Let's have some fun Eddie

I love how you got the best out of Buddy after years of him toiling in the swans reserves.

Buddy is the best thing that could have happened

He cost them the COLA, and clogged up their cap for a decade.

Played right into Eddie's hands, going him ammunition to dismantle the COLA, and leave them on the brink of going under, again

No wonder this flog is on a meltstorm

I think they did well to get good results out of that Tippett bloke too. Man, he was so awful when he played for Adelaide.

Oh dear. Eddie has a habit of making a goose of himself whenever he opens his mouth. It's quite disgusting that after his racists comments last year he is even allowed to air his fetid verbal excrement.

Worry about your own club you oily, overweight piece of shit.

Here's my suggestion: the weekly winners of Superfooty should earn the right to throw crutches at Eddie, a la Tony Lockett, but from a closer distance. They have three chances at throwing the crutches, just to make it fun, cause you know he would cry like a be-atch

“Get stuffed Sydney’’

"I've just a put a team together of your 17-year-olds who'll be sick of living up in the land of the falafel in western Sydney playing in front of a 12,000-seat stadium that's still not put up,"

"If they go after Scott Pendlebury, I will declare war on Greater Western Sydney and I will set up a tent embassy outside their tumbleweed-blown ground up there in Greater Western Sydney,”

“I will steal every one of their good players for the rest of my life. I will go feral. I will make it my life’s ambition to destroy them and run them into the ground. As long as they know … this is not Melbourne where you can just walk in and steal the players. If you do this at Collingwood, good luck.”

"King Kong"

yeah been this way for a while, didn't help that he could not run a TV station there as everyone thought he was a raving loon..... where are Collingwood now 8th? sliding back into irrelevance.

Pity he didn't trade a few players perhaps GWS just laughed at him, I know Freo did after they didn't get Choke.

As much as I want to shit on Collingwood this isn't the case. They are given that timeslot because they have such a big supporter base and will get more people to the Gold Coast game, aligning it with the Victorian school holidays is giving Gold Coast a leg up, not Collingwood.

Collingwood got about 2600 more people than the Swans did to the game, giving the holiday spot to boost attendances at Gold Coast is a waste. Better of giving it to another club.

Some of what Eddie says does make sense but the moment he says it it becomes bullshit. If the comment was made by someone else, people would listen.

As much as I want to shit on Collingwood this isn't the case. They are given that timeslot because they have such a big supporter base and will get more people to the Gold Coast game, aligning it with the Victorian school holidays is giving Gold Coast a leg up, not Collingwood.
The typical Eddie response - what's good for Collingwood is always in the AFL's best interest.

But somehow what maximises TV revenues (a strong team in NSW) is unfair advantage?

“Get stuffed Sydney’’

"I've just a put a team together of your 17-year-olds who'll be sick of living up in the land of the falafel in western Sydney playing in front of a 12,000-seat stadium that's still not put up,"

"If they go after Scott Pendlebury, I will declare war on Greater Western Sydney and I will set up a tent embassy outside their tumbleweed-blown ground up there in Greater Western Sydney,”

“I will steal every one of their good players for the rest of my life. I will go feral. I will make it my life’s ambition to destroy them and run them into the ground. As long as they know … this is not Melbourne where you can just walk in and steal the players. If you do this at Collingwood, good luck.”

"King Kong"

yeah been this way for a while, didn't help that he could not run a TV station there as everyone thought he was a raving loon..... where are Collingwood now 8th? sliding back into irrelevance.

Pity he didn't trade a few players perhaps GWS just laughed at him, I know Freo did after they didn't get Choke.
It's okay, we gave them Jesse White and Tony Armstrong.

The typical Eddie response - what's good for Collingwood is always in the AFL's best interest.

But somehow what maximises TV revenues (a strong team in NSW) is unfair advantage?

All Eddie cares about, is Collingwood

That makes him a perfect fit for the Presidency of Collingwood. He acts for us, above all else

If you expect our President to represent your interests, you've been horribly mislead on what the role of a club President is

All Eddie cares about, is Collingwood

That makes him a perfect fit for the Presidency of Collingwood. He acts for us, above all else

If you expect our President to represent your interests, you've been horribly mislead on what the role of a club President is
He's a great president of Collingwood but when he makes a comment, it sounds like he's the president of Collingwood when he makes it and the comment he makes loses his value.

Anyway I don't think he gives a shit about the Cola in this outburst, he's purely trying to take the pressure off Buckley and his team by running interference and playing the campaigner.

In the vast majority of cases, Footy is played on weekends

So realistically, you're complaining that a Pies fan would get a 3 park pass to all theme parks, whilst others might have to choose just Movie World for their day in the sun.

I still fail to see how this compares to the COLA.
Yes, Footy IS played on the weekends (mostly), and a lot of people can't get to see their team play because they work on weekends, play footy themselves, coach junior footy, or drive their kids around all weekend for all sorts of sports.

But there are 2 days a year that are public holidays where these restrictions do not apply, ANZAC Day and the Monday of the Queens Birthday weekend. Collingwood hogs both these days and prevents other teams supporters from sharing in these special days. It's greedy and it's not fair.

Yes, Footy IS played on the weekends (mostly), and a lot of people can't get to see their team play because they work on weekends, play footy themselves, coach junior footy, or drive their kids around all weekend for all sorts of sports.

But there are 2 days a year that are public holidays where these restrictions do not apply, ANZAC Day and the Monday of the Queens Birthday weekend. Collingwood hogs both these days and prevents other teams supporters from sharing in these special days. It's greedy and it's not fair.

You've conveniently left Easter Monday, and now Good Friday out. These make up 50% of allocated to "things that don't have stuff I'd rather do than go to the Footy". Neither involve us

I personally don't give a shit about Queen's Birthday. It's financially critical for Melbourne, so they can't afford for us to be shuffled out. Give it away, and they take an irreplaceable hit to their finances. Do you really think we lobby for this one? Really?

ANZAC Day isn't about money, or crowds. For you to make it about money, and your own social timetable is selfish, near sighted and disrespectful. It's an occasion that pays tribute to the sacrifices of the few, not the bitching of many. Collingwood and Essendon created the most amazing day, in any sport in the country, and represent the sport, and all teams in paying respect on the day. For you to make it about you is cheap

Again though, you made this about the Gold Coast's interstate home game. How are we advantaged, by only getting to play them once, up there?

Not to mention we've lost there twice in 2 years...

Some of what Eddie says does make sense but the moment he says it it becomes bullshit. If the comment was made by someone else, people would listen.
Ed is very public with his feelings, emotions and passions..I love that about him, but it leaves him open to sometimes putting his foot in his mouth or saying something a bit OTT that he may regret later..well because he is actually human like the rest of us! Unfortunately people who wear their personalities on their sleeves are easy targets for people who are too scared to..this is true in every walk of life including internet forums.
His personality aside, he's a great president and a great person to have in the AFL and I reckon anyone who knew him personally would understand he actually does try to do things for the right reasons..not because he's an arseh*le but because he lives and breathes the AFL.

Let's have some fun Eddie