ladder 2003

willijn33

Draftee
Nov 18, 2002
I thought about this long and hard and i have come to the conclusion this will be the ladder for 2003

1 Adelaide will dominate with carey and burns in forward line.
2 Brisbane will have a good year but lose a bit through age
3 collingwood will remain the same with a bit more glitz.
4 Melbourne will surprise people with no injuries and a new look.
5 port will slide as age creeps up on the team and injuries.
6 bulldogs will improve drasticly and have a solid year.
7 geelong will take another step towards a premiship hopefully.
8 hawks will have a good year just sneaking in the 8.
9 bombers will do ok during a rebuilding process.
10 saints will not make the 8 as you cant go from bottom to top.
11 Freo will have a year of ups and down win 5 lose 5.
12 w.coast will strugle through veterens giving way.
13 Tigers will have a crazy year with frawly getting the sack.
14 sydney will strugle through the rebuilding stage.
15 Carlton will again have a bad year with injury.
16 Kangaroos will have a dog of a year no even winning 3 games.

Gentlemen, I have arrived.

Originally posted by willijn33
I thought about this long and hard and i have come to the conclusion this will be the ladder for 2003

On what basis are you predicting certain teams will be more effected by injuries than others?

RONNIE BURNS IS A HACK, LIKE COLLINGWOOD GETTING EXCITED AT TEH ARRIVAL OF WILLIAMS FROM WEST COAST

MY LADDER IS

1.pies
2. cousinshaggers
3.ex fitzroy
4. port scum
5. tweed jacket wearers
6. hawthorn spiceboys
7.essenscum
8.children eaters (tigers)
9. handbags
10.western suburbs filth
11. weagles
12. trihard eagles
13. sth easern bogans
14. sydney chardonnay sippers
15, norf
16. tin rattlers

SENZA CALCIO NON C'E VITA

Seriously, I can see reasons why Port might drop, but age isn't realistically one of them - only Primus has a likelihood of showing signs of wear and tear. Come back in two or three years time for some more.

We've got to find a new CHB this year, but can fill it even if one of the blokes given 10820780217398 years development time doesn't step up.

We might get some injuries, but there are only three players not in full training at the moment....thats a low number compared to most clubs. Potential injuries aren't a realistic prediction for players that aren't injury prone.

But really, I think the main reason why we might not finish top four would be the fact that finishing there hasn't done much for us in the past two seasons. Cruise along until finals, I think.

Originally posted by Porthos
But really, I think the main reason why we might not finish top four would be the fact that finishing there hasn't done much for us in the past two seasons. Cruise along until finals, I think.
If you don't finish in the top four you may as well not bother, I think. Port'll be up there.

Not to be a winger, but why does everyone think Essendon will struggle this season? We had the 2nd worst injury list of 2002, yet finished 5th. We had our captain and leading goalkicker out for 8 weeks, and still won games. We gave Brisbane a run for their money in Round 18 (last quarter fade outs cost us a closer result), we belted Collingwood in round 20, and were leading Port Adelaide early in the 3rd quarter in the semi final.

We lost some quality players, but gained some good rookies. A good blend of youth and experience does some clubs good (Geelong), but with players like Hird, Lloyd, Fletcher, the Johnsons, Lucas, Misiti still running around, and with rookies like Welsh, Watson, Cupido, McPhee, McGrath and Bullen all in the mix for next season, we should still be up there. Not like 2000, but we should still make the 8.

On that note, all I can say is if West Coast don't make the eight, we will have underachieved dramatically. We aren't going backwards, people.

IMHO both Carey and Burns are more injury prone then Port's top 30 players put together, especially now we have delisted Lockwood.

Sounds like you need to think longer and harder.
SKC

2003:
1. Brisbane - same old same old
2. Adeliade - Carey fits like a glove
3. Port - Up there, but not quite
4. Ess - better run with injuries, but still not real contenders.
5. Melb - Finally string two good years together.
6. Richmond - get some flow going
7. West Coast - going nowhere.
8. Sydney - Bounce back to a more accurate ladder position
9. Collingwood - Back to earth. Woey and Bucks dont gel.
10. Carlton - Less injuries, plus pagan.
11. Hawthorn - Shwab goes mid season.
12. Geelong - second year blues.
13. Freo - Just cant crack it out of Perth
14. Saints - going nowhere. Need new coach.
15. Dogs - cap restrictions too much to bear.
16. North - Another nail in the coffin.

