Expansion List of Queenslanders in the AFL

Didn't realise that L. Keefe and J. White were Queenslanders.

If State of Origin was to ever return to the Aussie rules landscape, Queensland would be able to field a competitive team and we quite rightly deserve our own team instead of a bastardised "Allies", "Dreamteam" or "QLD/NT" hybrid.

B: R. Thompson, D. Merrett, C. Dempsey
HB: J. Harbrow, D. Armitage, B. Whitecross
C: A. Raines, C. Beams, D. Beams
HF: J. White, N. Riewoldt, C. Dixon
F: D. Zorko, K. Tippett, L. McGuane
Foll: B. Hudson, D. Hale, Z. Smith
Int: S. Gilbert, L. Keefe, S. Reid
Sub: R. Bail
Coach: M. Voss

We wouldn't beat Vic, WA or SA but we'd give them a contest. We would beat NSW, ACT and NT easily and be even with Tassie.

Strong team if Lee Spurr doesn't get a game!

No you wouldn't. Queensland would get slaughtered. For starters, your best 22 would never be available, so you'd be going down to 26 on the pecking order as a minimum (and probably closer to 30). Even if they did get that side on the park, it's ridiculously tall (and that's not meant as a compliment). Riewoldt, White, Dixon, Tippett, McGuane and Keefe? With Hudson, Hale and Smith possibly taking the 'ruck division' concept a bit too literally?
I made that team up in a few minutes, so I do have some players out of position, as Fabulous phil said he'd make changes here and there.

We'd have Hampson, Boston, Hall next in line, admittedly not much depth after that, but it is the 18 players on the field and the four on the bench that impacts the result of the game, unless if there is a massive injury list, the quality of players 30, 31 and so on are irrelevant to the contest.

Queensland's first 22 would give Victoria's first 22 a contest. I'm not saying we'd win (unless if Victoria is complacent) but the first 22 wouldn't get slaughtered. The Queensland team would need a massive injury list or not care to get absolutely slaughtered. Queensland did beat Victoria in the early 1990's (albeit Victoria's 'B' team), along with the fact that the current Queensland team is much better than the Queensland team of the 1990's, the game won't be as one sided as you Victorians think.

I was under the impression the zone rules take into account where you play your club footy, not necessarily where you were born or grew up. Which is a shame for the Suns academy because anyone serious about their footy up north is likely to move to Brisbane and not the Gold Coast. I think Brisbane will make a lot more use of their academy players over the next few years than the Suns but eventually both will need to make use of their zone.

I don't know the facts but I would have thought junior participation in Queensland would have risen during the Brisbane Lions glory days and I would like to think the Gold Coast Suns will have a similar impact when they starting challenging for premierships. The Gold Coast zone has always been considerably stronger than it should have been and now that a proper team and academy is set up, I can only see it flourishing more. The one thing that will hold GC juniors back is the fact that Southport are now the only local team playing in the NEAFL. Labrador and Broadbeach were kicked out this year.

I think 60 Queensland players in the AFL is achievable.

I don't have the cold hard facts in front of me either, but just a general feeling that football in QLD is doing OK.

Many of the AFL listed players that retire/delisted etc end up back were they started, at some stage, giving back to there local club, and that is only a good thing for QLD football.

I made that team up in a few minutes, so I do have some players out of position, as Fabulous phil said he'd make changes here and there.

We'd have Hampson, Boston, Hall next in line, admittedly not much depth after that, but it is the 18 players on the field and the four on the bench that impacts the result of the game, unless if there is a massive injury list, the quality of players 30, 31 and so on are irrelevant to the contest.

Queensland's first 22 would give Victoria's first 22 a contest. I'm not saying we'd win (unless if Victoria is complacent) but the first 22 wouldn't get slaughtered. The Queensland team would need a massive injury list or not care to get absolutely slaughtered. Queensland did beat Victoria in the early 1990's (albeit Victoria's 'B' team), along with the fact that the current Queensland team is much better than the Queensland team of the 1990's, the game won't be as one sided as you Victorians think.

Yep, look they have quite a few options, and a QLD team would be competetive, they have very strong talls, but ireally posted because i reckon Hampsons busy, and quite frankly who can blame him, get in before the baby is born because afterwards it is never the same ...... :D

http://www.smh.com.au/lifestyle/celebrity/megan-gale-pregnant-with-first-child-20131111-2xc1c.html

I don't have the cold hard facts in front of me either, but just a general feeling that football in QLD is doing OK.

