Matchups vs Collingwood

Apr 21, 2008
Our biggest issue for Monday seems to be containing Collingwood's abundance of small forward/midfielders Thomas, Davis, Didak, Medhurst. They kick the bulk of their goals and Malthouse has added a new dimension this year by rotating them all through the midfield. Throw in Swan and Pendlebury, it’s looking scary. We should be able to contain rocca and cloke, but they're going to murder us.

The main issue won't be so much be our defensive match-up, but more so our midfielders being accountable when the goal kickers are playing through the midfield. The 4 named have been so damaging because they're all used through the midfield, then they stream forward, often without a player following them. But we don't want to fall into the trap of last week and worry too much about being accountable and not enough about the ball, but any of our midfielders opposed to these guys needs to be aware of them pushing towards the goals.

I'd suggest the following: Bartram on thomas, wherever he goes forward or midfield. Dunn on Pendlebury, if he's going to become a taller, run-with player then he needs to be able to stop the likes of this kid. McDonald on Swan, if we're any chance of winning we need to keep his possession to a minimum.

Bell will probably have to take Didak because he matches up better for height and Whelan to Davis. F#cked if i know who we're going to put on medhurst. Maybe give bruce a run with role on Didak and we can use Bell on Medhurst.

Just how many goals are we going to give away because they have a loose player forward when they are rotating between midfield and forward? This makes me think we'll again see Green in the new but quickly becoming familiar role floating across HB. When did he suddenly grow a pair of spuds? Loved his work lately.

And does anyone think we're a chance to play a defensive forward to curtail Heath Shaw's run from the backline? Not that stopping him seems to have a lot of impact, anyone who has him in their SC team knows he did F__ all last week and they still won by 100pts. And if we do this, it effective cuts us down to 4 forwards, as we'll have 7 in defence, so i hope we dont do this.

Good luck to the coaching staff figuring that one out.

Re: Match-up's vs Collingwood

Our biggest issue for Monday seems to be containing Collingwood's abundance of small forward/midfielders Thomas, Davis, Didak, Medhurst. They kick the bulk of their goals and Malthouse has added a new dimension this year by rotating them all through the midfield. Throw in Swan and Pendlebury, it’s looking scary. We should be able to contain rocca and cloke, but they're going to murder us.

The main issue won't be so much be our defensive match-up, but more so our midfielders being accountable when the goal kickers are playing through the midfield. The 4 named have been so damaging because they're all used through the midfield, then they stream forward, often without a player following them. But we don't want to fall into the trap of last week and worry too much about being accountable and not enough about the ball, but any of our midfielders opposed to these guys needs to be aware of them pushing towards the goals.

I'd suggest the following: Bartram on thomas, wherever he goes forward or midfield. Dunn on Pendlebury, if he's going to become a taller, run-with player then he needs to be able to stop the likes of this kid. McDonald on Swan, if we're any chance of winning we need to keep his possession to a minimum.

Bell will probably have to take Didak because he matches up better for height and Whelan to Davis. F#cked if i know who we're going to put on medhurst. Maybe give bruce a run with role on Didak and we can use Bell on Medhurst.

Just how many goals are we going to give away because they have a loose player forward when they are rotating between midfield and forward? This makes me think we'll again see Green in the new but quickly becoming familiar role floating across HB. When did he suddenly grow a pair of spuds? Loved his work lately.

And does anyone think we're a chance to play a defensive forward to curtail Heath Shaw's run from the backline? Not that stopping him seems to have a lot of impact, anyone who has him in their SC team knows he did F__ all last week and they still won by 100pts. And if we do this, it effective cuts us down to 4 forwards, as we'll have 7 in defence, so i hope we dont do this.

Good luck to the coaching staff figuring that one out.
That is a pretty good assesment of things. My worry is that Bartram may not keep up with Thomas but I suppose given he is our obvious tagger and did well on McLeod we have to give him first go. If ever there was a game where we needed Whelan it is this one.

You are spot on with how they use these little pricks too, midfield and forward. It won't be easy but we do have some great players of our own. What we really have to do is tackle the shit out of them.

As far as key match ups go I don't have much to add - as I said good analysis, all I will say is that if we have learnt anything, Collingwood are still susceptible to dynamic playing teams. Carlton beat the Pies because they kept play in the corridore and they were very hard for the Pies to match up with up forward. This I think is where we can hurt them, their defence has a good young work ethic but we need to be bold with our forward selections and stretch them a bit.

I don't think the Pies are still stuck to using the wings as much as they were at the start of the year, they have evolved a bit. Having said that I still reckon if we tackle shit out of them we will grow in confidence and we have some class players like Bruce and Green who will help both forward and back.

There is one thing we must get right though and that is hitouts/clearances. I think White will bounce back big time and PJ assumably will get the backup job. Whilst I prefer Jamar at hitouts I think PJ will go better than last week where he was up against King and Gardner.

Re: Match-up's vs Collingwood

Firstly I've said it before but I see no use in dropping men back, I don't think it helps you win games, that said at certain points in games I'd instruct Green to drop back off a wing. In terms of Collingwoods forward line I'd go with the following:

Rocca - Warnock
Cloke - Rivers if fit or Frawley
Medhurst - Garland
Didak - Bell
Davis - Whelan
Thomas/Pendlebury - Bartram/Dunn

If we are any chance we must smash them in the midfield so I'd load up on talent in there, with McLean (if not injured), Bruce, Green, McDonald, Jones and Moloney and try to get back to that clearance crazy team that played against the hawks. This of course requires the ruckmen to do something so I wouldn't bother them with playing forward, I'd instruct them to concentrate 100% of their efforts in the ruck and to get bloody physical (Jeff White).

