Kdfl Sept 05-April 06

Re: Kyabram District FL

Doona2 said:
Actually was talking about Der tonight. Caught up with a good mate of mine (broady recruit Azza Taylor) who studies with Jimmy Bodycoat in Bendigo - Jimmy apparently said to Azz the Towners werent impressed because no potential recruits had been sought and that Bodycoat himself had taken the occasional training run allready this pre-season.

Who is your tip for a replacement tacka????

Been thinking about it a bit, theres gotta be more to this, Der is a decent fella and behind the scenes at VT things cant be too good.

Anybody know more?

The recruits keep rolling in for gig.
Now they have another two players on the transfer list. One from the geelong amatuers and another from the eastern lions. Picton-smith and Newbegin.
Anyone know of these blokes?
Rumours are still around that Williams, Freeman and Sleeth are crossing to gig, from ardmona also.

subtle hustle said:
The recruits keep rolling in for gig.
Now they have another two players on the transfer list. One from the geelong amatuers and another from the eastern lions. Picton-smith and Newbegin.
Anyone know of these blokes?
Rumours are still around that Williams, Freeman and Sleeth are crossing to gig, from ardmona also.

I know Newbegin pretty well - Daniel Vance's best mate. Played a bit of senior footy for Shepp 3-4yrs ago and was a very good 2nd's player for them til he got injured. Hasn't played for a bit, but will be handy if they can get him on the park. Have spoken to Canavan a bit this year and he has never mentioned the ardy blokes as potential recruits, though he's still very confident on Wayman..

If he did get those 3 from the cattery they'd nearly have the 10-12 senior players required to climb up the ladder and maybe fight for a finals berth...though apart from Snelson there seems to be a trend that they've recruited blokes that have a history of not being the greatest of performers on the training track...could hurt them..

its amazing all you blokes havent got doona fingered for the vacant job at V/T, you've got him penciled in for everything else at the moment

The thing about gig is with the amount of new blokes to the club, you'd think that a few locals who've been there through the harder times will not get a game this year.
That said, i'm sure alot of them will enjoy a year of better performances by their club but how long till some of the old guard feel alienated and want to move on.
Time will tell i guess.

saint13 said:
its amazing all you blokes havent got doona fingered for the vacant job at V/T, you've got him penciled in for everything else at the moment

Ha ha yeah would struggle with all the gigs Im doing if you read the GVFL thread!!! Here's a candidate out of left field. Spoke with a bloke at work who coached Avenel 2nds for 3 years, won a flag and a runners-up and spent time on the sidelines when Dipper was t the helm. Allan "Groover" Hatfield.

Groove said he is keen to have a go at a senior gig in the near future and obviously has a clever football brain. Im of the belief that quite a few of the Swans magoo's players of his time would've played on last year had he still been involved (didnt want to tell me but seems a bit went on behind the scenes) which would suggest he'd be able to pull quite a few up the Hume to Violet Town.

Willox could be a chance to stay, ruckman Steve Coll has applied to go back to Avenel, yet gets on well Groove, the 3 Cleary boys also (not required at Avenel), along with mates like the Corridon brothers, Rod Berens, Anthony Bell, Glenn Loader, James Ridd, Eric Linares, Kelvin Groves (could attract army mates) all which would help to the Towners depth.

Just thinking out aloud, Any thoughts from rival KDFL people????

Interesting goings on at VT. The last thing you would want to do this close to a new season would be to lose/sack your coach so it would sound like a last gasp decision from whichever party decided to cut the ties.

Especially going into a new competition this year and VT would be pretty keen (as any new club) to make a mark on the competition immediately.

Rosco5 said:
Tav, thanks for that. For the info of all you 'third rate sleuths', Scott Paulke and Brian Morris have signed at Longwood. THAT is your mass exodus. I spoke to Brian to day and he and I are still good mates, he just said he needed a change after 7 years at the club. Scott is a different kettle, he believes he was screwed over by some people who pushed him into the coaching job in 2005 and also wanted a change.
I have spoken to both and they're quite willing to come back to the club whether I am coaching in 2007 or not. EOS. I am disappointed they couldn't see the benefits and changes bought about in the past 6-8 weeks with a lot of hard work and the quality kids coming thru but such is life, that is football. We wish them the best and move on, hopefully after a year they will return, refreshed and keen.
You guys should check the INS and OUTS a bit more carefully over the next few weeks, it might give you a better picture of what's happening at Nagaz. As for anyone else going to Avenel, Steve Coll (who originally came from Avenel to Nagambie in 2003 when I was coaching) MAY head back there, he only played 6 games last year anyway with Nagaz and has work commitments. Ben HUTTON, as stated previously, may play at Wedderburn with the blokes he attends Uni with. I think I can clealry say that Ben and I are good mates too and he will no doubt return to the club in 2007. Thanks for clearing that up Rosco.

