Maryborough Castlemaine District FL

From what I have heard Talbot will be even stronger next year. A big chance of picking up some good recruits, and should not lose anyone. Drew Bartram, a North Central rep player and past Redan player is a strong chance of being signed. He would fit in nicely into their centre brigade.

Hi all,first of all GO CATS ,and about bloody tim too!
Interesting alot of talk on here about J mac,and players following him from Natte,a reliable source out that way said to me that the players that Natte may lose will be because of the uni guys from Ballarat way taking job placements and NOT anything to do with following J mac anywhere,and that they may not lose many at all.Maybe a few rumours that are floating around have been started by Macca in the first place?
Another source out Maldon way let it slip to me that Lochie Brown a big chance to play there, along with a few other Maine boys,but maybe this is old news to some.Finally another contact( i have more sources than a footy canteen:D) tells me that a local club in Maryborough may be on to a huge recruit from down that way,no names though so i wonder if anyone has any ideas.Anyway ,cats won,I'm a happy man!!:eek:

Glacier-big ,cold ,moves very slowly

From what i've scene dunolly have got everything into line out there except for the onfeild success of the senior grades of football. While it is a big task for any coach to come into and build into a successfull team, it is not as bad a situation as it may look. J-Mac has everything needed to get on feild success and the 10+ players who look likely to sign next year are all quality and would give the club the biggest chance at sucess they have had since they went down to avoca 10 years ago. Also i think you'd find that if/once Jmac and a few key players sign alot more will jump on board because they will see that dunolly is getting back to the great football and social club it once was.:thumbsu:

Well looks bad from outside and they have been down for a while and not looking like getting better..... I'd be amazed if they can get themselves into finals next yr! We shall see...

Righto I'll have a crack don't know much on whats going on tho.

League odds!

MCDFL $2.80
BFL $2.40
CHFL $6
Any other league $3.20

Team odds!
Any other team $3
Dunolly $4.50
East Point $6.50
Talbot $7.50
Melton $11
Royal Park $15
Maryborough Magpies $21
Natte Bealiba $21

I would be investing heavily into any other league/any other team.:DHeavily.

Interesting alot of talk on here about J mac,and players following him from Natte,a reliable source out that way said to me that the players that Natte may lose will be because of the uni guys from Ballarat way taking job placements and NOT anything to do with following J mac anywhere,and that they may not lose many at all.Maybe a few rumours that are floating around have been started by Macca in the first place?:eek:

Just got the record out from the Grandfinal day for the LPFL. Had a look at it and i thought i would highlight the players expected to leave Natte in bold. This may be due to retirement, relocation or J-Mac poaching them to go to another club.

1. Dan Brady
2. Kieran Robinson
3. James McNamee
4. Mathew Brady
6. Bradley Ross
7. Damien Larkin
8. Kean Steinkellner

9. Brent Mortlock
10. Jeremy Robinson
12. Shane Mortlock
15. Grant Burns
16. Daniel McNamee
18. Clinton Ross
19. Rhys Long

20. Lee Stewart
21. Noel Jacobs

21. Rod Zlomzak (Res.)
23. Steven Ross
24. Anthony Ross
25. Jamie Evans
26. Nathan McClellend
27. Nathan Ross
28. Brennan Wier
29. Jamie Andrews
30. James Oakley
31. Michael McNamee
32. Steven Quinn
33. Chris Zimmer
34. Sean Murdoch
35. Brendan Berlund
36. Leigh Berlund

37. Ashley McClellend
38. Josh Martin
41. Shane Jardine
42. Craig Grimes
49. Nial Cardillio
50. John Cameron
51. Michael Ramsay
52. Mathew Stiles
53. Nicholas Hawking
54. Cam Wakefield
57. Dale James

The 2008 coach would want to have some serious pulling power i'd imagine!

Just got the record out from the Grandfinal day for the LPFL. Had a look at it and i thought i would highlight the players expected to leave Natte in bold. This may be due to retirement, relocation or J-Mac poaching them to go to another club.

