Ashley Walsh and ACK boys McCarthy and Connell to come into consideration surely the young Tigers cant be taken lightly.

Cats to vie for medal

August 28 2006
Shepparton News

Reigning McNamara medallist Brad Lowe will start tonight's Kyabram District Football League best and fairest count as a raging favourite to claim backto-back awards.

In an intriguing twist, however, the 25-year-old will have to fend off teammates Lloyd O'Brien and Perry Meka as he chases the competition's highest accolade.

During the course of the year, Lowe has been in vote-catching form for Ardmona and will once again feature prominently during the league's night of nights.

But O'Brien, who is also a former medallist, will fancy his chances after a blistering year in the Cats' engine room, as will Meka who has booted 134 goals from just 16 games, including six bags of 10 or more.

"I haven't had a bad year," Lowe said yesterday.

"But Wokka (O'Brien) and Pez will certainly poll well.

"It would be good if I could go back-to-back, but to be honest, I'm more interested in finals."

During last year's AFL Brownlow Medal count, West Coast's Ben Cousins and Daniel Kerr dispelled the myth that teammates steal too many votes off each other for either one to win.

Polling against each other, the Eagles' duo quinellaed the count as they finished one-two, while fellow West Coast on-baller Chris Judd finished eighth.

"It would be nice to see the medal back at Ardmona," Lowe said.

"No matter who wins it . . . but there will be plenty vying for it.

"I couldn't say (who the favourite would be)."

Among others who are likely to contend for the award tonight include Stanhope captain Brenton Gray, Tallygaroopna on-baller Adam Molisak, Murchison spearhead Leigh Kellett, Yea co-coach Adrian Wilson, Rushworth utility Steve Rasmussen and Lancaster forward Troy Mitchell.

Cant be bothered scrolling back for my thoughts posted a few weeks back but can lock in selection's as

1. Brenton Gray
2. Brad Lowe
3. Steve Rasmussen & Ashley Walsh

Good to see me old mate Chinkers on the big footy boards! How are you champ?

yeh, interesting day on Saturday - no doubt Stanhope are the side to beat, I was impressed with the evenness of their side and their unselfishness. They will be hard to stop, because who do you stop? Hoot and Trist are the obvious ones, but then a guy like marcus emmett is capable of bobbing up and snagging 7 like on sat, and rick sheers is as well, and dave handsford is aswell, and Leigh Haw is aswell and p-train is as well (and still due to come back - played CHB in the 2's)..and they have 8 or so blokes that they can rotate through the midfield..

In saying that, I thought we put in a reasonable display given they've beaten Yea and Ardy by similar margins and though he deserved to be sent off for the match - losing one of our best on-ballers in Rakic for the match and playing pretty much the last 3 quarters with 17 and the second quarter with 16, we possibly could have made even more of a game of it.. Not sure who their main challenger will be, will be an interesting finals series..

mainland said:
You say Stanhope dont like it tough hey, that is the biggest load of crap I have heard. Stanhope would have to be the only side that doesnt get intimidated by a side like Ardmona (who have intimidated the majority of sides this year) we mite have a few young blokes running around but they are more than capable of stranding up to the physical pressure. Of sides like Yea rushy and Ardy.
Even without P-Train we have at least 5 or 6 blokes who can kick a handfull of goals like Saturday Maggot Emmett Kicked 7 and he was playing on ball until the last 1/4.

I didn't say they didn't have any goal kickers i just said they didn't have a very good ruckman and this is an area other sides could beat them and put them under pressure.

roaring tiger said:
I didn't say they didn't have any goal kickers i just said they didn't have a very good ruckman and this is an area other sides could beat them and put them under pressure.

Neva mentioned that u said we didnt have goalkickers... was interested why u said our boys quote "Stanhope don't like it tough at all".

Albo's opinion said:
Avenel vote count last night and a good night was had by all.
Big Paul "Subba" Arandt took the big one out followed by brett carroll, adam harrap and jed smith.
Unfortunately the seniors couldn't pull off a win for Thorpey's send off but we were right in the game until the last 5 or 6 minutes. Also the 2's were very dissapointing and in the end probably not quite good enough this year.
Interestingly the half back line for the swans on saturday read O'Connor O'Connor O'Connor! :eek:
2 17 year old's and an 18 year old brothers, and they were our best three on the ground. Fantastic effort from Mr. and Mrs O'Connor and heres to hoping their little brother turns out just as good. :p
b&f winners
1's Paul Arandt
2's Mathew Ryan
3's Scott Kanters
A Donna McDonald
B Anita Lynch
C Bree Spencer
D Chelsea Austin (i think)

haha cheers albo, but for the record im 19 and the twins just turned 18. thought steve kelly was very stiff not to not get in the best, thought he played a blinder. just on the thirds, reckon they're a red hot shot, probably have more of a shot than we did last year. fairly sure hutto played last time and the swans have emmett to come back in from then as well. :thumbsu:

Doona2 said:
Anyone give Yea 3rds any hope of reaching the grand final? With Ashley Walsh and ACK boys McCarthy and Connell to come into consideration surely the young Tigers cant be taken lightly.
spot on doona. Did these boys play against avenel? Yea gave the young swans a touch up and were one of only two teams to beat them during the season (the other being lancaster i think) The 3rd's finals are wide open with all 5 teams very even imo. Rushworth are probably just behind the other 4 but are definately capable if they play well. Some bloody good young footballer's running around in the kdfl, hopefully they hang around and turn into top senior players in the future, especially avenel's:p

fuzzyswan said:
haha cheers albo, but for the record im 19 and the twins just turned 18. thought steve kelly was very stiff not to not get in the best, thought he played a blinder. just on the thirds, reckon they're a red hot shot, probably have more of a shot than we did last year. fairly sure hutto played last time and the swans have emmett to come back in from then as well. :thumbsu:
Still a stunning effort:thumbsu: welcome to Bf fuzz. Your right Special K did save his best for last but was probably about 5th best i reckon behind the 4 O'Connors.