KDFL March 07 - May 07

Re: Kyabram District FL

Its Slush Puppy Iceman#49 not Slush dog, But i doubt if Gigarre will find a player to kick over 100 goals this year, that is unless Jodie keeps kicking 7 every game..
no worries slush dog!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:thumbsu:

Is there going to be an Interleague game this year??? I mean after last year there's gotta be some serious doubts. If there is, does anyone have an opinon on what they think the team will be?

Sev Cortese was on 98.5fm the other week saying that it was not looking promising, something about teams not letting players go and play. Bit of a shame because they had a good thing going with the now disbanded CGFL and i'm not 100% sure but didn't they Picola league last year ?

Seems to me Fossil you have spent too much time laying around in the rocks,surely you could have found a better example than pea heart pearcey,kicks bags against the lesser sides but struggles against the good ones,would have been interesting to see how he would've gone had he went back to Avenel this year,dont think he would have gone any good without the powerhouse midfield that Stanhope have to feed him .

Next time use someones name like Meka to be taken seriously:D

Mmm, nice pun there Jaxy. Lets face it, firstly: Violet Town do not have the luxury to put a former GV player in the square and Secondly: Dukic seems to be a stand alone forward, last year after his injury there ability to put up a winning score diminished.
No doubting with players the ilk of Walker, Mills and Smythe Violet Town will be up there, but there is no Pearce and there is no MEKA, this means there is no flag.

Mmm, nice pun there Jaxy. Lets face it, firstly: Violet Town do not have the luxury to put a former GV player in the square and Secondly: Dukic seems to be a stand alone forward, last year after his injury there ability to put up a winning score diminished.
No doubting with players the ilk of Walker, Mills and Smythe Violet Town will be up there, but there is no Pearce and there is no MEKA, this means there is no flag.

If you were coaching would you want a century goal kicker or a team with 5 blokes that all had around 30 apiece for the year fossil..
Look at west coast or sydney,did they have a standout goal kicker or did they share the load after all they have played off in the last 2 grand finals..:confused:

Dean Carracher kicked a few in the BDFL for Longwood a few years ago.. I think. You don't need to kick a ton to win the flag.

Seems to me Fossil you have spent too much time laying around in the rocks,surely you could have found a better example than pea heart pearcey,kicks bags against the lesser sides but struggles against the good ones,would have been interesting to see how he would've gone had he went back to Avenel this year,dont think he would have gone any good without the powerhouse midfield that Stanhope have to feed him .

Next time use someones name like Meka to be taken seriously:D

Im getting confused, for a long time it was sauce, then the P-train, now pea heart.

Two years ago Shaun kicked 90 odd before doing the ankle - last year from where I was sitting we reckon Stanhope woulda lost the GF by a bit more had it not been for his contribution.

how bout we have a stab at rookie of the year fellas. any names spring to mind?
from avenel, scott kanters and joe o'connor would be our best bets. maybe clarke from rushy or horsbourgh from vt?

How about Rexmond Issac and Adrian Corrie (NT boys for Gig) only 17&19 and carved up ardy, keep that form up they would have be a chance you would think

If you were coaching would you want a century goal kicker or a team with 5 blokes that all had around 30 apiece for the year fossil..
Look at west coast or sydney,did they have a standout goal kicker or did they share the load after all they have played off in the last 2 grand finals..:confused:

Unless I missed something pretty sure Violet Town don't play in the AFL. Totally different brand of footy being played. Over the past decade or so in the KDL all but one side that has won the premiership had a 100+ goal forward. Sure there has to be a year soon when it doesnt happen, and yes talking from a coaching perspective I would rather 5 blokes sharing the load, but still having one go to man over all else is a luxury.

West Coast had Lynch who kicked 60 goals last year and sydney had hall who kicked 70 odd. 2 good targets i would say Jaxbac.

From what i saw last year i don't think Dukic is a 100 goal forward in the KDL, i may be wrong though.

Worst comparison ever. The KDL ain't the AFL you ********. Mate - don't you reckon it's a bit odd for a coach to be on a forum like this saying some of the crap that you've been dribbling for 3 months? Just setting yourself up for a fall I reckon.

