KDFL April 06 -Sept 06

Re: Kyabram District FL

I think saturdays game will have taken alot out of Ardmona. Similarly even if Lancaster had of got thru, both teams would feel the effects of that game.
With a week off and superior run, Stanhope to win by 40+.

Interested to hear what you thought of the game cosby, obviously disappointed but a pretty good effort none the less.
Nice bump in the last quarter too, mate. :thumbsu:

Mappo said:
Just wasted 45 seconds of my life reading that crap!!!:rolleyes:

I must read a bit slower, took me about 55 seconds but yes, it was !

NFC are heading in the right direction bringing along the kids and the 'host' of players likely to return would have done so anyway, no matter who was at the healm !! There are a couple of prospective coaches in the pipeline, good to see it being done now rathere than later so the club can get on with recruiting and retention and sponsorship.

Good luck to Patty wherever he goes, he is a good PLAYER but needs a fair bit more time to develop any skills as a coach !

The Scribe said:
You might be onto something there koshy, have heard on the grapevine that Shiels & Auld are keen to help out in some capacity, whether or not its co-coaching i'm not entirely sure. Also i think a few 'retiree's' are finding it difficult to watch the club struggle and are offering their support in whatever capacity they can & after 37 pots in the Top pub a fornight ago the lakers new look magoo's forward line consists of the intimidating 2-prong attack of Moore & Dalton!!

Would be good if Mantis came out of retirement and coached the 18's with Dalton as his a/coach. As for playing I think work, kids, beer and golf take up too much of their time. :eek:

Albo's opinion said:
In regards to patty going to nagambie, he is great mates with ben hutton who is probably returning to his home town after completing uni this year. Chances are if Pearcey got the job patty would go there as would the majority of the players that left this year, eg. brian morris scott paulke brent Clydesdale etc. will be watching this evolve closely as it looks like Big shaun pearce is the key to both avenel & nagambie hopes next year at this stage. While the P-train will be concentrating on his current teams tilt at a flag he may have some big decisions to make in the near future.

Albo's, are you intimating that these players left because of who was coaching and on the committee etc ?? Scotty Paulke left because he wanted to 'play in a flag' again before he retired and Morrie went with him to Longwood. Although he didnt win a flag he did win the league medal so good on him. He 'may' return with Morrie. Brent Clydesdale had work commitments this year, that is why he didnt play. Hutto made a bit of cash at Wedderburn and played with his mates from Bendigo, that is why he didnt play. It has nought, nil, zip, jack all to do with who WAS there this year, which is what your post intimates. They left for their own reasons, nothing to do with anything else. As for Pearcey, I asked the club to chase him as at least he has some coaching experience with Avenel CC so he is miles ahead of those without it! I won't be there but I certainly wish them all the best but $$ is always going to be the problem !

subtle hustle said:
Interested to hear what you thought of the game cosby, obviously disappointed but a pretty good effort none the less.
Nice bump in the last quarter too, mate. :thumbsu:
Was pretty gutted as the final siren went, as they say, 'so close but yet so far'.
I was pretty proud of the boys and the way they played on sat'd. A couple of guys really stood up when it mattered, Ash Jones, Stephen Ryall up from the two's for I think his first game of the season and Steven Cail across half forward.
It wasn't to be, but we certainly had a real crack from start to finish which is all you can ask for.
Bring on 2007.

Just on the ground- it was fantastic, and even though the showers were freezing (turn the hot water systems on boys!!), with the new rooms the only things holding it back from getting the GF next year would have to be parking and it's location in relation to the rest of the league, wouldn't it?

Best of luck to the king of ling and the stanhope boys this weekend.
I have to agree with most others here and say that the weekends game would've taken a bit out of Ardy, not to mention the loss of Brereton and the their young wingman (not sure of his name), both whom give them alot of run and link up from the back line.
Stanhope by 6 goals.

bradrowe#32 said:
I'm really enjoying the anti-Ardmona sentiment.

Keep it up.

I guess that happens when guys get fed up with the Abuse, biting, spitting, tripping, sniping, elbowing, kicking and the fact that there is a fence doesn't stop players and spectators from gang bashing the opposition and supporters.

But I have to admit when we played Ardmona up there towards the end of the season they where really good. They only bashed the kids.

