Local Geelong Leagues Thread (GFL/BFL) 3

ive heard there are quite a few joeys blokes that are really pissed off at the amount of coin thrown at the carsons, to the point that they have actively sought out other clubs for some 'career advice'... any truth rocky??

apparently these players have been signed up for next to not much for 2010, only to have figures of $500 a game plus 7.5k sign on (for each of the carsons) waved in their face! ordinary timing to be doing this kind of thing i would have thought...

ive heard there are quite a few joeys blokes that are really pissed off at the amount of coin thrown at the carsons, to the point that they have actively sought out other clubs for some 'career advice'... any truth rocky??

apparently these players have been signed up for next to not much for 2010, only to have figures of $500 a game plus 7.5k sign on (for each of the carsons) waved in their face! ordinary timing to be doing this kind of thing i would have thought...

I reckon thats one of the sillier things I have heard tomma!

The figures that are being bandied about are ridiculous, and seeking 'career advice' in the GFL is laughable. Enjoying mad monday are we???? I heard several Bell Park players are unhappy with the amount of coin that Fitzy is getting to coach and think he is worth half, and want the excess to go into their own match payments or to get garthy back after the amount of turnovers in their forward 50 on the weekend :D::thumbsu:

no need to turn nasty mate haha career advice was a joke, so i'm glad you found it laughable! i meant they had been in contact with other clubs saying theyre not happy with whats gone on and that they might be after a change...

i'd love to have garthy back by the way but not at the expense of john fitz...

no need to turn nasty mate haha career advice was a joke, so i'm glad you found it laughable! i meant they had been in contact with other clubs saying theyre not happy with whats gone on and that they might be after a change...

it was all said with a smile on my face big tomma! Well obviously i can't comment on what goes on in relation to contact between players and other clubs because I wouldn't know at this stage. But it wouldn't surprise me that other clubs come knocking on the door, happens to every team thats enjoying success. I'm sure fitzy wouldn't mind poaching a few either!

Speaking of the Fitzgeralds, Johns son James (who almost single handedly knocked Bell Park out of the 5 last year) is to undergo hip/ groin surgery for OP, while another young player Adam Podbury has just had a 2nd bout of surgery on his collarbone after breaking it against South on ANZAC day. Both wouldve been in the GF team if fit. People up at Joeys are just as excited about getting these two blokes on the park next year as they are about the Carsons.

It is silly tommahawk coz remember blokes that play at joeys play for the love of the club!!! They would easily be on that match figure you mentioned but the sign on fee is extremely high. Have you got names for these blokes you say have spoken to rival gfl clubs? Pete Davenport will be named as St Albans coach pretty soon, do you think anymore Bell Park boys will move on? Has Talbot hung up the boots?

it was all said with a smile on my face big tomma! Well obviously i can't comment on what goes on in relation to contact between players and other clubs because I wouldn't know at this stage. But it wouldn't surprise me that other clubs come knocking on the door, happens to every team thats enjoying success.

no doubt clubs come knocking, i'm talking about players knocking on clubs doors...

pete may take 1 or 2 with him from bell park, not sure anyone else would go though, unless massive amounts of coin are involved...

not sure about talbot, he didnt mention anything after the game but he did throw his boots out so read in to that what you want...

Pete Davenport will be named as St Albans coach pretty soon, do you think anymore Bell Park boys will move on?

Anyone else think they are potentially making a ANOTHER huge mistake by appointing Davenport? Is he the same bloke that got booted from Grovedale and told not to come back? Tim Finningan you could give us some insight.

Speaking of the Fitzgeralds, Johns son James (who almost single handedly knocked Bell Park out of the 5 last year) is to undergo hip/ groin surgery for OP, while another young player Adam Podbury has just had a 2nd bout of surgery on his collarbone after breaking it against South on ANZAC day. Both wouldve been in the GF team if fit. People up at Joeys are just as excited about getting these two blokes on the park next year as they are about the Carsons.

They probably cost the club 1/10th of the Carson Bros.

Pete Davenport will be named as St Albans coach pretty soon,

Anyone else think they are potentially making a ANOTHER huge mistake by appointing Davenport? Is he the same bloke that got booted from Grovedale and told not to come back? Tim Finningan you could give us some insight.

Agree with you PCD. Worst decision St Albans could make. Davenport is a great player, but a massively hot head. South Barwon targeted him on Saturday and couldn't pull his head in. Can't see him leading a team to success with the attitude he portrays on the ground (internally it might be different though!).

