Lucky and Unlucky AA Selections

anyone else think its a shame that a player richo has only played in something like 1 final......and to keep on the thread.....pav was lucky...i thought selecting riewoldt, richo, buddy and fev had pavs position covered.

who I thought was unlucky: robert murphy, ryan o keefe

You cant win a premiership until you recruit a FF or CHF

and while hawthorn & geelong are in there you wont
murphy is our chf maybe even hahn
got FF in draft last year had OP which hampered his season
your right u wont be up there in near future richo gone in 2-3 years
forward line suspect deledio, riewoldt only good players in future
young jack good but not that good to hold your forward line

murphy is our chf maybe even hahn
got FF in draft last year had OP which hampered his season
your right u wont be up there in near future richo gone in 2-3 years
forward line suspect deledio, riewoldt only good players in future
young jack good but not that good to hold your forward line

Young Cleve hughes, Mitch Morton, Angus Graham and Alex Rance

Lucky: Judd and Harley(in more ways than one!)
Unlucky: Ling, Mitchell, Hudghton/Rutten/Croad

Extraordinary how much the media and footy world at large are bowing to the 2 lucky ones above.

People hang it on Harley unmercifully for being named in the side playing the role he does. Sam Fisher plays the exact same role, and whilst I am not implying he is not a great footballer and shouldn't be in the side, he pads his stats by rarely having to worry about serious accountability, and yet he is lauded by all. Why? Tall- poppy syndrome perhaps? Both deserved their spots, and if you hang it on one, hang it on the other.
Fisher and Harley are not comparable. Fisher is an infinitely better rebound player and has played on and beaten better opponents such as fellow All-Australian's Pavlich and Medhurst.

People hang it on Harley unmercifully for being named in the side playing the role he does. Sam Fisher plays the exact same role, and whilst I am not implying he is not a great footballer and shouldn't be in the side, he pads his stats by rarely having to worry about serious accountability, and yet he is lauded by all. Why? Tall- poppy syndrome perhaps? Both deserved their spots, and if you hang it on one, hang it on the other.

Fisher is twice as good as Harley at Setting up plays from the Half-Back line but he also plays on a man every now and then (Killed Medhurst last week, Pavlich etc).

Harley never plays on an opponent, just fills space.

I thought the 18 was pretty spot on a couple of lucky and unlucky players though. I though Harley was very lucky to make the side, and that Mitchell was very unlucky.

My change would have been:

Morris ... Scarlett ... Fisher
Enright ... Bock ... Hodge
Bartel ... Corey ... Richardson
Harvey ... Reiwoldt ... Johnson
Medhurst ... Franklin ... Fevola
Cox ... Ablett ... Mitchell

Sandilands ... Judd ... Pavlich ... Cooney

Bold are the changes.

Also i reckon that if there is really no stand out second ruckman, that they should not even worry about putting two ruckmen in the side, and put someone more deserving.

that teams about spot on i reckon:thumbsu:

competely different if fish had to play on a gun full forward he could and break even with them.where as harley could not harley is a great reader of the play i giv him that but its his mids doing alot of the job.if they werent so good do u think he would take so many marks?? and fisher u can compare him to sought of like a quarterback role sets up and delivers.

If the team was picked on the basis that it should function well as a team (ie a good balance of short/tall forwards, inside/outside mids), instead of just the best players in each position, then Petrie should have been in defintely. He would be the ideal second ruckman as he can fill it at other places all over the ground aswell.

There's a lot of Judd hate but he gets a lot of his own ball (231). The most in the AFL, he made the other Carlton mids look a lot better.

a couple of games i can recall Judd really pulled Carlton out of a hole. he was outstanding in the last qtr against Port. (i remember it because Steven Williams was raving about it)

people expect miracles, but he did a lot of inside stuff. not flashy but effective.

Sandilands deserved his AA spot ahead of petrie and hille clearly the better ruck outa the 3.but cox is ina league of his own think he should win a brownlow 1 day but wont....

Fisher and Harley are not comparable. Fisher is an infinitely better rebound player and has played on and beaten better opponents such as fellow All-Australian's Pavlich and Medhurst.

Yes, me saying they play the exact same role was inaccurate, however essentially both are played on smaller or lesser forwards so as to be granted the freedom to peel off and control the back half in more of a "team" defensive role, Fisher so he can rebound, Harley so he can mark. So their roles are similar.

mate stop thinking about the past think towards now and the future u recruited crap tambling, oakley-nicholls and we have a prelim 2 lose on friday

Why is it always those with an unsuccessful past that always tell us not to look back. Isn't it our past deeds that define who we are today.

Don't get me wrong if my team had only 1 premiership and hadn't made a prelim final in something like a decade I would not want people talking about it, but thankfully we have been a touch more successful than that.

Yes, me saying they play the exact same role was inaccurate, however essentially both are played on smaller or lesser forwards so as to be granted the freedom to peel off and control the back half in more of a "team" defensive role, Fisher so he can rebound, Harley so he can mark. So their roles are similar.
The difference is Harley has spent probably the whole season in a pocket on a lesser opponents, whilst Goose's injury meant that Fisher has had to spend a large amount of his time as a key position defender. Fisher would have played >50% of his season on the 2nd best forwards, the beauty of him being that he is versatile enough to play on dangerous forwards as well as play a more rebounding role.

Lucky and Unlucky AA Selections