Local Geelong Leagues Thread (GFL/BFL) 3

Anyone who thinks good players play for very little just because they played juniors at the same club are kidding themselves. T Baker, D Lovick, etc would be on very, very good wickets i would suggest.

Exactly right mate and id also suggest the comment regarding 80% of the side being home grown could be a little bit exaggerated.

Welcome back wiseoldman. Did you forget the passwords to your other identitys whoistimfinnigan and ivegot6fishingrods??? Once again you've just proven how much of a flog you really are. Find me the post where i said they were definately going to grovey and ill admit i was wrong...

Listen to SEN do ya?:rolleyes:

this week in the gfl i think bell park are a big chance of running over south barwon, especially if josh mccann and knucky play, too slow on the big ground..got found out against joeys.

For south barwon to win they simply need to stop the bell park wingmen and onballers kicking goals, 15 goals came from the sheringham brothers, jason graham and batchelor against colac. Vital when they don't have a dominant tall forward.

Anyone got any recruiting news?? Have heard a whisper linking paul carson to leopold... But it seems everyone gets linked to leopold these days!! Also we know paul carson is leaving west, but has dale also left the roosters?

i think south were just cocky bringing in knuckey and mccann and this fascination started when the side was red hot half way into the season.

If the selectors have faith in their decision making, they have to play them again this week! Although wrong.

Either way the selectors are sitting ducks.

Hovey would have been rubbing his hands seeing the sides run out.

The momentum is surely with joeys now if they meet again and the pressure now mounts on south not to go out in sytraight sets.

All eyes will be on south and their selections this week and i am sure bell park now know they are fragile.

Exactly right mate and id also suggest the comment regarding 80% of the side being home grown could be a little bit exaggerated.

Just checked for you then bud, yeah 80% was a slight exaggeration, on the weekend the figure was about 70%, and of the 38 blokes to have played senior footy this year, again 70% of them have played juniors at the club. that would be more than any other club in Geelong i reckon.

BrownSugar said:
Anyone who thinks good players play for very little just because they played juniors at the same club are kidding themselves. T Baker, D Lovick, etc would be on very, very good wickets i would suggest.

Guys like this have been selfless to the club, they've both been leaders for years, and every single year clubs like yours, West Saints and Grovedale come knocking on the door with bags of cash and endless promises. Invest in your juniors guys, its the only path to success. And it is no coincidence that the three strongest junior programs in the region in recent times, St. Joeys, Bell Park and South Barwon are the three teams left in the GFL this year.

Just checked for you then bud, yeah 80% was a slight exaggeration, on the weekend the figure was about 70%, and of the 38 blokes to have played senior footy this year, again 70% of them have played juniors at the club. that would be more than any other club in Geelong i reckon.

Guys like this have been selfless to the club, they've both been leaders for years, and every single year clubs like yours, West Saints and Grovedale come knocking on the door with bags of cash and endless promises. Invest in your juniors guys, its the only path to success. And it is no coincidence that the three strongest junior programs in the region in recent times, St. Joeys, Bell Park and South Barwon are the three teams left in the GFL this year.

I agree with most of what you've said there rocky. Actually your spot on really although i wish a strong junior program always translated to senior success! We've had a fairly strong junior section untill recently but it never translated! Have heard ben raidme is on the radar of the gold coast afl side. Would be a brilliant effort if he was to be picked up. Pete raidme hasn't yet made up his mind weather he's coaching grovey next year which is suprising coz after the way he spoke after the last game i thought he was a certainty for next year. If it happens that he doesnt coach next year then id say grovey would go very hard for troy mitchell who was an assistant this year and who has a proven record at this level.

Unlike St Joeys,etc. Clubs like West, Grovedale, Newtown do not have 15 junior sides running around each week and thus have to make the most of what we've got. We do invest in our kids just like Grovey do. Players like Stott, Sells, Toner, Young, Sharry, Burke, Wight are all former West juniors. You then have to try and recruit as hard as you can to make up the short fall. We can't just pick and choose from 100 kids at our club over the age if 15 which i'm tipping would have been at Joeys this year. So don't preach to me that we don't look after our kids when not only do we do that but we then get raided by other clubs before the season is even finished and throwing massive amounts of money at players.

StiffMotors -you crack me up each time.
So by small I assume they have spoken to the Geelong News?

They must be taking funds from the collection plate on Sundays

The Pieman resurfaces!!

Can someone give some definite figures on how much senior players get paid in the GFL or BFL?I doubt they would be playing for peanuts.

Rocky17 you are an absolute dill pickle mate, or should I call you Bullwinkle as that represents your intelligence level.
You talk about promoting Juniors and accuse other clubs of throwing around money and you have just spent a truckload of cash on recruiting the Carson Brothers, not to mention Peter Street.
Do you know whay hypocrisy means? If not look it up in the dictionary.
You are throwing monster like rocks in your little glass house.
People like you just get on here and write utter rubbish before thinking about what you write.
You have probably the best source of Juniors in the region being the St Joseph's school and other clubs do not have that luxury so if you are going to preach about promoting Juniors go and do it on another site mate you peanut.
Oh and by the way before you respond which I hope you do, think about the comeback before you reply.

