- Nov 22, 2015
- AFL Club
- Carlton
Want to add Knightmare that I appreciate your discussion and analysis on potential draftees over the year.
So let me get this right ...
In your most recent Power rankings you have Kemp at 5.
You had D Stephens ‘Power ranked’ at 8. Sydney ‘reached’ to get him at 5, but get an A.
Carlton use its Pick 9 to get Kemp at 17 who you Power Rank at 5 and an extra, Philp at 20 (who apparently Richmond wanted at the very next pick) so simply is not a ‘reach’ as you say.
I gather you don’t rate Ramsay.
GC overpaid to get Sharp ... but still get an A. Carlton got a C. How do you compare Carlton’s Pick swap with Adelaide last year with Gold Coast’s ‘overpayment’, and still have Gold Coast at A and rated Carlton at E or whatever last year?
I know you can change. You have grudgingly accepted that Carlton’s drafting last year with the benefit of hindsight warrants a B (rather than an E or whatever it was) on the back of Walsh being up there with the 4 you rated as ahead of him including Lukosius and King IIRC.
Mitch O'Neil did cop a MCL knee injury late in the season sure but he won back to back All Australian honors so from that perspective his year was pretty good. Read that in April you ranked him 5 to 20.
He did miss the combine testing.
Pick 27 in the rookie draft!
Wow. Just WOW!
is it being a Tassie lad you fly under the radar a bit?
You rated dees a C and say Jackson and Pickett were reaches yet Jackson would have been gone next pick if we didn’t take him, article on AFL Website has a few recruiters taking him if they had pick 3, Pickett yes maybe a reach but exactly the player we need, I think dees nailed the draft but I guess we won’t know for a few years anyway
I agree I reckon rivers will be their best player out of the ‘19 draft haulCarlton missed the perfect fit with their first pick. Sam Flanders was the guy they needed. Carlton need a small/medium forward to compliment their midfielders and there is none better in the draft than Flanders. He's the better forward and better mid.
Kemp I like, but I'm not convinced he's the list fit. The trade back had a player I liked more been acquired I may have given greater props for but having rated Philp at 57 on my own board I can't give that move as much credit as I otherwise would.
Ramsay I wouldn't have drafted at all and while I haven't extended my draft board out to 100, I don't expect he would be inside my top-100.
Had Kemp not been drafted by Carlton that C+ would have been an E.
Ultimately I view every club in this draft as a mixed bag so my ratings this year aren't all that different from team to team. Even Gold Coast who I felt had the best draft securing correctly the best two players, trading up and getting a bargain in Flanders, then getting for pick 27 what I also felt was a bargain in Sharp, really messed up badly with spending such an exorbitant amount to get Sharp.
If I'm to give Carlton an overall off-season grade as I'd be giving an 'A'. Kemp I view as good value as already mentioned. Newnes I liked the addition of and feel can be a piece. Then the big win that elevates Carlton's grade drastically is securing Jack Martin for nothing. While Martin doesn't come under my national draft review as he was picked in the PSD, Martin for mine is better than several of the guys taken late in the first round (Pickett/Day/Weightman/Georgiades/De Koning/Philp/Dow specifically based on my own ratings). Overall Carlton enter 2020 with a better list than they had last year. Kemp probably won't appear until 2021 at the earliest but he has game and Martin and Newnes will improve the sides best 22. Carlton I fully expect to continue their rise and contend this year for potentially 7th/8th spot injuries and continued development permitting.
O'Neill was on display in NAB League, so his play has hardly been hidden away with Tasmania now in the NAB League and was obviously seen during the U18 Champs. I suspect he was on a number of draft boards but ultimately not anyone's preference until that stage. I can't say his play ever 'wowed' me this year and for me he was very much a borderline All-Australian and probably someone neither last year nor this year someone I would have chosen honestly with a few others performing better in my view. Going into the season O'Neill was viewed as a first round pick, and there were others viewed as a first round pick coming into the year who have gone undrafted completely and that's largely due to lack of development. O'Neill while injuries have played their part also fits into that category of he's not any better than he was last year which is why he has dropped.
My ratings of clubs are based on my own ratings. Having Jackson at 13 and Pickett at 33 in my own power rankings it was inevitable that I was going to mark Melbourne down. The Rivers selection was the value selection that saved Melbourne from a 'D'.
For me it's egregious that from pick 3 that any club would skip on Green. Recruiters don't agree with me, but Green is for mine on parr with Rowell and Anderson and everyone else is a couple of tiers down before the discussion of who the next guy is.
