KDFL June 07 -August 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

Probe set in motion
The circumstances surrounding a final siren altercation between Ardmona spearhead Perry Meka and two Avenel supporters is being investigated by Kyabram District Football League.
League president Sev Cortese yesterday confirmed it had appointed Victorian Country Football League accredited investigations officer Gary Wilson at the request of the clubs.
Avenel has alleged Meka was involved in a confrontation with two teenagers on the field following the Cats' 73-point victory on Saturday, June 23.
The Swans called for an inquiry following the match and last week submitted a $500 fee to launch the investigation.
Ardmona wrote to the league directly following the match admitting it was concerned by the behaviour of members of the crowd during the day and claimed Meka had been subjected to abuse and that some of the crowd had been intoxicated.
Meka last week welcomed a league investigation as he was confident it would clear him of any wrongdoing.
He said he had been subjected to abuse throughout the day and following the final siren by spectators and vehemently denied he had become involved in a physical altercation following the match.
"I'm pretty confident I'm not the one who's done anything wrong and really it's us (Ardmona) who have asked the league to look into it," Meka said at the time.
Nagambie police were present at the game and attained statements from the two alleged victims, but did not take the matter further after neither made a formal complaint.
The inquiry is expected to be completed next week.

You say this Skut but we all know ur very fond of the Stanhope football club. They could recruit Meka and you would think its a good move!

Not true Potty.. Would never want a bloke like that at a club like the Mainland..

What happened on the Weekend? Jax?

Simply not good enough,they beat us in every possie on the ground and wanted the ball more than our blokes,just too good for us on the day.
This week we host Stanhope on Sunday and this will be a test of character for our blokes to see how they respond playing a side that has so far not been defeated. Catch up soon big fella, CHEERS

Simply not good enough,they beat us in every possie on the ground and wanted the ball more than our blokes,just too good for us on the day.
This week we host Stanhope on Sunday and this will be a test of character for our blokes to see how they respond playing a side that has so far not been defeated. Catch up soon big fella, CHEERS
No doubt you will have them tuned up. Good luck

Lions are set to add some muscle to their line-up By Rob Harris

Former AFL player Aaron James will join Kyabram District Football League powerhouse Stanhope for the last month of the season.
James, who played 54 games for Collingwood, Richmond and Western Bulldogs, from 1994 to 2002 lodged a clearance with Riddell District Football League club Sunbury Roos at the weekend.

The 194 cm power forward, who weighed in at more than 102 kg during his career, will not be available for the Lions prior to round 16 as he is serving a 15-match ban for using abusive and threatening language towards an umpire.
If James takes the field in August he is required to play only three games to qualify for finals.

James, 30, has been a dominant forward in suburban and regional football since leaving the Bulldogs in 2002, kicking five goals in a grand final with Gisborne in the Bendigo league as well as impressive stints with Lalor, Doutta Stars and Sunbury, where he booted 29 goals in a game against Rockbank last year.

The unbeaten Stanhope - which has lost the past two grand finals by one and two points to Tallygaroopna and Ardmona respectively - actively seeked out the services of James in lieu of a growing injury list.
James booted 90 goals in eight games for Sunbury last season with his team going on to win the premiership.

"I suppose I really can't take the credit for this one," Stanhope coach Mark Patten said about the signing yesterday.

"It's come about through an association of someone at the club who worked it out and we managed to convince him before clearances closed.
"We did the same last year by getting Todd Harrison across, but we're not building our team around him or anything. He's just a bonus at this stage.
"There's plenty of footy to be played between then and now, so he's certainly not the main focus of how we go about our job."

Former AFL player Aaron James will join Kyabram District Football League powerhouse Stanhope for the last month of the season.
James, who played 54 games for Collingwood, Richmond and Western Bulldogs, from 1994 to 2002 lodged a clearance with Riddell District Football League club Sunbury Roos at the weekend.

The 194 cm power forward, who weighed in at more than 102 kg during his career, will not be available for the Lions prior to round 16 as he is serving a 15-match ban for using abusive and threatening language towards an umpire.
If James takes the field in August he is required to play only three games to qualify for finals.

James, 30, has been a dominant forward in suburban and regional football since leaving the Bulldogs in 2002, kicking five goals in a grand final with Gisborne in the Bendigo league as well as impressive stints with Lalor, Doutta Stars and Sunbury, where he booted 29 goals in a game against Rockbank last year.

The unbeaten Stanhope - which has lost the past two grand finals by one and two points to Tallygaroopna and Ardmona respectively - actively seeked out the services of James in lieu of a growing injury list.
James booted 90 goals in eight games for Sunbury last season with his team going on to win the premiership.
"I suppose I really can't take the credit for this one," Stanhope coach Mark Patten said about the signing yesterday.