1. Dan Brady
2. Kieran Robinson
3. James McNamee
4. Mathew Brady
6. Bradley Ross
7. Damien Larkin
8. Kean Steinkellner
9. Brent Mortlock
10. Jeremy Robinson
12. Shane Mortlock
15. Grant Burns
16. Daniel McNamee
18. Clinton Ross
19. Rhys Long
20. Lee Stewart
21. Noel Jacobs
21. Rod Zlomzak (Res.)
23. Steven Ross
24. Anthony Ross
25. Jamie Evans
26. Nathan McClellend
27. Nathan Ross
28. Brennan Wier
29. Jamie Andrews
30. James Oakley
31. Michael McNamee
32. Steven Quinn
33. Chris Zimmer
34. Sean Murdoch
35. Brendan Berlund
36. Leigh Berlund
37. Ashley McClellend
38. Josh Martin
41. Shane Jardine
42. Craig Grimes
49. Nial Cardillio
50. John Cameron
51. Michael Ramsay
52. Mathew Stiles
53. Nicholas Hawking
54. Cam Wakefield
57. Dale James

The 2008 coach would want to have some serious pulling power i'd imagine!

From what i was told on the weekend, half to 3/4 of those names in bold type wont be going anywhere,and certainly not be following Macca,Natte will lose a few though but already have names in the pipeline,though i'm not familiar with them.Seems a few out that way are tired of such rumours and wonder where they are coming from,ex coach maybe?Not doing himself any favours if that is the case.Anyway,we will see soon enough.Would like to know if anyone else has better info on the subject.

Glacier-retreating:(

From what i was told on the weekend, half to 3/4 of those names in bold type wont be going anywhere,and certainly not be following Macca,Natte will lose a few though but already have names in the pipeline,though i'm not familiar with them.Seems a few out that way are tired of such rumours and wonder where they are coming from,ex coach maybe?Not doing himself any favours if that is the case.Anyway,we will see soon enough.Would like to know if anyone else has better info on the subject.

You've posted twice both times suggesting Macca might have started these rumours. You either know something or don't like him which is it? It is now the silly season so it's hard to know who will be going or coming.

who hasnt heard that natte will be in trouble next year everyone new 2007 was there last crack at a flag and were going to lose a haep of players. We all new this in june ya ******** glacier it shows how blind you yocals are out at natte

stick to what you do best right a letter and winge:D

I think that is a good appointment. Mortlock did nothing wrong this year and deserved a second year.

agree with that king rich, i think he did the most with the list he had, their height was their downfall IMO and the only height they really had in robinson and sanders left or got injured...would expect the brookers to be round the mark again next year as always.

just commenting on dunolly i too believe that they will need alot of work and effort to get them back in the top 5, they have a good list of young players but i dont believe that in one season they will be able to turn it all around, IMO it will be a 2-3 year process as trentham have found out this year. they have a lot of hardworking ppl at the club who im sure in time will be able to get the club as a whole football and netball back up the top. the netballers are leading the way ATM.

so far there have been alot of rumours flying around that has provided alot of discussion points on the forum, i suppose time will tell as to what eventuates but it is clearly going to be a positive for the league whatever happens as the standard and quality of players coming into the league seems to be improving and making it a better spectacle for the supporters.

1. Dan Brady (R: Dunolly)
2. Kieran Robinson (R: North Ballarat Rebels)
3. James McNamee (F: Too many to list)
4. Mathew Brady (F: Dunolly)
6. Bradley Ross (R: Rovers)
7. Damien Larkin
8. Kean Steinkellner
9. Brent Mortlock (R: Rovers or Brook)
10. Jeremy Robinson (R: Brook or Work)
12. Shane Mortlock
15. Grant Burns (Highest Bidder on Ebay:D)
16. Daniel McNamee (R: Dunolly)
18. Clinton Ross (F: Avoca)
19. Rhys Long
20. Lee Stewart (R: Maryborough)
21. Noel Jacobs (R: Retirement)
21. Rod Zlomzak (Highest Bidder on Ebay:D)
23. Steven Ross
24. Anthony Ross
25. Jamie Evans
26. Nathan McClellend
27. Nathan Ross
28. Brennan Wier
29. Jamie Andrews (R: Retirement)
30. James Oakley
31. Michael McNamee (R: Dunolly)
32. Steven Quinn
33. Chris Zimmer
34. Sean Murdoch
35. Brendan Berlund (R: Lakers)
36. Leigh Berlund (R: Lakers)
37. Ashley McClellend
38. Josh Martin
41. Shane Jardine (R: Retirement)
42. Craig Grimes
49. Nial Cardillio (Highest Bidder on Ebay:D)
50. John Cameron (Highest Bidder on Ebay:D)
51. Michael Ramsay (R: Carisbrook with Jeremy Robinson)
52. Mathew Stiles (R: Dunolly)
53. Nicholas Hawking (Highest Bidder on Ebay:D)
54. Cam Wakefield (Highest Bidder on Ebay:D)
57. Dale James

I don't know half these names but that's what happens when your twos are full of ring in's. I'll put a name next to the clubs I have heard the following associated with F= Fact R= Rumour.