Jackson as a sub 200cm ruckman who is likely to play a lot as a key forward but for me hasn't played the position all that naturally when used there. There is some hope because in the WAFL Colts he has averaged 1 goal per game, but his leading patterns aren't great and he doesn't have the same knack forward of centre for finding the footy as he does when used through the ruck where he can followup and win it at ground level. If he can develop into a big bodied ball winning midfielder and then relieve through the ruck which has also been spoken about, that would change my view of him entirely but until I've seen it I can't give him that ultimate credit.
Pickett I evaluate as someone who is who he is and likely won't change drastically from who he is. At 171cm, he's probably not growing much and he is grown into his body. What he does in his first 1-3 years is what you'll likely get for his career. If he can become something like McDonald-Tipungwuti. That's a win. And he has a lot of that. Brings the forward pressure like that, instinctive at ground level, great ball users and have that speed. Pickett also has trouble finding the footy consistently and isn't going to hit the scoreboard in a big way as a sub 1 goal per game guy during the U18 Champs. He's someone I see playing a role, but as long as you're happy with his pressure coming with something like an inconsistent 10d, 3m and 1g per game throughout his career that's what you're probably going to get.
Rivers I view as all class. I'd probably use him off half-back, but he can roll through the midfield and win it. Has the skills, moves well. So he's a missing component and should have been selected 10 picks earlier on quality. So Melbourne got some value there if he continues improving.
Carlton missed the perfect fit with their first pick. Sam Flanders was the guy they needed. Carlton need a small/medium forward to compliment their midfielders and there is none better in the draft than Flanders. He's the better forward and better mid.
Kemp I like, but I'm not convinced he's the list fit. The trade back had a player I liked more been acquired I may have given greater props for but having rated Philp at 57 on my own board I can't give that move as much credit as I otherwise would.
Ramsay I wouldn't have drafted at all and while I haven't extended my draft board out to 100, I don't expect he would be inside my top-100.
Ultimately I view every club in this draft as a mixed bag so my ratings this year aren't all that different from team to team. Even Gold Coast who I felt had the best draft securing correctly the best two players, trading up and getting a bargain in Flanders, then getting for pick 27 what I also felt was a bargain in Sharp, really messed up badly with spending such an exorbitant amount to get Sharp.
If I'm to give Carlton an overall off-season grade as I'd be giving an 'A'. Kemp I view as good value as already mentioned. Newnes I liked the addition of and feel can be a piece. Then the big win that elevates Carlton's grade drastically is securing Jack Martin for nothing. While Martin doesn't come under my national draft review as he was picked in the PSD, Martin for mine is better than several of the guys taken late in the first round (Pickett/Day/Weightman/Georgiades/De Koning/Philp/Dow specifically based on my own ratings). Overall Carlton enter 2020 with a better list than they had last year. Kemp probably won't appear until 2021 at the earliest but he has game and Martin and Newnes will improve the sides best 22. Carlton I fully expect to continue their rise and contend this year for potentially 7th/8th spot injuries and continued development permitting.
O'Neill was on display in NAB League, so his play has hardly been hidden away with Tasmania now in the NAB League and was obviously seen during the U18 Champs. I suspect he was on a number of draft boards but ultimately not anyone's preference until that stage. I can't say his play ever 'wowed' me this year and for me he was very much a borderline All-Australian and probably someone neither last year nor this year someone I would have chosen honestly with a few others performing better in my view. Going into the season O'Neill was viewed as a first round pick, and there were others viewed as a first round pick coming into the year who have gone undrafted completely and that's largely due to lack of development. O'Neill while injuries have played their part also fits into that category of he's not any better than he was last year which is why he has dropped.
My ratings of clubs are based on my own ratings. Having Jackson at 13 and Pickett at 33 in my own power rankings it was inevitable that I was going to mark Melbourne down. The Rivers selection was the value selection that saved Melbourne from a 'D'.
For me it's egregious that from pick 3 that any club would skip on Green. Recruiters don't agree with me, but Green is for mine on parr with Rowell and Anderson and everyone else is a couple of tiers down before the discussion of who the next guy is.
Jackson as a sub 200cm ruckman who is likely to play a lot as a key forward but for me hasn't played the position all that naturally when used there. There is some hope because in the WAFL Colts he has averaged 1 goal per game, but his leading patterns aren't great and he doesn't have the same knack forward of centre for finding the footy as he does when used through the ruck where he can followup and win it at ground level. If he can develop into a big bodied ball winning midfielder and then relieve through the ruck which has also been spoken about, that would change my view of him entirely but until I've seen it I can't give him that ultimate credit.