Many of the AFL listed players that retire/delisted etc end up back were they started, at some stage, giving back to there local club, and that is only a good thing for QLD football.
I feel the sport is doing well too. Would like to see more Queenslanders in the league but it's fine for now.

Having some trouble finding it.

Bit of a shame. Would love to have a read if you ever find it.

You would never get a full squad of your best 22 players for a state of origin game of Australian Rules. It would never happen. That's the whole point. You're always going to have a few legitimately injured players for starters and then you're going to have at least a few more who CBF. It would be 'The Allies' all over again.

And a quick look at the results of that game shows that Roger Merrett (who's no more a Queenslander than I am) captained their side that game. Others to star for Queensland that day included Cameron O'Brien (recruited from Old Xavs via Collingwood), Rod Lester-Smith (East Fremantle via Hawthorn) and Andrew Taylor (Albion via Footscray)...and that's just from the goalkickers and best players list. Who knows how many non-Queenslanders pulled a guernsey on for them that day?

Not only that, apparently someone named Andrew Phillips was Victoria's best player in that game...he managed 42 senior games for his career. The best players list from the Vics is a pretty eclectic bunch of battlers. Besides Jim Stynes, they'd be struggling to find a best & fairest between them.

FB: L.Spurr - D.Merrett - L.Keeffe
HB: S.Gilbert - R.Thompson - R.Petterd
C: J.Harbrow - D.Armitage - C.Dempsey
R: D.Hale - D.Beams - B.Whitecross
HF: D.Zorko - N.Riewoldt - J.Thomas
FF: L.McGuane - K.Tippett - A.Boston
I/C: C.Dixon - A.Raines - C.Beams - T.Bell

No disrespect to Everton Lions, but that is a stronger team, Hale is a underrated forward marking option IMO, and Jesse White could be anything, he could be a absolute star and he is not even in this team.

Victoria would smash that side.. Im sure if anybody could be bothered to put a comparative Vic side next to it you would see why. It would be a bloodbath in the midfield.. but its great to see that at least there's some moves being made off field to grow the game up there. Maybe in 20 years a Qld might even be better than whatevers coming out of Victoria.

WA would also smash it.

And a quick look at the results of that game shows that Roger Merrett (who's no more a Queenslander than I am) captained their side that game. Others to star for Queensland that day included Cameron O'Brien (recruited from Old Xavs via Collingwood), Rod Lester-Smith (East Fremantle via Hawthorn) and Andrew Taylor (Albion via Footscray)...and that's just from the goalkickers and best players list. Who knows how many non-Queenslanders pulled a guernsey on for them that day?

They were allowed Queenslanders and anyone who had played for the Bears for at least 3 years.

B: Brad Hardie, Rod Lester-Smith, Simon Luhrs
HB: Danny Dickfos, Michael Gibson, Matthew Campbell
C: Troy Clarke, Marcus Ashcroft, David Wearne
HF: Craig Potter, Roger Merrett (c), Gavin Crosisca
F: Andrew Taylor, Cameron O’Brien, Corey Bell
R: Stephen Lawrence, Scott McIvor, Jason Cotter.
INT: Brenton Phillips, Simon Kenny, Dean Bowtell, Anthony Toppenberg.

You would never get a full squad of your best 22 players for a state of origin game of Australian Rules. It would never happen. That's the whole point. You're always going to have a few legitimately injured players for starters and then you're going to have at least a few more who CBF. It would be 'The Allies' all over again.
We're Queenslanders, if there's an actual Queensland team we will give a ****. The Rugby league state of origin is a massive deal up here. When a Queensland team is doing well, locals will make a big deal out of it and jump on that team's bandwagon.

Queensland is by far the most parochial state in Australia. If a Queensland athlete is doing well for Australia us Queenslanders will always mention he/she is a Queenslander before mentioning he/she is Australian.

On the other hand no-one would give a **** about the Allies. While I think Queensland could be competitive, I'd much rather watch Queensland lose by 160+ points then support "The Allies".

