McGinnity to be sanctioned for insulting a players mother

So the silver lining is that players will now be too scared to say something in fear of getting dobbed on, and the game will become nicer?

To me it's just yet another step in the direction of killing the game. The bump was dangerous. The tackle is dangerous. The sledge is dangerous. I'm certain that within a few years the smother will be outlawed when someone does a knee.

Tosh, the high marking will be there, the goals will have you out of your seat, the skills will be sublime and the game is already physically tougher than ever before. (Just ask the players)

So what are we going to lose? Foul language?
I can live with that, as I don't recall that being a necessary tool to play this great game of AFL football.

So do we remove our balls now orrr? people are so overly sensitive it's a joke.

I'm going to rape all you're mothers!

So now what happeneds? Does it upset you all? Or is it ok because you should obviously know that I'm not going to.
That's it, I'm dobbing!!!

Well put...guys like Pettard are ruining a great part of competitive sport which is sledging. I have heard just as bad things said in juniors and I didnt see the kids run crying to the umpire because his mummy got insulted. I think Pettard is the one that has to grow up.

You've heard just as bad things in juniors?! What a load of shit. I think if anyone heard a player in juniors threated to rape someone's family member that would be incredibly unacceptable.

WTF are you on about? Whose outrage has lessened? Who can understand the suspension?

You maybe but not me!

I was never outraged, as I assumed that if the action was taken it was more likely warranted than some unbelievable travesty and that most ridiculous of complaints: PC GONE MAD!!11

You might not think it's warranted, but there'll always be some. The AFL has a zero tolerance policy to disrespect towards women, and this is entirely consistent with that.

Most reasonable people have accepted that. If you don't, that's your issue. Maintain the rage!!

I dont think anyone is disputing that the sledge was inappropriate - but the media and punishment is over the top. Petterd threated to go to perth and kill him - McGinnity retaliated, and went a bit far.

You say this matter of factly, as if a response was warranted. :confused:

How mentally weak are footy players now a days??

Pretty weak, obviously, otherwise they wouldn't react to sledging.

Stay classy, Eagles fans :rolleyes:

Tosh, the high marking will be there, the goals will have you out of your seat, the skills will be sublime and the game is already physically tougher than ever before. (Just ask the players)

So what are we going to lose? Foul language?
I can live with that, as I don't recall that being a necessary tool to play this great game of AFL football.

Excellent post! The amount of hysteria exhibited by folk on these boards when the AFL clamps down on uncivilised on-field behaviour is pathetic.

You may enjoy such comments coming your way, yet some may not.
Are you going to ask someone whether it's O.K. to make such comments or are you going to err on the side of caution and common sense?

Think about it..

It's not whether you enjoy it or not, the fact is abusive language happeneds from a young age. You either fire abuse back, take it on the chin and laugh to yourself about it or you go running off to mummy and tell her how mean they are. Have a guess which one Pettard did.

It's sledging, you aren't gonna go and ask for permission to sledge or not do it incase you upset him. If people get offended by what I posted then they need some issues resolved. IF I had of said it and ment it then sure, it's a problem. So the question is did Mcginnity mean it? And did Pettard indeed intend to kill Mcginnity? I answer no.

It's as much of a part of our game as anything else. Players constantly sledge another player then at the end of the game they still go and shake each others hand. You put 36 competitive people on the field together and it happeneds.

Pretty weak, obviously, otherwise they wouldn't react to sledging.

ridiculous comment. Players these days have to be incredibly mentally tough, more so than ever. Keyboard heroes who dispute are fools. Players aren't robots. So what if Joe Blow copped a few sledges at his local cricket match. Joe blow then goes and drinks piss all arvo and doesn't think again about cricket until the next training session or game.

AFL players live and breathe footy, and the idea of some fat **** on a keyboard questioning their "mental toughness" based on this type of "evidence" is ludicrous :rolleyes:

Edit: not calling you a "fat ****" either, more generically :)

I saw Petterd on the news last night talking openly about how shocked he was by the comments...
This is trash talking son, fairly tame in subject matter too, get over it. You've just painted a massive target on your face for every other player in the comp now.

I saw Petterd on the news last night talking openly about how shocked he was by the comments...
This is trash talking son, fairly tame in subject matter too, get over it. You've just painted a massive target on your face for every other player in the comp now.

can't you accept some things are over the line? You might be ok with it, but most wouldn't be. If someone threatened to rape my mother I would ****ing flog them to within an inch of their life.

Just saw the Melb-West Coast replay and heard the Fox commentators questioning Cox's parentage as the game was winding down in the last minute. That was seriously unprofessional.

can't you accept some things are over the line? You might be ok with it, but most wouldn't be. If someone threatened to rape my mother I would ****ing flog them to within an inch of their life.

Yes, I would lose my shit if someone said this to me! Petterd had every right to highlight this rubbish talk. I mean, seriously, what kind of person says they'll rape someone's mum, not once, but twice? Stamp this rubbish out!

But why unless you took the threat seriously.. which was not the case here :confused:

Man some of the comments in here are ridiculous, and people clearly have no understanding of what took place.

McGinnity said something he shouldn't have while 2 umpires where standing within hearing distance. One umpire obviously thought it contravened the respect and responsibility code and so asked Petterd to confirm which player made the statement. Petterd complied, and worked with the investigation. He didn't run to the umpires to dob him in, he merely told them who it was.

And as for this shit about comparing the 'rape' and 'kill' comments-which, by the way, are not yet verified- it's not about which is worse, but about who the target was. If you sledge your opponent directly I'm sure nothing would've happened, but to bring in someone who has no involvement with the contest at all is just crude, particularly insinuating something as awful as rape.