Mappo said:
I guess that happens when guys get fed up with the Abuse, biting, spitting, tripping, sniping, elbowing, kicking and the fact that there is a fence doesn't stop players and spectators from gang bashing the opposition and supporters.

But I have to admit when we played Ardmona up there towards the end of the season they where really good. They only bashed the kids.
Well said Mappo, Rowey must turn a blind eye to the constant crap his new club serves up to the rest of the league.

subtle hustle said:
Well said Mappo, Rowey must turn a blind eye to the constant crap his new club serves up to the rest of the league.

Before I got there I heard all this stuff about them and it hasn't lived up to the hype. There was the Rushworth incident in the thirds. The reserves had two players reported and suspended and I don't recall any seniors players being reported (could be wrong though).

Anyway, seniors and ressies both in the grand final. Not bad for a club that indulges in 'biting, spitting, tripping, sniping, elbowing, kicking' as regularly as people think. It's a wonder the club has enough players to fill both teams.

bradrowe#32 said:
Anyway, seniors and ressies both in the grand final. Not bad for a club that indulges in 'biting, spitting, tripping, sniping, elbowing, kicking' as regularly as people think. It's a wonder the club has enough players to fill both teams.

As from what I saw from Ardy they play it hard, like it in close etc etc but after the siren goes it's all forgotten. Lets just hope for some ripper contests to end a good season of KDFL footy.

bradrowe#32 said:
Before I got there I heard all this stuff about them and it hasn't lived up to the hype. There was the Rushworth incident in the thirds. The reserves had two players reported and suspended and I don't recall any seniors players being reported (could be wrong though).

Have to admit, not a bad year for you guys. Only a couple of incidents of blokes (or bloke) leaning over fences and having ago at supporters (kids)and the third's one you mentioned. You guy's should be proud of your year. But I can tell you all of the above stuff I mentioned happens and I have been on the recieving end the year our two's had to play them three times in four weeks to win the flag. Kicking, Biting (little finger), tripping and one even grabbed me by the B@lls. So mate you are kidding yourself if you think it doesn't happen. Or hang on I know, everyone else is wrong and your right.:thumbsdown:

all the best to both teams this week. i think it will be a close match but stanhope just for me. 3 solid finals will eventually take its toll on ardmona.
a great match i thought last week. easily the best final so far. it looked like the older bigger bodies of ardmona up against the young risk taking lancaster. neither side deserved to lose. i thought williams played well for ardmona, had to after his poor one the week before. jones and ryall played well for lancaster.
cosby or others, it looks a young list at lanc. is this the case. if it is it should stand them in good stead for the future.
finally, 1s- stanhope by 20, wishart the medal, 2s- tally by 2 goals, the little wippet number 9 for the medal, rushy in the 3rds in an upset with the kid from rushy who takes 50 marks, no 5 i think, to win medal.

bradrowe#32 said:

Ardmona is two minutes drive from Mooroopna and Shepparton, Rowey.
The reputation has been built over many, many years. But surely you can recognise what is appropriate behaviour on and off a football field?

cosby said:
Best of luck to the king of ling and the stanhope boys this weekend. I have to agree with most others here and say that the weekends game would've taken a bit out of Ardy, not to mention the loss of Brereton and the their young wingman (not sure of his name), both whom give them alot of run and link up from the back line.
Stanhope by 6 goals.

Thanks cozzie we'll make a game of it no matter the result. Someone told me the the other day that orry got a black eye from a stray elastic ban from milky's jocks!! any truth to this?

i didnt notice much wrong with the way ardmona played sat. no dirty play or behind play i wouldnt have thought. that meka at full forward is a galah, pretending he was an aeroplane at one stage but that was about all. that being said, i have heard contrary at times aboutr their style of play.

Mappo said:
Have to admit, not a bad year for you guys. Only a couple of incidents of blokes (or bloke) leaning over fences and having ago at supporters (kids)and the third's one you mentioned. You guy's should be proud of your year. But I can tell you all of the above stuff I mentioned happens and I have been on the recieving end the year our two's had to play them three times in four weeks to win the flag. Kicking, Biting (little finger), tripping and one even grabbed me by the B@lls. So mate you are kidding yourself if you think it doesn't happen. Or hang on I know, everyone else is wrong and your right.:thumbsdown:

You are a very confusing person Mappo.