2004:
1. Port - finally find the right formula and peak at the right time
2. Hawthorn - new coach does wonders.
3. Adelaide - Carey starting to age.
4. Collingwood - Have a resurgence, but still fall short.
5. Sydney - good draft choices starting to pay off.
6. Brisbane - Playing group ageing. Time to rebuild.
7. Richmond - start to stagnate.
8. Freo - Years of good draft picks means they crack the finals.
9. Saints - ditto.
10. Geelong - Still havent got the class to match it with others.
11. West Coast - The loss of some older players hurts
12. Melbourne - time to begin the restructure
13. Essendon - This is the year they had to have.
14. Carlton - still going nowhere due to so few draft picks
15. Dogs - Not able to be competitive with 92.5% cap
16. North - Near death.

2005:
1. Sydney - Roos is the new super coach.
2. Hawthorn - on there way to a new dynasty
3. Collingwood - Young'ns going well. But buckley tiring.
4. Freo - Have a real solid side. Look like Brisbane of 1999.
5. Saints - New coach sees them as serious contenders.
6. Richmond - minor improvement
7. Geelong - Starting to wind it up. Look good for 2006.
8. Port - Premiership hangover and some holes start to appear.
9. Brisbane - Tried to sqeeze another flag, but bombed out.
10. West Coast - Need to do a full rebuild.
11. Melbourne - restructure underway
12. Essendon - exploiting the draft, while avoiding the spoon
13. Adelaide - Had a shot at the flag, now need to rebuild
14. Dogs - Manage a minor improvement
15. North - Told to hang on until new TV rights deal.
16. Carlton - Lack of draft picks catches up to them.

1. Brisbane. Will have a good season again, but I think they'll be beaten in the GF.
2. Collingwood. Shudder, could there be anything worse?
3. Port. Quadrillions of talented big men. Will learn to play finals footy. My tip for the premiership.
4. Geelong. The handbags have been disposed of forever. Will take the next step. Midfield will be the fastest and most awesome in the league.
5. Adelaide. Bickley, Ricciuto and Smart are ageing and I think the addition of Burns and Carey will unsettle the forward line, but if they fire Adelaide could well take the flag.
6. Essendon. Finalists, but not contenders.
7. Melbourne The odd year blues have to end some time, surely.
8. St. Kilda Will sneak into the eight on the basis of no other team claiming the spot. Insert obligatory 'Riewoldt is a frickin' dynamo' statement here.
------------------
9. Western Bulldogs Some improvement, but not quite enough.
10. West Coast Eagles Will struggle to win away. Can't rely on Cousins to do everything.
11. Fremantle Dockers Will struggle to win in Victoria and Fort Subiaco will fall.
12. Hawthorn Softest pack of pansies in the league. With everyone else's midfield improving, their softness will be badly exposed.
13. Richmond Won't improve until 2004. Tiger fans may want to watch David Rodan as he will provide the only highlights.
14. Sydney Poorest crop of youngsters in the league. Only Tadgh Kennelly and possibly Gerrard Bennett will back up the core of experienced players.
15. Kangaroos No Carey, no Blakey, no Pagan. North fans can thank their lucky stars that Carlton will be there to serve as a spoon buffer, and that 2004 will be a year of drastic improvement.
16. Carlton Three spoons in a row is, I believe, Carlton's awful fate. You'll have to wait until 2005, I'm afraid.

Re: Re: ladder 2003

Originally posted by grayham

9. Saints - ditto.

The big story here is the introduction of a final 9. :D

1. Kangaroos - I'm biased
2. Sydney - TheMase told me they would
3. Collingwood - Keep the trolls quiet
4. Hawthorn - Top posters like Mocca, DCFC and the crew
5. Geelong - ScouseCat told me they would
6. St Kilda - Their ruck division is so good
7. Bulldogs - They don't offend me apart from that troll Rocco
8. Essendon - Ces is back!!

I don't care for the rest

Originally posted by mongrelpunt
Not to be a winger, but why does everyone think Essendon will struggle this season? We had the 2nd worst injury list of 2002, yet finished 5th.

You are a whinger mate, if you think Essendon had the 2nd worst injury list in 2002 then you are dreaming. Like I have said in the past, Essendons injury run in 2002 was comparable to the average injuries for a year, no more, no less. There were plenty of sides who had much worse injury runs tha Essendon.

