KDFL March 07 - May 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

Interesting that the KDL turn out so many 100 goal kickers in premiership sides. I would predict that the same doesn't go in the GV and Picola leagues. Nathalia has had Parker, but I can't remember if Deni Rams had a sole focal point up forward to rely on in their dynasty.

Interesting to see the ages of many of these KDL spearheads. Over the years Meka, Exell, Loveless have dominated the square and have all been quite long in the tooth.

I think thats an indication that in the KDL there hasnt been too many top notch backman over the years, sure a couple of sides have had them (Geoff Connally, Adam Thomson, Tom Roberts) but most lack in that department, especially on the 100kg+ full forwards.

Spoke to Jodie, and the brothers that went back are due back in Gig the Sunday after the Rushy match.. Round 5 I think.. They're also supposed to be bringing 2 more with them, which will boost their stocks a bit. In saying that, they haven't come back yet..

Jodie was also saying that Sat's win was the roos first against the cats since 1996! And that they haven't beaten Rushy since we joined the comp in '98! Anyone know how long it's been since they've knocked off Stanhope or Lancy (who are both generally up there?) Not that Rushy can say too much, we only beat Heathcote twice in 21 years before we left the HDL..

The last time Gig beat lancaster I reckon may have been 1996 when Gig finished 3rd and lancy were out of the finals while Gig last defeated Stanhope in 1999.

Spoke to Jodie, and the brothers that went back are due back in Gig the Sunday after the Rushy match.. Round 5 I think.. They're also supposed to be bringing 2 more with them, which will boost their stocks a bit. In saying that, they haven't come back yet..

Jodie was also saying that Sat's win was the roos first against the cats since 1996! And that they haven't beaten Rushy since we joined the comp in '98! Anyone know how long it's been since they've knocked off Stanhope or Lancy (who are both generally up there?) Not that Rushy can say too much, we only beat Heathcote twice in 21 years before we left the HDL..

I'm sure we got beat in 2001 Tav when gig made the finals and we were on the bottom of the ladder. That would been the last time they played in finals i'm sure. I think George Trianedies (can't spell his name) was coach of gig that year.

Yer they made finals in 2001 so it's very likely your right and they also rolled Rushy by 5 points at Rushy in 1998 the second time they met for the season.

A chance at rookie of the year, Sean Connell from Yea. A good player from Assumption that played a few games last year. Should do well if he sticks around.

Agree with you there walshy. Goes in hard, good tackler & did a great job on the weekend.

i was hoping doona or someone might be able to put the teams from the shepp news up... very starved for information down here..

Starting to wind up the recruiting period for the Regional Leagues Fantasy Footy League ... applications are drying up ... but would still love to get at least to four teams!

(69 players, 11 more to enable a fourth team!)

METRO VIC (25 players)
Diamond Valley FL (10)
1. Kickass (Div 1 / Eltham)
2. mattyr (Div 1 Bundoora)
3. Iceman27 (Div 2 / Wallan)
4. Force (Div 2 / Watsonia)
5. Bubble Wrap (Div 2 / Watsonia)
6. Giveyathemail (Div ? / Lalor)
7. Jewelsandbullet (Div ? / Montmorency)
8. Dv_Worm (Div ? / Coburg Amateurs)
9. rompermfc (Div 2 / Macleod)
10. ifyoucandodgeawrench

VFL & VAFA (Vic) (7)
1. can't mark can't kick (VAFA / D1)
2. harper (VAFA / D2 / South Melbourne Districts)
3. youngblood (VAFA / D2 / Aquinas)
4. The Tigers Nuts (VAFA / D3 / Old Westbourne)
5. the lemon wedge (Port Melbourne / VFL)
6. Joe Dirt (VAFA / A Grade)
7. FitzroyRamone (VAFA / C Grade / Fitzroy Reds)

Essendon DFL (5)
1. Subway (Essendon DFL)
2. colgate (Essendon DFL / Strathmore)
3. coreybrown (Essendon DFL)
4. litening (Essendon DFL / Airport West)
5. oldfashiondefender (Essendon DFL)

Western Region FL (3)
1. Gemini17 (WRFL Div 2)
2. Blueboy16 (WRFL Div 2)
3. thesilkmeister (Western Region FL)
x. the lemon wedge (WRFL Div 1 / Port Colts) - VFL / Port Melbourne (Bigfooty RL FFL)

WEST MELB & WEST VIC (20 players)
Riddell DFL (4)
1. billylid (Riddell DFL)
2. Itsmyshow (Riddell DFL)
3. Trublueroo (Riddell DFL)
4. Bluecrew #2 (Riddell DFL)

Western, Mallee, Wimmera (9)
1. Bakers_Patrons (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
2. Centre Sqaure (North Central FL / Wycheproof-Narraport)
3. clifton's lookalike (Central Murray FL / Tyntynder)
4. Whispers (Geelong FL)
5. The Prawn (Millewa FL)
6. MasterOfROC (North Central FL / St Arnaud)
7. ALWHTE (Mininera & DFL)
8. theopacman (Western Border FL / Hamilton Imperials)
9. sheep dogger (Geelong FL)

Bendigo FL / Loddon Valley FL (7)
1. gerta (Loddon Valley FL)
2. A_JET8 (Bendigo FL)
3. Norfolk & Clew (Bendigo FL / Golden Square)
4. max powers. (Bendigo FL)
5. The fatman (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
6. davis 24 (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
7. Courageunderfire (Bendigo FL / Kyneton)
x. caveman (Bendigo FL / Kangaroo Flat) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)
x. maroon and blue (Bendigo FL / Eaglehawk) - Roys FC (Sweet FA)

