Lynden Dunn just kicked goal of the year

Pretty sure the coach would prefer him to have (not 'to of') grabbed the ball and shot out a handpass to a team-mate, if he didn't have time to kick it. Had he gathered the loose ball, even if he got tackled before he could dispose of it, he might have drawn a free (in the back, high contact), or at least force a ball-up, lock it in in the forward 50.

Really, it was a crap effort, the lowest-percentage option he could have chosen.

Maybe you should refrain from making such comments when you know so little. I spoke with Dean after the game and he said how pleased he was with the goal and that Lynden practices freaky things like that a fair bit at training so it's no fluke.

I was critical of Harvey when he used to do it

"Used to" my large white buttocks.

Honestly mate, if you think he's not been diving, I reckon you need to scrutinise him a bit more closely.

Rolling straight dice here, yeah... correct me if I'm wrong, but it does seem like you're carrying a certain bitter aftertaste about this, perhaps mainly because of the FK that followed it- but it was a legitimate free. Firrito lashed out.

Seems like there's a fair body of opinion from other clubs in agreement about the quality of Lynden's goal too...

Dunn can exaggerate things at times but Firrito definitely threw him to the ground by his jumper. Very dumb move by an experienced player. Dunn tried to suck him in and it worked wonders. I just wished he slotted the goal to really rub it in.
Yep, Spud got sucked in, I'm sure his coach would not have been happy.

Threw Dunn to the ground??? He grabbed his jumper then shoved him. Undisciplined, sure ; but don't kid yourself it wasn't a blatant dive. Unless Dunn weighs 45 kg, or Firrito is the strongest man in the AFL.

it's all about the rarity of the goal... the Pearce goal guaranteed you'll see one of those very week... not that amazing.

You see players dodge three opponents and then kick a goal from 40 out on a tough angle on the wrong side every week?

Maybe you should refrain from making such comments when you know so little. I spoke with Dean after the game and he said how pleased he was with the goal and that Lynden practices freaky things like that a fair bit at training so it's no fluke.
OK, I'll take it on face value that Bailey said what you claim he said.

In which case, I'll retract my comment to the effect that the coach would want his players to attack the footy and avoid the low-percentage option. I look forward to watching Dees forwards trying mid-air shots from 40 metres next year, and 99% of them going out on the full. :D

For example..................?

The play-acting by Harvey which caused Dunn to be reported against North in Round 17, 2008 sticks out more than anything.

Might not be the textbook definition of diving, but simulation, sure...

[YOUTUBE]KoNa8r-JhXo&e[/YOUTUBE]

Dunn gives Harvey a love tap and he plays it up like he's been belted. Dunn gets reported for nothing.

30 seconds later, Dunn elbows Harvey lightly in the chest, and Harvey holds his chin while looking at the umpire. Dunn gets reported for nothing a second time.

Personally, I reckon Dunny stored that away in the memory bank for later...

For example, the play-acting by Harvey which caused Dunn to be reported against North in Round 17, 2008.

[youtube]KoNa8r-JhXo&e[/youtube]

Dunn gives Harvey a love tap and Harvey goes down like a bag of spuds. Dunn gets reported for nothing.

30 seconds later, Dunn elbows Harvey lightly in the chest, and Harvey holds his chin while looking at the umpire. Dunn gets reported for nothing a second time.

Personally, I reckon Dunny stored that away in the memory bank for later...

Dunn couldn't compete with Harvey on footballing ability, whacked him in the guts and got caught. Shit effort from a shit footballer. Yes, Harvey played up the minimal contact on the second effort ; but as you and your mates pointed out re Spud on Dunn, it was undisciplined to get sucked in.

'Dunny'....how apt.

Yes, Harvey played up the minimal contact on the second effort ; but as you and your mates pointed out re Spud on Dunn, it was undisciplined to get sucked in.

If that episode is legitimate, so is this. Cuts both ways. And I'll bet Lynden had that incident in mind when he sucked in Firrito.

Shit effort from a shit footballer.

You're talking about the guy who racked up 16 kicks, 10 marks and 3 goals against North yesterday?

Not to mention that he's kicked 16 goals in his last 6 games.

Bloody hell, I'm not out to have a crack at you mate, truly, but this is sour grapes in extremis :eek:

If that episode is legitimate, so is this. Cuts both ways. And I'll bet Lynden had that incident in mind when he sucked in Firrito.

You're talking about the guy who racked up 16 kicks, 10 marks and 3 goals against North yesterday?

Bloody hell, I'm not out to have a crack at you mate, truly, but this is sour grapes in extremis :eek:

Mate, David Hale kicked 7 goals against the cats down at SS a few years ago, and Hale is absolute rubbish.

16 goals in 6 games is a good effort, but it doesn't mean he's any good.

I've already said, it was annoying that Spud got sucked in.

The way you were talking about Harvey supposedly diving, I thought you might have had some incident from this week in mind....apparently not.

I still reckon Dunn's a shit footballer, who's only getting talked up (by some) because he got the arsiest goal of the week. He got one free from diving yesterday, also tried a blatant dive in the first 1/4, which I'm pleased to say the ump didn't get conned by.

Melbourne has some very talented players on the list, I don't rate him among them. If he kicks 40+ in 2011, feel free to tell me i was wrong.

As for sour grapes..........:confused::confused:
I have nothing to be sour about, my team won. :)

a little bit off topic....i just ran into lynden dunn wearing an amazing green suit during mad monday celebrations outside crown! i knew who he was, but i didnt let on to him that i did.. i asked if he was celebrating mad monday to which he replied no.. i spoke to him for about 5 mins as he helped me and my firend get a taxi.. a real gentleman even as he lets his hair donw after a great season :) it must be noted his friend did not get in to crown because he was to intoxicated but lynden got let in. without kicking up a fuss he left without complaint!!

That honour goes to Ryan Cook. Looked straight out of the 80s on the VFL telecast.
100806_cook_2.jpg

Magnum!

Lynden Dunn just kicked goal of the year