Autopsy Marsh Community Series - Game 2, 2020: Collingwood v St.Kilda

Clark has made serious progress since last year but he’s a slow starter. Looked like he had the hesitation back that lost him his spot at the start of 2019.

Not sure how some had him in their best. Did some nice things but was not up to speed at others

He’ll get better but I think it’ll take a few weeks

Doesn't that make 23 players then?

I think Phillips, Sinclair, Coffield, Paton definitely out. Then one of Battle/Kent/Butler with Carlisle Ross and Gresh in.

Will be tough decisions on a number of players.
Kent out for mine on today’s game.
Looking at how Howard plays I’m not sure we need Jake straight away unless north have 2 fit talls but Robbo and Wilko seemed to go OK.

Lets put some caveats on the performance.

It was pre-season.

Uhh, that's about it!

Winning form is good form. We were brilliant today. Started very sloppy but worked our way into the game and we were so physical around the contest, could tell the boys were really up for it today.

Long off half-back was immense.
Clark on the other side was superb.
Jones damaging.
Hill with 28 touches was probably best on ground.
Max King completely dominated the first half, it was so impressive seeing him go up and grab everything that went his way.

And to do all of this with a new group of players. A group that needs time to gel together. To go out there and beat a near full strength Collingwood side is very very exciting.

Our preparation for Round 1 cannot be any better. Full fit and healthy list, winning against good opposition.

So glad to see Robbo get three full games in too. He is going to be an absolutely massive upgrade to the back six. And how about Wilkie's one-on-one contest with De Goey? Hopefully he has another great year for us.

I'm choc full of excitement as you can probably tell! So happy for the boys, bank the wins, bank the confidence and keep the train moving along.

Well done Saints!
Premiership fav status initiated

yeah, i have no idea who you are.....and dont particularly care neither.

Maybe just 1 minute of checking before coming across as an aggressive dick

From the Pies - apparently we had a stacked team with no outs, more to play for and and happy to get that close to the Saints who had more to play for.
I was loving it how the commentators kept mentioning they were resting Pendlebury and Adams in the 2nd half without mentioning we didnt play 2 of our best in Ross and Gresh..

Nice to get your input Toxic
How’d the Maggie’s fare from your perspective?
As expected, we have no impacting tall Fwds (will happily take King off your hands😁)
Pendles and Tay playing 5 minutes certainly impacted.

We'll be a 5-10 team
Imho you'll be a 7-12 team

Purely depends on injuries

Maybe just 1 minute of checking before coming across as an aggressive dick

that involves effort....the type that i dont like

if you think thats being aggressive, then i suggest you head off over to your "safe space" and talk to someone about it over a chai latte or something, i dont care

Some saint fans can be mean.

but on another topic, do you see Cox in your best 22 this year?After watching today, I think he is a massive liability.

Cox is in our best 40, but he's 42nd

that involves effort....the type that i dont like

if you think thats being aggressive, then i suggest you head off over to your "safe space" and talk to someone about it over a chai latte or something, i dont care
Your going to look and continue to come across as a knob, but hey, each to there own

Liked: Everyone except Sinclair...

- Marshall got a hold of Grundy early.
- Battle on the wing
- Long off HBF was fantastic. Can use his evasiveness and ability to break lines and did so on many occasion. Almost every time he touched it he opened the game up.
- our willingness to open up the game through the centre and switch the angle of the footy was awesome. Makes us unpredictable which wasn’t the case under Cho.
- Max King could’ve/should’ve had 4
- Lonie is shaping as a Real impact player. I wrote him off years ago and man am I eating my words!
- Brad Hill can father my next child
- Wilkie... wow. This bloke isn’t going anywhere. He’d be first picked in the backline IMO
- Jack Steele can father my next child after Hill. ******* tough as nails and lead CPs were elite

Disliked:

- Not sure whether the boys were instructed to take it easy in the clinch but a few of our lads backed out of a hard ball. It’s a non negotiable for me. Jones (surprisingly), Hunter, Billings and Sinclair. Not good enough.
- I’m not sure whether I’ve got my wires crossed but seems Billings isn’t impacting games like he used to? Getting plenty of disposals but I barely notice him?!