StiffMotors -you crack me up each time.
So by small I assume they have spoken to the Geelong News?

They must be taking funds from the collection plate on Sundays

The Pieman resurfaces!!

Can someone give some definite figures on how much senior players get paid in the GFL or BFL?I doubt they would be playing for peanuts.

Hey Frando, ask Rocky17, he seems to know everything!

I think the highlighted comments are quite funny now. The fact is everyone pays money some more than others the sooner people get over this the better.

Why is this interesting? Sounds spot on to me, when you consider how they obviously rate their junior program.

Agree with u, i meant it was interesting given the comments on this thread about other teams buying players but Joeys not needing to beacuse of their youth program, as someboyd has posted just above this.

I think the highlighted comments are quite funny now.

Look i think most of what rock said was pretty spot on. They do have a great junior set up and the school but good on them. It hasnt really translated into senior success tho as they havnt won a flag for 20 years. The west president said they didnt want to get into a bidding war well thats not joeys fault is it? If west were so desperate to keep the carsons they should/could've offered more money. Good get by st joeys and everyone knows these days that money talks. Its unfortunate but thats just how it is.

Don't even bother rocking up next year. St Joeys with the Carsons will be very very very hard to beat. Could only imagine how happy Hovey would be.

Rocky17 you are an absolute dill pickle mate, or should I call you Bullwinkle as that represents your intelligence level.
You talk about promoting Juniors and accuse other clubs of throwing around money and you have just spent a truckload of cash on recruiting the Carson Brothers, not to mention Peter Street.
Do you know whay hypocrisy means? If not look it up in the dictionary.
You are throwing monster like rocks in your little glass house.
People like you just get on here and write utter rubbish before thinking about what you write.
You have probably the best source of Juniors in the region being the St Joseph's school and other clubs do not have that luxury so if you are going to preach about promoting Juniors go and do it on another site mate you peanut.
Oh and by the way before you respond which I hope you do, think about the comeback before you reply.

A dillpickle?? never been called that before!

I think if you read my comments a bit more objectively, as timmy finnigan has done, you'll see the basis for my argument is quite sound.

With Peter Street, its not everyday a 6'10" bloke with AFL experience becomes available, and the club didn't have any other ruckmen due to retirements etc. The Carson brothers, who wouldn't want to talk to them, one is in the top 3 forwards in the league, the other won the 2008 Mathieson. And I know for a fact they were offered more elsewhere!

Sure Joeys have the advantage of SJC and its close proximity, but if you went there, you'd realise there are just as many kids playing for Bell Park, St. Mary's, Newtown, ammos and other clubs as Joeys.

Another point timmy made was the loss of players during the transition from juniors to seniors, and along with Grovey, Joeys also suffered from this problem. In the last 10 or so years the club has really worked hard on bridging this divide and we're starting to see the results filter through now. That's what I'm talking about champ.... keeping your juniors involved through to the senior ranks.

But if you want to harp on about how what i have written is rubbish, my intelligence or labellling me a peanut, go ahead.

I do not disagree with Rocky17 in relation to promoting Juniors, just don't go around accusing other clubs of throwing around money before looking in your own backyard.

Don't even bother rocking up next year. St Joeys with the Carsons will be very very very hard to beat. Could only imagine how happy Hovey would be.

Dont know if it'll quite go like that rizzo. Dont be suprised if a few blokes moved on if joeys win the flag this year plus you know south will be around the mark again. And st marys will dip into there KFC account and buy wat ever they think is needed to get them into flag contention again!

Don't forget Grovey Timmy.

Fair point, I was assuming that Joeys will keep their best team with those two additions. The writing was on the wall for D.Carson earlier on in the year, was always going to leave IMHO.

Why was the writing on the wall earlier in the year? And Rocky, without any prior knowledge to this incident; why did Peter Street sign at St Joeys when Newtown seemingly had him over the line and a job which he even started?

No offense to GWSP, but Dale Carson is a total waste at your club. When you saw the crap disposal to him and the lack of foreseeable success meant that he was always going to go.

He worked at Cotton On for a couple of weeks unloading shipping containers. Wasn't a particularly good job, ive done it myself before!! But he wanted to be a copper, and has since been accepted into the Police Academy. Newtown were the first club to speak to him I believe, Joeys got in touch, im not sure what his exact reasons were... but if your alluding that he was just chasing coin, Newtown would be able to afford whatever Joeys are paying him.

Rocky...

Is it fair to say that for some years now, Joeys have relied on their "devloping juniors" and "loyalty" to build them a successful club?
It's just now (being this year and next year with the Carson boys) they have realised they have to follow the rest of the league and must spend money to become a realistic chance at a premiership?

Imagine if Joeys had spent a bit of money a few years ago when they had the likes of Hood, Greaves, Smith, Bauer, Baker, Jenkinson etc in their prime... The drought may have already been broken by now.