Man U vs Chelsea

Gordo

Jan 11, 2002
West
Footscray, Chelsea, Socceroos
Interesting game this one. Last year at Trafford Chelsea creamed Man U 3-0, hoping for a repeat here.

However Man U are in form so honestly I think they might get up.

PREDICTION: United 2 Chelsea 1.

Hope I'm wrong though.

Thoughts?

Originally posted by Fansquad
Nice dive by Hasselbaink against Charlton hey Gordo?

reminded me of a certain striker at United. wouldn't you agree?

Haha yeah, RVN would've been proud of that one.

Just hope he doesnt con the ref into another spot kick tonight.

Good forst half by Chelsea, well worked goal for Gudjohnsen. But Cudicini, MATE!!!!! Poor effort, gifting the ball tp Beckham for the equaliser.

I'm optimistic for the 2nd half though.

C'MON CHELSEA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Been following it on Match Tracker, and the final score is - Man Utd 2 Chelsea 1. Good work on the guessology Gordo! Once again United score in injury time, and the scorer was none other than - Diegoal Forlan! Someone from Bigfooty who frequents the soccer board will be happy with this - Diego Forlan!

Bloody Forlan!!!!!!

Go back to the days when you couldnt get a goal if your life depended on it.

Well done to United, pretty lucky though you must admit.

How did Zola miss that chance??? Unbelievable.

United must be pretty confident though, scalps of Liverpool, Arsenal and Chelsea....but God, I'm gutted.

We didnt deserve that.

What a bloody ripper of a goal by Diegoal!!! Would of been pretty much the last play of the match and he delivered the goods again!!! Fast becoming my favourite player!

Very lucky result as i thought Chelsea had control of the game for much of the match...moreso in the first half tho.

Both sides had a few chances to win the match in the last half. Very entertaining last half. First there was Ruuds chance just before he went off - Cudicini...pretty much the save of the season. The only save that comes close in my opinion is Barthez's save in the last 5 minutes against Liverpool from Hamanns shot.
Then there was Lampard at the other end...who got a fair push in the back and should of really got a penalty.
Then Diegoal at the other end...which was going in and another fantastic save.
Then Keano....he really should of scored...there was a gap and he kicked it like a watermelon.
Then Zola at the other end...all he had to do was touch the ball really and it would of been a goal.
Then Diegoal with the fantastic goal at the end.

I thought Gudjohnsens goal was a ripper...such a fine touch on the ball.

I dunno what Cudicini was doing for Scholes goal...didnt even look up and kicked it straight to Beckham.

I thought we played pretty poor at times and i thought Chelsea owned our midfield. Scholes for the most part was pretty poor....as was Keano - who didnt really get into the game at all, even tho his touch resulted in Diegoals goal at the end. Beckham played reasonable. Phil Neville was reasonable. Giggs had one or two good runs but for hte main part was almost unsighted in the last half. Solskjaer was reasonable.

I thought Silvestre played a bloody poor game. He was deadset shocking. Brown and Rio were solid...as was Gary.

Ruuds had some good touches but couldnt get into the game.

Chelsea looked so dangerous in the first half...every time their midfield got the ball they looked dangerous and moved the ball forward pretty much with ease.

A bloody important win for Manchester tho. Talk about delight when Diegoal scored. I woke up both my parents.

Chelsea were definatly gallant in defeat tho. Probably deserved a draw.

Happy and relieved by the result - can't get to sleep right now (just got back from the Charles Dickens) due to the adrenaline still running through the system (90th minute winner and all).

It was a bit rough on Chelsea. Chelsea owned the first half, and we were very fortunate to go in on level terms. But I thought we had the better of the second half. With some of the shots we had on goal, we could (should?) have been 3-1 up, but then again, Chelsea could (should?) have snatched it at the end.

I think it's harsh to blame Cudicini for United's first goal - sure it was a sloppy clearance, but Barthez had a couple of ropey ones as well. You just have to wonder how Scholes managed to get a free header.

The two best players on the pitch were both in Chelsea's colours. Gudjohnsen gave us the run around and I shat myself everytime he had the ball. And Zola was fantastic - just an amazing player.

Originally posted by Dingster
Good signs though Shinners. At the start of the season we wouldn`t have got that result. To steal a win after a string of good results is what good teams have a habit of doing.

Yeah, very true. At the start of the year, Chelsea would have been able to keep United subdued and they probably would've have gone on to a comfortable win. Now it seems that United have a sniff and are looking to take control of matches, and of course, a little bit of luck has fallen our way. Interestingly, we had no width in the first half, and thus, we couldn't break open Chelsea's defence. But when Giggs came on, he took them on with his runs (his final ball still leaves a lot to be desired), but it forced open some gaps in the Chelsea defence and we finally started to get some shots on goal.

I still think that the Title is for Arsenal's to lose, but unlike the last two seasons where we wearn't able to win the big pressure games, this season we have done so with the scalps of Arsenal, Chelsea, and Liverpool.

Anyway, my black lining to the silver cloud is this. We've now conceded goals in our last four games against Sunderland, Portsmouth, West Bromwich Albion, and Chelsea. It could be argued that three of the goals conceded were due to some pretty sloppy play by United (Phil Neville not controlling the ball vs Chelsea, Rio's misplaced pass against West Brom, and Veron heading an own goal when Rio had it covered against Sunderland) rather than the opposition setting up play from the back half or from set plays. At least we've been able to fight back after trailing against Sunderland, Chelsea, and West Brom, but we don't want to be gifting too many easy goals to the opposition. Sooner or later, we'll get punished like last season against Middlesbrough - a soft goal conceded by Veron's lack of awareness with Boro then packing their defence to hold on for a 1-0 win which killed off our title hopes. We can't afford a repeat of that this season if we want to push, let alone beat, Arsenal for the Championship.

Originally posted by Diego Forlan
You reckon? Spurned two glorious chances, especially the last one. I think he thought he was offside otherwise that ball would've been in the back of the net.

He may have spurned those two chances, but he turned our defenders inside out and made some good passes that created chances for the Rent Boys.

It could also be pointed out that Zola, at 37 years old or whatever he is, had no right to pace and time his runs so well to get into those scoring positions in the first place.

Gudjohnsen was a threat indeed, can we sign him already.

After last night, the Rent Boys would be insane if they let go of him.

Man U vs Chelsea