As for good young players at Essendon, who? I don't doubt that Essendon have a good group of experienced players but the youth of the club is quite poor.

2003:
1. Brisbane - same old same old
2. Adeliade - Carey fits like a glove
3. Port - Up there, but not quite
4. Ess - better run with injuries, but still not real contenders.
5. Melb - Finally string two good years together.
6. Richmond - get some flow going
7. West Coast - going nowhere.
8. Sydney - Bounce back to a more accurate ladder position
9. Collingwood - Back to earth. Woey and Bucks dont gel.
10. Carlton - Less injuries, plus pagan.
11. Hawthorn - Shwab goes mid season.
12. Geelong - second year blues.
13. Freo - Just cant crack it out of Perth
14. Saints - going nowhere. Need new coach.
15. Dogs - cap restrictions too much to bear.

2004:
1. Port - finally find the right formula and peak at the right time
2. Hawthorn - new coach does wonders.
3. Adelaide - Carey starting to age.
4. Collingwood - Have a resurgence, but still fall short.
5. Sydney - good draft choices starting to pay off.
6. Brisbane - Playing group ageing. Time to rebuild.
7. Richmond - start to stagnate.
9. Saints - ditto.
10. Geelong - Still havent got the class to match it with others.
11. West Coast - The loss of some older players hurts
12. Melbourne - time to begin the restructure
13. Essendon - This is the year they had to have.
14. Carlton - still going nowhere due to so few draft picks
15. Dogs - Not able to be competitive with 92.5% cap
16. North - Near death.

2005:
1. Sydney - Roos is the new super coach.
2. Hawthorn - on there way to a new dynasty
3. Collingwood - Young'ns going well. But buckley tiring.
4. Freo - Have a real solid side. Look like Brisbane of 1999.
5. Saints - New coach sees them as serious contenders.
6. Richmond - minor improvement
7. Geelong - Starting to wind it up. Look good for 2006.
8. Port - Premiership hangover and some holes start to appear.
9. Brisbane - Tried to sqeeze another flag, but bombed out.
10. West Coast - Need to do a full rebuild.
11. Melbourne - restructure underway
12. Essendon - exploiting the draft, while avoiding the spoon
13. Adelaide - Had a shot at the flag, now need to rebuild
14. Dogs - Manage a minor improvement
16. Carlton - Lack of draft picks catches up to them.

Whilst we're being unrealistic, pencil me in for the following:

2003: Make a comeback through the Black Rock 2nds, 15kg over playing weight, yet still manage 46 goals for the year. A good return.

2004: After a successful stomach stapling operation, and CUB going out of business, I manage to return to playing weight, crack a game in the seniors in Rd.2 and go on to kick 136 goals from CHF in 16 games (suspended for 3 weeks for headbutting) Get picked up in Pre-season draft by Northern Sydney Bulldogs, then swapped in a 13 way trade involving Half Cat, eventually ending up at Geelong.

2005: Play in Geelong's premiership on a HFF, reminiscent of the GREAT DEREK HALL End up with 67 goals for the year, a Brownlow, a Rising Star award, a Norm Smith and now dating Reese Witherspoon. Also, Justin Murphy leads the league in tackles and hard ball gets.

Originally posted by JMAC5
1. Kangaroos - I'm biased
2. Sydney - TheMase told me they would
3. Collingwood - Keep the trolls quiet
4. Hawthorn - Top posters like Mocca, DCFC and the crew
5. Geelong - ScouseCat told me they would
6. St Kilda - Their ruck division is so good
7. Bulldogs - They don't offend me apart from that troll Rocco
8. Essendon - Ces is back!!

I don't care for the rest
I told you nothing :confused:

2003:

2004:
16. North - Near death.

2005:

We are so bad that we can never be competitive again ?

I mean fair enough that people want to put us down the bottom next year with an untried coach and new playing style etc etc but being a dud for 3 years ?

whats the reason for North being crap all of a sudden ? came 7th last year when half our salary cap wasn't playing ?

Re: Re: Re: ladder 2003

Originally posted by Ausgard
We are so bad that we can never be competitive again ?

I mean fair enough that people want to put us down the bottom next year with an untried coach and new playing style etc etc but being a dud for 3 years ?

whats the reason for North being crap all of a sudden ? came 7th last year when half our salary cap wasn't playing ?

Sorry, no offense. I'm just the messenger. Someone had to come last.

ladder 2003