Where exactly did I state that it doesn't happen? I simply said that this is my first year playing out there and that I haven't seen many of these incident.

You are either misreading what I'm saying or trying to make a big fuss out of nothing.

subtle hustle said:
Ardmona is two minutes drive from Mooroopna and Shepparton, Rowey.
The reputation has been built over many, many years. But surely you can recognise what is appropriate behaviour on and off a football field?

I can and I would say most of the people out at the club do.

bradrowe#32 said:
I can and I would say most of the people out at the club do.

Brad if you get on here to defend them you belong with them.
Birds of a feather.

Baba Ganoush said:
What happnned to Brereton cos?
I haven't heard anything about him?
Did his hamstring in the second. Stayed on till the halfway mark of the third, but couldn't run. I'd say he would have to miss this week.

Sly Dog said:
all the best to both teams this week. i think it will be a close match but stanhope just for me. 3 solid finals will eventually take its toll on ardmona.
a great match i thought last week. easily the best final so far. it looked like the older bigger bodies of ardmona up against the young risk taking lancaster. neither side deserved to lose. i thought williams played well for ardmona, had to after his poor one the week before. jones and ryall played well for lancaster.
cosby or others, it looks a young list at lanc. is this the case. if it is it should stand them in good stead for the future.
We have a few older heads like Parso, Thomo, Blood, Faz and probably myself and Mitch but then there is a bit of a gap and we had about 6 guys who were 21 and under.
Your right though, if we can keep the young guys around the club without losing too many to Ky next year we should have a good year.

King_Of_Ling said:
Thanks cozzie we'll make a game of it no matter the result. Someone told me the the other day that orry got a black eye from a stray elastic ban from milky's jocks!! any truth to this?
Yes, it was mid-wrestle(not quite sure how orry's face got to be in the same area as Brezza's arse) that Jonesy decided a wedgie was in order as brezza was like a helpless beached whale at the time and the elastic took skin off your dopplegangers nose as well as his eye. Improved his looks somewhat. ;)

Anyone else read this crap on the kdfl website.
"The Award for the club with the most publicized Player goes to Ardmona, the interest that Perry Meka generates among the league and the football fraternity throughout the Goulburn & Murray Valleys areas is enormous and it will be a sad day when the great man decides it is time to pursue another sport and leave football after such a distinguished and successful career, maybe Perry would join me playing bowls Saturday afternoons, no forget that, he would beat me."

Interest he generates???
What, in knowing what low act or stunt he's pulled lately?

great man???
Yeah, he's all class on the field isn't he.

Sad day when he retires???
Maybe for morons like this pieces author, but for people who want to go to the footy and watch a game played in good spirits we say good riddance to a dirty old trouble maker.

Perhaps this glowing endorsement is proof of why he's allowed to man-handle teenagers who are spectating or Run-through Spectators as they leave a huddle, without any consequences from the League officials.

Now, that's Pathetic.

Sly Dog said:
finally, 1s- stanhope by 20, wishart the medal, 2s- tally by 2 goals, the little wippet number 9 for the medal, rushy in the 3rds in an upset with the kid from rushy who takes 50 marks, no 5 i think, to win medal.

thought i'd put in my tips for the weekend. stanhope confortably take the firsts, ardmona just in the twos and im completely biased but avenel in the thirds.

subtle hustle said:
Anyone else read this crap on the kdfl website.
"The Award for the club with the most publicized Player goes to Ardmona, the interest that Perry Meka generates among the league and the football fraternity throughout the Goulburn & Murray Valleys areas is enormous and it will be a sad day when the great man decides it is time to pursue another sport and leave football after such a distinguished and successful career, maybe Perry would join me playing bowls Saturday afternoons, no forget that, he would beat me."

Interest he generates???
What, in knowing what low act or stunt he's pulled lately?

great man???
Yeah, he's all class on the field isn't he.

Sad day when he retires???
Maybe for morons like this pieces author, but for people who want to go to the footy and watch a game played in good spirits we say good riddance to a dirty old trouble maker.

Perhaps this glowing endorsement is proof of why he's allowed to man-handle teenagers who are spectating or Run-through Spectators as they leave a huddle, without any consequences from the League officials.

Now, that's Pathetic.
Surely that article about Meka doesn't exist subtle. If it does, then it really is a joke - "Award for the Club with the Most Publicised Player":rolleyes: