March - Daily Punt

re: IAD - his two first up wins where earlier in his career and he has been reasonably well held in his last two first up efforts before improiving MASSIVELY second up both times.

In fact - take out the Cox Plate no show and his first up run has been the weakest of his campaign at his last 3 preps.
I can't argue with any of that, like any superstar he's not going to be at his best first up. But what he has this prep that he hasn't in others is an extra 200m, if you watch that first up prep in the memsie, he was checked and held up almost the entire straight. The prep before, he got back and what proved a leaders track and flew late for a 3-4 length fourth against Pierro and Rebel Dane. He also ran the quickest last 200m of the day. What else he has in his favour, is there is no Atlantic Jewel or Pierro and the fact Murray Baker has stated since he was a 2yo that 'we won't see the best of him until the autumn as a 4yr old.' Pretty good mail it's his last prep, and the target is obviously the Queen Elizabeth, but you'd think he'd be pretty wound for a race like this, it's a group 1, and connections would love to add this WFA race to his resume going to stud. Another thing to point out is that he's been training with another smart win in Atlante who raced last weekend in the wet at rosehill, was hard ridden a long way out and got a nose within Dissident (Reckon his form holds up, Zoustar, El Roca... Shamus Award ;). He clearly didn't appreciate the ground but still ran really well. IAD has been known to only train as good as the horse horse next to him, since they've picked this one up, you can bet he's training even that little bit better. I'm sorry that I'm rambling on, but there is just so much to like about this horse, and I don't declare many good things, but from all reports, and from Murray who is quite reserved in his opinion, this horse is flying and imo is a good thing, as he ticks all the boxes. $2 is an amazing price.

I can't argue with any of that, like any superstar he's not going to be at his best first up. But what he has this prep that he hasn't in others is an extra 200m, if you watch that first up prep in the memsie, he was checked and held up almost the entire straight. The prep before, he got back and what proved a leaders track and flew late for a 3-4 length fourth against Pierro and Rebel Dane. He also ran the quickest last 200m of the day. What else he has in his favour, is there is no Atlantic Jewel or Pierro and the fact Murray Baker has stated since he was a 2yo that 'we won't see the best of him until the autumn as a 4yr old.' Pretty good mail it's his last prep, and the target is obviously the Queen Elizabeth, but you'd think he'd be pretty wound for a race like this, it's a group 1, and connections would love to add this WFA race to his resume going to stud. Another thing to point out is that he's been training with another smart win in Atlante who raced last weekend in the wet at rosehill, was hard ridden a long way out and got a head within Dissident (Reckon his form holds up, Zoustar, El Roca... Shamus Award ;). He clearly didn't appreciate the ground but still ran really well. IAD has been known to only train as good as the horse horse next to him, since they've picked this one up, you can bet he's training even that little bit better. I'm sorry that I'm rambling on, but there is just so much to like about this horse, and I don't declare many good things, but from all reports, and from Murray who is quite reserved in his opinion, this horse is flying and imo is a good thing, as he ticks all the boxes. $2 is an amazing price.

another two i like a marcado in the race 3 and five all in the 4th at flemington on sat

A bloke at work who part owns Marcado said he's flying and aiming for the Sires in Sydney in a couple of weeks. I said so does that mean it wins this week, and usually he over describes how if this and that goes right they'll get up, but this time he had none of that, just said a confident yes. On that I've had a nibble today & in a couple of multis.

Beautiful that's what I like to hear just had a crack at it nothing to crazy 200 for the win into IAD and a smaller one into Lankan rupee

Fiorente raced a bit dour in his first up win. Will be better suited at Flemington but has a big question mark over the 2000.

How weak is the VRC Sires Produce - Is barely a Saturday class field.

Fiorente raced a bit dour in his first up win. Will be better suited at Flemington but has a big question mark over the 2000.

How weak is the VRC Sires Produce - Is barely a Saturday class field.

Has been trash for years - luckily All Too Hard's win will ensure it's Group 2 status remains for a while yet.

