Review Knightmare's 2010-2013 top 40

Have to disagree on jones. He's an elite level contested mark (stats bear that out), has good acceleration and his goal kicking has improved enormously. He gets the best defender each week and the delivery he receives is vfl level at best. And he's 22 years of age and a hard trainer who works on his deficiencies (tank and goal-kicking).

I think he'd be a beast in a team like yours where he'd get that 2nd or 3rd defender and the increased delivery (both quantity and quality) would make him very dangerous indeed.

Dickson on the other hand can head back to noble park.....
Dead right. Beat me to it .
Every time we get decent and quick ball movement Jones looks dangerous.
He needs better ball movement and delivery on top of some assistance in the front half.

Is there a chance Toumpas could be another Tambling type?

Smashes junior footy, touted as a certain top few pick, just not up to the level?

Early days, I realise.
He looks to me like he's struggling with the tempo.
I'd give him some time to become adjusted.
Jackson Macrae's been very impressive, in particular his poise at the level.
Gone virtually unnoticed

Few will yet know about Nicholls. For those not watching Gold Coast carefully his name won't mean anything to you. He's a young ruckman but I think he'll become as good as just about any in the competition. Loses the hitouts most weeks and isn't even a major goalkicking threat or marking threat forward of centre yet.

Where Nicholls shines is in his followup work. He makes Gold Coast's midfielders so much better than they'd be with any other ruckman in there. He's the best tackling ruckman in the competition with some absolutely off the charts tackle numbers. Additionally the contested ball he wins is just incredible and while not quite Naitanui incredible he wins that next most and most meaningful contested ball. Do all that and make your ruck taps meaningful ones to advantage and I'd rate him already the second best ruckman in the competition behind Naitanui - due to the value weighting I put on ruckmen who tackle, win their own footy and the make meaningful taps to advantage. These factors do more towards helping your team win the centre clearances than any other indicators and when you have the combination of the three as only he and Naitanui have. That's a guy you want on your team and your midfielders want to play with.

Preseason draft - 2010 from my understanding.
he lost the tapout count 50 - 48 on the weekend.
it was the first week i saw him really contest in the ruck
he was jumping all over hudson

I just don't see it with Daniher, much like I didn't with Hurley.

He has great potential yes and talls often take longer to develop, however I just don't see him as an absolutely sure thing to be a superstar.

O'Meara I rate higher than Cameron, but both are justifiably rated in the top 3. Nicholls seems like a bit of a leap at 4. Maybe Knightmare has jumped the gun. He looks good no doubt, however he will eventually play second fiddle to Smith since Nicholls lacks the ability to compete strongly in the ruck. This may mean less opportunities to impact the contest post ruck battle, which is one of his strongest attributes. If and when GC other talls return, competition for spots and less responsibility could likely slow his development or at least provide him with less opportunities.

The dime a dozen "great" midfielder line is not only a cliche, but flat wrong. The absolutely elite midfielders are nearly as rare as any other absolutely elite player (the exception maybe being ruckmen), hence their position at the top of the midfield tree.

We have had one Ablett, one Scarlett, one Cox and one Franklin, just as we have had one Judd, one Fletcher, one Sandilands and one Reiwoldt. There may be more midfielders and flankers, but that just means that the rare few who can distinguish themselves are even more valuable. More than any other position it is the freakish elite midfielder that has the greater number of opportunities to win and impact games by virtue of their role.

O'Meara is the most talented young mid I have seen since Judd, that kind of ability in the middle is what not only wins you games but can win you flags.

I think you'll find Nicholls is a much better tap ruckman then Smith.

Toumpas had a terrific game in the wet at Kardinia, probably Melbourne's best.

He's had some consistent games where he's picked up about 17-18~ disposals. Obviously not at the level of Vlastuin, Macrae, Wines, O'Meara - but those guys are the standouts. Coming off two hip injuries.

Not saying he's locked in to be a freak, but it's not even the end of his first season and people are questioning whether he's a Tambling. Where we're at, we should have taken Wines, but that's got nothing to do with Toump.

He looks to me like he's struggling with the tempo.
I'd give him some time to become adjusted.
Jackson Macrae's been very impressive, in particular his poise at the level.
Gone virtually unnoticed

Exactly. He was struggling big time to get his hands on the ball and make the right runs, got over that, but had a similar sort of game last weekend in the heat. Seems like the type of kid who needs to acclimatise before he feels comfortable. Not a huge deal except when playing in harsh conditions.

Macrae has been fantastic. A former Doggies player, can't remember who but think it might have been Johnno, listed the Bulldogs' youth with 'Stringer, Hrovat, Hunter' as his references. He really has flown under the radar this year.

Surprised at the lack of heat on Whitfield, got a nomination one week but has been largely ordinary. Not saying it means he will be average, but he hasn't set the world alight.

