Ladder after five rounds

I have always struggled with the similar words . Cheers for the education ;)

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
No worries, always happy educate a Carlton supporter. Do want any help towards finding a better footy team? Black and White verticals always look good.

Agree with your assessment re the draftees of the last 2 years. Bar Grundy, and having Grundy as no 1 ruckman is our biggest potential weakness, none of the draftees of the last 2 seasons are expected to play a significant part in the team. Our improvement in 2014 should come from having all of Fasalo, Beams, Ball, Toovey, Keefe, Young and Grundy available from round 1 or very early in the season. All these 1st 22 players missed big parts of 2013. I see natural improvement in Collingwood from that group of players assuming we don't have another large group of our 1st 22 go down with injuries.

Bar Grundy I am not expecting any of the draftees of the last 2 seasons to play a role. They will spend most of 2014 in the VFL especially if the senior guys stay fit. Adams and White of our senior recruits are the 2 I expect to make a difference to the senior team.

The key will be White. If he can become a dominant 2nd tall forward then I believe Reid can stay in the back line where he will be needed.

I differ on that one. A key to the Pies this year will be having Cloke and Reid as the 2 main forwards. Not sure White is up to the no 2 role and definitely can't do it like Reid can. Reid can take a lot of pressure off Cloke and spread defences. White and Lynch can fight for the 3rd forward/2nd ruck role. Neither is assured of a place and will be good to see them pressure each other.

I am much keener on Keefe as a player than White. Keefe can hold down CHB and this frees Reid. That is the most likely combo for mine.

Bombers will struggle early without Bellchambers. The two 50/50 games versus North & Carlton suddenly look a lot harder matchups, Warnock & Goldstein will have a day out. Saints looks like their only win in the first 5 rounds.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. That's why Essendon beat Carlton twice last year with no Bellchambers, right?

Just on this, its just not "No Bellchambers" It is now no "Bellchambers and Cameri<sp>?". Its going to make your start a lot harder and most likely force Hurley forward. You can have a young kid like Danhier as your main focal point.

We have Carlisle as our main focal point. we'll beat them both. I'm still confident of that

Bombers will struggle early without Bellchambers. The two 50/50 games versus North & Carlton suddenly look a lot harder matchups, Warnock & Goldstein will have a day out. Saints looks like their only win in the first 5 rounds.

Not to mention we might even experiment with two ruckman (Goldy + Daw or Goldy + Currie)
Either way i'd back Goldstien against Ryder on his own.

I tried to tip the first 5 rounds as objectively as possible, included some unexpected underdog wins and this was the surprising result:

Richmond 5
Sydney 5
Geelong 4
North Melbourne 4
Hawthorn 4
Adelaide 3
Western Bulldogs 3
Port Adelaide 2
West Coast 2
Carlton 2
Essendon 2
Collingwood 2
Fremantle 2
Gold Coast 2
Greater Western Sydney 2
Melbourne 1
St Kilda 0
Brisbane Lions 0

My tip of how the ladder might look after 5 rds
Hawthorn 5-0
Fremantle 4-1
Sydney 4-1
Carlton 4-1
Geelong 4-1
WCE 4-1
North 3-2
Richmond 3-2
Adelaide- 2-3
Collingwood- 2-3
Essendon- 2-3
GWS- 2-3
GC- 2-3
Port- 2-3
St.kilda- 2-3
Western Bulldogs- 1-4
Brisbane 1-4
Melb- 0-5

No that was due to your midfield having more outside run then ours. Warnock and Kreuzer vs Ryder doesn't exactly sound like a fun match up for Essendon.

Hawks Away - Loss
Geelong Home - 50/50
GC Away - Win
Port Away - 50/50
Richmond Home - Win

Lions are better and fitter than last year with more experienced and versatile players. Can see us beating Geelong, GC, Port and Richmond for shear fact we have a good midfield that has plenty more heart than those teams mentioned.

In saying this if we come away 3-2 from these games I will be happy. Any less than 2-3 I will be shocked.

tumblr_muooz4zEUX1qdlh1io1_400.gif

You do have a point those Collingwood folk are a bunch of well educated in the know sort of people. I doubt they would let there anger of losing Dale get in the way of there opinions :p

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Just like losing Shaw. All of a sudden they claim they are better off without him.

Not to mention we might even experiment with two ruckman (Goldy + Daw or Goldy + Currie)
Either way i'd back Goldstien against Ryder on his own.

Will not happen. Daw will not be fit enough after having an interrupted pre season and Currie can't play forward. Ryder is a dangerous player which makes the ruck contest in this game the pivotal battle.

I tried to tip the first 5 rounds as objectively as possible, included some unexpected underdog wins and this was the surprising result:

Richmond 5
Sydney 5
Geelong 4
North Melbourne 4
Hawthorn 4
Adelaide 3
Western Bulldogs 3
Port Adelaide 2
West Coast 2
Carlton 2
Essendon 2
Collingwood 2
Fremantle 2
Gold Coast 2
Greater Western Sydney 2
Melbourne 1
St Kilda 0
Brisbane Lions 0

Best one yet :D

Hawks Away - Loss
Geelong Home - 50/50
GC Away - Win
Port Away - 50/50
Richmond Home - Win

Lions are better and fitter than last year with more experienced and versatile players. Can see us beating Geelong, GC, Port and Richmond for shear fact we have a good midfield that has plenty more heart than those teams mentioned.

In saying this if we come away 3-2 from these games I will be happy. Any less than 2-3 I will be shocked.

35506_bear_polar_bear_facepalm.jpg

Hawks Away - Loss
Geelong Home - 50/50
GC Away - Win
Port Away - 50/50
Richmond Home - Win

Those other teams could very well be fitter and better than last year as well. I almost guarantee they will.
Giving you an honest outsiders perspective I reckon if you came away with 2-3 you're doing pretty well.

2 of those teams finished 1st and 2nd at the end of the H&A last year and will have similar strength lists again this year.

Another 2 finished above you and are likely going to improve even further.

And the last 1 is packed full of 1st round draft picks and has shown continuous improvement each season.

I've almost talked myself into seeing you start 1-4 or 0-5 after that but I'll stick with the 2-3 because I reckon Brisbane have some real fight and belief about them.

Hans Moleman, explain why a shit club like Brisbane managed to beat you guys once and come within a slightly higher snap of beating you again in round 22?

Plenty of heart. Might not be the best team but the fight gets you over the line.

Hans Moleman, explain why a shit club like Brisbane managed to beat you guys once and come within a slightly higher snap of beating you again in round 22?

Plenty of heart. Might not be the best team but the fight gets you over the line.

Hope you dont mind if I answer Hans_Moleman.

Sherrinator, its good to love your club but laddie, when you claim that your club has more Hart then Geelong, Hawks,Tigers, and port. Clubs I might add that finished with a lot more wins then your club, shows how completely one eyed you are.

^That and it's silly to suggest Brisbane are a 50/50 chance against Geelong and Port with GC and Richmond as 'wins'. The Lions are a decent chance of knocking us off, especially given we meet early in the season and they match up well on us, but you'd imagine we'll still start strong favourites in that one (and rightly so). Port would be 50/50 at the Gabba but not in Adelaide.

GC are no longer a guaranteed 4 points for anyone, let alone a mid-table side in Brisbane. Have a chance against Richmond but to mark that down as a likely win let alone a 50/50 is utterly laughable.

This is how I see it for Brisbane:
Hawthorn Away- Loss
Geelong Home- 30/70
GC Away- 40/60 (swap it around at home)
Port Away- 40/60 (ditto)
Richmond- 30/70

Will win one of the 40/60 games IMO and perhaps jag a win elsewhere with some luck. 3-2 is possible but unlikely and anything better is fanciful. Tough start to the year for Brissie- they were dudded by the fixture big time.

Ladder after five rounds