Discussion Let's talk beer!

How did you guys get into drinking wine? I got ultra hammered on 4 Spumante bottles (after a night at the RSL drinking beers) and since then I've avoided it like the plague. I've had a sip here or there but it's never appealed.

Or were you all fairly normal and approached drinking wine from an angle that didn't involved binging it in one night?

I was at a dinner with a bunch of rich people and one of them insisted on buying me a glass of some white wine that cost $80 for the glass, and to me it tasted no different to the basic shit you buy to mix with cordial.

I used to get gigs handing out booze at an art gallery when I was young. They used to let us have any left over goon bags. We drank so much one night the smell and sound of casks makes me want to vomit. Good wine is a different thing. Spumante was Italy's revenge for losing WWII, that's not wine.

How did you guys get into drinking wine? I got ultra hammered on 4 Spumante bottles (after a night at the RSL drinking beers) and since then I've avoided it like the plague. I've had a sip here or there but it's never appealed.

Or were you all fairly normal and approached drinking wine from an angle that didn't involved binging it in one night?

I was at a dinner with a bunch of rich people and one of them insisted on buying me a glass of some white wine that cost $80 for the glass, and to me it tasted no different to the basic shit you buy to mix with cordial.
I guess you just get introduced to wine over time or you don’t.

I started eating out more at decent restaurants and travelling for work, plus my older brother in-law had a massive cellar and absolutely loved his wines. Treat it like any other drink, if you like it then try a few varieties of wine just like you would beer.

I’d say matching wine with food often increases the enjoyment for me, there’s definitely a degree of snobbery in the price of wine you can find plenty that drink well at a decent price but avoid the really cheap crap.

Anyway if you’ve made up your mind to try a couple Billi billi Shiraz is an affordable red and you can’t go wrong with a Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc from NZ something like Giesen is very reasonably priced.

I don’t drink red too much unless my mate cracks a Grange but I did find a liking for Pinot Gris. Quite an unknown little secret is the quality of whites, but especially Pinot Gris found in the Granite Belt area of Queensland.

I guess you just get introduced to wine over time or you don’t.

I started eating out more at decent restaurants and travelling for work, plus my older brother in-law had a massive cellar and absolutely loved his wines. Treat it like any other drink, if you like it then try a few varieties of wine just like you would beer.

I’d say matching wine with food often increases the enjoyment for me, there’s definitely a degree of snobbery in the price of wine you can find plenty that drink well at a decent price but avoid the really cheap crap.

Anyway if you’ve made up your mind to try a couple Billi billi Shiraz is an affordable red and you can’t go wrong with a Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc from NZ something like Giesen is very reasonably priced.

I still can't drink white wine because of the goon casks. Even Sav Blanc smells too much like the Fruity Lexia we'd put in empty bottles for the art w***ers. We'd piss ourselves as people admired wine that was the cheapest you could find once it was "decanted" in a labeled bottle.

Spatlese lexia was my introduction to wine.....on a football trip washed down with shots of muscat...classy eh! Moselle and raspberry cordial was also popular back in my day, when night clubs could behave irresponsibly and have "all you can drink" nights for a fixed cost cover charge. I still cannot drink bourbon and coke as the result of one of those nights on the Gold Coast, and it happened over 35 years ago.
Back to beer. The most unusual beer I have had is the Wells banana bread beer. Very tasty beer but too expensive.

I don’t even understand this wine stuff. I drink 5 sorts of drinks. Water milk coke vb cans vb stubbies. Forget wine Just do those 5 craft drinks and you will be fit and healthy.

Wine drinkers will hate this post but anyway...

I was best man at a wedding where my mate's family were wine snobs. They had a bottle of Grange and a bottle of Hill of Grace on the wedding table.

They demanded I had a glass. I kept refusing, telling them that giving me expensive wine is like feeding caviar to pigs. They insisted so I relented. I sat there with a glass of wine with my beer, taking in turns of mouthfulls. I think at one stage I even had the 2 wines mixed in one glass.

I appreciated the sentiment but like I said, caviar to pigs 🍻🍻🍻

Wine drinkers will hate this post but anyway...

I was best man at a wedding where my mate's family were wine snobs. They had a bottle of Grange and a bottle of Hill of Grace on the wedding table.

They demanded I had a glass. I kept refusing, telling them that giving me expensive wine is like feeding caviar to pigs. They insisted so I relented. I sat there with a glass of wine with my beer, taking in turns of mouthfulls. I think at one stage I even had the 2 wines mixed in one glass.

I appreciated the sentiment but like I said, caviar to pigs 🍻🍻🍻

My wife's family are big on their good wines. We did a blind taste test with a bottle of 10 year old Grange and a $50 bottle which I can't remember now. I was the only one who guessed right and only because it tasted old and like a big flavoured wine. Everyone there liked the cheaper bottle....perhaps to save their embarrassment. Some where trying to say it hadn't been cellared right and all sorts of excuses. Grange is just a bit overrated.

RWT or 389 as good if not better and 1/10 of the price

Last couple of weekends been drinking bin 28 for $38 a bottle great drink

I’m so bored with the choices I have it’s hardly worth the effort without sport.

Totally screwed with the wine because I don’t often want to drink a bottle by myself and went for boring crap beer in the hope one of the boys might have one with me. I’ll get something decent from dans and throw in a bottle or two of spirits, getting low on Belvedere.

It’s not so much the buying it’s the consuming in decent quantities that’s frowned upon. The table tennis is proving a big hit except I’ve aggravated the tendinitis so I’ll put on footy flashbacks and watch it in peace with a drink down in the back lounge.

i haven’t tried gin since my teens and I hated it then but your palate matures they say, any recommendations.

The stuff I make is the best...but I don't share.
If you're going upscale then Hendricks is good...don't know how expensive it would be down there though. There's a great Gin called Gunpowder. It's Irish, and very popular with the Gin heads. Might be hard to find.
I've heard 4 pillars is quite good from Healsville. I think they won some world Gin awards recently.
Failing that, if you want to go bog standard stuff, Beefeater and Plymouth Gin will do.

What's that, and what are goon bags?

A goon bag is a slang term for cask wine which is an Australian invention of an inflatable bladder with a tap inside a cardboard box.Usually the worse wine and in the old days cost about $4 for 4 litres. Now about $10 for 4 litres, the way to get maximum drunk for minimum money.

Cheap cider would be our equivalent. You can get two or three litre bottles of it very cheaply and it's very strong stuff.

Some cask wine is ok actually much better than some really cheap bottles, you can’t avoid the occasional glass out of a cask.

It’s years ago now but dans had this really cheap red they keep pushing, it was about a dollar a bottle not much more. I’m thinking how can you bottle anything and sell it for that price and make money. Anyway for months every time I went to dans people would be struggling out with trolleys loaded with cases of this stuff. Eventually I just couldn’t resist so I brought a bottle, it was so bad you can’t imagine and it stained my glass. One mouthful and out it went but it went on as long as they stocked it people loading up with this crap.

If it’s cheap gets you drunk and won’t send you blind or kill you then people will queue up for it and I think that’s true in most countries. Are aussies really big drinkers, I think I’ve seen figures that put us around 20th per capita and it’s only really beer where we smash it.

I didn't know such a thing exists.

:smile:

Initiative launched today where you can buy a pint at your local now and when the pubs re open you get 2. It doesn't have every pub listed but I found one nearby home. There doesn't appear to be a limit on how many you can purchase. I might buy 10 and get 20 back. 🍺🍺🍺🍺

loveyourlocal.com.au

Discussion Let's talk beer!