Geez Grundy ahead of some great players

Grundy is doing well for a first year ruckman. He missed that first half of the season but he's playing strong football regardless of that.

He's had 39 hitouts, 24 disposals, 5 marks, 6 tackles, 2 goals, 1 behind.
And then 28 hitouts, 14 disposals, 4 marks, 5 tackles, 1 goal, 2 behinds.

Athletic, already over 100kg of that lean muscle. Already showing he can shoulder the ruck load at VFL level to a strong standard and come into the senior side when required.
Better than most at that age. That's for sure.

KM, can you see Chad moving higher in your rankings as the years go by?

There is always that potential but I see Wingard almost a bit like Harley Bennell as a player may have his extremely incredible years but some relatively down years mixed into there which is my concern and why I'd lean towards no.

He's still a beauty though and will have GWS kicking themselves for years for having passed on him because he's looking better than any of their midfielders at this point, at least until Shiel/Treloar/Greene or someone else really comes through and takes over.

These lists are futile and pointless.

The data is far too unreliable.

Get off the grass.

It's an opinion list created by a bloke whose opinion is highly regarded on Bigfooty.

If you don't like where he has, or has not, placed some Melbourne players have the nuts to say that rather than criticising the process of ranking players.

Get off the grass.

It's an opinion list created by a bloke whose opinion is highly regarded on Bigfooty.

If you don't like where he has, or has not, placed some Melbourne players have the nuts to say that rather than criticising the process of ranking players.

It has nothing to do with Melbourne players. I didn't even scan the list to see if there was any.

And I love comparing players. It's what footy is all about as an avid observer. But such crystal ball gazing takes it to ridiculous levels, imo.

And it's just my opinion...

It has nothing to do with Melbourne players. I didn't even scan the list to see if there was any.

And I love comparing players. It's what footy is all about as an avid observer. But such crystal ball gazing takes it to ridiculous levels, imo.

And it's just my opinion, flog.

Get a better opinion

With GWS 17 year old pre-listed players , where would they have gone in their respective draft? I heard Dylan Shiel might have been number one? Where would Jeremy Cameron have gone in that draft? Was he a highly rated junior or is this just a massive surprise?

Cameron, Shiel and Treloar would all have gone top 5 back in 2011.

The draft order likely would have been (or close to):
1. Patton
2. Cameron
3. Shiel
4. Coniglio
5. Treloar

Shiel was probably considered the better of the midfielders but probably wouldn't have gone ahead of Patton and maybe not Cameron.

Hampton likely would have gone somewhere in the 1st round. With Townsend among others 2nd round onward.

Love your work Knightmare! Always makes for a good read.
Just wondering if you've seen much of Crouch since coming back into the crows side?
Has looked right at home at this level since his return from injury and actually putting alot of our senior players to shame with his composure and hands in traffic.
Interested to hear your thoughts on his development, etc.

Love your work Knightmare! Always makes for a good read.
Just wondering if you've seen much of Crouch since coming back into the crows side?
Has looked right at home at this level since his return from injury and actually putting alot of our senior players to shame with his composure and hands in traffic.
Interested to hear your thoughts on his development, etc.

I have seen bits of Crouch in the seniors for Adelaide. As a young player he's still establishing himself but he is really having a crack and working to make a regular position his after probably a slow than expected start. With a couple more years he'll be a beauty and has the opportunity to become that next most dominant midfielder after Dangerfield on the list with his talents not so far off as a guy with similar pace and ball winning ability.

big surprise to me is Swallow down at 38, I thought he was the complete package when he was drafted

Gold Coast have been wasting Swallow this season off a back flank. He's an elite contested ball winner and had his injury issues last season but has someone who has been in the system for a few seasons he really needs to firstly be given that opportunity to play his natural game to really go on and have the career we all expected.

No doubting Swallow's talent. He's an incredible contested ball winner, has excellent pace and is a strong mark overhead making him a factor forward of centre. He just needs to be put into position to demonstrate this more often before he can be spoken about in the conversation with some of the other high end midfielders from this group.

yeah i'm pretty disappointed in how their using Swallow from a neutral perspective.

Reckon he's got the ability to be somewhat Dangerfield-esque in an on ball role.
IMO they could easily teach that kind of thing by giving him tagging roles through the midfield, rather than as a legitimate small defender. Just not using him to his strength

Cameron, Shiel and Treloar would all have gone top 5 back in 2011.

The draft order likely would have been (or close to):
1. Patton
2. Cameron
3. Shiel
4. Coniglio
5. Treloar

Shiel was probably considered the better of the midfielders but probably wouldn't have gone ahead of Patton and maybe not Cameron.

Hampton likely would have gone somewhere in the 1st round. With Townsend among others 2nd round onward.
So they got these players as well as all the top picks in the actual draft and then Mini Draft picks as well? That is ridiculous, anyone know where GCs prelisted players were rated?

Review Knightmare's 2010-2013 top 40