EASTERN MELB, EASTERN VIC & OUTSIDE VIC (24 players)
Northern, North-Eastern, Eastern & Gippsland regions (15)
1. FOOTYBOSS (Goulburn Valley FL)
2. Johnny Tapp (Goulburn Valley FL)
3. Zippa (Goulburn Valley FL)
4. Joeyboy (Kyabram DFL)
5. VT#23 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
6. sparra (Kyabram DFL)
7. The Iceman #49 (Kyabram DFL / Violet Town)
8. iwantanotherflag (Picola & DFL / Katandra)
9. Slush Puppy (Kyabram DFL)
10. Darc21 (Ovens & Murray FL / Wangaratta Rovers)
11. goodies (Ellinbank DFL)
12. Marto121 (Picola & DFL)
13. slugga (YVMDFL)
14. MadMan V1.2 (Southern FL / Div 3 / Skye)
15. More Than A Game (Tallangatta DFL)
x. Pie4Life (MPNFL) - Dragons (Sweet FA)
x. OldMav (MPNFL) - Bigfooty Bombers (Sweet FA)
x. Frankston Rover (MPNFL) - Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)
x. diablo14 - (MPNFL) Frankston Sharks (Sweet FA)

Outside Victoria (9)
1. Bella Buffalo (South Africa)
2. cckid (Ontario AFL / Canada)
3. roorat (Northern Tasmanian FA / Deloraine)
4. bakerman (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Kingborough)
5. head67 (Riverina FL)
6. morphous (Queensland)
7. SJM41 (Queensland / ? FL / Redland)
8. Injury prone (WAFL / Perth)
9. billybrownless16 (Tasmania / Southern FL / Premier / Lauderdale)
x.Ljp86 (WAFL / Subiaco) - Dragons FC (Sweet FA)

Note : Players numbered x. are players who are only available under permit. They do not count amongst the 20 players required for a team, as if they are unavailable just one week, then that team will be unable to field a full contingent. The team's for which these players are primarily registered, are listed alongside the players' names.[/QUOTE]

i was hoping doona or someone might be able to put the teams from the shepp news up... very starved for information down here..

cant seem to find them Scott I'll keep working at it:thumbsu:

My tips lads for round 2:

Avenel vs. Lancaster (38pts)
Violet Town vs. Yea (66pts)
Murchison vs. Rushworth (126pts)
Nagambie vs. Ardmona (60pts)
Merrigum vs. Tallygaroopna (128pts)

Yeh - they all look pretty one sided Bodzy, and so early in the season, unless the swans can push the wombats back into their hole. At least we will see how much improvement there is at Avenel. I heard they had about 45 at training last night, not including thirds, not a bad roll up!
And will the Towners have 3 games - I see in the paper Yea only named 19 seniors, 12 magoos and 8 thirds.

Yeah pretty sound tips there Bodzy#32 im tipping both Rushworth and Violet Town will record bigger wins though. My Smokey for this round is Avenel, haven't heard much of Lancaster this year and Avenel produce a bit of value...

Yeh - they all look pretty one sided Bodzy, and so early in the season, unless the swans can push the wombats back into their hole. At least we will see how much improvement there is at Avenel. I heard they had about 45 at training last night, not including thirds, not a bad roll up!
And will the Towners have 3 games - I see in the paper Yea only named 19 seniors, 12 magoos and 8 thirds.

I did notice that in the Shep News today and it is very worrying. You would want to think its just a tactical move but thats very doubtful. I just hope the Yea footy club can get some numbers back soon and the rumours of folding are put away for good.

What has happened down at Yea. They were a CGFL power and went back to the KDFL and appear to be struggling for numbers. Hate to see any club in trouble. Surely if it is geographical a case for a southern competition.

Seems to me Fossil you have spent too much time laying around in the rocks,surely you could have found a better example than pea heart pearcey,kicks bags against the lesser sides but struggles against the good ones,would have been interesting to see how he would've gone had he went back to Avenel this year,dont think he would have gone any good without the powerhouse midfield that Stanhope have to feed him .

Next time use someones name like Meka to be taken seriously:D

Thanks for the personal attack there john much appreciated. Unlike other footballers i'm not gunna talk myself up, i have never claimed to be a gun footballer i just like enjoying myself while playing for a great club and with some "GUN" footballers. I thought that you were the coach of violet town and not someone that comes to watch me week in week out seen you know all about me.

Just looked through the draw, disappointed to see VT and Stanhope only match up once on the 7th of July at VT. Looks like its going to be a cracker.

Good response.

Not the place for personal attacks! Especially when the guy you attack is on line! And guys its not all about kicking goals. Last time I checked most bags are kicked against lesser sides and that is why they are lesser sides. 3 goals against top spot could be considered a day out!

Yeh mate lost a lot of lads 2 other clubs. usually have a handy list from the pucka crew but a shortage and others leaving 2 other clubs. All grades struggling a fair bit.....Go Tigers

just a bit of tongue in cheek p train,wish l had as many bites on my fishing rod as l did with you:D

Well Gig beat us twice in 1997 pez. as we didn't win a game. After that I am still pretty sure that the mainland have won every one since. OTM would be the man to clear this up

Originally Posted by BODZY#32

My tips for round 2:

Avenel (2pts)
Violet Town (30pts)
Rushworth (60pts)
Ardmona (12pts)
Tally (100pts)

Hope Yea can come through with a win though, a great club that deserves to be on the winners list.