Kids Showing a Bit

Righto, will do. As long as you are totally honest as well.

We need to get that intensity up pretty quickly because Clarko and Hawthorn are going to be looking for revenge in Round 1.

I can assure you, they will be as intense as a frenzied shark.

Think this would be a good discussion to have.

And agree, we will need to match the Hawks intensity as they will be flat chat you'd think.

I for one don't think we ever quite got 2010 intensity into our game in 2011.

We kept being told they were pacing themselves to peak at different times for different players and the team in general, but tbh it never really happened.

In 2010 we were like 'frenzied sharks', well IMO we never got to that level of hunger in 2011.

Perhaps it's because we didn't seem to use the press as much - and the press lends itself to that frenzied attack, but we didn't quite look as desperate and you'd love to see that desperate hunger back this year.

Whether we do get that back may well define our year.

Sinclair is hard, quick, has a decent spring and has good defensive pressure/intent.

The problem he has is even though he generally plays in a defensive forward role, he doesn't hit the scoreboard and doesn't seem like a player who has the intent to. You have to be dangerous as a forward if you are going to play there, he doesn't seem to be. He also lacks penetration and tricks.

It is more than that because it is a carry over from the back half of last year.

True buy During the NAB Cup but If it's like this for the 1st Month of the Season than Alarm Bells will ring

Well no excuses by then Dave if it is.

I want to see it now. It cost us the flag last year when everyone said we were lay down favourites.

Good night Dave. I am off to bed. I love you mate. Don't take things personally. This is a place to come and debate the Pies but deep down inside we want them all to succeeed.

I think of you like my brother mate.

I always have passionate discussions with my brothers but we love each other.

I love you Man.

I have not seen any of the NAB CUP. Always think you should never get wrapped up in players showing good pre season form as it is so often misleading. Losing NAB CUP games usually is irrelevant anyway.

But, but...it is vital we find some good young players as our depth is pretty shaky even with a full list.

From reading the posts there seems to be , well placed I hope, optimism surrounding 3 players. Yagmoor, Williams and Paine.

Do all 3 possess the vital ingredients of 1. Able to win their own ball 2. One touch players who rarely fumble 3. Able to use the ball effectively, particularly by foot. ????????????

I thought a lot of the kids showed good signs. There is a gap between most of them and the senior players however, you can see it when a guy like Swan or Pendles has the ball and takes a bounce then kicks it to the right option. Compare that to one of the 1st/2nd year players and a lot of them waste the ball or rush it. When 3/4 of the team are inexperienced it shows up. I wouldn't be writing any of them off however. I also think it's a bit early to be judging players, a lot of them it was their first hit out.

Well no excuses by then Dave if it is.

I want to see it now. It cost us the flag last year when everyone said we were lay down favourites.

Good night Dave. I am off to bed. I love you mate. Don't take things personally. This is a place to come and debate the Pies but deep down inside we want them all to succeeed.

I think of you like my brother mate.

I always have passionate discussions with my brothers but we love each other.

I love you Man.

Well we need to Lift Next Week when we got to AMII Stadium and the Season is 2 Weeks Away so Agree it needs to start Lifting. maybe not Full Pelt but a Lift is needed.

No Harm Mate - I was just not getting what you where trying to say and I took it as super Negative at the start

I know some of the regulars here disagree with the negatives but you are glossing over some worrying signs. The intensity and skills from "players who have been given the opportunity to force there way into the side" was disappointing. Yes, we don't expect Paine, Ceglar, Hartley and co. to be ready yet - we look for positives from them.

BUT Young, Sinclair, Buckley, Keefe and others should be at 110% right now to prove a point. Some of their decision making was woeful.

I get it that the senior players will be off the pace right now and thats good - we have learnt from last season. Yet this young team matched up with Melbourne's young team pretty well - they weren't any more talented than us. Their young players took their opportunities. Bucks said we were lairising and we were - it smacks of arrogance and is an excuse that we better not carry over to round one.