As for Paulke and Morris going to Longwood that is foolish in my opinion (and mine only), they are too good for a comp like that! I take it nagas is planning to have a massive 2005?? Does mick shiels fit into these plans? Perhaps with the hope of dragging mates?

Sure must be devastating for the Towners so close to kick off to be faced with this but Im sure Gary Abley and co. will be onto it already.

I dont know Groove all that well, speak to him occasionally at work, so to put his name up in lights was a tad stupid. For all I know he'd be $hitty to think that he is being talked about in such manner, it's just that I can tell he has a passion for football, knows his stuff and when you think of the players who didnt play at Avenel last year because he wasnt there says he is respected and has loyalty on his side.

Was merely just throwing up an option . . .

Doona2 said:
Sure must be devastating for the Towners so close to kick off to be faced with this but Im sure Gary Abley and co. will be onto it already.

I dont know Groove all that well, speak to him occasionally at work, so to put his name up in lights was a tad stupid. For all I know he'd be $hitty to think that he is being talked about in such manner, it's just that I can tell he has a passion for football, knows his stuff and when you think of the players who didnt play at Avenel last year because he wasnt there says he is respected and has loyalty on his side.

Was merely just throwing up an option . . .

thats an interesting theory there big fella about goover, i must say spoke to him not to long ago, and to say there is a bit of a bad taste left over from the avenel days would be a bit of an understatement, you should ask wheelie if he has any input on the matter, im sure he could dig something up mate................

inlimbo said:
jumping in here late fellas, but thought that the mid court player from rushy Jen Batkin is the stand-out glamour of the comp!

Is that you Houlz?

You make some honest and interesting points there rosco5. If you do have the club at heart and are attempting to do what you have said then i wish you all the best. Hopefully the young guys that you refer to can step up to senior footy. Your ideas certainly sound better than other coaches that i read about in the league. ie "one year fix"

Doona2 said:
Ha ha yeah would struggle with all the gigs Im doing if you read the GVFL thread!!! Here's a candidate out of left field. Spoke with a bloke at work who coached Avenel 2nds for 3 years, won a flag and a runners-up and spent time on the sidelines when Dipper was t the helm. Allan "Groover" Hatfield.

Groove said he is keen to have a go at a senior gig in the near future and obviously has a clever football brain. Im of the belief that quite a few of the Swans magoo's players of his time would've played on last year had he still been involved (didnt want to tell me but seems a bit went on behind the scenes) which would suggest he'd be able to pull quite a few up the Hume to Violet Town.

Willox could be a chance to stay, ruckman Steve Coll has applied to go back to Avenel, yet gets on well Groove, the 3 Cleary boys also (not required at Avenel), along with mates like the Corridon brothers, Rod Berens, Anthony Bell, Glenn Loader, James Ridd, Eric Linares, Kelvin Groves (could attract army mates) all which would help to the Towners depth.

Just thinking out aloud, Any thoughts from rival KDFL people????

I've heard on the side the Groover was owed coin by Avenel and that's why he's not involved anymore!!

inlimbo said:
As for Paulke and Morris going to Longwood that is foolish in my opinion (and mine only), they are too good for a comp like that! I take it nagas is planning to have a massive 2005?? Does mick shiels fit into these plans? Perhaps with the hope of dragging mates?

Inlimbo, Mick certainly would fit in well for the club, no doubt about that. He would like to give it another go at Seymour and see how he goes and good luck to him, sticking at it at a better level of footy. As for Longwood, well, that is your opinion, just so happens to be one I and just about everyone else I know shares so you're not Robinson Crusoe. We are not looking to have a 'massive' 2006, just to stabilise the sinking ship and develop the kids with some good recruiting and leadership, we'll just see how it goes and, as stated, are not after the one-year-fix as it seems some clubs in the KDFL are!
Heard a whisper, not sure how true but it did come from an Army base near here, that a certain KDFL coach may be very shortly posted to Iraq ?? Any truth to that Doona ??
And Rowbotham (Ray) to Nagaz is the latest whisper .....:thumbsu:

scotywok said:
I've heard on the side the Groover was owed coin by Avenel and that's why he's not involved anymore!!

