GreyCrow
Make me an Admin!
- Mar 21, 2016
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
- Other Teams
- Sturt, White Sox
West Coast will go past us
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Could be a travel factor with WA v SA.He told west coast not interested in coaching at this time said it on sen weeks ago
On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app
West Coast will go past us
Those comments are what’s allowed Hinkley to coach for this long. Who else you gonna get. I tell you who Anyone.Im yet to see anybody give an alternative ? So we sack nicks for who ?another untried novice and then watch the melts on this board in 2 years to sack them
How is a winning percentage in the 20% over 5 years a one year blip?I always benchmark everything ....rookies, other team trends ....as you know, I watch every game of every round ....and then study stats extensively
It's certainly not the first time a very young team has hit a hurdle in developing .....even last year, the Club was talking about development not being linear
So the big question is .....is this an event or a trend ?
COLL missed the Finals after winning a flag ....they had just 2-3 key injuries ...but enough to unbalance them & remember COLL have one of the oldest and most experienced lists
CARL ....were easily making the top 4 for most of the year ....and only luck had them scrape into 8th spot
IMO supporters would be justified questioning Voss, given the quality & experience on his list
I could add another 3-4 teams .....so what makes the Crows season standout ?
Yep, we didn't get the start to the season correct .....missing Thilthorpe and Murray was huge ....playing Rankine fwd, with our midfield quality, being an issue .....but most on this board wanted Rankine fwd
Players being young & hearing from the Adelaide fishbowl media, Finals was a mere formality .....did get in front of themselves
But, you'll never convince me, that with such a young list, the injuries weren't going to be impactful .....our depth is to young to make any difference .....Edwards, Curtin, Dowling, Taylor ect, don't change team fortunes, they merely compliment a team
No 2-4 game player is going to make a difference to an outcome .....but then the fall-off of Laird & Smith was dramatic ....the injury to Milera consequently was huge, given the need by all teams for a distributor off HB
Rookie players games played in year 1 is fairly standardised across the industry, if you look at the history
Curtin - 4 games
Dowling - 8 games
Taylor - 6 games
Bond - 4 games
Our problem remains, as everyone can see, is the Midfield .....Crouch was **** for most of this year, with his handball crabbing and failing to use space in front of him .....however his last two games was the Crouch of late 2023, kicking V handball & fwd
Soligo, despite his obvious talent ...struggles to play every game at a high level, struggles defensively as a Mid ....but the kid is 21 YO ....and he shouldn't be the #1 or #2 mid for another 2 years
Taylor is a ripper, and I expect big things ....Nankervis another ...but I don't think people allow for these footy baby's at 20 - 21 yo ....they're a long way off being consitently good players
Finally, the Coach ....yeah every young Coach makes mistakes, but that's not the reason for the year .....he can only be judged on the list at his disposal ....and everyone acknowledges the list is thin, inconsistent, but developing
One year blip ....yep, people will accept ....2 years, nah, it's becoming a trend then
You need to read more. Loads of discussion on alternativesIm yet to see anybody give an alternative ? So we sack nicks for who ?another untried novice and then watch the melts on this board in 2 years to sack them
Im yet to see anybody give an alternative ? So we sack nicks for who ?another untried novice and then watch the melts on this board in 2 years to sack them
Shame on people for wanting to change things up, if something’s not working you don’t stand still waiting for something to change.Im yet to see anybody give an alternative ? So we sack nicks for who ?another untried novice and then watch the melts on this board in 2 years to sack them
He’s got his eyes on the tassie jobWhere did Buckley say he won't coach again?
Bottom line is we are going nowhere under Nicks & it's pointless continuing the charade.
Jealous
But if that makes players play better, why would they change it winning or losing.This is all well and good while they are winning. There would be very different story if they were losing.
This is all well and good while they are winning. There would be very different story if they were losing.
Because when you are losing but players are still happy and celebrating a goal, what does that say to supporters? ‘As long as they are happy is what’s important”. I’m telling you, when they start losing, the press will pounce.But if that makes players play better, why would they change it winning or losing.
Thats the stupid part from Nicks, if Josh thinks he plays better like that, who is nicks to tell him to rein it in?
Absolutely. The press pounced on Rachele, WE pounced on Rachele. That’s the difference between winners and losers.Based on what? Precedent lol?
A coach can clear that up pretty easily with his above statement about playing better when they celebrate.Because when you are losing but players are still happy and celebrating a goal, what does that say to supporters? ‘As long as they are happy is what’s important”. I’m telling you, when they start losing, the press will pounce.
We helped the press pounce on him with bloody Laird and nicks.Absolutely. The press pounced on Rachele, WE pounced on Rachele. That’s the difference between winners and losers.
It’s the same mentality that kept Rob in the side for so long.I actually don't understand this logic.
So we keep a mediocre coach at the club out of concern that we may end up with another mediocre coach?
Maybe if we were in Port's position I could understand the argument that there was an element of risk in a changing of the guard, but the reality is that we finished bottom 4 this year.
There's nothing to lose by replacing Nicks.
Why does it need to be an untried coach.Im yet to see anybody give an alternative ? So we sack nicks for who ?another untried novice and then watch the melts on this board in 2 years to sack them
Depends on the response and how its communicatedThis is all well and good while they are winning. There would be very different story if they were losing.