Discussion Let's talk beer!

Talk about panic buying, I'm trying to buy a still. They sold out just about everywhere, thanks to the 'make your own hand sanitizer' marketing ploy.
It's getting harder to be an alcoholic these days.

As for beer, Lowenbrau is my fav, but I try to buy something different every time to mix it up

I infrequently buy 6 beers to give a new variety a try, happy to pay a little bit extra initially to try something different.

There's a whole lot of beers on this thread that I've never tried, and not going to bars anymore, won't get the opportunity to try whilst I am out.

So am happy to spend $18-20 to try something & not be committed to a slab of it if I don't enjoy it.

But you're right otherwise, don't buy your fav beer by the 6 pack.
Can get some good craft 4 packs for $20

Makes economic sense to always buy a slab here. I lived in the Scotland so I know the culture there can be more to just buy what you need for that day/night and the price doesn’t change that much if you buy in bulk (from memory).

Take Furphy as an example at Dan Murphy’s:
$46.95 per case of 24
$19.49 per pack of 6

Just doesn’t make any sense to ever only buy 6 beers.

My mrs is pretty much a non drinker. I had to explain to her the fiscal sense of buying a slab vs 4 x 6 packs when we first got together.

Once she realised that me buying slabs meant more left over cash for her to go shopping everything was fine. 😉

I've tried craft beers but in the end I always just come back to Carlton Draught. To he honest I prefer the taste to any craft beer. Occasionally I'll buy an Asahi or Kerin to mix it up but 99% of the time it's Brewery Fresh in my fridge.

Speaking of..... my stubby holder shute:

20200330_161601.jpg

Only in Australia do guys buy their beer by the 'slab'. :D

My mate had 7 slabs home delivered last week. Mind you, he used to have a keg tapped at his home for his personal consumption 🍺🍺🍺

Homebrew's are good. Chuck some dry hops in towards the end of fermentation, or an extra malt pack instead of standard dextrose and you've got a craft beer thats as good as the others, tastes great, and gets better with age. Best part is you get roughly 45 500ml bottles at around 60 cents a bottle.

So many delicious options. I usually keep a slab of a lager like a corona or great northern along with a slab of a pale ale, usually mountain goat, little creatures or something new I’m trying. Nothing better than a beer fridge in the garage. NOTHING!

Shit's getting real here now mate.

From the Hun-

View attachment 849855

* a case is the same as a slab FYI

You can ONLY buy two slabs of beer and two slabs of cider in the same transaction? Just the hundred or so cans per purchase? Might as well go tee total :smile:

I used to brew my own beer. All types...Lagers, Pilsners, Oatmeal stouts, red ales and even a VB clone (FYI my VB clone tasted like shite so I must have got the recipe right) The most flavoursome beer I have ever tasted is Knappstein. It's not cheap and sometimes the batches vary but when it's good it's extremely tasty. Most of the time though I drink Pure Blonde because I doesn't cause me to bloat.

You can ONLY buy two slabs of beer and two slabs of cider in the same transaction? Just the hundred or so cans per purchase? Might as well go tee total :smile:

I know. Bloody un-Australian I tell ya 😡

You have been a secret Aussie all this time. ;)

I usually have GOAT or Furphys (usually GOAT) as a fridge staple.
Sometimes buy Woolies/Coles docket deals for a bit of variety, or 6 packs of craft when they are on a good special.
I'm a member of the beer club for bridge road, they send a mixed slab every quarter.
Usually have some Iron Jacks in the fridge as well for something simple if I'm just watching the footy etc.
Father in law drinks Carlton Dry, so usually have that which I sometimes drink as well.

I'm a health professional, work has been incredibly stressful and a usual stress outlet (gym) have been closed, so I have found myself drinking more lately. Not ideal.

I usually have GOAT or Furphys (usually GOAT) as a fridge staple.
Sometimes buy Woolies/Coles docket deals for a bit of variety, or 6 packs of craft when they are on a good special.
I'm a member of the beer club for bridge road, they send a mixed slab every quarter.
Usually have some Iron Jacks in the fridge as well for something simple if I'm just watching the footy etc.
Father in law drinks Carlton Dry, so usually have that which I sometimes drink as well.

I'm a health professional, work has been incredibly stressful and a usual stress outlet (gym) have been closed, so I have found myself drinking more lately. Not ideal.
Yes I seem to be drinking more than normal and eating sh1t when working

I’m the only person in my house that likes a regular drink, the others will have a very occasional beer or glass of wine.

This makes the stockpiling of slabs a bit of a problem for me, it’s why I really like Dan Murphy where you can but six packs on special and wind up with four different beers but at slab prices.

I’m a bit of a beer hunter I’ve tried a lot of different beers over the years, some I’ll come back to others aren’t worth the trouble. James boags premium isn’t what it was but I still think it’s a good domestic, I love a good pale ale and for quite a few years in the cooler months I like to try a few British beers. Old hooky and belhaven Scottish ale are two I’ve been drinking and really enjoy.

I did buckle and buy a couple of slabs and some wines just in case, I snuck it past my wife justifying it by mentioning my youngest sons upcoming 21st. It didn’t seem to register that it will still just be me drinking it or maybe she just thought I needed a win.

I used to brew my own beer. All types...Lagers, Pilsners, Oatmeal stouts, red ales and even a VB clone (FYI my VB clone tasted like shite so I must have got the recipe right) The most flavoursome beer I have ever tasted is Knappstein. It's not cheap and sometimes the batches vary but when it's good it's extremely tasty. Most of the time though I drink Pure Blonde because I doesn't cause me to bloat.

If you regularly get the bloating feeling from a couple of beers, try pouring & drinking from a glass.

Drinking from the can is a very Aussie thing! I never do it; always a pint glass for me.

Pints have become a thing here too. We used to hate them because we liked our beer so cold you couldn't taste how shit it was. If your teeth didn't hurt you had it too hot once. In the UK the beer freezes in a warm glass on a summer day so it's not an issue. ;)

Discussion Let's talk beer!