Having SoO back with an actual Queensland team (or a Q-Clash GF) would be the best thing the AFL could do to grow the game up here, having SoO back with "The Allies" (or removing one of the QLD AFL teams) would be the worst thing the AFL could do to destroy the game up here as it would be a massive insult to anyone who follows the game up here.

Also the Gold Coast Suns have never got a crowd of under 10k at Carrara, despite how uncompetitive they were in their first two seasons. A Queensland SoO side will get a solid crowd.
Not only that, apparently someone named Andrew Phillips was Victoria's best player in that game...he managed 42 senior games for his career. The best players list from the Vics is a pretty eclectic bunch of battlers. Besides Jim Stynes, they'd be struggling to find a best & fairest between them.

I admittedly haven't looked at the side, so I just assumed they were all Queenslanders. I knew it was nowhere near Victoria's best team though. Our state have produced past superstars such as Dunstall, Akermanis, Voss and Ashcroft in the past. From seeing Albert Ross' post Dunstall wasn't on that side even though he was in his prime.

The only way to see how Queensland's current best team now will go against Victoria's current best team is to actually have them play each other. Obviously Victoria have an absolute superstar line-up but I honestly think that it would be close-ish for three quarters (around 20 points at 3 qtr time) before Victoria's fresher legs amongst their superstars due to their much stronger bench will get Victoria to run away with it and win by 50-60 points. We wouldn't be Melbourne 2013 or Fitzroy 1996 bad. Most of the Queensland team will be best 22 at their AFL clubs and there are some superstars in the Queensland team such as Riewoldt, Dayne Beams, Tippett etc. It's not like half our team are non-AFL standard players. It will still be 22 AFL standard players on 22 AFL standard players (albeit with your 22 being much better).

If State of Origin was to ever return to the Aussie rules landscape, Queensland would be able to field a competitive team and we quite rightly deserve our own team instead of a bastardised "Allies", "Dreamteam" or "QLD/NT" hybrid.

We wouldn't beat Vic, WA or SA but we'd give them a contest. We would beat NSW, ACT and NT easily and be even with Tassie.

Would your side of:

Give a contest to this side from WA:

B: Yeo, Taylor, Rance
HB: Stratton, McKenzie, Broughton
C: Bennell, Fyfe, Wells
HF: Mayne, Kennedy, Darling
F: Matera, Leuenberger, LeCras

Foll: Naitanui, Swallow(Andrew), Rich
Int: O'Meara, Walters, Conca
Sub: Wellingham

The above side is just off the top of my head too. So there would be a few I have missed.

Would your side of:

The above side is just off the top of my head too. So there would be a few I have missed.

The Queensland side I listed would be a match up for that WA line up. Using that line up WA obviously have the better midfield, but Queensland have the better forward line and the back line is about even. With that line-up WA would probably win by around 3-5 goals.

However there are some elite Sandgropers you missed out, B. Franklin was the first that came to mind. WA's best line-up will probably beat our best line up by 5-10 goals.

We're Queenslanders, if there's an actual Queensland team we will give a ****. The Rugby league state of origin is a massive deal up here. When a Queensland team is doing well, locals will make a big deal out of it and jump on that team's bandwagon.

Well, again...we have a pretty fundamental disagreement, because I don't think a Queensland team would do well. Far from it. I think a Queensland team would be hopelessly out of its depth.

Queensland is by far the most parochial state in Australia.

Based on what, exactly? How much Queenslanders love state of origin in league?

If a Queensland athlete is doing well for Australia us Queenslanders will always mention he/she is a Queenslander before mentioning he/she is Australian.

And you think no other state does that? Ok then...

On the other hand no-one would give a **** about the Allies. While I think Queensland could be competitive, I'd much rather watch Queensland lose by 160+ points then support "The Allies".

Having SoO back with an actual Queensland team (or a Q-Clash GF) would be the best thing the AFL could do to grow the game up here, having SoO back with "The Allies" (or removing one of the QLD AFL teams) would be the worst thing the AFL could do to destroy the game up here as it would be a massive insult to anyone who follows the game up here.

It's a pipe dream. The only way it would ever work with players playing for clubs on the other side of the country would be to have a make-believe 'state of origin' team like that one from the early 90s.