I sure do hope that aint the case, Groove never mentioned that at work but if it is true then it would be a shame for a club to risk losing a handy bloke who has the ability to draw footballers over a few quid.

ringo1 said:
You make some honest and interesting points there rosco5. If you do have the club at heart and are attempting to do what you have said then i wish you all the best. Hopefully the young guys that you refer to can step up to senior footy. Your ideas certainly sound better than other coaches that i read about in the league. ie "one year fix"

Ringo, I live in the town and coached there in 2003-4 before going to Broadford in 2005 (where I got bitten by 2-3 snakes !! :D ) and I am looking forward to the year with honest enthusiasm, as are all the 'boys'. The reason why I recruited Ken Ingram was that he had coached and also gets on well and is a great mentor to the kids. I want to assist with making the club a respected and successful club again in the KDFL and help provide a fun environment for the kids to develop. I wouldn't have come back after 2004 if the club and new committee didn't have the same objectives as me. We have discounted some players who simply asked for too much money and moved on, trying to recruit people who don't cost a packet and are willing to assist me and develop the kids, hopefully we'll be able to keep them for 2-3 years. We have the right strategies in place, the kids understand the priorities and what we are trying to achieve as do the blokes we have recruited, that's the main thing, we're all headed in the same direction and we believe it's the right one ! :)

Rosco5 said:
Heard a whisper, not sure how true but it did come from an Army base near here, that a certain KDFL coach may be very shortly posted to Iraq ?? Any truth to that Doona ??
And Rowbotham (Ray) to Nagaz is the latest whisper .....:thumbsu:

There are 13 coaches in the KDFL Rosco so Im not sure, you're not heading off on a exchange program are ya ;)

Rowbo would be handy for teh Lakers if he works a tad more on his disposal (turns it over a wee bit I reckon) very very capable player who'd be one of the pick ups of the year if this rumour proves true.

Doona2 said:
There are 13 coaches in the KDFL Rosco so Im not sure, you're not heading off on a exchange program are ya ;)

Rowbo would be handy for teh Lakers if he works a tad more on his disposal (turns it over a wee bit I reckon) very very capable player who'd be one of the pick ups of the year if this rumour proves true.

Well, you can definitely cross Hansen, Canavan and Patten off the list heading to Iraq..since as far as I know VT don't have a coach at the moment, the KDL coach in question can't be from there. No offence to Cory Carver, top bloke, but I doubt he'd be the kind they'd send to the trenches.. there's 5 off your list..leaves 8..

Ray Rowbotham, good player. solid build, hard at it, erratic at times, good athlete. Will be in Nagaz top 3-5 players if he ends up there. Could also be used in a variety of roles, prob be the kind of bloke who starts down back and pinch-hits in the mid-field..how has he gone at broady in the last couple of years? He must like Rosco, surprised that he'd leave the roos when things sound like they're going alright there..

akka dakka said:
I also seen in the paper they picked up a gippsland footballer??
does anyone know anything about him???

Might be the same bloke who played a few years ago at Murch. Dour defender who dilike to handball.

Rosco5 said:
Ringo, I live in the town and coached there in 2003-4 before going to Broadford in 2005 (where I got bitten by 2-3 snakes !! :D ) and I am looking forward to the year with honest enthusiasm, as are all the 'boys'. The reason why I recruited Ken Ingram was that he had coached and also gets on well and is a great mentor to the kids. I want to assist with making the club a respected and successful club again in the KDFL and help provide a fun environment for the kids to develop. I wouldn't have come back after 2004 if the club and new committee didn't have the same objectives as me. We have discounted some players who simply asked for too much money and moved on, trying to recruit people who don't cost a packet and are willing to assist me and develop the kids, hopefully we'll be able to keep them for 2-3 years. We have the right strategies in place, the kids understand the priorities and what we are trying to achieve as do the blokes we have recruited, that's the main thing, we're all headed in the same direction and we believe it's the right one ! :)

Who and when have the Lakers got Practice matches lined up with Rosco? Usually have with Heathcote don't u?

On The Money said:
Who and when have the Lakers got Practice matches lined up with Rosco? Usually have with Heathcote don't u?

OT$, we are playing Longwood which should be interesting !! on the 11th march, then an intraclub on the 18th and then Katamatite on the 25th. I spoken to Dan O'BREE but they're not starting till late April so he wanted to tee up a game on April 1, unfortunately we will be playing Tally though I did give it some thought !! :eek:

Originally Posted by akka dakka
I also seen in the paper they picked up a gippsland footballer??
does anyone know anything about him???

Might be the same bloke who played a few years ago at Murch. Dour defender who dilike to handball.

Thats the one he is a mate or relative cant remember which of Gene Vanderzalm

Murch are loosing another top footballer.

Tim Richter informed the club yesterday that he is moving out of the area.

Old Hopper said:
Murch are loosing another top footballer.

Tim Richter informed the club yesterday that he is moving out of the area.

Wheres he off to Old Hopper. ?