Up forward I'd set up in pairs, Bate and Davey 50+ out, Miller and Wonna 30+ out and Holland and Yze from the goal square. With Sylvia on the bench capable of filling any of the small roles if needed. Bate can do his usual thing, hopefully Miller provides a target in the corridor and Holland gives a contest if Yze's lead is not good with Wonna running towards goals to crumb and using his superb ability to find space in the forward line.

We will need all players giving 100% this week, showing some hunger like against the Hawks would be nice.

Batram to Leon Davis. BT calls him the igniter, and thats exactly what he is. Needs to be given special attention ahead of the other 3 purely for this fact. I'd play wheatley on Medhurst, he is very good overhead, so we need a player with a bit bit of height to hopefully gain the edge. Bell to Didak, seems a logical matchup. Warnock to Rocca, Garland to Cloke, swapping depending on who plays deeper. I don't want to see Dunn as a run with player anymore. Gotta be put forward where he has played his best footy.

The ruck this week is where we need to strike. Jeff White needs to rip this game a new ass, somewthing that we haven't seen in a long long time. Collingwoods midfeild doesn't have any real standout, but collectively they are a strong unit, we need to apply a huge amount of pressure to be any sort of chance. A big haul of goals from Juice would help too.

I am hoping our line up looks like this

FB: Bell Holland Whelan

HB: Warnock Rivers Bartram

C: Mclean Jones Bruce

HF: Green Bate Garland

FF: Davey Miller Wonaeamirri

Foll: White McDonald Moloney

Int: PJ Frawley Sylvia Maric​

Holland down back because he always does a good number on Rocca, Yze in if Davey still injured as to Morton for Mclean. Maric to replace Robbo.

Going down to this with my best mate who is one eyed collingwood so would love the Dees to take home the 4 points. I hope someone gives some to Ben Johnson for what he done to Bell last year 2, pretty much, I wanna see some MONGREL in the boys!!!!!​

medhurst-garland
cloke-warnock
didak-bell
davis-davey
rocca-holland

thomas-buckley
pendlebury-mcdonald
burns-jones
swan-bruce
obree-mclean

i think they are some very good match ups in our favour, davey in the backline is a move i have always liked and now davis plays a bit up the ground at times it will still gve lash a chance to have a run in the mid-field.

Obviously where we are going to get goals from will be the key. Just cant see us kicking a winning score, a ot depends on how much mid-field ball we win i suppose.

Get ready for a shallacking of the highest proportions!
Since Neitz ,Robbo,and Davey are not there sorry guys but be happy if the pies only just beat you,but you are not playing well enough to beat us,plus the pies are now starting to put the pedal down,we are running into form and are not the same team we were say 4 weeks ago.
Pies by 120 points.
Last week we had 13 different goal kickers.
Your guys may nullify a couple of players but between just medhurst and didak both these gys will kick at least 5 each,then thomas,pendlebury,rocca (if he comes in).cloke,swan,davis,wellingham to name few who's gonna stop them?

First things first, Garland's more than 10cm taller than Medhurst, no way known he's going to line up on him!

I've heard too many conflicting things to know who's going to play on who...Dutchy to go for 3 in a row on Rocca? Garland to play up forward with Newton? I'll leave it until 2.10 monday to find out.

Only thing i will say though is that we can have the likes of Bell, Whelan (please be fit), Bartram, McDonald et al trying to stop their damaging small men but we can't just try to tag them all and leave it up to the likes of McLean, Jones & Moloney to win the ball...let's throw caution to the wind a bit and make winning the ball our primary objective. We sure as hell didn't do it last week and look where that got us.

First things first, Garland's more than 10cm taller than Medhurst, no way known he's going to line up on him!

I've heard too many conflicting things to know who's going to play on who...Dutchy to go for 3 in a row on Rocca? Garland to play up forward with Newton? I'll leave it until 2.10 monday to find out.
Medhurst is taller than Farmer who Garland did a good job on, his height is irrelevant. Garland has good closing speed and plays well on leading players, so I think he matches up pretty well on Medhurst especially when Bell and Whelan are needed for Didak and Davis.

Only thing i will say though is that we can have the likes of Bell, Whelan (please be fit), Bartram, McDonald et al trying to stop their damaging small men but we can't just try to tag them all and leave it up to the likes of McLean, Jones & Moloney to win the ball...let's throw caution to the wind a bit and make winning the ball our primary objective. We sure as hell didn't do it last week and look where that got us.

do you watch any football other than ur own team?

why is medhurst so good for his height? because he is so strong over head u fool!!! thats why u need someone who is talller than him and can keep up with him on a lead, and garland seems easily our best match up for him.

Fair point, i concede that, but when the ball hits the deck Garland needs to be damn tight on him to ensure all his efforts of spoiling don't go to waste. Good luck to him, i only hope they keep him in the one spot instead of switching him around ad nauseum like they're doing with Dunn.

Matchups vs Collingwood