[quote="yaco55, post: 31964109, member: 45804"]Fiorente raced a bit dour in his first up win. Will be better suited at Flemington but has a big question mark over the 2000.

How weak is the VRC Sires Produce - Is barely a Saturday class field.[/quote]

Factually incorrect, ran the fastest last 200M split of any horse on the day, 3rd fastest last 400, 6th fastest last 600 and 7th fastest last 800M of the day.

His last 600M was almost 6 lengths above benchmark for an 1800M race at Caulfield, he was actually going about as fast as they do coming home in 1800M races but the fact that those in front went at a very lesuirely tempo made it appear that he was only grinding over them.

More speed here with Shamus and the Williams runners going forward, Fiorente is clearly the one to beat.

I wouldn't be scared of launching into IAD at the price. With his stud career beckoning they're not out to just give him a run. I'm with PureFooty, like Fiorente last week it looks very generous to me.

Certainly an air of confidence emanating from the Samaready camp as well. She meets key rivals LOTS worse at the weights, but I've never been big on weights/measures for sprints and geez, she might just be better than them. 2nd up last time went past Buffering like he was nailed to the fence. Unpretentious the blowout for mine.

I don't know why, and I know she won there as a 2yo, but SAMAREADY just doesn't give me the impression she is a straight track Flemington horse.
Absolutely, I sorta have the same feeling.

I know jocks are notoriously bad judges but the way Froggy's just hopped off Lankan Rupee (after a super impressive Oakleigh Plate win) and goes, "Yeah, well that was nice but I'll but riding the mare thanks..." makes me think she's just gonna jump out of the ground tomorrow. The salient point here is that we're getting a very backable price to find out, not launching into $2.50 or something.

I don't know why, and I know she won there as a 2yo, but SAMAREADY just doesn't give me the impression she is a straight track Flemington horse.

Agree. Lankan rupee to prove itself as an a grader with a win against good company here.

It's a dundeel wins this first up. Like pure footy said no pierro or Atlantic jewel to chase home in this race and wasn't disgraced first up in the spring when he hit the line well.

Australia cup I'm struggling with. Heart says fiorente wins but at $2.20 it's a bit short for my liking. Can't say I'm a fan of SA but if he jumps well and gets the sit in front he will prove very hard to run down. Pumped for a good days racing tomorrow

What is Sam Hyland on tonight. Jittering and couldn't even answer a question from Gattor. He is so nervous of off the planet but just struggling to make any sense of what he is saying. May need a "Hilton' rest I think.

trying a new way of betting this weekend instead of trying to bet everyrace only have a couple bets i think are standouts or good value

flemington

race 3 marcado

race 6 lankan rupee

race 7 fiorente

race 9 sistine demon

warwick farm

race 3 territory e/w

race 4 catkins

race 8 canny ballard

trying a new way of betting this weekend instead of trying to bet everyrace only have a couple bets i think are standouts or good value

flemington

race 3 marcado

race 6 lankan rupee

race 7 fiorente

race 9 sistine demon

warwick farm

race 3 territory e/w

race 4 catkins

race 8 canny ballard

Good Value??? the 4 in Melbourne are all current favourites on the tote, not sure how you can say they are good value

flemington

race 3 marcado

race 6 lankan rupee

race 7 fiorente

race 9 sistine demon

warwick farm

race 3 territory e/w

race 4 catkins

race 8 canny ballard

Good Value??? the 4 in Melbourne are all current favourites on the tote, not sure how you can say they are good value

standouts or good value mate the 4 in melb im pretty keen on

race 3 marcado $3.20
race 6 lankan rupee $5
race 7 fiorente $2.05
race 9 sistine demon $3.20

Anyone can cover themselves to say Standouts at less than eachway or good value without stipulating. Might as well say you like these 3 short priced favorites to win and 1 just under eachway.

they are not good value to me especially Sistene at $3.20...but good luck to you and your wallet

cheers

CC

March - Daily Punt