Mark Williams Comments Today

"Alan Scott - you were right !"
Actually he was wrong, he stated that Port wouldn't win a flag under Williams, they won it in 2004, so unless another coach took over that day, Scott was wrong.:p

Agreed. He knew he was going to get flamed for it, but he was still man enough to get up and apologize to his supporters.

Thumbs up for the gesture from me :thumbsu: . He knows that the performance was unacceptable, but at least he got there when no one expected them to.

I find it funny that Carlton fans are mocking the Power after the disgraceful actions of their club this year.

Disgraceful action's from Pt yest

Carlton are just happy making a profit at the moment.

I was talking today with a few guys about yesterday and I said "I'm glad we (Collingwood) didn't make the grand final if it meant being on the bad end of that"

And looking back, that loss will do more bad than good for Port.

The nerve from a St Kilda supporter to say that. St Kilda invented the word tanking :eek:

Then the AFL made it harder to tank in order to get the pick at the top, and Carlton still find a way to come up trumps

Others have tanked, but no where near the levels Carlton have taken it.

Were you hehehehehehe yesterday :D
Nah not yesterday, it was a hollow sort of day, but I did go "hehehehehehe" when Carlton started tanking again with heaps of games to go before the end of the year. ;)

Whatever

Record losing margin 119 pts hehehehe

But i did see Pt get smashed :D

Hopefully Demetriou goes ahead with his plan to institute a pregame parade for the two clubs aspiring to land the #1 next year after the interest sparked by the Bryce Gibbs and Matthew Kruezer Cups of the past 2 years.

Think you can threepeat? I have my doubts, the Dees might be a smoky next year.

Hopefully Demetriou goes ahead with his plan to institute a pregame parade for the two clubs aspiring to land the #1 next year after the interest sparked by the Bryce Gibbs and Matthew Kruezer Cups of the past 2 years.

Think you can threepeat? I have my doubts, the Dees might be a smoky next year.

Stop deflecting the issue, 119pts :eek:

I'd definitely rather not make it in the first place than lose like that... then again if I followed a team that hadn't made it in decades I'd probably feel differently.
the thing is, that decision is 100% based on hindsight. when you go into the prelim, you do all you can to win, every single time. no one would've thought port got hammered in the fashion they did, as big favourites as geelong were. so you can say 'id rather not make the grand final than get smashed like that', but it's a statement that is completely unchangeable as its said in hindsight.

Stop deflecting the issue, 119pts :eek:

Pointing out that as a supporter of Carlton you are in no position to gloat over the onfield shortcomings of other clubs is not a case of deflection.

The fact of the matter is, Port Adelaide's number of wins between June and September 2007 is equal to Carlton's for the whole of seasons 2005-07 inclusive.

But enjoy your fleeting moment of vicarious joy away from the reality that tanking for picks has torn the heart out of your club's once proud culture.

Personally, I think collingwood would rather going out in the prelims after a close game against geelong.. than getting smashed by 119 points.

I would rather keep our respect and go out in straight sets (close games).. than hold the record for the greatest loss in ~100 years of AFL/VFL grand finals. :cool:

Pointing out that as a supporter of Carlton you are in no position to gloat over the onfield shortcomings of other clubs is not a case of deflection.

The fact of the matter is, Port Adelaide's number of wins between June and September 2007 is equal to Carlton's for the whole of seasons 2005-07 inclusive.

But enjoy your fleeting moment of vicarious joy away from the reality that tanking for picks has torn the heart out of your club's once proud culture.

Keep deflecting the issue, You're proud culture disappeared within 2 hours of a violent tempest :D:D

you reckon the spur of losing a GF by a record margin isn't worth something in terms of motivation?

i realise melbourne 88 never bounced back but that was their 'peak' but with so much future in this port side they did much better making the big day than not, ridiculous to say a finish anywhere else was more valuable

Keep deflecting the issue, You're proud culture disappeared within 2 hours of violent tempest :D:D

Deflection huh .....

Would you have preferred to make the 8 or finish where you did ?

Mark Williams after the heavy loss yesterday tried to put a positive spin today '' We we're the envy of 14 clubs by making the GF '' Whatever mate.

He's right. They had a great year and achieved a lot when no one expected it.

They gave their fans hope and really put clubs like ours (Carlton), Richmond and Melbourne in the shade with their ability to work back through to a good list - how long has it taken us? Years and years (Bloody Pagan with his incessant recruiting of hacks).

Good on you Williams, great year.

I cant remember another coach individually congrsatulating the opposition players as Choco did after the game.

Showed a lot of class and dignity. The TV cameras didn't relay (mainly because TV directors are morons) but I got the impression Cam Mooney also consoled every Port player before getting amongst his team mates.

Mark Williams Comments Today