McGinnity to be sanctioned for insulting a players mother

Word are words most of us on here have played sport and said and received some pretty brutal shit. Its part of all sport as its a way to get a mental advantage when you can't always win the physical one.
There probably is a line there somewhere but i don't think it really exists until their is a genuine threat meant with serious malice or seriousness.
Melbourne supporters have tried to say the comment was about rape. It may or may not have been but watching the video again and again i reckon if you had to guess you would go with "i f***** your mum" or im going to... your mum. Looking at mginnity's face he appears to be smiling whilst he's saying it suggesting there was no serious malice or intent aka just pure sledging which is part of most sport.
Just seems soft and i really wish i didn't go for ealges so i could be way more vocal without appearing bias on how soft the game is getting.

To me that's all part of the rich spice of the game. The football field is a domain for men, not the thin skinned. This applies mentally and physically.

Maybe I just don't get stimulted by thugs and foul-mouthed antics set to put an opponent off his game.
I'd sooner prefer to be stimulated by the players on-field ability and skill's do the talking.

The point is that once the AFL latch onto these type issues, they ride them pretty hard.
Trust me, you won't lose anything for players not chatting amongst themselves out on the park.

The point is that once the AFL latch onto these type issues, they ride them pretty hard.
He's been rubbed out for one week.

That's a slap on the wrist.

It's a token statement of disapproval without the AFL wanting to overreact.

Got it about right, I reckon.

Maybe I just don't get stimulted by thugs and foul-mouthed antics set to put an opponent off his game.
I'd sooner prefer to be stimulated by the players on-field ability and skill's do the talking.

Trust me, you won't lose anything for players not chatting amongst themselves out on the park.

You can't claim that last line with absolutely certainty.

If the AFL do try to eradicate "it" (they are yet to truly define what they're standing against), it will only be contained to the top level of the sport. Players don't come from the top down, it's the other way.

Sledging at amateur level will always exist, and people who play more learn how to do it appropriately. And for those who progress up the ladder, it will remain the status quo, until they reach the AFL. Then what? Are they told that bad words are naughty! Don't be mean! They have to set an example for every foul mouthed mother-****er in the grades below them?

Seems like a rather pointless exercise.

You can't claim that last line with absolutely certainty.

If the AFL do try to eradicate "it" (they are yet to truly define what they're standing against), it will only be contained to the top level of the sport. Players don't come from the top down, it's the other way.

Sledging at amateur level will always exist, and people who play more learn how to do it appropriately. And for those who progress up the ladder, it will remain the status quo, until they reach the AFL. Then what? Are they told that bad words are naughty! Don't be mean! They have to set an example for every foul mouthed mother-****er in the grades below them?

Seems like a rather pointless exercise.

No, you're absolutely right, but when you start to join the dots a picture is forming.

The AFL will make the rule and the clubs will be the ones having to educate and control their players.
No club wants to lose players after silly and unneccesary reports.

The die has been cast, so let's see what happens from here on in.

No, you're absolutely right, but when you start to join the dots a picture is forming.

The AFL will make the rule and the clubs will be the ones having to educate and control their players.
No club wants to lose players after silly and unneccesary reports.

The die has been cast, so let's see what happens from here on in.

If anyone else gets suspended for sledging of a non-racist variety, I'll eat my keyboard.

You can say that now, just as many had said about Nicky Winmar all those years ago and look how that ended up. :)

I don't think that's reaaaaally a fair comparison as a comment is either racist or it isn't. The issue with this sledge is that he said (apparently) he would RAPE his mother.

I don't think anyone could get suspended for saying something like "Lucky I'm playing tonight, your mum was getting pretty bloody tired"*

* not very good, just an example.

I don't think that's reaaaaally a fair comparison as a comment is either racist or it isn't. The issue with this sledge is that he said (apparently) he would RAPE his mother.

I don't think anyone could get suspended for saying something like "Lucky I'm playing tonight, your mum was getting pretty bloody tired"*

* not very good, just an example.

Let's just say that players may start to err on the side of caution.
That's what I see anyway.

Got to go.

Can anyone find any way the AFL can possibly be justified in coming down on McGinnity (even if he did make the rape comments), but completely ignoring the fact Petterd apparently threatened to kill Pat, which is just as bad if not worse?

if i was ricky petterd id be a little bit more concerned with directing my focus towards why i cant stay a regular in the team, why my team is getting hidings so bad that the coach left.

not sure this mcginnity thing should be his focus. if your playing footy and this stuff bothers you, you are a long way off the mental toughness needed to succeed in footy.

mcginnity is a player who gives 110% everytime he pulls the jumper on. has never been dropped for either effort or heart.

This is already a non-issue.

All parties concerned have moved on. It's not a good look, but it's been settled.

Continued abuse towards McGinnity or Petterd from football fans is just a manifestation of an immature, childish grudge, so very typical of BigFooty. And it's quite pathetic really

Let's contrast the two vilification cases.

On one hand you have Sherman racially vilifying an opponent which obviously was deeply upsetting to Joel Wilkinson. It was also important for the AFL distance itself as far as possible from the racist comments. Thus the sanction was justified.

On the other hand you have McGinnity saying a variant of "I r*ped your mother", I F***ed your mother". I think its safe to assume that McGinnity hasn't done either of these things and has no intention of doing so in the future. I would go as far as to say its a pretty farcical remark and one that really should be pretty easy to laugh off.

I would be very very surprised in Dunn was seriously hurt by this statement. I feel it falls outside the bounds of sexism, it really has nothing to do with attitudes towards women and everything to do with getting a rise out of Pettard.

So basically I see one very harmful statement - both to the person it was directed and potentially to the wider community - and one ridiculously OTT statement which was offensive but really quite trivial.

The sanction was ridiculous. Pettard should HTFU, as should the AFL and the Eagles should have backed McGinnity.

Freo supporters can convince themselves of anything...
You want to believe it so so bad...its something sinister. But you peel away the lies and all u have is a shite tattoo, and Nothing more.

wet toast supporters call to arms:eek:....... his manager makes me laugh, if I remember right he played about 10 games and as they say looked like tarzan played like jane

This is already a non-issue.

All parties concerned have moved on. It's not a good look, but it's been settled.

Continued abuse towards McGinnity or Petterd from football fans is just a manifestation of an immature, childish grudge, so very typical of BigFooty. And it's quite pathetic really

dead on! melbourne is a sooky club with sooky players.
Hopefully the next time that petterd plays (prob edfl) he'll learn what its really like to play with the big boys.

If footballers could play the game as well as they mouth off these days, the game would be better for it. There is way too much gobbing off out there, and I place the blame squarely on the lack of physicality in today's game (bumping, etc). I was able to play footy without needing to tell opponents about every mistake they make, etc. It's part of the game I don't like.

Well going against the grain here, but in light of what was allegedly said I applaud the Eagles for taking it seriously. Well done! No need for that kind of crap. But then again after reading this thread and many of its ilk Im just a girl and according to a lot of BF finest I should just shut up and man the pie warmer.

Society is going down the drain judging by many of the comments in this thread. The seemingly genuine dumbfoundness that what is the big deal with a comment of raping someone's mother is staggering.

I can't just imagine the reaction if the following happened.

Player X: I r*ped your daughter last night, filmed it and uploaded it on the Internet.

Half the people in this thread: Hahaha. That is a good one! That is a ripper of a sledge! Kudos and bravo to you!