Fact: Clubs will lose 5-10 every year. I could go through every Maryborough based team and give a list similar to the one above. A fair few of the players above are 2's players but they are depth.

I had a fair bit to do with a lot of the local playing group at Natte and they are all talking about next year and are very keen to give it another crack. The list i wrote up just highlighted that the incoming coach will need to have a possy of players that can fill the void of the 07 departures. Unfortunately it looks very ominous for Natte, the geographical positioning of the town will make it hard for them to recruit massive numbers required to be competitive. But thats football we all go through hard times and you need to stick at it and come out stronger on the other side as the Avoca Football Club has shown. I'd imagine that the talk of the mass exodus has come about from a number of logical reasons rather then one person starting apparent roumers. Blind Freddy could see that; Retirements, relocations and the coach going else where will have an impact on the list.

Getting things back to the MCDFL, i am expecting massive improvements in the league. So far i have heard these big names are likely to enter the league;
Locky Brown, Julian Field, Ian Martin, James McNamee, Clint Ladiges, Jimmy O'Brien, Brad Ross, Drew Bartram, Shane & Jason Hutchins and the pleasing thing is that it is only October. I'm personally expecting a massive improvement in the quality of the football next year and can't wait to get into it.

You've posted twice both times suggesting Macca might have started these rumours. You either know something or don't like him which is it? It is now the silly season so it's hard to know who will be going or coming.

Gday mate, no i have no opinion on Macca as a bloke one way or another,wonderful footballer though.As you say its silly season and i <like others wonder where the rumours start.Anyway, crickets nearly here!

who hasnt heard that natte will be in trouble next year everyone new 2007 was there last crack at a flag and were going to lose a haep of players. We all new this in june ya ******** glacier it shows how blind you yocals are out at natte

stick to what you do best right a letter and winge:D

As for you tool, i have no affiliation to the Natte club at all, other than know all the blokes who play there, so take your crap somewhere else.Have read you abusing people on other threads so if want a cyber scrap you ferret ,bring it.

blokes :confused:

ill give ya a time and a place if your keen spare the computer

Haha all my money on Kimbo thanks crank. Im willing to hold the event in my shed, gate price $7 entry + advocate. Byo alchol haha :D

Obviously it would be funny if I knew who it was!!!! Who are you glacier??

So who are the confirmed coaches in this league for 08??

Brook - Mortlock
Avoca - Bellenger
Maldon - Brown??
Talbot - Bench??

Any others confirmed??

Obviously it would be funny if I knew who it was!!!! Who are you glacier??

So who are the confirmed coaches in this league for 08??

Brook - Mortlock
Avoca - Bellenger
Maldon - Brown??
Talbot - Bench??

Any others confirmed??
Rovers - O'Shea
Campbell's Creek ????
The Maryborough Football Club is about to announce its coaching appointment for 2008 very soon. They met with the prospective candidate last week.

Rovers - O'Shea
Campbell's Creek ????
The Maryborough Football Club is about to announce its coaching appointment for 2008 very soon. They met with the prospective candidate last week.

Wonker, you'd better clear this up. It's been said all over town that Julian Field has signed on at Maryborough as coach for 2008. Any truth?

Not even the remotest chance. Julian wil play for either Avoca or Redan in 2008. At the moment I get the feeling that the chance of 3 premierships in a row at Redan might be a motivating factor for him next year. Julian was able to hold his form throughout the year and was once again a star during the final series. At the moment I would put the odds at 80-20 Redan's way. Julian is well aware of where the Avoca club is at present and as I have said before - he will know when the time is right to return to his home club.
The other thing that needs to be taken into consideration is that Julian runs a successful business that employs approx a dozen people. He has made it quite clear that he just hasn't the time, at this stage, to devote the many hours needed to coach.
Sure he has had all sorts of offers thrown at him from a number of clubs but he has stated categorically that Redan and Avoca are the only two clubs that are under cosideration.
This won't mean that Avoca will sit around and await his return as the club is in an excellent position to enjoy another great season during 2008. I know that the club won't be leaving a stone unturned in its endeavour to pursue further success next season.