What's the point of switching play when the opposition is ready for it?

Geelongs youngsters showed their depth last night. I must admit that I am a little concerned about our current 23-30 players, if that is the best they can do to show they deserve a chance.

I would like to see Paine developed just as Cloke was in the VFL. His potential looks huge but we shouldn't even be talking about him in the mix for 2012. We should be talking about Keefe but we are not because he didn't put in the effort required. Coaches play the Keefes of this world to show them what they've got in the NAB cup. This was the worry tonight.

Do others agree that some senior players - Jolly, Maxwell, Cloke, Dawes, Ball and Swan look much slimmer and fitter this year? Perhaps there has been an even heavier focus on endurance pre season.

I don't care about the loss just some of the players who had to step up before the season starts!

I reckon Paine Yagmoor and Hartley will be 100 game plus players. I hope Williams and Mooney can hang around long enough to develop a career too.

I like Rounds in the forward pocket. He has some pace and knows where the goals are!

Sinclair and Keeffe needs to pack on some bulk. Yagmoor will get bigger with age.

Ceglar looks athletic. I think he can come in and play a few gamse in 2012. Gives Jolly and Wood a hand.

Interested to see what Elliot and J Thomas can provide. Hopefully they play on friday.

Listen mate, I might not have a double degree in home economics from Frankston Community college like you have but my opinion is important too.
[/I]

I'll assume that was meant to be funny? It wasn't. Otherwise what a cheap shot at a fellow pies fan. I haven't quoted the rest but that wasn't all. We rate character in our football heroes why not here? Maybe your opinion is important too, not too me though.

Thanks for the Back-Up Mate

Yagmoor, Paine, Ceglar, Hartley showed good signs that they might be able to make it.

Sinclair and Young on the other hand I don't hold out much hope for.

Yagmoor, Paine, Ceglar, Hartley showed good signs that they might be able to make it.

Sinclair and Young on the other hand I don't hold out much hope for.

I have pretty much given up on Sinclair.

Sinclar = Barham Mark 2

It's been a couple of un-inspiring rounds from the Pies so far. Tis the season for it though.

Yagmoor: Material to work with, has a nice kick & that's why we got him. Could be good in time but needs to get "the harry o'briens" out of his game. Harry did, so more than hope here. I like so far.

Buckley: He has the kick just not progressing though. I was hopeful, now not so sure.

Sinclair: Has intensity but apart from that has no major weapon.

Rounds: Always thought he had something to offer. Think he'll get a new lease of life under Bucks. I thought last year Malty was trying to turn him into a tagger or run with role. He's better than that. Hits the packs at pace. Like.

Keeffe: A sorry story for me. He played ruck in his first year & he was a disaster. Then moved to FB/CHB in his second year & looked the goods, for half a season. He was a general & was very vocal in instructing HIS backline.
At that stage I thought OMG we have the first 204cm fullback in league history. Hasn't developed.

Williams: Was not impressed with his draft videos. Like much of you, that is where i get my initial impressions. Yes, many of you liked him from that. I thought left foot, big, but what else? I thought here's a poor man's Des Headland. He is better than that & I now like him, more to work with than I thought.

Cribbin: Long way to go.

Young: I quite like him but I'm just not sure what he really offers that is outstanding. A little Harry O in his early days, again. Plenty of HOPE though I think.

Paine: Look I'm an unabashed fan. It's early but I really like him. Those shoulders are only gunna get bigger. He seems to have a bit of mongrel about him. While he's not going to be a CHF/FF, I think he's going to have that rare commodity "presence". Apart from Cloke, I'd have to go back to the 60/s or 70/s to find a forward who POTENTIALLY (i'm thinking pack bursting ability) has as much presence. Please don't say the Rocca's did.

Clarke: He was ordinary, first AFL blow out in 3 yrs, he'll be ok. He won't be a star of the game & he has to accept that.