Unless I missed something pretty sure Violet Town don't play in the AFL. Totally different brand of footy being played. Over the past decade or so in the KDL all but one side that has won the premiership had a 100+ goal forward. Sure there has to be a year soon when it doesnt happen, and yes talking from a coaching perspective I would rather 5 blokes sharing the load, but still having one go to man over all else is a luxury.

Interesting that the KDL turn out so many 100 goal kickers in premiership sides. I would predict that the same doesn't go in the GV and Picola leagues. Nathalia has had Parker, but I can't remember if Deni Rams had a sole focal point up forward to rely on in their dynasty.

Interesting to see the ages of many of these KDL spearheads. Over the years Meka, Exell, Loveless have dominated the square and have all been quite long in the tooth.

Worst comparison ever. The KDL ain't the AFL you ********. Mate - don't you reckon it's a bit odd for a coach to be on a forum like this saying some of the crap that you've been dribbling for 3 months? Just setting yourself up for a fall I reckon.

Didnt realise that coaches were not allowed on the forum firerabbit,
icon10.gif

i was always taught and it happens in most leagues afl right down local leagues that the best defence wins premierships regardless of focal points up forward so lets start talking up the better defenders

Didnt realise that coaches were not allowed on the forum firerabbit,
icon10.gif

I think you misinterpreted that jackie:) . I reckon it's great that coaches get on here and talk it up - doona, hank, yourself and mahoney, but I reckon you'd all be better leaving negative comments about other players and clubs to the rest of the muppets on here like myself:D, at the same time not talking your own clubs up so much. I reckon it just gives other people a bit of ammo - moreso when it comes from the coach than just any old player with an alias - IMO

l dont bag other clubs and l certainly dont talk up our own club,as l have told our football club all we need to do is improve every year and that means making finals after just missing last year,l certainly arent talking flags at all,as for Pearcey it was just a sly dig and really nothing in it,when we play Stanhope ,he will be 1 guy who we will pay close attention to.

The forum is a bit of fun ,some blokes need to lighten up a bit..:thumbsu:

I heard yesterday that gig's darwin recruits had flown back to darwin already and probably wouldn't return is this true?
one of their brothers died in darwin while they were playing on the weekend so they have gone back for that reason. one would assume they would be back in a few weeks...

i was always taught and it happens in most leagues afl right down local leagues that the best defence wins premierships regardless of focal points up forward so lets start talking up the better defenders

Amen!! here here brutha!!:thumbsu: Now were talking up the real spine of a team...:D

one of their brothers died in darwin while they were playing on the weekend so they have gone back for that reason. one would assume they would be back in a few weeks...

Spoke to Jodie, and the brothers that went back are due back in Gig the Sunday after the Rushy match.. Round 5 I think.. They're also supposed to be bringing 2 more with them, which will boost their stocks a bit. In saying that, they haven't come back yet..

Jodie was also saying that Sat's win was the roos first against the cats since 1996! And that they haven't beaten Rushy since we joined the comp in '98! Anyone know how long it's been since they've knocked off Stanhope or Lancy (who are both generally up there?) Not that Rushy can say too much, we only beat Heathcote twice in 21 years before we left the HDL..

agree with you all great game at the end when all was close at the end made it a bit more exciting to be out there.
i didnt get a reply from a post yesterday and was hoping to about scott hansen was just a little bit angry at the way he spoke to tav perry about his shots at goal on the run and the young bloke who was a third man up in a ball up does anyone want to shed some light on this issue.
and also did clint mansell play for ardmona on the weekend if so how did he go

There's not much light to shed on this issue, to be honest, cat.. I can remember both incidents that you're talking about, and no doubt Scott let us know in no-uncertain terms what he thought about our actions.. That's the way he coaches and we accept that.. From a personal point of view he doesn't like me missing shots on the run, coz that's usually one of my strengths, but I haven't been practicing doing it as much as I normally do.. I guess that's his way of encouraging me to train a bit harder at it..

How about Rexmond Issac and Adrian Corrie (NT boys for Gig) only 17&19 and carved up ardy, keep that form up they would have be a chance you would think

A chance at rookie of the year, Sean Connell from Yea. A good player from Assumption that played a few games last year. Should do well if he sticks around.