MCG unlikely to host finals in Week 1

They probably were banking on a poor year by Vic clubs.....looks like biting them on the arse big time.

Ill repeat myself,

Well, you're all wrong. Obviously FIFA has given them some permission. The match was originally meant to be played on June the 6th, in two days, but obviously there were AFL matches at the G the week prior, so they were always going to do that. It was the Argentinian federation that chose to cancel and now reschedule. That was never the worry, Im just saying to people who think itll be shipped to Telstra Dome/Stadium is an idiot

Voice of Reason.

Honestly if it wasn't argentina it would be a NON EVENT

Can you read? A few people in this thread have mentioned that it would be because the MCC have got permission from FIFA to have games at the same venue in the week piror.

Don't call people idiots when you can't even listen to what most of us are saying.

Mate, you have got to be one the biggest idiots on this board. This is forum on AFL. Piss on to the soccer forum if you want to talk soccer.

Can you read? A few people in this thread have mentioned that it would be because the MCC have got permission from FIFA to have games at the same venue in the week piror.

Don't call people idiots when you can't even listen to what most of us are saying.

Most of you are idiots. Just few need to be reminded every now and then

Are you an idiot? Read what I said numbnuts, both AFL and soccer will be played!!!!
I was simply stating that I wanted to read something official to confirm what the topic states.
Obviously you have a direct line to Sepp, along with knowledge of the MCC's contractual dealings and everything that you say should be taken as gospel.
Sorry to doubt your considerable knowledge of the two games and take a skeptical view.

I was simply stating that I wanted to read something official to confirm what the topic states.
Obviously you have a direct line to Sepp, along with knowledge of the MCC's contractual dealings and everything that you say should be taken as gospel.
Sorry to doubt your considerable knowledge of the two games and take a skeptical view.

Its ok, some of us make mistakes, try and be a better person next time

if sepp is the one making any changes, i reckon they should play the VFL finals and TAC cup finals as curtain raises and reinstall the cricket wicket square and then see if he accepts it

i reckon it is an anti-melbourne conspiracy led by FIFA, FFA, NSW government and the federal government to stop matches in Melbourne knowing that if finals were moved, most melb people whose teams were involved would kick up a stink so then they can play all soccer matches in sydney

if sepp is the one making any changes, i reckon they should play the VFL finals and TAC cup finals as curtain raises and reinstall the cricket wicket square and then see if he accepts it

i reckon it is an anti-melbourne conspiracy led by FIFA, FFA, NSW government and the federal government to stop matches in Melbourne knowing that if finals were moved, most melb people whose teams were involved would kick up a stink so then they can play all soccer matches in sydney

Paranoid much? 90k at the G might change that perception

The atmosphere is better at the soccer :D

it would be irrelevant

if hawthorn play say collingwood it would be at telstra dome because Australia Under 16 girls are playing Faroe Islands Round 16 girls in a practice match at the G and by contractual arrangments the matches can't be switched

Most of you are idiots. Just few need to be reminded every now and then

Why are they idiot's because they wanted the game moved? At the start of this thread the OP clearly stated that if the game was to be played on the MCG on a tuesday, then no other game including footy could be played at the MCG for the week prior, Now going on those facts one would be correct to assume that the soccer game should be moved because it is that game that is causing the problem.

I have no problem with the finals being there on the weekend then soccer there on the tuesday, what I have a problem with is you soccer people that are trying to tell us that the finals should be moved to the TD because fifa have some stupid ruling that disallows games to be played on the ground for a week prior, but then when we suggest that the soccer be moved and the footy stay at the MCG you act like we just killed your mother.

Yes I know this big rant was for nothin, because both games will be played at the MCG, no doubt about it, the MCC cant be that dumb.

Paranoid much? 90k at the G might change that perception

yes i am paranoid

i am sick of international organisations unelected by the people of this country telling us what to do (FIFA, UN, Greenpeace, international governments etc)

then again FIFA are good at telling people what to do after last weeks decision to ban matches at altitudes of 2500m asl beacuse a few teams had an advantage

There are idiots here who believe the MCC would forfeit possibly 3 AFL finals matches in the first round due to a soccer ruling saying no games can be played in the week prior??

LOL :p:D Ain't goin' to happen.

Why are they idiot's because they wanted the game moved? At the start of this thread the OP clearly stated that if the game was to be played on the MCG on a tuesday, then no other game including footy could be played at the MCG for the week prior, Now going on those facts one would be correct to assume that the soccer game should be moved because it is that game that is causing the problem.

I have no problem with the finals being there on the weekend then soccer therause fifa have some stupid ruling that disallows games to be ple on the tuesday, what I have a problem with is you soccer people that are trying to tell us that the finals should be moved to the TD becayed on the ground for a week prior, but then when we suggest that the soccer be moved and the footy stay at the MCG you act like we just killed your mother.

Yes I know this big rant was for nothin, because both games will be played at the MCG, no doubt about it, the MCC cant be that dumb.

Idiot, idiot, idiot. Neither game would be moved because FIFA have OBVIOUSLY given the MCC the option to have both the finals and the soccer. WHY? BECAUSE: AND PAY ATTENTION NOW. The original match was slated for 6th June, in 2 days, when there are AFL matches the week prior, as we saw on the weekend. If it wasnt a problem now....why would it be a problem in September??!?!!?

No one bloody said the AFL should move it to the TD, all i said was that there is no way the soccer will be moved anywhere, be it TD or Sydney or whatever

The MCG are unlikely to host any finals in the 1st week this year.

This is due to the Australia vs Argentina soccer match now to be played on Tuesday September 11 with a FIFA ruling that no sport is to be played at the venue in the week leading up to the game.

So, it looks like any finals in Melbourne will be played at the Telstra Dome in the 1st week of this years finals.

Meh, what FIFA doesn't know wont hurt them.

MCG unlikely to host finals in Week 1