Hartley: I think we've done well out of the NSW scholarship scheme apart from who's coming. This guy will be a good lock down defender. Not backing him as Super Coach value though. lol Ever!

Mooney: looked vastly improved from last week, far more composed and i really liked what i saw from him. A good mark, a good kick, some exellent speed/tackling.

Williams: gives it all, plays very similair to sam mitchell imo. I reckon he can make it as a best 22 player, 1-2 years off from impacting the senior side though.

Paine: Very impressive, didnt always come off for him but perfect attitude and application, if he keeps that up things will fall for him.

Yagmoor: Showed he could be considered one of the best kicks in collingwood (or even the AFL) in a few years. Needs to work on endurance and marking though, i like him and reckon he'll be a long term player.

Young/Sinclair: both have a lot of zip and heart, but seriouslly lack polish and decision making. Sad to say, but neither will make it. I wouldnt want to see them on grand final day, especially not young. Sinclair doesnt find enough of the ball and is a bit small (plus general skills are below AFL standard). Youngs main problem is his brain, and his kicking can be ordinary sometimes as well.

Keefe: Dont really like him, im not sure why others have been excited. Seems destined to fail as a defender in the AFL, and isnt a good forward either. His got the ingredients to be something, but its just not there.

Ceglar: too early to tell, happy to watch him develop for a few years. Appears to not be as good as witts as this stage however.

Ugle: Some good tackles, but didnt take his oppotunity. I dont think his best 22 material, i reckon he'll struggle at AFL level.

Clarke: well, not really a kid but feels new. Heart was in the mouth everytime he got it, showed a lot of good signs and played how you would expect, rusty. Needs game time before we'll see what he can really do.

Hartley: Pretty exciting, and could join toovey maxwell o'brien as our next reliable defender from the rookie list. His main question is his disposal, which i was closely watching tonight and was pleasantly suprised.

Rounds: looked good as a forward, maybe he can take a small forward role in the team? I dont think he'll make it as a small defender.

Cribbin and mcnamara had to play the VFL game that afternoon, so considering that they were okay. Cribbin i think will slip behind mooney very soon

Buckley was ok, handy depth player and nothing more.

I love the look of Paine. This kid would be our jack darling this year and do the role caff was supposed to do. Tough, great forward pressure good hands. He did half a dozen things that would not have shown on the stats sheet that the coaches would have loved.

I also think yagamoor is a good chance to play a bit of senior footy and looks like a steal to me.

I think some are being very hard on young. Yep his decision making needs alot of work but he reads the play expceptionally well, is tough enough and a great tackler,good speed, has very good hands and I think his skills are actually very good but he needs to learn how to execute them under pressure. This could come with experience. I remember another ackward looking footballer who could win the footy but we all wrote him off because he made poor decisions and he won a brownlow last year. Lets give Young a bit of time.

In a weak draft with no decent picks we could very well have 3 gems in yagamorr, paine and witts which is a real bonus

Mate you must have either

a) not been at the game
b) not understand that if you are 27th on the list and you get your moment, you need to show something.

Do you see any of these guys stepping into our 22 the way Beams and Sidey did back in 2009 or 08?

Ben Sinclair and Williams showed something and put their body on the line.

Marty Clarke and Simon Buckley heard footsteps all night.

There are always excuses for missed skills but there is no excuse for not putting your body on the line when it counts.

Especially if you are trying to impress a coaching staff to get into the team for round one.

It was okay for James Magner and a few of the rookies at Melbourne to put their bodies on the line, why wasn't it for a few of our players who heard footsteps?

Marty Clarke needs to improve 100% .. the he was palmed off with ease down the sideline late in the 4th left a lot to question

No one takes the Cup seriously, but it is disconcerting when you see young kids coming in and showing little understanding of a club-wide playing style. I would like to see our VFL side playing the same game plan as the seniors. There were too many headless chooks out there tonight.

Don't forget Melbourne had their top stars out as well.