"It's come about through an association of someone at the club who worked it out and we managed to convince him before clearances closed.
"We did the same last year by getting Todd Harrison across, but we're not building our team around him or anything. He's just a bonus at this stage.
"There's plenty of footy to be played between then and now, so he's certainly not the main focus of how we go about our job."

Sunbury Kangaroos didn't win the RDFL flag last year chaps, Riddell did :thumbsu:

if stanhope dont win the flag this year there is something very wrong

Let's not pencil them in just yet Westy, that mistake has been made the last 2 years.. Things are certainly stacked in their favour, but Ardy's forward set up will prob consist of Meka, Kellett and DT, not that far behind James (who you'd think would dominate, but will be without match fitness and could possibly get injured at any stage), Pearce and Hansford.. I reckon Stanhope would still have to will the ball a fair bit out of the centre, and Ardy at full strength could have them covered since they've lost Hoota in this area..

Still, good on them for going after him and actually being able to snare him..

Let's not pencil them in just yet Westy, that mistake has been made the last 2 years.. Things are certainly stacked in their favour, but Ardy's forward set up will prob consist of Meka, Kellett and DT, not that far behind James (who you'd think would dominate, but will be without match fitness and could possibly get injured at any stage), Pearce and Hansford.. I reckon Stanhope would still have to will the ball a fair bit out of the centre, and Ardy at full strength could have them covered since they've lost Hoota in this area..

Agreed alot of work to be done but over confidence wasn't a factor in 06 when the second semi was a tight contest too. Gray has a glimmer of hope to play yet also.

I think Kellet has left already. He was signed and then had an argument with the coach over the phone and quit.

If it is L.Kellet you have made mentioned to, played with Wunghnu in the PDFL on the weekend and was pretty ordinary. Perhaps he and Turner are going for the record of the most clubs in a season ??

G'day boys, just wondering what the story is with Darren Turner? I believe he's playing with Ardmona now after leaving Berrigan mid-season. I'm interested because he played footy up my way last year and was a very handy player.

Probe set in motion
The circumstances surrounding a final siren altercation between Ardmona spearhead Perry Meka and two Avenel supporters is being investigated by Kyabram District Football League.
League president Sev Cortese yesterday confirmed it had appointed Victorian Country Football League accredited investigations officer Gary Wilson at the request of the clubs.
Avenel has alleged Meka was involved in a confrontation with two teenagers on the field following the Cats' 73-point victory on Saturday, June 23.
The Swans called for an inquiry following the match and last week submitted a $500 fee to launch the investigation.
Ardmona wrote to the league directly following the match admitting it was concerned by the behaviour of members of the crowd during the day and claimed Meka had been subjected to abuse and that some of the crowd had been intoxicated.
Meka last week welcomed a league investigation as he was confident it would clear him of any wrongdoing.
He said he had been subjected to abuse throughout the day and following the final siren by spectators and vehemently denied he had become involved in a physical altercation following the match.
"I'm pretty confident I'm not the one who's done anything wrong and really it's us (Ardmona) who have asked the league to look into it," Meka said at the time.
Nagambie police were present at the game and attained statements from the two alleged victims, but did not take the matter further after neither made a formal complaint.
The inquiry is expected to be completed next week.
Fourteen Avenal witnesses are set to be interviewed tommorrow night. Might be an extremely earlier morning finish for some.
I believe it is alledged, Perry Meka left previous to police arriving to the game, in fear of his own safety.???

G'day boys, just wondering what the story is with Darren Turner? I believe he's playing with Ardmona now after leaving Berrigan mid-season. I'm interested because he played footy up my way last year and was a very handy player.
Have seen him with Berrigan this season and he is not worth a cracker, the reports out of Echuca United are spot on, overrated, with a huge self opinion. Says something when his past two clubs , within six months mind you, believe they are better off without him. The wraps on him out of Berrigan are not good.

How's he going with Ardmona?

wat has happened to v/town, i see they have dropped there last couple after a flyin start to year . ????????

he is a spud... overrated big time , not worth a cent guess thats y he has gone to play kdl footy......i seen him last yr n his nothing.........

Fourteen Avenal witnesses are set to be interviewed tommorrow night. Might be an extremely earlier morning finish for some.
I believe it is alledged, Perry Meka left previous to police arriving to the game, in fear of his own safety.???

Who's safety? I was of the belief there was a lot of Ardmona folk in front of the changerooms hurling abuse and making threats which led to the law being called in :confused: This whole investigation thing could go on for a while. How bad are we travelling when alledged taunts by bloody 15 year old kids has led to an experienced man in his 40's to flip out and bring uneeded bad press to a great little comp.

Would love to know the content and the exact taunts/sledging that caused all of this (it had wanna be good) Maybe he is hard done by and every KDFL club just has it in for Mr. Meka

he is a spud... overrated big time , not worth a cent guess thats y he has gone to play kdl footy......i seen him last yr n his nothing.........

I dis agree i think he is a very good player and his problem is that he knows it.