Discussion Let's talk beer!

I'm currently enjoying an early evening blonde ale called Moorhouse's Blonde Witch, from Aldi. Nice and citrusy; very refreshing ice cold.
I get you. Dubliners talk very slowly; Cork folk are the opposite and the accent is much less Anglicised. Cork is a great accent though - Roy Keane!

I spent a Christmas in a little town in County Cork one year. I spent a week there with a friend's fanily. It took me the whole week to even pick up a single word here or there. And geez could they drink!!!

Of course and Irish and the Scots have a legendary reputation for drink. No offence meant, but the Aussies are right up there too. :p

I'm tired of talking Coronavirus so let's talk beer. I'm in San Francisco and I want to know which Australian craft beers I should be drinking. Hit me up!

Some of my favourite Aussie brewers

La Sirene
Nail Brewing
Feral Brewing
2 metre tall
Otherside

Not sure how you'll go sourcing them, if you're dead keen to ship you could try copperandoak.com.au

I was over there last July, had some pearlers - Favourites were Bottle Logic, Hair of the Dog, Jester King and Other Half.

I recently made Nettle beer. It was meant to be a father & son activity. The little fellah helped me pick and prep the leaves etc. The idea was that he would be able to enjoy the fruits of our labour.
Luckily I tried it last night before giving him any...one bottle & I was slurring my words.
Thanks for the help son...but you won't be getting a single drop of it.
Tastes pretty okay too. Friday night with the missus sorted.
Boom. 👍

7 of my friends used house party to catch up on our Friday night drinks. And as times have changed we all had different craft beers. I had vb in can another had vb in a stubby a few had Carlton in a stubbie and one had Melbourne in a can Good to change things up when drinking. And house party is good. I suggest people try it. Great way to see family and friends.

What's this Melbourne?

Is anybody getting beer home delivered? Who would you recommend?.

I like to browse so I’ve never bothered with home delivery, under the current circumstances I’m not going out unless I really need to.

A mate used Jimmy Brings to get more booze for a party I was at. Seemed quick but I think it was pretty expensive and mostly for desperate people who ran out. He said they deliver toilet paper with the drinks on facebook recently too. You could conveniently hide all your toilet paper and tell your wife you have a genius way to get some in desperate times and restock to liquor cabinet.

A true gathering of hipsters.

Seriously though, what a great way to catch up during all this.

I panic bought another slab of beer this morning, and now I'm panic drinking it. Carlton Dry for a try. I always say that, I've been drinking it for about 3 years now, it's great stuff.

A mate used Jimmy Brings to get more booze for a party I was at. Seemed quick but I think it was pretty expensive and mostly for desperate people who ran out. He said they deliver toilet paper with the drinks on facebook recently too. You could conveniently hide all your toilet paper and tell your wife you have a genius way to get some in desperate times and restock to liquor cabinet.
I’m so bored with the choices I have it’s hardly worth the effort without sport.

Totally screwed with the wine because I don’t often want to drink a bottle by myself and went for boring crap beer in the hope one of the boys might have one with me. I’ll get something decent from dans and throw in a bottle or two of spirits, getting low on Belvedere.

It’s not so much the buying it’s the consuming in decent quantities that’s frowned upon. The table tennis is proving a big hit except I’ve aggravated the tendinitis so I’ll put on footy flashbacks and watch it in peace with a drink down in the back lounge.

i haven’t tried gin since my teens and I hated it then but your palate matures they say, any recommendations.

I like it; priorities during a pandemic: can I get my beer delivered? :thumbsu:

How did you guys get into drinking wine? I got ultra hammered on 4 Spumante bottles (after a night at the RSL drinking beers) and since then I've avoided it like the plague. I've had a sip here or there but it's never appealed.

Or were you all fairly normal and approached drinking wine from an angle that didn't involved binging it in one night?

I was at a dinner with a bunch of rich people and one of them insisted on buying me a glass of some white wine that cost $80 for the glass, and to me it tasted no different to the basic shit you buy to mix with cordial.

I’m so bored with the choices I have it’s hardly worth the effort without sport.

Totally screwed with the wine because I don’t often want to drink a bottle by myself and went for boring crap beer in the hope one of the boys might have one with me. I’ll get something decent from dans and throw in a bottle or two of spirits, getting low on Belvedere.

It’s not so much the buying it’s the consuming in decent quantities that’s frowned upon. The table tennis is proving a big hit except I’ve aggravated the tendinitis so I’ll put on footy flashbacks and watch it in peace with a drink down in the back lounge.

i haven’t tried gin since my teens and I hated it then but your palate matures they say, any recommendations.

Most craft gins are good. I don't mind just plain old sapphire gin with tonic.

Discussion Let's talk beer!