Well said, at least someone could see that it was a very disappointing performance from the team. Even though it was a practice match, we should of won that game easily.

No kids stepped up that i saw.

Martin Blake hit the nail on the head.

Melbourne was tougher last night, winning the contested ball count, the tackle count and the clearance count against a Collingwood team renowned for its hardness over recent years. ''That's the way we want to play,'' said Neeld. ''I don't think it matters who you play or what round it is.''

The best news from last nights match was that there were no new injuries,have not seen the match so cannot comment on it.

I think in last season,s drafts we have picked up a few boys who with a bit of luck might be a chance for a long term career for the Pies but this is their 1st
year in the system and it takes time,I also think Ceglar is progressing nicely for a 2nd year player,Jolly was great in 2010 but we have to go right back to
Monkey to have a ruckman who was a match for opposition ruckman,I think with another 10kgs on Ceglar might surprise a few people.

In the compromised drafts and our picks in relation to said drafts we have pick some rippers and with our nsw picks coming along nicely we are traveling ok

Can't we have one thread used for discussing just positives this pre-season?

February was a horror month for the club and everything on here tended toward negative. A few of the comments in here have as well and when this is intended purely as a positive thread why bring it down?

If you felt certain players performed below par or not to your expectation by all means express that opinion!!! Just try to do it in the matchday thread or create one specifically based around that player. I'm not having a crack at anyone its just that the pre-season is a time of hope and atm many are simply focussing on negatives.

This

And Dave I often skip over posts and don't even bother to read them, if I know they are from constant carpers and pessimists.

Just saying it works for me

I have pretty much given up on Sinclair.

Sinclar = Barham Mark 2
He did a couple of nice things I think Dave, but I agree with your sentiments that his skills need a lot of work.
Actually I thought there was one out there last night who was far worse: S Buckley, really struggling.

I thought Paine was good, I like his presence.
I'm probably on my own here but I thought Young was ok.
Marty was rusty but that is to be expected, but he is a quality player
Yags and Marley look to be very good prospects
Ceglar surprised me a bit, he moved and rucked very well

My take.

Hartley, surprised at his mobility for a person who stands 197, give it 3 years to develop into a man and watch this space... Same with Paine & Ceglar, Paine will play some games this year... Ceglar at least out jumps the opposition ruck man... That's a start.

Mooney has the skills just needs a few years in the system...imagine if he grew up in Melbourne with his current skills.....

Yagmoor see Hartley, Paine and Ceglar.... Sorry everyone Williams just doesn't cut it... Reminds me of poor man Brodie Holland.

Wits will be a star no doubt, games this year and will develop another gear next year.

Young, Keefe, Buckley, Sinclair, are a waste of space.

The big question will be will our senior play step it up another gear, for me that's the big concern... PS Fasolo didn't show much last night, was he off after half time?

Thanks.

Can't we have one thread used for discussing just positives this pre-season?

February was a horror month for the club and everything on here tended toward negative. A few of the comments in here have as well and when this is intended purely as a positive thread why bring it down?

If you felt certain players performed below par or not to your expectation by all means express that opinion!!! Just try to do it in the matchday thread or create one specifically based around that player. I'm not having a crack at anyone its just that the pre-season is a time of hope and atm many are simply focussing on negatives.
Right on the money mate this was a thread "about kids showing a bit" and from where we have had to pick these kids in various drafts they are showing quite a bit of promise.

People forget we got Fas at pick 37 less than 2 yrs ago and look at him now,5gls in a match and a fantastic mark in another match,some of the players we drafted last year look a chance to play later this season and this is great spotting and developing of players,most of the clubs would love to be in our position.

Our young players look pretty bloody good to me when you consider what number draft picks we have had at our disposal to use(reign on Derek and the rest of the draft team) it is not like we have had high picks but the ones we get we make them count.

If we want negative comments we can go to the main board for them,I happen to think our kids coming along well.

Kids Showing a Bit