Lodden Valley Football League Part 2

Elmore Football Club champion Ryan Hayes fights for life after attack at Bendigo's Newmarket Hotel
Mark Buttler From: Herald Sun October 12, 2009 12:01AM 55 commentsIncrease Text SizeDecrease Text SizePrintEmail Share
Add to DiggAdd to del.icio.usAdd to FacebookAdd to KwoffAdd to MyspaceAdd to NewsvineWhat are these?UPDATE 3.28pm: A STAR country footballer remains in a critical condition in hospital after his attempts to stop a pub bully ended with a king-hit.

Prolific goal-kicker Ryan Hayes is known as one of the Bendigo area’s top footballers, once kicking 26 goals in a match for his home town of Elmore.

Hayes, 23, was out at Bendigo’s Newmarket Hotel on the weekend when he allegedly saw another customer being verbally abused by a bigger man.

Good luck to the big fella on pulling through this one. Must have been from behind because I have seen Ryan blue a few times and he looked like he was pretty good at it. Not much weaker than getting king hit from behind.

Few whispers I've heard:

Shannon Milward has been offered an 'open cheque book' at Newbridge
Couldn't see it happening personally but keep hearing it.

Lee Coghlan being offered big money to return 'home' to Bridgy.
Could happen, especially if they get brother Jon back. Depends on whether he even stays in Bendigo and how far he wants to take his footy.

YCW looking to load up on recruits; spoken to up to 5 Square players (Jason Limbrick the only name at this stage) as well young South 2's players Kyle Morcombe and Pat Howard.
Until names are mentioned it's hard to say. I'm already on record saying I think quite a few of South's players will be raided. Morcombe will be chased by Serp again too.

Any thoughts or things to add??

Wrong Milward and no open cheque book, but you got the Newbridge bit right.

Few whispers I've heard:

Lee Coghlan being offered big money to return 'home' to Bridgy.
Could happen, especially if they get brother Jon back. Depends on whether he even stays in Bendigo and how far he wants to take his footy.

I know a lot of crap is posted on BF, but this is taking speculation to the next level! ha ha...:D

Why would a kid who wins a Mickey at 18, drop back 2 levels of footy the very next season? Even if it is for his home town and a heap of cash?

Jono has unfinished business at the Dragons after his knee reco, so I'd tip him to stay put. Lee really really wants to play with Jono, so he might stay as well .... but only if he's not rookie-listed or drafted given how light on for talent this years AFL draft is!!

He's a top kid with a very level head on his shoulders, so let's leave the decision up to him... I'll always support a kid wanting to play at the highest level he can.

Bridgey is a great family club and he might end up back there again eventually, but definately not in 2010.

I know a lot of crap is posted on BF, but this is taking speculation to the next level! ha ha...:D

Why would a kid who wins a Mickey at 18, drop back 2 levels of footy the very next season? Even if it is for his home town and a heap of cash?

Jono has unfinished business at the Dragons after his knee reco, so I'd tip him to stay put. Lee really really wants to play with Jono, so he might stay as well .... but only if he's not rookie-listed or drafted given how light on for talent this years AFL draft is!!

He's a top kid with a very level head on his shoulders, so let's leave the decision up to him... I'll always support a kid wanting to play at the highest level he can.

Bridgey is a great family club and he might end up back there again eventually, but definately not in 2010.

Yes Ken, would have to agree. As much as I would love to see L-roy playing for the mean machine, I feel he has much more to offer at a higher level. He would be doing himself a disservice! Maybe by 2015, he might be able to come 'home'.

As I said, whispers that I have been hearing. I said that he has been offered money to return and you would be a brave man to deny that there has been some sort of offer made to Lee by Bridgy. Also note my use of the word could which was followed by my opinion.

I followed the rumour up by saying a lot depends on what his ambitions are at higher levels, which allowed for much of what you said in your post.

My intention with the 'whisper' post was to generate some banter and get some talk going on the LVFL forum. Just reporting what I've on more then one occasion, nothing more, nothing less :thumbsu:

I think it's fair to say I wouldn't be the first or last poster to relay a rumour / speculate on BF :eek:

will be interesting to see what new players will be at there training, they seem to be talked alot on here lately so im guessing there doing something right....
anyone know any certainties that are moving sides ?? not speculatives.

Chopper Connely back to YCW! Gee i'd give a foot to play on him!:D

Which one dennis? Your left...your right? The one thats constantly in your mouth???

Bit harsh on Chopper...he has played some pretty good footy and sure YCW would love to have him back. Very dangerous near goals. But with the Hillies set to sign a heap for 2010 from reports, I reckon he'd be more a chance to stick around there for 12 more months.

Which one dennis? Your left...your right? The one thats constantly in your mouth???

Bit harsh on Chopper...he has played some pretty good footy and sure YCW would love to have him back. Very dangerous near goals. But with the Hillies set to sign a heap for 2010 from reports, I reckon he'd be more a chance to stick around there for 12 more months.

Over rated girl who is so far up himself he tastes his own fart. Never been a good player and a poor bloke to boot. An YES, I have and would say it again to him over and over again. Not that he comes near me anyway, he snakes around the wall when I'm around and seems to disappear:thumbsdown:

:eek::eek: been a better football than you ever were . :footy:
Over rated girl who is so far up himself he tastes his own fart. Never been a good player and a poor bloke to boot. An YES, I have and would say it again to him over and over again. Not that he comes near me anyway, he snakes around the wall when I'm around and seems to disappear:thumbsdown:

haha you make me laugh. you really sound like a footballer!!! i'd love to take you on. Cat got your tongue yet???? i sound as tough as you now :D:thumbsu:. talk to me when you play in a decent comp:thumbsu:

Nah...youve lost me on this one cheese dick.
Chopper is one of the least arrogant blokes getting around, unlike your good self who gets hard telling everyone how good you "used" to be back in the day.
Im sure Chop would be gutted you dont rate him as a bloke...wait, scratch that. Im pretty sure he couldnt give a flying f%#k mate. Talk some footy, not snipe blokes from behind the safety of an alias and keyboard. C

Nah...youve lost me on this one cheese dick.
Chopper is one of the least arrogant blokes getting around, unlike your good self who gets hard telling everyone how good you "used" to be back in the day.
Im sure Chop would be gutted you dont rate him as a bloke...wait, scratch that. Im pretty sure he couldnt give a flying f%#k mate. Talk some footy, not snipe blokes from behind the safety of an alias and keyboard. C

Riteo lads lets get back to talking footy. Who else is on the radar for YCW??

think dennis cheese miight wont to play for yc so he/she could play with a gun player like chop:D

You boys make me sick. No wonder LVFL is where it is on the country football map. Fancy talking Chopper up:thumbsdown: Poor old YCW going backwards obviously. I'v not once talked myself up, but when it comes to Chopper he makes me look like a superstar - even in retirement:D

Any work getting done at Westpac Bendigo - cheese???