Just while on the Ammos coach i thought his decision not to drop a loose man in the backline in the first quarter smacked of arrogance. Drysdale did it in the second quarter as well as two defensive wingman and it basically won them the game by half time. Thought Ammos were poorly coached in that regard, they seemed to not respect the opposition or the conditions more importantly and it cost them big time.

FWIW the send off of Lindsay Smith was a disgrace, should have been 50 metres and thats all. Why do umpires in this region continue to make idiots of themselves.

Big crowd down there, i know there was critisism of having the GDFL and BFL on the same day but i dont think it effected the massive crowd.
speaking from experience, he is arrogant mofo

I dont think he was kicked outta Grovedale although a few people were happy that he left. Having said that Raids would have him back anyday. He has a good football brain and was chased by Noble Park to coach them so he's obviously got the ability to do it. His hot headedness would be a concern tho and in my opinion St Albans would probably be better off getting an older non playing coach.

Just wondering Rizzo how many games you have seen of Pete Davenport to call him great. Must of missed those games you were at. He turns over the ball is ok at in the centre but nothing special and doesnt exactly inspire the rest of the bell park side. In saying that good luck if St ALbans if they have signed him as coach. Very ill informed decision by the club.

Seen 4 or 5 BP games this year off the top of my head. He adds real grunt through that midfield and complimented Sheringham and Batchelor really well. That being said he lost his cool in most of the matches I saw him play. South Barwon knew it and they targeted him. Was surprised to see him not rip someones head off. Will be the worst move possible for St Albans.

Daniel Gage should have been awarded BOG honors the kid was great. That was not the turning point as the result was never in doubt from the first behind Drysdale kicked, Ammos looked disinterested the entire day, upset at each other and lacked any spark at all.

Congrats to the Dysdy boys and nothing for the Ammos, aka the new chokers of the BFL.
Agree that Ammos looked disinterested. The silence after a number of their last quarter goals was embarrassing. One of their players was obviously pumped as he ran back to the centre after goaling and got nothing from his teammates.

Yet another one. Footballing decisions are holding this potentially great club back from on-field success. Time after time we have seen it over the past 3 or 4 years.

Yes Where is Ammos09. Egg on his face now! what a brilliant performance by Drysdale.AMMOS Back to back?-NOT!!!
ammos 09 is a under 16 player who like all of their juniors are more arrogant then their seniors and go around saying that they will win this years bfl granny and then go to the gfl next season. they also talked up themselves winning the under 16 divi 1 premiership from about round 12 and didnt even make it to the grand final.

he wont be back on here because like all ammos supporters they can talk the talk but can walk the walk.

So what are people,s thoughts about St.josephs v south barwon grand final?? I think joey,s will still be hurting from the defeat a few years ago and will get over the line by 19 points and D.Lovick will be the medal winner for best on ground????:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Personally i couldn't give a rats but i think South may get over Joeys and it'll probably be close. Ill be heading up to Ballarat to watch that granny this week as i refuse to watch a local grand final at an afl venue with no atmosphere. Unless the mighty tiges get there one day soon!!

Yeh must admit i have been to a couple of grand finals at the cattery and it does lack that local grand final atmhosphere that you get when it,s at a local ground!!! Have also been to a few ballarat leauge grand finals and they are normally a great atmhosphere day!! Normally if sunbury are playing there is a bit of biffo as there was 5 or 6 years ago anyway???:eek:

tim you would rather go watch a shit football league in ballarat instead of watchin two of the best sides in country victoria. i dont think you know too much about football and that you live your football career thru this website

my thoughts joeys by 12 point with luke forbes to get the medal

tim you would rather go watch a shit football league in ballarat instead of watchin two of the best sides in country victoria. i dont think you know too much about football and that you live your football career thru this website

my thoughts joeys by 12 point with luke forbes to get the medal

Would hardly call the ballarat league shit mate you seen any footy up there??? Unlike your self boywonder who must be a freak footballer, footy is only a game to me and i like to have a good time at the footy so if that means going to a beautiful local ground in ballarat thats packed with supporters than yeah that must make me someone who knows nothing.

I heard today ex Supersaints coach Steve Clark is one of the names being interviewed by Barwon Heads. Can anyone confirm this? Surely the Seagulls will go for a quality playing coach...

Has he coached anywhere other than Queenscliff and St Albans? His record is shocking at both these clubs. Barwon Heads is a good club with a young talented line up im with you echo surely they'd be looking at a playing coach, and it shouldn't be very hard for them to entice someone good down there.

South by 10 points. South and Cats this weekend would be a perfect weekend.
Go CATS!!!