Glad we got the win and looked good even without 2 of our best and no one injured!!
Yep. Sincs didn't do enough to keep a spot I reckon.

Mate you came in here throwing shade at people celebrating a win. What did you expect to happen?
I threw no shade bud, you know my posting history and love of the saints

Howard with a match-high 10 intercepts and also had 16 disposals, @100%!

Looks like being a big overall upgrade on Brown.

Taller, much faster and much better kick.

Good luck marking a high ball with him and Carlisle in the area!

Nice that he had a good game today - copped quite a lot of flack after Marsh1 - but I thought he largely did well against the Hawks except for a handful of diabolical kicks - and anyone can have a bad day (better to have it then than in a crunch game to make finals)

One player I forgot to mention that was hugely impressive today was Dougal Howard.

Wow, does he look great at full-back! He has a brilliant leap and ability to get to and impact contests (as well as intercept mark if required). His kicking was first class today (the Hawks game at Moorrabbin was likely rustiness).

He‘s got a bit of Luke Penny about him. Great in the contest and overhead, agile, good size and good by foot. A match for any forward in the competition. We haven’t had a genuine fullback with all of those attributes since Penny I reckon.

If in Howard we have a 10 year full-back locked and loaded, for the price we paid for him, forget Hill, this is the pick-up of our off-season.
Howard was impressive alright
Got crunched 3 times too

Wins a win. And what happens on your phone when you tyoe wins it auto corrects it to Winx.

Speaking of which Winx was awesome in the first half. Then seemed to struggle. Came to life in the 4th a bit.

There's so many question marks this game raises. Marshall and ryder were not effective fwd. Winx couldn't play a full game. Leaving membrey as the only tall.

Battle moved forward late and started to have some affect. I'd love to see him play a full season there.

Of the small lonie best performed. Gresh will come back in. Kent wasn't very good. Butler provided some pressure but that's about it. Its a pity Parker didn't play because I feel that pressure position could be his.

On the back line. Long was amazing. Geary ever reliable but didn't appear to really get going. Roberton back was awesome to see. Wilkie had some amazing moments. Paton provided some dash. Howard started off like last week but ended being extremely dominant down there. I'm probably alone here but I felt Clark although getting lots of it and using it will was a liability as a defender.

In the center felt Ryder was awesome in the ruck and partnered well with Marshall only downside was neither had an impact resting forward. Steele got better as the game went on. Hanners had moments but appeared to be easing into it. Dunstan I felt is getting better at doing what he does concentrating on the inside stuff. Jones had some good moments and provides some dash at times. But the big plus is Hill I felt like Hanners he was easing into it but his disposal was absolutely crisp at times. Billings was Billings nothing absolutely amazing though. Ross will come back into the side.

The disappointments. Sinclair and Battle. Sinclair was his game just so far off what we know he is capable of. Battle because he's been messed around all pre season and played on the wing when he's clearly capable down back and up forward.

Was good experience down there , good to win but still lot to work on particularly the bombs into Forward 50
actually Very Very happy with ruck combination ....thought Battle had great impact myself last quarter.
Paton needs to lower the height of forward 50 kicks too many bombs at times ,thought our work rate very good around the stoppages Jones , Hannebery , Dunstan featuring although he hacked the ball forward when better
options were there with more composure , should be feeding the ball to Hill at every opportunity.

Thought back 6 with Long , Wilkie , Roberton , Howard , Coffield , Clark looks good future combination going
forward...with Marsh ....

Sorry to interrupt Rizz's unsociableness, but it's worth pointing out that we kept them to 4 marks inside 50! (Had 14 ourselves).
You had a King
We had a dick

Not shock unfortunately 4 me

We also rested players after half time (or time managed).

Apart from Treloar who else do they bring on to their best 22? Not too many.
adams and pendlebury each played less than 50% game time. but other than that no idea.

Patto will be a player.
Patton was excellent, but might be unlucky its hard enough to fit Carlisle in.

You had a King
We had a dick

Not shock unfortunately 4 me
Was a bit surprised you guys didn't go hard at Bruce last offseason. Would have been even more ideal for you guys than he'll be for WB.

Having to rely on Reid staying fit isn't exactly ideal.

Autopsy Marsh Community Series - Game 2, 2020: Collingwood v St.Kilda