Ladder after five rounds

90/10 against us at Etihad (where you haven't beaten us in almost 8 years), after we're a good chance of having won 2 of our first 3 games and 4 of our last 5 (if you take in the last couple of last year, which we won convincingly at home)? I take it you think you guys are going to be pretty damn good this year if you think we're only a 10% chance of winning that game at home?
No I think it's more of a reflection on how bad people think the Saints will be this year.

90/10 against us at Etihad (where you haven't beaten us in almost 8 years), after we're a good chance of having won 2 of our first 3 games and 4 of our last 5 (if you take in the last couple of last year, which we won convincingly at home)? I take it you think you guys are going to be pretty damn good this year if you think we're only a 10% chance of winning that game at home?

Whilst normally i'd be happy to rescind that comment looking at that, saints should be in rebuild mode this season and really a team gunning for finals should be beating a rebuilding side home or away.

So on that basis. We should be winning.

I found it funny that he said that after having Sydney beat North by five goals. Premiership teams tend to be good enough to beat Sydney away.

I am never confident when it comes to North playing Sydney. :(
We just don't match up well against them, hopefully this year that can change.

No I think it's more of a reflection on how bad people think the Saints will be this year.
Fair enough, I dare say most of them thought the same about Port Adelaide this time last year though, for instance, after they were coming off a bad year where they were widely considered a "rabble".

I think you'll find port had a core of very good young players that had either been injured or under performed under prior coaches. Where as the Saints are progressively going backwards as their stars retire or slow down. Outside of Steven's I don't really see a great deal moving into this year.

Whilst normally i'd be happy to rescind that comment looking at that, saints should be in rebuild mode this season and really a team gunning for finals should be beating a rebuilding side home or away.

So on that basis. We should be winning.
I don't disagree with any of that, but more the 10% chance of us winning on our home ground, in our home state, when there's every chance we'll have gotten off to a pretty good start to the year, given our draw.

As for the rebuild thing, while that is true, it's also true that we still have 7 on our list who have played 150+ games, 10 who have played 100+ and 3 grand finals, and by round 8 could have 12 who have played 100+ (with Jack Steven not being one of them, and all of them are in our current best 22). So if we pick our team on merit (ie. our best available team, which it seems we may essentially pick, as Richardson has said that he wants to extend the careers of our older brigade, not end them) then I wouldn't just go assuming that we're going to be "easybeats", especially if we have a better run with injury than we had last year (when we got crunched with them), or if our team morale is much better, which wouldn't be hard, if as many of the team despised Watters as has been suggested.

Hawthorn 5-0

Fremantle 4-1
Sydney 4-1
West Coast 4-1

North 3-2
Collingwood 3-2
Richmond 3-2
Geelong 3-2
Carlton 3-2
Melbourne 3-2

Essendon 2-3
Gold Coast 2-3
Port 2-3
Adelaide 2-3

Bulldogs 1-4
St Kilda 1-4

GWS 0-5
Brisbane 0-5

Rd2 v Carlton
50/50. Our bogey team. Last years finals should spur the tigez on for redemption but you never know v the blues. We always seem to trot away from them and they always come back. Despite the fact they should improve a bit with another pre season with mick I'm going to be bias (Hopeful) ... Win by 5pts.

I get the feeling this is going to be a super important game for the Tigers. You have what it takes to beat us, but stumbling at this block after the EF might be a confidence sapper, particularly if you lose in the same fashion as the last few you've lost. Give us a real whooping however and I reckon your players will have an extra spring in their step that will last throughout the season.

I think your spot on mate. It starts out of the middle IMO. If we can continue to win the clearences we can grab the win. It seems that we do that for the most part of the game v blues but somewhere along the lines up pops judd or gibbs or the your ruckmen get on top and its all over. Hopefully hampson can provide a little insight for us :D

Also once carlton (or any team with the exception of the 2nd freo game or the hawks game) get a run on, old richmond comes out and everyone just panics. Short and quick kicks zig zaging up and across the ground ultimately cause turnovers. Although in saying that a lot of work has been put into that last year (as the previous games showed - aswell as practicing it v gws), so i cant see that being to much of a problem this yr.

And we were also absolutely dominating you in every single aspect of that round 23 game last year prior to half time. We completely took our foot of the pedal due to having a guaranteed finals spot, you did not have this luxury. We then went out and played the best game we had all year against a very tough Collingwood team to make it past the first round.
Drugs ? Or just delusional ?

Also once carlton (or any team with the exception of the 2nd freo game or the hawks game) get a run on, old richmond comes out and everyone just panics. Short and quick kicks zig zaging up and across the ground ultimately cause turnovers. Although in saying that a lot of work has been put into that last year (as the previous games showed - aswell as practicing it v gws), so i cant see that being to much of a problem this yr.

Imo we are a lot better at stopping run on's but when they occur, its because we cant get the footy, so whether that's internal/draft/external, we need to find another inside mid. I'm pretty sure the club know this too(obvious).

Hawthorn will drop at least 1 game in the first 5. Clarkson will be tweaking things in those first few rounds.

I have Geelong getting us again by under 2 goals. Won't even care though. A close win to them now would almost be more frustrating than a loss for their supporters lol

Geelong is now a pretty young team. If we still can beat the reigning premier then the future is looking very bright.

The changes between the two squads age profile has been fairly similar. We've lost a few older guys as well and naturally they'll be replaced with youth this year. Unless either club makes some monumental screw ups or gets really lucky with some speculative picks then Hawthorn and Geelong should continue to hover around the same area on the ladder for many years to come.

Ladder after five rounds