Roast Luke Meehan Departs Richmond

Should Richmond look for a big bucks, top tier replacement for Luke "The Punt Rd Slasher" Meehan?

• Yes. Club needs to be ruthless and "Pay the Price!".

• No. We should back in Meehan and gamble our aging stars bodies, potentially sacrificing 2024.

• No. replace with another el cheapo McGee with their online $29 P.T cert IV and cross our fingers.

• Undecided.

Results are only viewable after voting.

Louie hitting the KPI’s as by the end of the year all our team will be wiped out. Sad thing nobody from the top is saying a word.
A bit like the silence regarding the umpiring

Seems like standards across the whole club have dropped off. Fitness and conditioning just one aspect. CEO, coaches, players , not prepared to acknowledge the reality that we were becoming less competitive . This is what can happen to any organization that has success. Complacency. People not being prepared to question others . Yes it was a magnificent period and we owe all of those involved a huge debt .But it’s as though the club is passively floating towards oblivion.

Spot on is it a coincedence since Balme was demoted from the footy department we have seen the cracks because of poor management. Tim Livingston is now control of the footy department the bloke who was in no man's land prior to Balme coming.

I'm of an other opinion in regards to these sports injuries at RFC.
I'm thinking the new broom that swept through the Club...Coaching and assistant wise...made a wrong judgement call in regards to the over all fitness levels of the Club's players.
In their haste to raise the fitness levels they may just have miscalculated how the newer levels would affect an ageing and well worn group of ageing premiership stars.
Too many ageing stars just canna compete against the rising young stars of the AFL!
Left their best performances on the pre-season training tracks...
Ageing bodies and their legs are just being exposed espesh on dry sun baked grounds...and hot playing conditions.
Climate change is no joke!

I'm thinking the new broom that swept through the Club...Coaching and assistant wise...made a wrong judgement call in regards to the over all fitness levels of the Club's players.
In their haste to raise the fitness levels they may just have miscalculated how the newer levels would affect an ageing and well worn group of ageing premiership stars.
Too many ageing stars just canna compete against the rising young stars of the AFL!
Ageing bodies and their legs are just being exposed espesh on dry sun baked grounds...and hot playing conditions.
To a degree I agree. The problem is it's not only our veterans falling down our kids the same issue to. Take look at last season and this already. The other problem is the poor management already this season after 3 rounds Prestia , Hooper and now Dusty.

That does look bad...well it is bad...having 3 senior players out so early in the Season...
Fitness, rehab at the moment gives an impression of dis-organization..leadership...professionalism...quality feedback...player fitness maintainance...players re-injured...The RFC Bermuda Triangle of Re-Hab...

Under the same fitness regime the kids in Green, Campbell and Smith, etc. Kept having injuries that were 2-4 weeks that kept blowing out to being practically whole season. We'd see other clubs and bugalugs will miss 4-8 weeks and lo and behold they're back in just 2/3 weeks. Not to mention the Soldo clusterf@ck where he was deemed fit after long lay-off without easing him in. He plays 1 game. Then rested for 2 weeks..... which blew out to 11 weeks. Our fitness dept is a complete joke and any Tom, dick or Harry off the street could do better.

Spot on is it a coincedence since Balme was demoted from the footy department we have seen the cracks because of poor management. Tim Livingston is now control of the footy department the bloke who was in no man's land prior to Balme coming.

Blair and Tim have been effectively running the FD since 2019. Arguably earlier. Get your facts straight.
Balmey didn’t actually run anything. He was always the mentor, confidante, wise, calming influence. The other 2 did all the managing.

I don't pretend to know anything about physio/fitness but (lol) it appears to me that whatever Meehan does surrounding hamstrings may be extremely flawed.
Whether it's the wrong stretches, loading, prevention, limits... I have no idea..., but it appears I'm not the only one.
Not sure I agree with that

If you look at the injury’s across the entire league every single club has at least 1 hamstring injury it’s just the type of injury that is very common in our sport

Most clubs have over 2 with heaps having a lot of other soft tissue injuries like calves that we don’t have any of

https://www.afl.com.au/news/1099859

Wondered why this thread resurfaced…
Now I hear Korne was crapping on about it.
For a supporter base that knows he’s a flog it seems he gets his message in to the psychy.
Or maybe it's just due to the types of injuries to the list with about a dozen with between a month and a season away from returning which under Meehan you need to add another 4 weeks to the injury list

Or maybe it's due to players not playing on either VFL or AFL team but not appearing at all on the injury list ... Judson Clarke last week, Jacob Bauer before that, Cumberland this week

Or maybe it's the type of injuries are consistent with training loads .... last season there was half a dozen with foot stress reactions including fractures to Soldo, Lynch and Smith. This along with the pattern of calve (Broad & Dusty recently) and hamstring injuries are consistent with risks of training for explosive power.

For the record, I have a major in Exercise Physiology with a HD in Musculoskeletal Anatomy

But what do I know ... regardless of the cause it ain't good enough ... and don't get me started on the long term back injuries to players over 195 over the last two years

I hate Meehan. Ever since Burge left this hack has been mishandling conditioning and injuries. Our injury list will become like West Coast's if we keep this guy.

I don't pretend to know anything about physio/fitness but (lol) it appears to me that whatever Meehan does surrounding hamstrings may be extremely flawed.
Whether it's the wrong stretches, loading, prevention, limits... I have no idea..., but it appears I'm not the only one.
Hamstring issues go as far as how the person even sits at home. If they’re sitting like an idiot, that can cause all sorts of issues leading to tight muscles that then affect the hamstring. Everything is connected. I cringe when I see a player slouched down on a chair during games just knowing how they must be sitting at home on the couch

Blair and Tim have been effectively running the FD since 2019. Arguably earlier. Get your facts straight.
Balmey didn’t actually run anything. He was always the mentor, confidante, wise, calming influence. The other 2 did all the managing.
Load of bs that is get your facts right.

"RICHMOND has executed a coup of its own, poaching Neil Balme from Collingwood and installing the former Tiger as its new football manager."

He come end of 2016 and swept the place upside down because it was a mess.Balme was the face of the footy department until 2020 when he didn't go to the hub. Since he has been demoted our high standards have slipped bigtime.

How many reoccurrences are we having ?.That's telling you something right there about mismanagement. Something is dearly wrong.

Load of bs that is get your facts right.

"RICHMOND has executed a coup of its own, poaching Neil Balme from Collingwood and installing the former Tiger as its new football manager."

He come end of 2016 and swept the place upside down because it was a mess.Balme was the face of the footy department until 2020 when he didn't go to the hub. Since he has been demoted our high standards have slipped bigtime.
A lot happened in the Hub

Has been a lot of noise about this for a while.

I don't blame Meehan for Lynch's foot fracture, complicated recovery etc.

Even for Gibcus there was a post-operative infection and complications.

Lynch's latest hammy also appears to have been a footy/action incident less than a conditioning one.

But with so many soft tissue injuries stacking up you really need to wonder if this guy has NFI what he's doing...

Has been a lot of noise about this for a while.

I don't blame Meehan for Lynch's foot fracture, complicated recovery etc.

Even for Gibcus there was a post-operative infection and complications.

Lynch's latest hammy also appears to have been a footy/action incident less than a conditioning one.

But with so many soft tissue injuries stacking up you really need to wonder if this guy has NFI what he's doing...
Blue Mountains Sunset GIF by Sam Amidon