The only way to see how Queensland's current best team now will go against Victoria's current best team is to actually have them play each other. Obviously Victoria have an absolute superstar line-up but I honestly think that it would be close-ish for three quarters (around 20 points at 3 qtr time) before Victoria's fresher legs amongst their superstars due to their much stronger bench will get Victoria to run away with it and win by 50-60 points.

By the same logic, we can't tell how a C grade amateur team would go against a hypothetical Victorian state of origin side. But I could take a reasonable guess. To be perfectly honest, if an AFL team went into the 2014 season with that Queensland lineup as its best 22, I wouldn't be expecting them to get near the top eight, personally.

We wouldn't be Melbourne 2013 or Fitzroy 1996 bad. Most of the Queensland team will be best 22 at their AFL clubs and there are some superstars in the Queensland team such as Riewoldt, Dayne Beams, Tippett etc. It's not like half our team are non-AFL standard players. It will still be 22 AFL standard players on 22 AFL standard players (albeit with your 22 being much better).

It would be a side of essentially 22 elite players against a side with a few elite players (a total of two who have ever been AAs), a few more stars, about 10-12 regular senior players and no-names filling out the rest of the squad. I can only see two that would definitely get consideration for the squad, if they were Victorian: Beams and Riewoldt. Yeah, there's a few more possibles, but you could just as easily argue that the two that I mentioned wouldn't even be walk-ups in a Victorian team (Cameron, Roughead and Cloke were all preferred to Riewoldt in the 2013 AA team and there's Beams would be one of about 15-20 midfielders fighting for maybe 8-10 spots in the team).

I found this old thread and thought it would be interesting to compare the list of Queenslanders in the AFL from 2008 to 2013. These are all the players on an AFL list in 2013. Delisted players indicated.

Brisbane Lions (7)
1. Claye Beams - Labrador
2. Jordon Bourke - Morningside
3. Daniel Merrett - Southport
4. Sam Michael - Redland
5. Andrew Raines - Southport
6. Stephen Wrigley - Labrador (delisted)
7. Dayne Zorko - Broadbeach

Apparently all these guys are homesick and want to leave the lions

By the same logic, we can't tell how a C grade amateur team would go against a hypothetical Victorian state of origin side. But I could take a reasonable guess. To be perfectly honest, if an AFL team went into the 2014 season with that Queensland lineup as its best 22, I wouldn't be expecting them to get near the top eight, personally.
Difference is the C grade amateur team isn't anywhere near AFL standard. A Queensland Origin team would consist of 22 AFL standard players.

It would be a side of essentially 22 elite players against a side with a few elite players (a total of two who have ever been AAs), a few more stars, about 10-12 regular senior players and no-names filling out the rest of the squad. I can only see two that would definitely get consideration for the squad, if they were Victorian: Beams and Riewoldt. Yeah, there's a few more possibles, but you could just as easily argue that the two that I mentioned wouldn't even be walk-ups in a Victorian team (Cameron, Roughead and Cloke were all preferred to Riewoldt in the 2013 AA team and there's Beams would be one of about 15-20 midfielders fighting for maybe 8-10 spots in the team).
With the exception of Melbourne 2013 (hardly AFL standard) and the formative years of GC and GWS (kids), how many massive blowouts occur in an AFL season? Of course Victoria would win provided they show up, but it wouldn't be a massive blowout

I reckon the non-selected B team might give your team a shake ;)

B: Duffield Glass McKenzie
HB: Toovey Ryder van Berlo
C: H.O'Brien Coniglio Pearce
HF: Armfield A.Black S.Hill
F: D.Cox Franklin J.Garlett
R: Sandilands Priddis Masten
I: Yarran Howlett B.Hill
Sub: C.Jones

Jeez, that's the worst WA team i've ever seen. Other than the current WA sheffield shield team of course.

I reckon the non-selected B team might give your team a shake ;)

B: Duffield Glass McKenzie
HB: Toovey Ryder van Berlo
C: H.O'Brien Coniglio Pearce
HF: Armfield A.Black S.Hill
F: D.Cox Franklin J.Garlett
R: Sandilands Priddis Masten
I: Yarran Howlett B.Hill
Sub: C.Jones

Hopefully McPharlin can train strongly and press his claims for the C team :thumbsu:

That would actually be a good competitive AFL side that 22.

Still im surprised with the Amount of Queenslanders in the AFL. 40 odd is not too bad.

Expansion List of Queenslanders in the AFL