Players would cop shit every week, taunts and sledges about their performance and ability, but you cross the line when you bring someone who has no involvement with game itself. McGinnity is obviously sorry, he said something terrible in the heat of the moment within an umpires hearing distance and got penalised for it.

If every opposition player gives it to Pettard - or at least the more likely to sledge players on each opposition team (say 3-4 players each side) - will the AFL fine and suspend all of them?

My guess is this just one of those examples/precedents set by the AFL that will keep things in order for a while, but then the same s**t will continue to happen after that and probably worse crap as well

Of course you would, as would I- but our lives are not in the context of a top level professional football game where I think we can all see that there is no actual intent or any kind of reality to these sorts of comments.
It happens all the time and Petterd has every right to take it to heart if he chooses to fall for it but I think the way he pursued it with the umpires isn't necessarily a brave act but one that betrays an unwritten code amongst footy players- what happens on the field should stay on the field. As mentioned if we are talking racial vilification or if there is a serious real life situation used as bait, all bets are off and a player should be punished but this- this is just silly stuff and Petterd has made McGinitty look like a monster. If it's true that Petterd started the verbal stuff by threatening to come to Perth to kill him then this is all the more ridiculous and completely hypocritical.

I agree that some things are over the line. In this instance however, I think that McGinnity would have realised pretty quickly that it was stepping over the mark without the need for the report to be made, go public, public apologies, etc...can still be left on the field.

Basically it was a crap sledge, but not malicious in nature I wouldn't have thought. Petterd should have told him what a ****head he was for saying that comment, then focused on getting a kick.

If the threat is not serious, ie: an actual threat he will carry out then he may as well say he is sending aliens to probe her.. it's just as ludicrous and has a similar chance of occurring

But why unless you took the threat seriously.. which was not the case here :confused:

because it's incredibly disrespectful. It's not a threat as such, it's just a vile thing to say. I ****ed your mum haha is one thing, but I'm going to rape your mother is entirely another, I think everyone would agree with that. It has nasty violent undertones and is beyond the pale.

Of course you would, as would I- but our lives are not in the context of a top level professional football game where I think we can all see that there is no actual intent or any kind of reality to these sorts of comments.
It happens all the time and Petterd has every right to take it to heart if he chooses to fall for it but I think the way he pursued it with the umpires isn't necessarily a brave act but one that betrays an unwritten code amongst footy players- what happens on the field should stay on the field. As mentioned if we are talking racial vilification or if there is a serious real life situation used as bait, all bets are off and a player should be punished but this- this is just silly stuff and Petterd has made McGinitty look like a monster. If it's true that Petterd started the verbal stuff by threatening to come to Perth to kill him then this is all the more ridiculous and completely hypocritical.

I agree that some things are over the line. In this instance however, I think that McGinnity would have realised pretty quickly that it was stepping over the mark without the need for the report to be made, go public, public apologies, etc...can still be left on the field.

Basically it was a crap sledge, but not malicious in nature I wouldn't have thought. Petterd should have told him what a ****head he was for saying that comment, then focused on getting a kick.

The umpires were right there and heard it. I don't know whether Petterd pursued it or not, but it doesn't matter.

Once it was heard by the umpires, they felt they had a responsibility to take it further, and the process and sanction is as I said earlier entirely consistent with the respect to women policy the AFL has.

I don't think it's fair in any way to blame Petterd for this being actioned the way it has tbh.

ridiculous comment. Players these days have to be incredibly mentally tough, more so than ever. Keyboard heroes who dispute are fools. Players aren't robots. So what if Joe Blow copped a few sledges at his local cricket match. Joe blow then goes and drinks piss all arvo and doesn't think again about cricket until the next training session or game.

AFL players live and breathe footy, and the idea of some fat **** on a keyboard questioning their "mental toughness" based on this type of "evidence" is ludicrous :rolleyes:

Edit: not calling you a "fat ****" either, more generically :)

Way to miss the point of my post Lance. I'm sure the west coast posters it was aimed at will thank you for jumping on the grenade. :rolleyes:

I don't think it's fair in any way to blame Petterd for this being actioned the way it has tbh.

Why the need for him to keep blabbing about it in the media then?
Just unnecessary. I think we all understand the situation. McGinnity has copped a week for it in a pretty unprecedented move, has apologized and moved on. No need to make a young player look like the devil here.

Threatening to rape someones mum says a lot about the person who said it.

Yep. And that's where it should end.

Looks like some WCE supporters have learnt nothing from their years as a disgrace and pariah of the AFL.

Instead of sharpening their moral compass they've just chiselled away at that chip on their shoulder.

"Carlton" and "moral compass" do not belong in the same sentence, unless separated by "have no". How do you think the McGinnity episode rates against e.g. the Culpitt case?

Two questions:

I agree of course that if he did go down the rape path it's deserving of a slap on the wrist now that it's been brought to public attention (which it shouldn't have), but has that actually been confirmed at all yet?

Also, when will Petterd's suspension and/or fine be announced for the alleged death threat? Or would that muddy the nice clear waters that the AFL have created here so everyone can see how much they respect women?

Way to miss the point of my post Lance. I'm sure the west coast posters it was aimed at will thank you for jumping on the grenade. :rolleyes:

sorry dude, whoosh :)

Why the need for him to keep blabbing about it in the media then?
Just unnecessary. I think we all understand the situation. McGinnity has copped a week for it in a pretty unprecedented move, has apologized and moved on. No need to make a young player look like the devil here.

My understanding is he's been pretty sheepish about the whole thing?