Pickett I evaluate as someone who is who he is and likely won't change drastically from who he is. At 171cm, he's probably not growing much and he is grown into his body. What he does in his first 1-3 years is what you'll likely get for his career. If he can become something like McDonald-Tipungwuti. That's a win. And he has a lot of that. Brings the forward pressure like that, instinctive at ground level, great ball users and have that speed. Pickett also has trouble finding the footy consistently and isn't going to hit the scoreboard in a big way as a sub 1 goal per game guy during the U18 Champs. He's someone I see playing a role, but as long as you're happy with his pressure coming with something like an inconsistent 10d, 3m and 1g per game throughout his career that's what you're probably going to get.
Rivers I view as all class. I'd probably use him off half-back, but he can roll through the midfield and win it. Has the skills, moves well. So he's a missing component and should have been selected 10 picks earlier on quality. So Melbourne got some value there if he continues improving.
I agree I reckon rivers will be their best player out of the ‘19 draft haul
Thanks for your reply Knightmare.
Arguably all of GWS, Sydney, Adelaide, Fremantle and Melbourne did not rate Flanders sufficiently either.
Does Brisbane go up in rating for getting Robertson sliding past somany clubs?
I understand you are measuring against your own Power Rankings, but when Carlton is splitting picks and still gets a highly rated player and a second that Richmond was going to take at 21 that you rate at 57, then maybe the issue is your Rankings.
Can see Pickett being a bust, do you think he is AFL ready next year?You rated dees a C and say Jackson and Pickett were reaches yet Jackson would have been gone next pick if we didn’t take him, article on AFL Website has a few recruiters taking him if they had pick 3, Pickett yes maybe a reach but exactly the player we need, I think dees nailed the draft but I guess we won’t know for a few years anyway
Can see Pickett being a bust, do you think he is AFL ready next year?
Can see Jackson being good in 5 years.
How much AFL footy gets played on polished boards? Every game I've ever watched gets played on that soft green stuff they call grass?
The Pies got two players in Rantall and Bianco who were rated as probable 2nd rounders by most draft pundits. To get them at 40 and 45 is a decent draft haul given their position. I was hoping the Roos would draft Bianco with one of our 2nd rounders.Collingwood get an A for drafting a few guys who will be battlers at best
KM sorry if its covered but thoughts on Jackaon as a fit at melbourne, for mw it jusy makes no sense. They have Gawn eho is 27, Preuss 24 who jusy signed a 4 year deal and they use pick 3 on an undersized ruckmen.. Where is his opportunity to play senior footy going to come from??
i reckon you could almost guarantee the Dees will be accepting a late 2nd round pick in 2 years time as the kid looks for an opportunity elsewhere
Do you just base your rankings just on watching the games and any other data that gets released? Or do you also get a chance to talk to the players and get a sense of them off the field as well as on? Would it be fair to say that the major differences between your rankings and the rankings internally at the clubs would come down more on the side of the latter than the former?
Hi Knightmare, really appreciated your work during this draft period. What are your views on Cooper Stephens? Also wondering if you have seen Francis Evans play live and what you think of him too?
KM sorry if its covered but thoughts on Jackaon as a fit at melbourne, for mw it jusy makes no sense. They have Gawn eho is 27, Preuss 24 who jusy signed a 4 year deal and they use pick 3 on an undersized ruckmen.. Where is his opportunity to play senior footy going to come from??
i reckon you could almost guarantee the Dees will be accepting a late 2nd round pick in 2 years time as the kid looks for an opportunity elsewhere
Connor buderick for instance could play that exact role? Fast, good pressure, excellent tackler.I see Pickett continuing to be a low production, pressure player, who rarely hits the scoreboard..... just like now. Solid role player.
IF you consider a top 10 pick producing a role player a bust, then you are right.
Can you explain the argument that Kemp isn't a great list fit for Carlton? I get that other players may have fitted better, but Carlton is still very bare in the middle and his size would help a team which is rather small and one-dimensional in the middle.
Who in your opinion is the best player to go undrafted?
Carlton missed the perfect fit with their first pick. Sam Flanders was the guy they needed. Carlton need a small/medium forward to compliment their midfielders and there is none better in the draft than Flanders. He's the better forward and better mid.
What do you take from 18 AFL clubs passing over guys you rate? How does it feed into your future talent assessment?Joshua Shute (29), Angus Baker (35), Ben Sokol (36) the last three from inside my top-40 power rankings.
Haiden Schloithe (didn't nominate), Jye Bolton, Sam Lowson, Luke Partington, Hewago Paul Oea, Brodie Newman, Dyson Hilder, Karl Finlay, Josh Gore, Jackson Davies, Nicholas Murray and Bailey Schmidt are all guys I would have drafted.