Local Geelong Leagues Thread (GFL/BFL/GDFL)

Colac to recruit

A Leak Winch
Wainwright Winch
Clay Brewer OS last season
Tom McCrickard Alvie

these names have been mentioned

Have they got many moving on?? Do people think Colac will be contenders again, they must have some sort of advantage this year being one of few who will play at home almost every week and also can train on there ground unlike most teams in geelong at present

mentioned that two or three fringe players moving on. Names mentioned Fletcher and another to go to cdfnl club Irrewarra/Beeac, Also heard the Micah Buchanan poss at Box Hill. Kelly undecided looking at work options, theodore may go OS .

Just had a call from a workmate, article in Colac paper today about the tigers. will see if he can scan for me to post.

Can anyone confirm rumours that there are unhappy players with the way big menche has gone about his coaching roll at the always under achieving Grovedale?

cant confirm but i wouldnt have thought so because i dont think theve been training long but ill keep you updated if i hear anything

Is there any truth that Newcomb have screwed a few players over by not paying out their full contracts from last year!

i know three players out there and 2 of them havent been paid out yet and im not talking a couple of hundred dollars they owe out heaps i wouldnt be going there, you owe the money pay it on the final siren round 18 other wise it will come back to haunt you.

Can any of you tell me your opinion on a player Jones? Apparently his signed with my club and is a gun. Whats he like?

Heard a rumour around the traps that Brent Riordan is leaving Grovedale to go back to his home club up north somewhere to play with his brother. Would this be a loss to Grovedale? is he any good?

Can any of you tell me your opinion on a player Jones? Apparently his signed with my club and is a gun. Whats he like?

Jonesy is pretty good but smithy's better tho....

Couldnt have picked a more generic surname mate do u know what club he came from? Might help narrowing it down...

I heard that Geelong West have been looking for financial support for their watering program which will cost approximately $30,000 for a 8 week period. I understand there have been no takers from any other clubs so far. Should clubs who will be using other grounds other than their home ground be obligated to contribute financially to use these grounds or should we rely on the handout we get (or don't get) from Football Geelong or the AFL?

I'm sure there'll be attitudes such as 'why should we put money into other grounds for little or no return?' but, if we don't we may not have enough grounds to support a season.

What do you all think?

I heard that Geelong West have been looking for financial support for their watering program which will cost approximately $30,000 for a 8 week period. I understand there have been no takers from any other clubs so far. Should clubs who will be using other grounds other than their home ground be obligated to contribute financially to use these grounds or should we rely on the handout we get (or don't get) from Football Geelong or the AFL?

I'm sure there'll be attitudes such as 'why should we put money into other grounds for little or no return?' but, if we don't we may not have enough grounds to support a season.

What do you all think?

It all depends really... I have heard that Lara and Geelong West have said that they aren't going to share their profits from the gate, canteen, bar etc with the other clubs who play there, even if they are named as the 'home team'. On the other hand, Colac have said that every second week they will share their profits with both home and away sides.

If this is the situation, then I'm sure West will be able to afford the watering program that they have in mind. Maybe even ask for more money from their past players....

What do you all think?

i herd today that the shire has picked out the grounds to get for footy this year and they will be starting to water them next week

It all depends really... I have heard that Lara and Geelong West have said that they aren't going to share their profits from the gate, canteen, bar etc with the other clubs who play there, even if they are named as the 'home team'. On the other hand, Colac have said that every second week they will share their profits with both home and away sides.

If this is the situation, then I'm sure West will be able to afford the watering program that they have in mind. Maybe even ask for more money from their past players....
This might be a good starting point for negotiations with other clubs, depending on how much other clubs are prepared to put in , they can work what they can get back in return,( Bar, Gate and canteen). It puts West Lara and Colac in a strong position.
This is going to a strong point with all clubs because all clubs rely on those Three things to keep them afloat

or even ask some of their current players with the amount some of them are getting paid...

This might be a good starting point for negotiations with other clubs, depending on how much other clubs are prepared to put in , they can work what they can get back in return,( Bar, Gate and canteen). It puts West Lara and Colac in a strong position.
This is going to a strong point with all clubs because all clubs rely on those Three things to keep them afloat

if lara, west and colac want all the gate, bar and canteen takings there will be no gfl this year everyone has to work together for it to survive. i hear the shire gave the gdfl 2 grounds in geelong to use the bfl and gfl have 4 grounds between them to use, all these grounds are in the city of greater geelong so this does not include colac anglesea modewarre winch werribee etc there all different councils so the gdfl might be alright as they have 4 grounds in different shires so they should have a few grounds to use

If clubs that cant use there ground and need to share others want to earn gate,bar, canteen, money etc they should have to contribute to the costs. Water tanks are expensive i heard from a mate that west were trying to get together with Joeys and Newtown to cover the expenses and share west oval but both refused, so why would they give them the takings when the initial cost could be up to 40 grand.

Everyone needs to work together and sometimes you need to spend money to earn money.

Another aspect I forgot to mention is sponsership. The only sponsership that clubs can provide (other then Lara, Colac and West) would be via the jumper. Sponserhip, along with the other income, would also need to be negotiated. Otherwise, expect Lara, Colac and West to be the powerhouses in the league in the next coming years.

Interesting to see photos of Geelong West training in todays paper. I noticed Alister Woods from Bannockburn was in one of the photos! Also, St. Marys looked a bit light on in their photos. I would think they would have many at VFL and Falcons like other clubs going around.

St. Mary's wont make top 5 this year at this rate. I see they have lost a few more players including Blair Tournier who is returning to Modda, 2005 B and F winner Steven Cox is playing in the Goulban Valley league for Maroopna and Nick Bye has returned due to his move to Melbourne falling through but St. Mary's have told him that he will be on basic match payments.

Not looking good.